Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,763개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JH

2021년 2월 13일

Highly recommended - I have recommended it some of my staff who are interested in both taking the course and reading the materials. I should note they are First Nations and are as interested as I was.

GC

2021년 10월 13일

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,920개 리뷰 중 501~525

교육 기관: Kathleen B

2022년 2월 16일

While I was impressed by the depth and sensitivity of this course, I wish it was more up to date. This became most apparent when the census info about Indigenous people in the city was cited. I realize this would be a huge project to take on - but I wonder if one final installment could be added which addressed some of the major changes since the course was written.

This was a super way to educate myself about some of the important challenges for Indigenous people in Canada. Naturally I need to keep learning to stay abreast of the current landscape.

I will recommend this course to others

교육 기관: Michael W

2020년 11월 23일

I liked this course a lot. The content was informative and well presented, accessible and understandable. I liked the lectures, but also and maybe a bit more the broad range of "Interviews" with elders and academics. They gave the course an increase in authenticity. Again the lectures were also well done, informative and insightful, but the interviews for me were the strongest part. I found I felt more connected to them, drawn in. Thanks to all of you, I hope there will be subsequent courses, because my sense is that I still have a lot to learn. With respect appreciation and admiration.

교육 기관: Jennifer L

2017년 8월 31일

This course was extremely meaningful to me. I am a Metis woman living in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan. I currently work as an Educational Assistant in our public school. Many of my co-workers are also Indigenous. We have all been directly affected by the St. Micheals residential school that once stood here. Leah Dorion is highly regarded in our school and has on occasion, worked with our students on art projects at the local museum. This is the first University class I have taken in 30 years and I'm glad I started with this one! Thanks for making this so relevant and worthwhile to me!

교육 기관: Penelope H

2021년 8월 29일

I thouroughly enjoyed this course. As a relatively new settler to Canada, I felt it was important to take on these studies. The course provided informative lessons on the history, as well as contemporary issues from an Indigenous lens. Thank you to all who created the lessons. I know how much work goes into creating such engaging curriculum. I am thankful to have been able to take on this opportunity to learn more about my adopted homeland. I hope that Canada continues to reconcile the 'wrongs' that have been placed upon our Indigenous peoples. May we grow together in a positive way.

교육 기관: Lisa P

2021년 2월 24일

Thank You! You need to fight to get this into Public School Systems as part of the Education curriculum. As a born Canadian I had no idea about many of the course topics, this has provided me a better understanding of so many things and a much deeper appreciation for the rich a vibrant culture of indigenous peoples. I will pass this on to everyone to take and participate.

If I could give one small item of feedback certain course elements cover a lot of information and by the time you take the quiz your head is spinning; consider breaking up the quiz into quizzes after video segments.

교육 기관: Laurie F

2020년 9월 17일

My aunt who is a Metis knowledge holder, told me about this course. I have always been fascinated by my dad's heritage however it was only passed on to us in a very limited way. Unfortunately it was not something they were brought up to be proud of. My dad has learned a lot from his sister who has taken on a proud role in spreading knowledge about Metis history. Even though I am almost 50 I figure you are never to old to enrich your life with more knowledge and information. I appreciate that a quality course like this is available to anyone interested in learning new perspectives.

교육 기관: Todd C

2020년 9월 14일

An exceptional opportunity to gain access to the actual history of indigenous experiences. The history of this land started well before any human being populated this geography. To limit our knowledge to what happened here since 1492 is inaccurate storytelling of our collective past. While geologist can tell me what happened here millions of years ago, it turns out there is enough resource amongst current people to tell the story of human population of the Americas. The question isn’t; why do I need to know what is in the content of this course? the question really is; why don’t I?

교육 기관: Patrick J

2021년 12월 3일

This was an excellent course and offered me a different, and sometimes troubling view, of the country that I love and call home.

While I cannot fix the wrongs that were made in the years prior, I am taking from this a notion that indigenous people’s culture, teachings and view on sustainability and overall environmental health need to be incorporated into our modern way of thinking, if we are to continue to share this land, and all it provides, for us all to be able to live harmoniously together. Thank you for allowing me to learn from this course.

Sincerely;

Patrick Jackson, Toronto

교육 기관: Irene D

2018년 1월 30일

I’m very pleased with this informative indigenous course. I’ve learned a lot about issues affecting indigenous - First Nation and politics . I’ve learned a lot about the affect that land has on indigenous culture and a little about trieties and the politics involved. It’s help me develop language and open

my mindtjank up to the abuse that took place and how and why it’s important for them to be heard and understood as a community . I love the storytelling approach and that they leave people to learn at their own pace and that woman detained a lot of power in their comminittees 🙏

교육 기관: GP V

2021년 8월 26일

The most comprehensive and well presented course I've ever experienced. I recommend this course to everyone. I appreciated the accessibility options (closed captioning) as well as the module reading assignments which summarized the content week to week. My only complaint is the wording of the quiz questions tend to lean towards being a negative the majority of the time - at least that's how the dice rolled for me! i.e. "which of the following is not an example of ...." Regardless of that tiny little complaint, I feel this course should be required for everyone in Canada. Everyone.

교육 기관: Suman K

2020년 8월 16일

I greatly appreciate all the members of the team who have put together the Course for Indigenous Canada. For me the experience was to learn about Canadian History in a relaxing manner, like an antidote to the Covid pandemic situation. From the first week itself I discovered the order that Reading, Interactive Video and then watching all the videos helped before taking the quizzes. I will take up another course from this Department from University of Alberta. I wish to continue contributing to the Discussion Forum, as I had many things to say but did not find time to do so in time.

교육 기관: Brenda B

2022년 7월 28일

I am so grateful to have taken this course and I feel I have grown so much in learning so much history that my formal education failed to deliver. For me the art work beading over the Indian Act was so powerful, I hope to see that in person some day. The rest of the content was so engaging, the moderators were incredible and I learned many many things about the colonial history of Canada that I had no clue about. Thank you for making this course and for making it free and accessible to all. I will be telling everyone I know about it and encouraging others to sign up. Well done!

교육 기관: Amie D

2020년 12월 14일

Authentic historical and cultural perspective was what drew me to this course initially. Throughout the weeks the content and their quizzes were paced in a manageable way for me to learn and work simultaneously. The pedagogical practices in the delivery of this course were fantastic. As far as the actual content goes, I wish I would have had this knowledge decades ago. Thank you to Professor Tracy Bear, Professor Paul Gareau, Alannah Mandamin-Shawanda, Isaac Twinn and all the elders, artists and presenters who shared their stories and their lives with me over these many weeks.

교육 기관: Eric A G

2021년 3월 11일

Excellent course, it is a real pity that the richness and understanding that can be gained by this course wasn't part of the curriculum when I when through secondary school. I was more naive than I realized in understanding different perspectives - this definitely helped me. To counter some of the criticisms in the comments - this isn't a fundamentally sad or negative course, of course there some devastating history that needs to be understood, but there is also resilience, beautiful art, and lessons that would serve to improve all cultures here too. Very well worth your time.

교육 기관: Biljana J

2020년 11월 19일

I very much enjoyed taking the course: Indigenous Canada. It was extremely informative and eye-opening. This was the first course I took on coursera and I loved it! As a Macedonian-Canadian woman that was raised in Canada, there were many things about Indigenous people (i.e. their experiences, their various worldviews, the struggles they have faced and continue to face, etc.) that I was not aware of. We definitely need to be more educated and made aware. Thank you for having this course on coursera and to the Professors for doing a wonderful job breaking it all down for us.

교육 기관: Ruth C

2020년 9월 28일

It was very eye opening & informative to learn more about the history of Canada's Indigenous people, their mistreatment at the hands of European settlers, their fight for survival, their resilience & their continuing battle against stereotypical ideas and mistreatment. I have a profound pride & admiration for Canada's original inhabitants. I sincerely hope that Canada will continue to acknowledge the atrocities that have been, and still are, being committed against them and that one day they will enjoy the same rights, acceptance and treatment that all human beings deserve!

교육 기관: Anke B

2021년 2월 8일

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course, and it has definitely opened up my eyes when it comes to the lives of indigenous people. From the colonization to the present struggles. From their original way of life and adapting to the western way of life while holding on to their culture the best they could to reclaiming their culture and arts. I have learned so much and understand some of the issues regarding indigenous people better. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who isn’t familiar with the colonization of Canada and the injustices done to the indigenous people.

교육 기관: Louisa M

2020년 12월 24일

I believe every Canadian should take this course and that the curriculum is adapted for elementary and high school students. It is a lot of material to cover yet the presenters highlighted key points that really increased my understanding of the roots of issues affecting Indigenous people today. I urge anyone who has taken the course to make a donation to this department at the University of Alberta so that they can continue to preserve the culture and traditions that were attacked and damaged by colonization. Thank you to the presenters who were informative and engaging.

교육 기관: Polly C

2020년 12월 15일

I’m grateful this course was available; it’s exactly what I needed to feel more informed about Indigenous history and their current state. There’s much to be done and Indigenous peoples in Canada are working hard to get what they deserve. I can now understand more of what’s going on when I keep up with news and activities. Thank you! My only quibble is that there are far too many spelling and word choice mistakes in the transcriptions of the videos, and elsewhere. None were bad enough to be confusing, though. The high quality of the course is not affected by these problems.

교육 기관: Roberta T

2021년 2월 25일

This course provided me with many new perspectives and understandings that I can carry forward in my interpretation of the ongoing concerns and struggles for Indigenous peoples in Canada and the world. Thank you all for the time and effort it took to create the thought provoking course. The artwork was a fantastic element to incorporate throughout. My only suggestion would be to create and add some type of visual or flow diagram that relates all of these treaties and laws overtime. This would assist me in my learning and memory of these crucial aspects (Week 3).

Thank-you!!

교육 기관: Karen B

2021년 3월 20일

I am grateful for these learnings and the knowledge, time, and heart that went into their development. The lectures, reading notes, videos, course art, forums, and discussions with Dan Levy all contributed to helping me develop a better understanding of Indigenous peoples on Turtle Island and of my settler-colonial heritage. I believe that going forward I can be a better ally to Indigenous peoples, but the learnings are never done. Besides walking away with new perspectives and knowledge, I have a long, long list of actions and readings to pursue. Many many thanks to all!

교육 기관: Kathryn L

2021년 8월 22일

This course was engaging and a great introduction to Indigenous Peoples' History and Culture in Canada. My only criticism lies in that some of the quiz questions were phrased in a confusing, repetitive, or ambiguous manner which made the answer options difficult to understand, identify as correct, or recognize from course material. However, I loved the inclusion of interactive art in each week's materials. The course's emphasis on explaining the vibrant and continuing culture of Indigenous People in conversation with their histories sets this course apart from its peers.

교육 기관: Norman W

2021년 3월 6일

I thoroughly enjoyed this survey course! It was a good reminder of my learnings from a career working with Inuit, Métis and First Nations Peoples, as well as a discovery of new knowledge. I have recommended this course to nearly 50 people and encourage them to take up the challenge. The organizers and presenters have done a fine job in distilling an amazing mass of information into easily understood and thought-provoking lessons. The artwork created by Leah Dorian told the stories visually and were powerful in their own right.

Great job, Dr. Bear and the team!

교육 기관: April A

2020년 9월 6일

I loved this course. As a Metis woman, a social worker and a previous instructor, I found the material engaging and inspiring. Although the history can be very overwhelming, it is a part of the history of Indigenous people and this was presented very respectfully, yet told the history.

I loved seeing the progress, hearing about the many people involved in making positive change. The art by Leah Dorion was very creative and I loved the storytelling involved in showcasing.

I would recommend this course to anyone.

Thank you for this incredible journey through learning.