Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,683개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

MJ

2020년 12월 8일

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

AS

2020년 9월 6일

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,894개 리뷰 중 526~550

교육 기관: Olivia T

2020년 11월 8일

Such an important teaching!

I think everyone on North America should have this education. The educators openly welcome all people with varying degree of Indigenous understanding and made these vital (sometimes dark) moments in history easy to understand. Lessons build upon its former which helps process complex and dense information. I found the lectures to be foundational and the additional resources (glossary and extra topic reading) are exceptional. The art, music, Q&A make this very well rounded. Above and beyond.

I'm so grateful for this offering. So many thanks!!

교육 기관: Stacey Y

2020년 9월 19일

I have learned so much in this course. As an indigenous woman from Treaty 8 that grew up on a reserve and now resides in an urban area, this course has given me the knowledge that I lacked for so many years. I wasn't aware of the impacts of residential schools until I was early twenties ( I am now 32 years old). Growing up no one talked about our history and the impacts it had. Thanks to this course I have a better understanding of our history, cultural and political issues, and so much more. Thank you for everyone that has contributed to making this course accessible.

교육 기관: Bernadette M

2020년 8월 19일

J'ai beaucoup apprécié ce cours. Maintenant, le monde doit entendre les histoires, les horreurs et les injustices faites à la communauté des Premiers Nations. Le curriculum d'études sociales en l'Ontario, au niveau primaire et moyen ne parle pas de notre passé. Le curriculum doit être changé. Nous devons revoir notre passé afin de ne pas répéter les erreurs dans le présent et le futur. Ce cours m'a aussi permise d'apprendre qu'est-ce que ça veut dire être Métis. Je suis fière de le dire que je suis Métis, reconnu par Métis Nation of Canada.

Merci pour cette occasion !

교육 기관: Perumalu K

2020년 10월 16일

This is a beautiful course which helps me to understand the natives of Canada. The course highlights the early stages, the struggle from the beginning during the colonial era and continues to the current time for due recognition, identities, rights and to be on par players in all fields in the growth of contemporary Canada. My heart felt regards and respect to the First Nation people, Inuit and the Metis. Hoping the day will come when l visit Canada and enjoy your cultures and friendship. Thanks to the teachers who prepared this course for the international community.

교육 기관: Julie E

2022년 3월 26일

I really enjoyed this course. I believe it provided me with a better understanding of colonization, the impact, history and Indigenous culture, as a whole. I thought this course was laid out nicely, with great materials and resources to further learnings, with adequate time, to complete each module. For me, I believe there was alot of important information and this is just the beginning.

I look forward to continuing to learn and re-read the course notes to reflect on the learnings and further my awareness and knowledge. Thank you for this opportunity and sharing.

교육 기관: Angela J M

2020년 9월 25일

Ccourse videos were dry, but casenotes were very informative and thorough. Minor changes need to be made such as clear identification of headings and sub- headings. I also recognize mention of Winnipeg's Neechi Commons, which wanted to inform instructors that it was an amazing resource, however, it has closed. I have recommended this class to all my peers. As a First Nations individual, it was enlightening to learn about what happened to our Ancestors long before I was even a thought. Miigwech. This has greatly contributed to a sense of belonging and identity for me.

교육 기관: Nashira D

2017년 8월 13일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and feel that I have started to learn much about Indigenous history, culture, and political concerns in Canada because of it. I especially loved the inclusion of Leah Dorion's art and commentary. For future iterations of this course, I would appreciate a more careful proofreading of the course notes and quizzes to eliminate typos and occasional inconsistencies. Also, including a separate long list compilation of Indigenous writers, artists, musicians, and their works would further enhance this fantastic learning experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Patricia B

2022년 6월 19일

I​ really appreciated and enjoyed the course, it's methodology of introducing and explaining key pieces of knowledge. I feel this is a gateway course to extend to further learning and am interesting in knowing more. The topics were brought forward in a safe way to help open my mind to topics that I had little opportunity to learn about in my original school career, that I realize are part of course structures now.

B​ravo to all the hard work that went into creating this course! I loved it and recommend it regularly to those who have not yet taken it.

P​atricia Bolen

교육 기관: Michael P

2020년 10월 26일

Overall I really enjoyed this course and will be looking for additional content to continue learning and understanding this important history of my country. Good job to those that put this together and thank you UofA for making it available online and at no cost to participate. Should I ever be asked by those who create/manage learning content for Canadian elementary & highschool children I will advise them that this should be part of the history delivered to our kids. We are making a huge mistake by now getting this information out. Warm regards, Michael Phillips

교육 기관: James M

2021년 6월 8일

T​his was an excellent overview and introduction to history from an indigenous perspective. It not only met my expectations as far as engaging with new content but, for me, there was an unexpected component to my experience - learning how to recognize some of the effects of the long-standing indoctrination through settler culture, European educational systems and religious affiliation. This was accomplished in positive, respectful, gentle ways while still getting the point across. As the presenters noted, this is a high-level quick review but it was very effective.

교육 기관: Rusty I

2021년 7월 22일

My 15-year old daughter and I did this course together and both found it fascinating and heartrending. This is the best course I have taken - including 2 degrees and a lifetime of school and business courses on a huge range of subjects. I have learned so much about a culture I only had glimses of. It also made me, as an Anglo-German-French European, ashamed of the legacy of colonialism and the genocideof the peoples who are the original inhabitants of this beautiful part of the world. Thank you so much to Dr Bear and colleagues for making this available as a MOOC.

교육 기관: Amber-Rose W

2020년 10월 5일

This course was incredible and very informative. Throughout my entire life, I have been learning about the history of Canada through a settler-bias lense. This course was eye-opening and enlightening. I believe it's important that we as settlers are given this Indigenous perspective, so that we may be able to stop the colonization practices that still are in effect today. I highly recommend this course to everyone who's ever sat through a Canadian curriculum-based history class, you will learn more in these 12 weeks than you did in the 12 years you were in school.

교육 기관: Timothy W

2021년 10월 23일

Understanding that this is only the tip of the iceberg of complex Indigenous issues in Canada, it still gives a broad overview of past and present. Through the course you will gain a greater respect for the different nations, and how historical events have shaped current affairs. The course walks through legal settings, geography, residential schooling, current issues, the arts, women's rights, and environmental activism. You will gain greater sense of empathy for Indigenous populations in Canada, and even generally for all Native populations around the world.

교육 기관: Joanne H

2020년 12월 3일

Excellent course. Very factual, interesting and straight forward course about the rich cultural fabric of values and teachings of Indigenous Peoples of Canada, which does not shy away from the issues historically and currently faced caused by colonialization. It will leave the student with a better understanding of the differences between the various complex relationships and viewpoints of the Indigenous & Settlor groups within Canada and hopefully lay some ground work on how we, the average person of colonial ancestry, can hope to respectfully over come them.

교육 기관: Dr. R P R

2021년 9월 15일

The course share in-depth knowledge on Indigenous history, culture, and emphasis the real need for a true reconciliation efforts. The course is well organized with a great flow of information with talks, interviews, view points, and art forms.

I believe an inclusion of images of real art forms of indigenous collections, images from history, and pictograms of the events will add more effective and interestingly perceivable.

I thank University of Alberta and the team who worked for this course for this wonderful collection of lectures. videos and information drafts.

교육 기관: Krystal Z

2021년 8월 3일

This was a very interesting and enlightening course. It really provided a ton of information that is NOT KNOWN and was NOT taught in school. I think this course should be taught to all children in school. It is a very important part of Canada's history and it saddens me that we treated the Indigenous peoples this way and continue to treat Indigenous peoples in non-respectful ways. There are many parts that are disturbing but I feel this must be told. I am Metis. This was a great course and I am glad I took it. Thank you for providing this information to me.

교육 기관: Sophie C

2020년 10월 26일

I learnt so much from this course, valuable, historical information regarding the Indigenous People's of Canada which really made me question many things. This course was very thought provoking, inspiring, tragic, and yet hopeful all at the same time. The negative effects of Colonialism were astonishing and rippling through decades of injustice, persecution, intolerance and a lack of respect and understanding, particularly to women, made me hold my breathe at times and also made me very angry. I think everyone in Canada would benefit from this course. Thank you.

교육 기관: Andrea S

2022년 1월 16일

Excellent course! I really enjoyed the different ways in which the material was presented. The interviews were engaging and informative. Leah Dorion's artwork is amazing. Through her paintings she encapsulated the course topics in such a creative and meaningful way. During the course, I found myself doing further research on several of the topics. I am ashamed of how little I knew of indigenous history and culture . Thank you for making this course available to everyone. I am looking forward to continuing my education on Indigenous history and culture.

교육 기관: Charlene P

2021년 1월 5일

Excellent. The readings following the videos reinforced the information. I particularly enjoyed Leah Dorion’s artistic interpretation at the end of each module. Excellent presenters. Additional interviews were helpful. The information is very clearly presented.

I really enjoyed this introduction to a very complex subject. My alma mater is U of A, and my hometown is Edmonton. My great-grandmother, and grandmother are Métis from Fort Vermilion area. Atigameg and Joussard played a role in my childhood. Thank you, Dr. Tracy.Bear, et al, for bringing this to me.

교육 기관: Kelley T

2020년 9월 20일

I have told everyone I can about this course!! I cannot fully express how moved and grateful I am for everyone who has been a part of bringing this course to life. It is engaging, insightful, grounding, and sobering...all while being communicated from a space of deep and authentic truth in a way that doesn't shame or harm those of us that need to learn, live, and truly witness the reality of our history. Thank you so much for this work you have all done. It has shifted so much within me and in how I see and experience the world. With deep gratitude, Kelley.

교육 기관: Emily F

2021년 11월 8일

I have 3 degrees in social work and there was still so much I DID NOT know! This course is amazing. Society focuses too much on JUST the tragedy and loss, and fails to educate the public about all the strength, knowledge, and intelligence Indigenous peoples of Canada have. This course covers everything. Pre-colonization, relationships with Europeans before colonization, and everything up until now... a great balance of the history of genocide, as well as capturing all the ways these cultures have survived and thrived in the most challenging circumstances.

교육 기관: Ann B

2021년 7월 22일

I thought this course was well organized and very informative. Although I've taken Indigenous studies courses previously there were many aspects I hadn't learned through them. My heart breaks when I learn about the Indigenous people's connection and respect for the land as the world witnesses the results of so much destruction caused by the colonial belief of commerce over nature. I truly hope we will all come to respect the natural world before its far to late. I will continue my journey to learn about and support indigenouse communities. Thank you.

교육 기관: Eva Q

2020년 8월 2일

This is a wonderful course. Wish I learned this in school. The history of Canada and how it was colonized is well administered. Good descriptions and examples. Beautiful art work. I was introduced to so many wonderful indigenous artist and activist that I can now follow on twitter, Instagram and Facebook. As beautifully displayed our history is, it is also very difficult and disheartening. This happened a century ago and yet even today, the struggle continues. I have a better vision of Canada and I have a open heart to our indigenous population. Thank you

교육 기관: Marina W

2021년 9월 25일

This was an excellent program and I will highly recommend it to others. It's very user friendly, and was designed with a diverse group of students in mind. The videos are excellent and interactive, and the reading material is well organized. The content is very important, and all Indigenous and non-Indigenous Canadians should have this understanding of our history. To the program facilitators and University - I greatly appreciate this course being available to the public and without cost, bless you and thank you for the important work that you're doing.

교육 기관: Richard R

2020년 9월 1일

This is an excellent review of indigenous culture, history, and political and social issues. For someone not well versed in this subject matter in spite of relatively advanced age, it has been the source of considerable sober reflection. My default impressions and conceptions have been challenged throughout the course and I now see the need for more personal study to further revise my previously defective non-indigenous perspective. If there is one message that I take away, it is that it is never too late to learn a new understanding of other people.