Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,744개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS

2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

EG

2021년 5월 27일

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,910개 리뷰 중 551~575

교육 기관: Jocelyne L

2020년 10월 6일

This course was a great foundation for continuing study of indigenous history. I thought that I had some background but find that I have an awful lot to learn.

The class material was well organized covering the main areas. Professor Bear delivered the lectures in a most compelling fashion. This content along with the Sunday discussions provide a fantastic taking off point for further study. I do believe that we all have a duty to learn what the arrival of the settlers has meant to the lives and loss of lives of indigenous people.

Loved the art content.

교육 기관: Pam C

2020년 11월 11일

I not only learned a lot, but thoroughly enjoyed this course. The variety of topics, and lectures which included interviews and conversations created a welcoming atmosphere while still addressing difficult topics and unsettling truths. I also enjoyed the post-course conversations each week with Tracy, her team, and Dan. Thanks to everyone for offering this at no cost and I hope more Canadians enroll. With funding at U. of A. having the same struggles as all Universities right now, I also hope these impactful programs are not part of any cutbacks.

교육 기관: Janine L M

2022년 6월 18일

T​his was such an interesting course. It mainly raised awareness but also strong emotions such as anger and frustration of my early learning of Canadian history. I remember the Oka crisis. My father was a good Dad but was without a doubt a racist...he was so negative about Oka and so many aboriginal things. I am finding that this has made a big impact on my learning and desire to learn about aboriginal cultures.

T​hanks for opening so many eyes to the truths presented in this course. The art work and speakers were phenomenal!

J​anine Meister

교육 기관: Alison W

2020년 11월 2일

To the instructors and those involved with putting on this course I want to extend my kudos to you. I have to admit I was one of many white Canadians who had no idea of the past history of the discrimination and hardships our Indigenous people have endured over time. Parts of the study were heart-wrenching for me. It's truly a wake up call and although this course only opened a small window, it has definitely opened my eyes and broadened my view and understanding on what Indigenous people are fighting for. Thank-you for making this course available.

교육 기관: M F

2020년 9월 7일

This eye-opening course has succeeded, not only in teaching participants about the history (past and present) of Indigenous Canada, but also leaving them with enough questions and motivations to seek more learning. Personally, I will not stop learning and will continue my research "back home." I want to see what an Indigenous USA course would look like (we have a lot to answer for). I am grateful to have participated and to have furthered my understanding. This is learning that I will take with me to my classroom, to impart to my students.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Linda S

2021년 11월 29일

This course is great. So informative. Thank you so much for the opportunity to learn about Indigenous history. I heard about this course from a friend and I will be forever grateful to her sharing that information. Learning is a life long process and this course provided information, most of which, I have never heard or read before. With knowledge comes some understanding of the events going on in our world and responsibility to not sit idly by but to be called to action, in friendship and respect, towards truth & reconciliation. Thanks again!

교육 기관: Adele M W

2020년 10월 31일

This course has been a breath of fresh air to me. It has inspired me to inject more history into my own work as a musician of West Indian descent. When I return home to visit Treaty One, I will view it with completely different eyes - the eyes through which we were not taught history as it really happened. Much gratitude to the entire team at the Native Studies Faculty and to everybody involved with the "Indigenous Canada" course. Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau and Dr. Kim Tallbear are my new heroes. Looking forward to the final Q and A sessions.

교육 기관: Alexa N

2022년 3월 13일

For me this was an epiphany, especially in terms of my Canadian education. To think what I was originally taught about Canadian history versus the reality which is not based on selected "storytelling" was disconcerting. Many of my so-called heroes have lost their lustre and rightly so!. I appreciated the links to art and the consistency of storytelling in many genres throughout the modules. Thank you for an amazing journey of learning. As they say"better late than never!"

And a heartfelt thank you for your approach of truth and reconciliation!

교육 기관: Diane G

2021년 8월 15일

Excellent! Thank you so much for your dedicated work and attention to detail. Some of the information was known to me but most was a revelation, and unfortunately, not in a positive way. However, I would rather know the truth, both as a person and a fellow educator. Change for the better can never occur unless we know, acknowledge and accept the past in order to create a better present and future. I will definitely recommend this course to others. Once again, many thanks to everyone who helped to create and deliver this course.

Diane Greer

교육 기관: Michelle

2020년 11월 1일

I appreciate that the course was developed and delivered by persons who identity as Indigenous. It covered various aspects of Indigenous life and highlighted the diversity among Indigenous Nations i.e. It shined some light on aspects of different worldviews. It also incorporates aspects of modern life to address misconceptions about Indigenous matters being only about "ancient history". I am now more aware of several recent issues. The deadlines for completing assignments were flexible. Overall, it provided a great learning experience for me.

교육 기관: Wendy D

2021년 4월 1일

This course is very well presented by the various presenters, especially Dr. Tracy Bear. It is very informative - both regarding historical issues, as well as contemporary ones. Focussing on different aboriginal people across Canada was very informative for me as I knew very little about the various treaties and their impacts, prior to this course. I learned a lot about the Indian Act with the impact on women and children regarding the issue of status. It is a very comprehensive overview. I will certainly consider further courses in the future.

교육 기관: Arlen A

2020년 11월 12일

Indigenous Canada proved to be an important, insightful and timely course. Navigating through 2020 in Canada amidst a global pandemic in combination with global social uprisings and issues, this course presented an honest, difficult and indigenous worldview on the history and ongoing importance of this countries true first settlers. The materials and presenters were engaging, intelligent and matter of fact. I encourage each and every Canadian to take this course. Thank you Native Studies Department at the University of Alberta for my awakening!

교육 기관: Louise B

2020년 10월 1일

For me, this course on Indigenous Canada is just a beginning. I have learned so much and I definitely want to know more. In studying my country from a different perspective, I have felt every emotion. I have cried as my eyes were opened, have stood in awe of First Nations’ resiliency and have even laughed as I watched a satirical performance of the 1491’s. Book titles, Internet links and the names of various artists, writers, scholars and activists have given me enough resources to continue to “dig deeper, look closer, think bigger”. Thank you!

교육 기관: Audrey B

2020년 11월 21일

This course is extremely informative. It feels like retaking highschool history classes but told through an Indigenous perspective instead of a European perspective. I started this course out of personal curiosity and in the process it started to feel more like a civic duty. It quickly became clear how little I knew about the history of Indigenous people in Canada. Understanding the contemporary struggles of Indigenous people is almost impossible without understanding what led to them. My perspective definitely shifted while taking the course.

교육 기관: Mieke K

2022년 6월 29일

I sincerely aprreciate for allowing everyone to take this course, to make it easy accessable for everyone with a keen interest in Indigenous Canada. I have learned so so much through this course. When I first immigrated to Canada seven years ago, I was unaware of its history. I have gained so much respect for Indigenous cultures now that I have completed this course.

Since English is my second language, I occasionally had difficulty interpreting the questions and answers correctly, therefore I was grateful for the chance to retake the test.

교육 기관: Cathy B

2020년 10월 14일

Thank you so much for this course. I thought I understood somewhat but I really had no idea. I am ashamed to say that at 65 years old, I am just now learning of the real struggles of indigenous peoples brought on, not only by my direct ancestors but modern day people as well. I have thought a lot about the aspect of 'what can I do' but I guess educating myself and others is probably the best course of action. From that can grow educated input where appropriate in contributing to dialogue and reconciliation. I feel very ashamed of our history.

교육 기관: Susan _

2020년 11월 16일

This was an outstanding course. I had very little prior knowledge of the history of the Indigenous people in Canada as it was not taught when I went through school. My first encounter with any sort of Indigenous history in Canada was when I was given the essay topic of residential schools as part of a college geography course I took a decade ago, and that had a huge impact on me and started the change in my perspective of the Canadian history that I had been taught. I truly believe everyone who lives in this country should take this course.

교육 기관: Dan T

2021년 2월 7일

I am a 60 yo male settlor. I live in a western Canadian city that has a large Indigenous population. I hope others like me will take this course. I appreciate especially the great background provided about the Indigenous worldview, which one needs to understand to appreciate our similarities and differences. Other highlights for me include the history of residential schools (and TRC), and getting a better understanding of the Indian Act and its failings. I will build on this course by reading contemporary Indigenous fiction and non-fiction.

교육 기관: Kevin S

2021년 11월 10일

T​hank you for this. Given the past and present conditions in Canada, this course can serve as a roadmap in finding one's own identity and purpose in regards to social and political issues. The time to activate is now. I will be extracting and sharing important content and encouraging others to participate in this course. The content sometimes dances on the edge of what might be considered socially acceptable by those in power and, in my own opinion, may end up on a shortlist to censor by our Canadian government.. In Love, Power and Peace.

교육 기관: Irina D

2019년 2월 17일

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

교육 기관: Paul H

2017년 12월 24일

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

교육 기관: Andrea M

2021년 8월 29일

I really enjoyed all the new learning I was immersed in this summer by taking this course. I have a much better understanding of how Indigenous Canadians were impacted on every level when the settlers arrived in Canada with their colonial views and practices. I am extremely moved by how resilient Indigenous Canadians are in the face of so much change, trauma, and challenges brought about by settler culture. I plan to do my part to speak up for Indigenous rights and views....I have the upmost respect for these wonderful Canadian people.

교육 기관: Claire R

2020년 12월 3일

The course is exceptional and as a Canadian I feel as though all Canadians should be required to take this course. I am appalled at the lack of education I received about Indigenous peoples whilst attending primary and high school, and I am ashamed that I did not know about residential schools until I was in my 30's. This course fills the gap of knowledge that many Canadians missed out on. Thank you University of Alberta for providing this course - I am very grateful and I am now on a quest to further my knowledge on Indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Kim R

2019년 11월 10일

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and analyzing my self awareness on each of the modules. The course was able to connect the dots in my understanding of my own culture. I learned a great deal of information with regard to treaties and governance and even the Indian Act. I learned the history when a child but I enjoyed it much better from an indigenous perspective. I am grateful also to better know what our ancestors lived through to better understand Intergenerational trauma. I will continue to seek a greater way of being. Miigwech!

교육 기관: Kara S A

2021년 7월 3일

This was an informative course, teaching the histories of the Indigenous people of Canada. These histories were not taught in the school curriculum when I was in school, so this was all very new to me. It saddens me that these stories and teachings are not shared. It would give everyone a better understanding of the struggles faced.

Thank you the to the facilitators and those interviewed for making this course feel like a one-on-one course. You all should be very proud of the hard work you have done to bring this course to everyone.