Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,674개의 평가
6,635개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JH

2021년 2월 13일

Highly recommended - I have recommended it some of my staff who are interested in both taking the course and reading the materials. I should note they are First Nations and are as interested as I was.

LH

2021년 6월 29일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course in the the way it is presented and the information given. It expanded my knowledge and insights of indigenous history, culture, and knowledge, as well as so much more.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,882개 리뷰 중 6776~6800

교육 기관: Leea P

2021년 7월 20일

The initial part of the course including contact and colonization was interesting and a good review regarding the creation of the Canadian state and its effects of indigenous people.

The section narrated by Ruben in week one was poorly done and should be omitted from the curriculum. Given that there are many indigenous language in Canada I did not find the inclusion of this section useful.

The section on indigenous women including murdered and missing woman could have been a module on its own.

More content on intergenerational trauma would be helpful to understand the lived experience of those folks living with intergenerational trauma

The final module on indigenous art felt more like an art history course and could have been left out.

The Paintings done by Leah Dorian however , where just lovely and added context and meaning to the didactic videos. This section was well done as were the testimonials and conversations with elders in their native languages.

The quizzes with the exception of week 10 were fair and a good measure of what one was required to take away after watching the videos in each section.

7/10

교육 기관: Nikita U

2020년 11월 15일

The course has a lot of good factual information, especially for a newcomer to Canada like me. However, it also raises more questions than it answers, as it oversimplifies multiple topics and attributes a number of societal problems which (IMHO) are "universal human experiences in modern world" to colonialism / paternalism – I myself am from a small country with exceedingly white population with no history of colonialism nor slavery nor strong paternalism, yet we do have a lot of the same societal / identity / cultural problems as the first nations peoples do – so issue attribution throughout the course feels disturbing, narrow-minded and wrong. Overall, the course somehow managed to paint indigenous peoples and culture as weak and needy, despite the best intents of course creators. I feel I'd be better off without watching the course, and following on social media the few indigenous creators I stumbled upon by chance, to learn about the problems they deal with, their culture, and how to be respectful.

교육 기관: Anne-Marie D

2020년 12월 10일

While I learned alot and am so much more aware of the history of Indigenous people in Canada, I found the format of the course quite flat. The professors, while I'm sure knowledgeable, had very flat presentation styles that made it difficult to remain engaged. Staring forward and barely moving any part of their bodies was actually distracting though that sounds incongruous. The text was therefore very helpful, though as acknowledged by you, had many grammar, spelling, sentence inconsistencies which was annoying to the reader. Improve the video clips by putting in more 'test questions'-to put one question in the odd videos seemed a bit futile i.e. use that as a method of engagement or don't use it at all. Some of these comments are perhaps nit-picky but I believe the quality of the presentation is key to the enjoyment of the learner. That all aside, I enjoyed the content, certainly adjusted some of my views and am glad I did the course.

교육 기관: Keith A

2021년 3월 24일

I enjoyed the course very much, and learned a lot, thank you to the professors and staff who put it together. I found the lectures excellent, with the small caveat that I had to listen to them at 1.5 times speed since they were spoken so slow as to be geared, I suppose, to be understandable to non native English speakers. The range of topics covered was thorough and well chosen.

My main critique is that usually in a university level class much of the learning comes from interaction with ones peers. In this context, the discussion forums are very weak. In part this is no doubt because people are taking the class at very different times. Basically There is rarely any substantive 'discussion' at all in these forums. I tried to post something a bit controversial or challenging either a new topic or a response to someone else's topic, once per week, and had almost no responses or feedback or interesting discussions arise from these posts.

교육 기관: Jennifer P

2021년 6월 23일

Could be updated and cover more important information around the Indian Act and treaties and the deceit around treaties, more on residential schools and the new findings of mass graves etc. Also more on various cultural practices such as sweat lodges, medicine wheel teachings, teepee teachings, pit houses, brushing ceremonies, potlaches, clan structures, history of name changes (people and places), impacts of colonization (homelessness, addiction, etc and where to find supports), more on the ongoing 60's scoop and overrepresentation of children in care, diversity of languages and cultural practices, information around cultural appropriation, how to be an ally, equity in education and employment, not Pan-Indigenous. Feature someone from each province and territory to speak about that region of Kanata and the diversity and important history in the area. Include Lawrence Paul Yuxwelupten's art. An overview of the various language groups.

교육 기관: Lyndsy M

2021년 3월 24일

It was interesting but there are so many errors in the transcriptions that some of the paragraphs don't even remotely make any sense. Also, the test questions were annoyingly specific. Sometimes all of the answers to a question were correct but they are looking for the exact specific wording used in the text so I was a bit confused initially but did figure it out eventually. They aren't looking for just any correct answer, but the one specifically answered in the text.

I don't think it makes sense that you can't just redo the test until you get the mark you want. Why do we have to wait until the next day to redo it? How does that make sense in this format?

Overall, I did enjoy it and I'm glad I did it. One thing I would have loved to be included would be early history of First Nations in North America and how long they existed here before settlers came.

교육 기관: Robert S

2022년 4월 1일

Informative and indepth review but certainly a strong bias with an anti-Government of Canada, colonial slant (I think the views are too rooted in the past). Granted there are the missed opportunities for better governance with past relationships but this has happened everywhere in human history including Europe, Asia, etc. The land belongs to all living humans not just Indigenous peoples. As well, having travelled to several Indigenous communities in BC, Alberts, Ontario & Quebec; a common thread is the larger disrespect for their communities and the land. I think the values proposed are missing with regard to relationship with the land. Sad but visually evident,

I expected a more balanced perspective recognizing the other side such as free housing, tax free status, on reserve services that white Canadians do not receive. Just my viewpoint ...

교육 기관: Jude B

2021년 7월 2일

The course was interesting, I learned a lot. But... S​tereotypes suck. Works both ways. :( The quizes were badly written. The artwork should have been showcased, higlighted - rejoiced...not just discussed. Over all, I feel it was a missed oppourtunity to show case creativity and ingenuity of the aboriginal population. It also glossed over any ugliness, kinda disneyfied the entire aboriginal existence, and ignored the work "colonists" have done to build bridges . Can't say this program gave me hope for the future, but knowing and growing up with Native peoples, friends and family, they don't see the future or our relationships with each other so bleakly, so that gives me hope. Over all I'm grafeful for taking the course, but would love to take a new and greatly improved course down the line. Thank you for the oppourtunity.

교육 기관: Julie B

2020년 10월 31일

Not what I thought an introductory course would be like. Unfortunately I didn't feel as though I gained a solid foundation to move forward. I will be looking at take other introductory courses about Indigenuity/Indigenous people of Canada. Course leaders and guest were very passionate and articulate. I am very familiar with online courses and have on my own investigated Canada's Indigenous history and was pleased at finding this course to inform me of my missing/lack of knowledge regarding the complex history of Indigenous people. I will review the written weekly subject matter and hopefully I will be able to follow the path of information, but for me as of now, there was a lack of continuity so I was unable to feel as though I gained a foothold

교육 기관: Brian C

2020년 12월 13일

Most of the presentations by the "talking heads" are excruciatingly boring. Is the U of A Faculty of Native Studies really so chock full of people who cannot apply resonant pronunciation to, and stress points in a sentence? The deadpan reading by the three primary presenters lacks any sense of emphasis - or capacity to generate sustained interest. I also could not believe that every video for each of the individual presenters displayed them wearing the same clothing as their last video; the hair style for each of them also never changed. This absence of change reflects badly on their view of the real world, and made it difficult to stay attuned to the speakers' vocalizations. Monotony, in a visual presentation, is NOT a good thing.

교육 기관: Andrew C

2020년 11월 2일

Extremely important content, and I want so much for it to be excellent. However, the delivery method seems rushed and/or poorly implemented. Once per module, a video is interrupted for one single test question about something immediately stated in the video, which seems like something that was intended to be used throughout, but was not. Titles projected within the video are often misaligned; some have animations, others do not, and this inconsistency undercuts the value of the content. The module on Indigenous Art has almost no examples of the art pieces being described. The content is well written, and again, very important, but the delivery tends to be flat, making it difficult to pay attention and differentiate topics.

교육 기관: Tim P

2020년 8월 1일

I'm very grateful for the information and an opportunity for a new perspective. I feel my understanding of First Nations and Canadian history is now improved, especially hearing it from the mouths of Indigenous People. Very seldom did I feel I was getting biased information or propaganda, however, I did feel there was a lack of courageous truth telling, and there is an undertone of opportunistic blaming with a lack of balanced ownership. That said, I almost didn't include that criticism, because that issue was far outshined by the volumes of information that any Canadian would benefit from learning. The quizzes were the only poor point. I wish they were less trivia, and more confirmation of learning objectives.

교육 기관: Dana W

2021년 4월 4일

Overall, a VERY worthwhile course.

Whereas I learned a lot, I was often distracted by the presenters' lack of emotion and rote reading of the course notes (which themselves seemed full of grammatical or typographical errors).

And, was Joseph Boyden wrong or was there much Indigenous culture avoided for political reasons? In this course there was little evidence of the society he described in The Orenda. It might have been wise to include that which is considered barbaric by current day societies together with the evolution that has since occurred.

Several unit questions were poorly worded. Double negatives made many of them frustrating.

I have been changed - and will strive to learn further.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Debi L

2022년 4월 6일

Lots of good informatin, but inconsistent in depth throughout. I found the forum particularly unhlepful: posts asking for information going 19 days without a response. I was actually unaware of the existence of the fourn untile I was on Week 10 - so maybe some reference within the course and encouragement to participate.

Also, one or two quizes warn that many people didn't pass on their first attempt. To me this means that the course content and/or the wording of the questions need work. If you are presenting the materials in an understandable way we should be able to answer the questions.

Although a bit annoying, I found the short video format kept me engaged better than one long video would have.

교육 기관: Ken B

2021년 7월 9일

I​ appreciate the efforts made by the writers, presenters and artists involved. I appreciate the material presented. What I would have liked to see was a little more balance. I realize it is an Indigenous view but it could have created a lot more learning by bringing both government of Canada and "colonial members of Canada" into the discussion. If this lengthened the course, I would be in favour of that.

F​inally, it would have been really useful to have a way to chat with presenters and students in each module, allowing a way for questions and ideas to be discussed. I recognize how much work this would be, however, the learning would be enhanced greatly!

교육 기관: Timea K

2020년 9월 28일

This course is filled with information and very interesting. However in my experience, it tends to make it very difficult for those who take the course by not having events organised chronologically, and often repeating information. The length of the classes is challenging, and the nature of them are mostly legally oriented - which is not my area of interest, however I recognize that it is necessary for understanding current Indigenous experiences.

Overall, I think the existance of this course is amazing and incredibly useful! However I also think there is space for improvement in terms of course organization and efficacy in learning.

교육 기관: Darren A

2022년 4월 20일

I found the structure of the course and workflow easy to follow. The quality of the presentations was excellent as were the instructors. The course notes were well presented and easy to follow. I was disappointed with how biased the course was. While I appreciated the indigenous perspective, I felt that the course deliberately excluded facts and other perspectives. I found myself constantly wanting to challenge the comments of the presentors without the ability to be heard. This course would be better in person with a proper Q&A section to follow. That said, I will post my comments into the message boards and hope for responses

교육 기관: Danielle D

2020년 9월 21일

Thank you so much for making this course publicly available and free!

The reason for the less than perfect score is that I enjoy reading the course notes and then having a less structured discussion about the meaning of it all. The presenter was really just reading off a written script which was a bit dry.

Some of the people who were interviewed seemed unprepared.

More images and videos- especially in the final section talking about the art would have been nice. I ended up looking up the pieces of art myself anyways.

Overall it was informative and I would recommend it! Thanks!

교육 기관: Dianne T

2021년 8월 14일

The information and format of the 12 module course of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada, past and present, are very good. The interviews added interest and knowledge. Loved the interactive paintings. However, the quiz questions were unnecessarily confusing, wording felt like you were trying to trick me and often the answers came as an elimination of possibilities rather than mastery learning. For a free, non-certification class whose prime goal is to bring "awareness", the quiz section overshadowed the deep understanding, sense of learning and enjoyment of the process.

교육 기관: Richard O

2021년 7월 20일

I learned a lot, filling in blanks in my knowledge, but I would have structured the presentations differently. The approach used is to make broad general statements (often repeated) and then to provide a few examples, which are most often not fleshed out. I would take a story-telling approach, starting with a person or event which leads us to understand the more general conclusion. I think that this would be more engaging. And while we can find the artwork referenced in the lectures on the Net, it would be great to get a view while they are being discussed.

교육 기관: Ilene T

2021년 1월 27일

I was craving being able to see examples of the art while the prof was speaking about each artist's work. I would gladly have exchanged the 1491 video for some of the art of Morrisseau, Odjig, Belcourt... Belmore...Bill Reid...

Archeological visuals related to different areas would have been amazing. I know I can pursue this on the internet.

The lecturers spoke clearly and the printed words were helpful.

I am left with a feeling of an overwhelming sense of the negative, about the past, and no direction for future positive personal actions.

교육 기관: Annabelle L

2022년 1월 11일

Very informative and a great overview of indigenous culture. However, there were parts of the course that were convoluted and hard to understand. A few exam questions were poorly worded and left a lot of confusion as to which answer it was seeking. Overall, a very good introductory Indigenous course that covers most of Canada's colonization to modern day. Would have loved to have heard more indigenous stories and lived experiences throughout the course, and the arts class at the end definitely left me wanting more.

교육 기관: Ann R

2020년 12월 12일

I found this course extremely interesting and felt that much of this information should be included in our school curriculum. My criticism of the course is in the presentation. I found that the presenters ( 2 of the 3 especially), were very hard to follow because of the obvious reading they were doing. At times I had to turn the sound down and read for myself as their sentences were broken and lost meaning. The material would have been easier to retain if the sentences had flowed and had proper inflection.

교육 기관: Bill E

2021년 8월 10일

Insufficient explanation of the difference / unique nature of Indigenous life, in a format that is comprehensible to a non-Indigenous person. Significant lost opportunity in module 12, when speaking of Indigenous art, to NOT show samples of major works. Discourse was excessively and unnecessarily laden with academic jargon, to the point of distracting from the message being conveyed. The three main speakers were very eloquent, but their delivery would benefit from less pap reading from the prompter.

교육 기관: Heather S C

2020년 9월 24일

There is a clear slant towards the Western Provinces and very little mention of Indigenous peoples and communities in Ontario. Just based on the urban setting alone, it would be beneficial to see information from Ontario in understanding how current political environments and pop culture and art are different. Additionally, there was no touch on shows such as North of 60 where an Indigenous woman is an RCMP officer and how that protrayle impacted the perception of Indigenous people.