Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,585개의 평가
1,740개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

AS

Sep 07, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 1,771개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Bea B

Sep 14, 2020

I am so grateful that this course exists, as we did not get an understanding of indigenous history at all when I was attending school. It was all about the explorers and their conquests. It saddens me tremendously that this entire group of people had their evolution arrested, and there will never be any way of knowing how things would have been now, if their beautiful and noble trajectory had not been so forcefully interrupted and re-positioned.

Thank you for distilling this story into a course, and I do hope that many Canadians will take advantage of the course's availability, to help fill in the gaps a little.

Peace

교육 기관: Danielle M

Oct 27, 2020

This course was extremely informative and well done. All of my secondary and post-secondary education as a Canadian skimmed the surface of the founding of Canada and of course it was all from the settler perspective. I so appreciate how well laid out the course was and I find myself correcting people now as issues come up and redirecting them to proper information sources. My daughter is in her last year of college to become a Child and Youth worker and just completed the certificate version of this course on my advice as well. She found it very enlightening and is going on to complete San'yas studies too. Thank you

교육 기관: Paula M C

May 30, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and the instructors! It has provided me with a much broader understanding of Canada before and since colonization, and of the painful and poignant struggles that the Indigenous peoples of this land have endured at the "divide and conquer" whims of colonial and European powers. I am most impressed with the resilience and the power of community action of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada to effect positive change for all. I will highly recommend this course to my colleagues here at Western U. It was my first MOOC and I'm happy it was with you, Professor Bear! Miigwetch!!

교육 기관: Melvin R W

Dec 29, 2018

This well constructed and designed course offers an excellent introduction to native peoples from a variety of perspectives....anthropological, geographic, historical, cultural, philosophical, political, spiritual, artistic. The teachings are clear and the mixed used of lecture, interview, image and quiz carries one of an engaging journey which can be taken an one's own pace and in one's own time. I'm an American MDiv in Interfaith Spirituality and Comparative Religion and found this a valuable addition to my repertoire of knowledge. Thank you to the scholars at the University of Alberta who developed this course.

교육 기관: Theresa P

Oct 24, 2020

This course was very instrumental to me in the aspect of assisting me gather increasing knowledge of the ongoing struggles of the Indigenous people. This should've been taught in the school curriculum when I was young, and should be taught today in schools everywhere, so that we all have a better understanding of how colonialism has deeply affected so many generations in such an abusive manner. We have so much to learn and appreciate from the Indigenous people and their ancestors when it comes to the respect of land, water, animals and most importantly each other.

Thank you for such an imformative course!!

교육 기관: Donald J W

Sep 29, 2020

As a person from down south of you in the US, I want you to know I learned a lot that I did not know about the start of Canada and how Indigenous people helped shape your landscape and culture there. Very informative and a special thanks to Tracy Bear for explaining each module there was in user friendly terms. I would recommend this to everyone!! And a VERY big thank you to Mr. Dan Levy from whom we learned about this course from because he was planning to start and invited us fans of him and Schitt's Creek along for the ride to discuss and learn. Wonderful. Whole new look at Canada for me!! Thank you all!

교육 기관: June C

Oct 06, 2020

Exceptional in presenting a compelling but balanced look at all the history I was never taught in school (and I have a Masters degree). Has really changed my views and helped me to recognize and understand that I have no "opinion" on current issues effecting Indigenous peoples in Canada (and all Canadians( - that what I need to do is genuinely listen, reflect and learn more. Thank you so very very much. Only one suggestion for improvement... many of the references regarding current issues are becoming dated and it would be awesome to update what has happened/not happened since circa 2015. Thanks again.

교육 기관: Trevor P

Jun 14, 2020

Thank you so very much for offering this crucial course for all of us to witness. My wife and I took this course during the Co-Vid isolation and we were both amazed at how much of Canadian history we were never offered from a different more Indigenous perspective. We found ourselves being enlightened and finding so many societal and cultural connections to the truths that were discussed and revealed. Many of these topics are not covered in our textbooks and as a result, our historical perspectives are being skewed to what truths actually exist. We are so grateful that we took this course! Well done!!

교육 기관: Chet K

May 25, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. I actually started this course because I did not understand the issues our Indigenous people face here in Canada.

When I don't understand something my preference is to take a stance of trying to learn. I started by reading books by indigenous authors and those were very informative. Then after creating some dialogue from reading the books it was recommended that I take this course to learn about Canada's history from an Indigenous perspective.

The presenters do an excellent job, the videos are short and the reading material is provided. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Vanessa G

Sep 01, 2020

Unbelievable History of oppression. With facts and from an Indigenous prospective. I wish we could take back time. I did not know. This course was outstanding. The videos and commentators were professional. Mind blowing The course videos and reading a must to pass the quiz's Art work and explanations were outstanding. If you have a chance go to the lobby discussion area for more information from individuals expressing their own experiences and knowledge. I never realized how complex it was and ashamed of the Canadian Government not doing enough to protect the true people of this country.

교육 기관: Meagan F

Jun 20, 2020

Thank you for providing such a well thought out and well-researched course. It was very educational and valuable for our understanding of Canadian history and contemporary issues. We especially appreciated the inclusion of the lecture dedicated specifically to women and genderful people. We have recommended this course to our friends and family. One small suggestion that we have is to include a few more pictures of the artists' works in the lecture on indigenous art. Thank you so much for putting these lectures together and for allowing us to gain such invaluable knowledge from this course.

교육 기관: Jennifer L

Aug 31, 2017

This course was extremely meaningful to me. I am a Metis woman living in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan. I currently work as an Educational Assistant in our public school. Many of my co-workers are also Indigenous. We have all been directly affected by the St. Micheals residential school that once stood here. Leah Dorion is highly regarded in our school and has on occasion, worked with our students on art projects at the local museum. This is the first University class I have taken in 30 years and I'm glad I started with this one! Thanks for making this so relevant and worthwhile to me!

교육 기관: Laurie F

Sep 18, 2020

My aunt who is a Metis knowledge holder, told me about this course. I have always been fascinated by my dad's heritage however it was only passed on to us in a very limited way. Unfortunately it was not something they were brought up to be proud of. My dad has learned a lot from his sister who has taken on a proud role in spreading knowledge about Metis history. Even though I am almost 50 I figure you are never to old to enrich your life with more knowledge and information. I appreciate that a quality course like this is available to anyone interested in learning new perspectives.

교육 기관: Todd C

Sep 14, 2020

An exceptional opportunity to gain access to the actual history of indigenous experiences. The history of this land started well before any human being populated this geography. To limit our knowledge to what happened here since 1492 is inaccurate storytelling of our collective past. While geologist can tell me what happened here millions of years ago, it turns out there is enough resource amongst current people to tell the story of human population of the Americas. The question isn’t; why do I need to know what is in the content of this course? the question really is; why don’t I?

교육 기관: Irene D

Jan 30, 2018

I’m very pleased with this informative indigenous course. I’ve learned a lot about issues affecting indigenous - First Nation and politics . I’ve learned a lot about the affect that land has on indigenous culture and a little about trieties and the politics involved. It’s help me develop language and open

my mindtjank up to the abuse that took place and how and why it’s important for them to be heard and understood as a community . I love the storytelling approach and that they leave people to learn at their own pace and that woman detained a lot of power in their comminittees 🙏

교육 기관: Suman P K

Aug 16, 2020

I greatly appreciate all the members of the team who have put together the Course for Indigenous Canada. For me the experience was to learn about Canadian History in a relaxing manner, like an antidote to the Covid pandemic situation. From the first week itself I discovered the order that Reading, Interactive Video and then watching all the videos helped before taking the quizzes. I will take up another course from this Department from University of Alberta. I wish to continue contributing to the Discussion Forum, as I had many things to say but did not find time to do so in time.

교육 기관: Ruth C

Sep 29, 2020

It was very eye opening & informative to learn more about the history of Canada's Indigenous people, their mistreatment at the hands of European settlers, their fight for survival, their resilience & their continuing battle against stereotypical ideas and mistreatment. I have a profound pride & admiration for Canada's original inhabitants. I sincerely hope that Canada will continue to acknowledge the atrocities that have been, and still are, being committed against them and that one day they will enjoy the same rights, acceptance and treatment that all human beings deserve!

교육 기관: April A

Sep 06, 2020

I loved this course. As a Metis woman, a social worker and a previous instructor, I found the material engaging and inspiring. Although the history can be very overwhelming, it is a part of the history of Indigenous people and this was presented very respectfully, yet told the history.

I loved seeing the progress, hearing about the many people involved in making positive change. The art by Leah Dorion was very creative and I loved the storytelling involved in showcasing.

I would recommend this course to anyone.

Thank you for this incredible journey through learning.

교육 기관: Stacey Y

Sep 19, 2020

I have learned so much in this course. As an indigenous woman from Treaty 8 that grew up on a reserve and now resides in an urban area, this course has given me the knowledge that I lacked for so many years. I wasn't aware of the impacts of residential schools until I was early twenties ( I am now 32 years old). Growing up no one talked about our history and the impacts it had. Thanks to this course I have a better understanding of our history, cultural and political issues, and so much more. Thank you for everyone that has contributed to making this course accessible.

교육 기관: Bernadette M

Aug 20, 2020

J'ai beaucoup apprécié ce cours. Maintenant, le monde doit entendre les histoires, les horreurs et les injustices faites à la communauté des Premiers Nations. Le curriculum d'études sociales en l'Ontario, au niveau primaire et moyen ne parle pas de notre passé. Le curriculum doit être changé. Nous devons revoir notre passé afin de ne pas répéter les erreurs dans le présent et le futur. Ce cours m'a aussi permise d'apprendre qu'est-ce que ça veut dire être Métis. Je suis fière de le dire que je suis Métis, reconnu par Métis Nation of Canada.

Merci pour cette occasion !

교육 기관: Perumalu K

Oct 16, 2020

This is a beautiful course which helps me to understand the natives of Canada. The course highlights the early stages, the struggle from the beginning during the colonial era and continues to the current time for due recognition, identities, rights and to be on par players in all fields in the growth of contemporary Canada. My heart felt regards and respect to the First Nation people, Inuit and the Metis. Hoping the day will come when l visit Canada and enjoy your cultures and friendship. Thanks to the teachers who prepared this course for the international community.

교육 기관: Angela J M

Sep 25, 2020

Ccourse videos were dry, but casenotes were very informative and thorough. Minor changes need to be made such as clear identification of headings and sub- headings. I also recognize mention of Winnipeg's Neechi Commons, which wanted to inform instructors that it was an amazing resource, however, it has closed. I have recommended this class to all my peers. As a First Nations individual, it was enlightening to learn about what happened to our Ancestors long before I was even a thought. Miigwech. This has greatly contributed to a sense of belonging and identity for me.

교육 기관: Nashira D

Aug 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and feel that I have started to learn much about Indigenous history, culture, and political concerns in Canada because of it. I especially loved the inclusion of Leah Dorion's art and commentary. For future iterations of this course, I would appreciate a more careful proofreading of the course notes and quizzes to eliminate typos and occasional inconsistencies. Also, including a separate long list compilation of Indigenous writers, artists, musicians, and their works would further enhance this fantastic learning experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Michael P

Oct 26, 2020

Overall I really enjoyed this course and will be looking for additional content to continue learning and understanding this important history of my country. Good job to those that put this together and thank you UofA for making it available online and at no cost to participate. Should I ever be asked by those who create/manage learning content for Canadian elementary & highschool children I will advise them that this should be part of the history delivered to our kids. We are making a huge mistake by now getting this information out. Warm regards, Michael Phillips