Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
3,463개의 평가
1,259개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AS

Sep 07, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 1,282개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Julia P

Apr 22, 2020

This course is well researched and has so much information that every Canadian should know about. It incorporated interesting interviews, and some art pieces commissioned to highlight the course and important aspects of Aboriginal history. Discussion forums with answers from mediators along with course notes and references were helpful in digging a bit deeper into the informaiton. Well done!

교육 기관: Elyssa D

Sep 13, 2017

I have always had an interest in Indigenous culture and issues. This course has allowed me to gain insight into an Indigenous' perspective of Canadian's history. The way videos and notes were used was very organized and helpful. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians and be integrated in our education system. Thank you for this wonderful learning experience! Highly recommend it!

교육 기관: NaDeana N

Sep 18, 2020

Very eye opening course that showed how little I learned in school about indigenous people, true Canadian history and how our lessons in Canadian history were incredibly white washed. I now shutter to think we celebrated John Cabot Day/Discovery Day in Newfoundland knowing that his "discovery" meant the demise and suffering of so many indigenous people. Thank you for offering this course.

교육 기관: Deborah

Sep 23, 2020

I learned so much by taking this course. Not only did I learn the history of Indigenous peoples , I also learned language, terminology and concepts that both informed and challenged me to understand. I have so much more understanding now of our Indigenous populations and how colonialism, settler society and patriarchy have affected their history and current conditions in today's society.

교육 기관: Robert S B

Sep 07, 2020

Overall, I really enjoyed the course. The content was stimulating and thought provoking. Many times, I did further research into issues/articles to gain a better understanding. Video footage and artwork imagery were appropriate to assist the learning process. I would have liked a link to further courses that could be taken via distance learning to build on the foundations of this course.

교육 기관: John K

Sep 03, 2020

sadness, anger and shame at Canadian Government deliberate genocidal policies

interesting parallels with Ireland in terms of english rule, and later church and state influence

irish healthcare and prosperity improved dramatically with EU membership, while sovereignty was partly conceded....nowhere can expect immunity from digital economy and the resulting multicultural integration

thanks

교육 기관: Swetha P

Jul 09, 2020

Incredible course to start learning about Indigenous Peoples in "Canada" with specific, thought-provoking examples. Spoke to varies parts of history as well as current Indigenous life in "Canada". Very grateful to the team who created this amazing course, looking forward to being a life-long learner in this space as an incoming medical student and settler on Treaty 6 lands. Thank you.

교육 기관: Donna W

Sep 21, 2020

Great course really enjoyed it, lots of learning and transformation. Not as much information about Eastern Canada and Mi'kmaq history as I would have hoped, but, it has sparked my interest to learn more. Excellent, well organized and very interesting. Thanks so much, it has changed me, my perception and understanding of the history of Canada. I will be recommending it to everyone.

교육 기관: Alfred W F L

Aug 11, 2020

I have sincerely appreciated the presentation of this course, not knowing what to expect. As a full-blooded white male, I thought I knew a little more than is now apparent. Though there are obvious ‘digs’ at the colonial settlers (of which I am a part, by default of birth) your educating of us is nonetheless done with dignity and honesty. I feel I am better for it. Thank you

교육 기관: Sherri B

May 27, 2020

What a wonderful course. So thoughtfully put together. I can't believe the tremendous amount of work that was put into this course. It was so appreciated and really broadened my knowledge of many Indigenous subjects relevant to our country and the history of Canada. It has inspired me to further learn. Again my heartfelt thanks and appreciation to all who were involved.

교육 기관: Danielle C

Sep 15, 2020

I have learned so much, at times my heart ached for all the hurt and devastation, and other times I was furious that anyone, at any time trought history, could ever view these cultures as anything but inspiring and beautiful. Thank you to University of Alberta Faculty of Native Studies for providing this course to the world. I truly think every person should take this.

교육 기관: Manothri M

Sep 04, 2020

This course was easy to follow, informational, and engaging. I really appreciated learning about indigenous history from an indigenous perspective, and I certainly learned a lot about Canada's history. I found the course and its material extremely valuable and I would recommend that this course be taught in elementary and secondary schools. Thank you for the knowledge!

교육 기관: Katharine M

Sep 07, 2020

I have started my journey to listen. I will continue to study the content from this amazing 1st course about Indigenous Canada. The broad range of topics were the perfect way to steer me in the right direction. An excellent 12 weeks of learning from the Native Studies team. Thank you so much for offering this free course. Is the an Indigenous Canada 2 on the horizon?

교육 기관: Sharon S

Feb 18, 2018

This was an important learning for me, to bring the history into the contemporary world we all live in. The course material was clear and accessible with various ways to learn (auditory and visual). The online/mobile app was also useful to be able to keep up the course work. I will recommend this course to my colleagues, friends and family. Thank you. Sharon Stevens

교육 기관: Priya K

Mar 21, 2020

I never expected I can complete a wonderful course. From the beginning of the course to the end, each part I have learned is really interesting and I have enjoyed a lot by acquiring knowledge in Indigenous Canada. I thank the educators for enlightening my existing knowledge and for their efforts to spread a really wonderful history on Indigenous people of Canada.

교육 기관: Jeff H

Sep 22, 2018

Highly informative, challenges preconceived notions regarding Indigenous people within Canada. Not afraid to shed light on difficult parts of Canadian history that you don't always hear about in schools. A must-take for anyone interested in Canadian history, anyone interested in helping our FNMI people, or anyone wanting to know more about Canada's FNMI cultures.

교육 기관: Ron M

Sep 14, 2020

I want to take this opportunity to thank the staff at the U of A who brought this course together and to offer it for free was outstanding. I have been looking for straight and honest information on the history of the Native peoples and what the governments role in colonization and has it and is it still going on today. Which sadly it is. Thank you again Ron M.

교육 기관: Wally S

May 19, 2019

I was blessed to have taken this course and to have increased my awareness and understanding of indigenous peoples, the role that they have played in Canada, their history, and the shameful what that the European settlers treated them and that we as "new Canadians" have treated them. I would highly recommend this course. It will educate you and open your mind.

교육 기관: Chinwe U

Apr 25, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about Indigenous history in Canada. I took this course to increase my understanding of Indigenous history and contemporary matters. This course delivered. It has provided me with a good understanding of the fundamentals, and offered me a roadmap to build upon that knowledge. I am also very grateful that this is being offered for free.

교육 기관: Matteo C F

Jun 18, 2017

Learnt a great deal that I only wish had been covered through out my formal education. Thank you so much for this. I hope to find additional ones I can take to keep on expanding my knowledge. Thank you for the intersectional approach through out the course, the guest speakers, integrating different modalities of learning through out, and really just all of it.

교육 기관: Andrea G

May 05, 2020

This was a very well done course. I enjoyed the various topics discussed and the paintings that went along with the topics. As a non-Indigenous person I learned a lot about the Indigenous peoples and their cultures. They are truely the lands caretakers and they should be respected for all their knowledge and beliefs. Thank you for such a wonderful course!

교육 기관: Paul N

Jul 15, 2020

I may have already written a review but never the less. Thank you! If you are thinking or wanting to lean more about Canadian history, indigenous history or colonialism, this course is for you. I was moved at more then one of the modules. Helped me answer questions about my own past. Thank you again, looking forward to taking more courses with Coursera.

교육 기관: Chris A

Sep 03, 2020

The course is fantastic. Seeing Canada through an Indigenous lens is a real eyeopener. I wish the content of this course was taught in schools when I was growing up, but unfortunately it was not.

This is my first online course and I thought the format was great. I personally find it much easier to retain what I see in video than through just reading texts.