Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
6,953개의 평가
2,774개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS
2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

BE
2020년 11월 17일

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 2,797개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Donald J W

2020년 9월 29일

As a person from down south of you in the US, I want you to know I learned a lot that I did not know about the start of Canada and how Indigenous people helped shape your landscape and culture there. Very informative and a special thanks to Tracy Bear for explaining each module there was in user friendly terms. I would recommend this to everyone!! And a VERY big thank you to Mr. Dan Levy from whom we learned about this course from because he was planning to start and invited us fans of him and Schitt's Creek along for the ride to discuss and learn. Wonderful. Whole new look at Canada for me!! Thank you all!

교육 기관: Sadielou M S

2020년 11월 4일

This is a great introduction to Indigenous history in the Canadian context. It improved my awareness of Canada's colonial past and also my awareness of how this continues to affect the sovereignty of indigenous nations across Canada. As a fairly resent settler to Canada, this really wet my appetite for a better understanding of the origins of Canada as a nation and how it has interacted with indigenous nations from a perspective that is most often left out of Canadian history books or told from a colonial white supremacist perspective. Needless to say, I have already disposed of a couple of books I owned.

교육 기관: June C

2020년 10월 6일

Exceptional in presenting a compelling but balanced look at all the history I was never taught in school (and I have a Masters degree). Has really changed my views and helped me to recognize and understand that I have no "opinion" on current issues effecting Indigenous peoples in Canada (and all Canadians( - that what I need to do is genuinely listen, reflect and learn more. Thank you so very very much. Only one suggestion for improvement... many of the references regarding current issues are becoming dated and it would be awesome to update what has happened/not happened since circa 2015. Thanks again.

교육 기관: Trevor P

2020년 6월 14일

Thank you so very much for offering this crucial course for all of us to witness. My wife and I took this course during the Co-Vid isolation and we were both amazed at how much of Canadian history we were never offered from a different more Indigenous perspective. We found ourselves being enlightened and finding so many societal and cultural connections to the truths that were discussed and revealed. Many of these topics are not covered in our textbooks and as a result, our historical perspectives are being skewed to what truths actually exist. We are so grateful that we took this course! Well done!!

교육 기관: Betty D

2020년 11월 1일

This course was simply amazing. I learned so much about the indigenous perspective. I am a retired health care professional, a grandmother and someone compelled to understand a better way to live softly on this earth. I am embarrassed that it has taken all these years to learn some of the history, values, and cultural aspects of indigenous people. Taking this course has lead to several discussions with friends and family members, and especially my three grandchildren. Thank you so much for offering this course. I would like to re-enrol if I may so that i continue to learn the material you have provided.

교육 기관: Rose H

2020년 11월 22일

I found this course informative and it offers a wonderful glimpse into the atrocities committed by the Indian Act and both church and state of Canada against the Indigenous, Inuit, and Metis Peoples. I believe this course should be mandatory education for high schools across Canada. It covers a huge component of the curriculum.

My only complaint with the course is the quiz questions within the videos are sometimes placed prior to the information itself so you are left guessing what the answer could be. Beyond that, I am grateful to the organizers at the University of Alberta for offering this course.

교육 기관: Christine D

2020년 11월 8일

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course for many reasons. The narration, telling of history and stories was really impactful and made me feel connected to the people. The art pieces tying it all in at the end of each session were profound and beautiful. This course was engaging visually and auditorily. The Sunday sessions added different perspectives. There is a part of me that is angry with the learnings I was taught in school and I feel duped. This program is incredibly important to the truth of our history and I am grateful for the curriculum content your team has assembled. Thank you! Merci!

교육 기관: Chet K

2020년 5월 25일

I absolutely loved this course. I actually started this course because I did not understand the issues our Indigenous people face here in Canada.

When I don't understand something my preference is to take a stance of trying to learn. I started by reading books by indigenous authors and those were very informative. Then after creating some dialogue from reading the books it was recommended that I take this course to learn about Canada's history from an Indigenous perspective.

The presenters do an excellent job, the videos are short and the reading material is provided. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Vanessa G

2020년 9월 1일

Unbelievable History of oppression. With facts and from an Indigenous prospective. I wish we could take back time. I did not know. This course was outstanding. The videos and commentators were professional. Mind blowing The course videos and reading a must to pass the quiz's Art work and explanations were outstanding. If you have a chance go to the lobby discussion area for more information from individuals expressing their own experiences and knowledge. I never realized how complex it was and ashamed of the Canadian Government not doing enough to protect the true people of this country.

교육 기관: Jane L

2020년 11월 1일

Thank you to the Faculty of Native Studies of the University of Alberta. Thank you to Dr Tracy Bear & Dr Paul Gareau and all who were involved in this MOOC! I have learned so much about First Nations, Inuit & Métis peoples in Canada. This course has been very emotional & eye opening for myself. I truly think this needs to be added to all Canadian school curriculums. Every Canadian should know the truth about our country’s history and the genocide settlers attempted against the people who were here first. I’m hoping to learn so much more on my way to becoming a better ally for Indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Elizabeth F

2020년 11월 16일

The Indigenous Canada brought back many memories of History class in elementary school but it also raised many subjects that I do not recall ever learning in school. The course has highlighted important issues that I was 'aware' of through the media (i.e. moderate livelihood) but did not have enough knowledge to fully understand. Thank you for the opportunity to learn history from knowledgeable and interesting presenters, the course is well worth the time to learn more than what was available at the time I attended school and to appreciate the struggles that are being faced daily in Canada.

교육 기관: Meagan F

2020년 6월 20일

Thank you for providing such a well thought out and well-researched course. It was very educational and valuable for our understanding of Canadian history and contemporary issues. We especially appreciated the inclusion of the lecture dedicated specifically to women and genderful people. We have recommended this course to our friends and family. One small suggestion that we have is to include a few more pictures of the artists' works in the lecture on indigenous art. Thank you so much for putting these lectures together and for allowing us to gain such invaluable knowledge from this course.

교육 기관: Dale D

2020년 11월 16일

Thanks for your presentation on this all important Canadian and international subject. This has given me a greater understanding of the history of our First Nations peoples and their struggles and peaked my interest to further explore this rich history. Along with the many struggles, I have confidence that through perseverance, learning, art, and other forms of communication, we will get better at collaborating outcomes that foster positive relationships in our world. Thanks to all that participated in building this course and to the excellent presenters on explaining this complex topic.

교육 기관: Michael W

2020년 11월 23일

I liked this course a lot. The content was informative and well presented, accessible and understandable. I liked the lectures, but also and maybe a bit more the broad range of "Interviews" with elders and academics. They gave the course an increase in authenticity. Again the lectures were also well done, informative and insightful, but the interviews for me were the strongest part. I found I felt more connected to them, drawn in. Thanks to all of you, I hope there will be subsequent courses, because my sense is that I still have a lot to learn. With respect appreciation and admiration.

교육 기관: Jennifer L

2017년 8월 31일

This course was extremely meaningful to me. I am a Metis woman living in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan. I currently work as an Educational Assistant in our public school. Many of my co-workers are also Indigenous. We have all been directly affected by the St. Micheals residential school that once stood here. Leah Dorion is highly regarded in our school and has on occasion, worked with our students on art projects at the local museum. This is the first University class I have taken in 30 years and I'm glad I started with this one! Thanks for making this so relevant and worthwhile to me!

교육 기관: Laurie F

2020년 9월 17일

My aunt who is a Metis knowledge holder, told me about this course. I have always been fascinated by my dad's heritage however it was only passed on to us in a very limited way. Unfortunately it was not something they were brought up to be proud of. My dad has learned a lot from his sister who has taken on a proud role in spreading knowledge about Metis history. Even though I am almost 50 I figure you are never to old to enrich your life with more knowledge and information. I appreciate that a quality course like this is available to anyone interested in learning new perspectives.

교육 기관: Todd C

2020년 9월 14일

An exceptional opportunity to gain access to the actual history of indigenous experiences. The history of this land started well before any human being populated this geography. To limit our knowledge to what happened here since 1492 is inaccurate storytelling of our collective past. While geologist can tell me what happened here millions of years ago, it turns out there is enough resource amongst current people to tell the story of human population of the Americas. The question isn’t; why do I need to know what is in the content of this course? the question really is; why don’t I?

교육 기관: Irene D

2018년 1월 30일

I’m very pleased with this informative indigenous course. I’ve learned a lot about issues affecting indigenous - First Nation and politics . I’ve learned a lot about the affect that land has on indigenous culture and a little about trieties and the politics involved. It’s help me develop language and open

my mindtjank up to the abuse that took place and how and why it’s important for them to be heard and understood as a community . I love the storytelling approach and that they leave people to learn at their own pace and that woman detained a lot of power in their comminittees 🙏

교육 기관: Suman P K

2020년 8월 16일

I greatly appreciate all the members of the team who have put together the Course for Indigenous Canada. For me the experience was to learn about Canadian History in a relaxing manner, like an antidote to the Covid pandemic situation. From the first week itself I discovered the order that Reading, Interactive Video and then watching all the videos helped before taking the quizzes. I will take up another course from this Department from University of Alberta. I wish to continue contributing to the Discussion Forum, as I had many things to say but did not find time to do so in time.

교육 기관: Biljana J

2020년 11월 19일

I very much enjoyed taking the course: Indigenous Canada. It was extremely informative and eye-opening. This was the first course I took on coursera and I loved it! As a Macedonian-Canadian woman that was raised in Canada, there were many things about Indigenous people (i.e. their experiences, their various worldviews, the struggles they have faced and continue to face, etc.) that I was not aware of. We definitely need to be more educated and made aware. Thank you for having this course on coursera and to the Professors for doing a wonderful job breaking it all down for us.

교육 기관: Ruth C

2020년 9월 28일

It was very eye opening & informative to learn more about the history of Canada's Indigenous people, their mistreatment at the hands of European settlers, their fight for survival, their resilience & their continuing battle against stereotypical ideas and mistreatment. I have a profound pride & admiration for Canada's original inhabitants. I sincerely hope that Canada will continue to acknowledge the atrocities that have been, and still are, being committed against them and that one day they will enjoy the same rights, acceptance and treatment that all human beings deserve!

교육 기관: April A

2020년 9월 6일

I loved this course. As a Metis woman, a social worker and a previous instructor, I found the material engaging and inspiring. Although the history can be very overwhelming, it is a part of the history of Indigenous people and this was presented very respectfully, yet told the history.

I loved seeing the progress, hearing about the many people involved in making positive change. The art by Leah Dorion was very creative and I loved the storytelling involved in showcasing.

I would recommend this course to anyone.

Thank you for this incredible journey through learning.

교육 기관: Olivia T

2020년 11월 8일

Such an important teaching!

I think everyone on North America should have this education. The educators openly welcome all people with varying degree of Indigenous understanding and made these vital (sometimes dark) moments in history easy to understand. Lessons build upon its former which helps process complex and dense information. I found the lectures to be foundational and the additional resources (glossary and extra topic reading) are exceptional. The art, music, Q&A make this very well rounded. Above and beyond.

I'm so grateful for this offering. So many thanks!!

교육 기관: Stacey Y

2020년 9월 19일

I have learned so much in this course. As an indigenous woman from Treaty 8 that grew up on a reserve and now resides in an urban area, this course has given me the knowledge that I lacked for so many years. I wasn't aware of the impacts of residential schools until I was early twenties ( I am now 32 years old). Growing up no one talked about our history and the impacts it had. Thanks to this course I have a better understanding of our history, cultural and political issues, and so much more. Thank you for everyone that has contributed to making this course accessible.