Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
6,824개의 평가
2,721개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

EF
2020년 11월 2일

Such important information for us all. This course was eye-opening and should really be taken by every Canadian. The course flows along nicely and is easy to navigate. I am better for having taken it.

AC
2020년 2월 23일

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 2,730개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Nashira D

2017년 8월 13일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and feel that I have started to learn much about Indigenous history, culture, and political concerns in Canada because of it. I especially loved the inclusion of Leah Dorion's art and commentary. For future iterations of this course, I would appreciate a more careful proofreading of the course notes and quizzes to eliminate typos and occasional inconsistencies. Also, including a separate long list compilation of Indigenous writers, artists, musicians, and their works would further enhance this fantastic learning experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Michael P

2020년 10월 26일

Overall I really enjoyed this course and will be looking for additional content to continue learning and understanding this important history of my country. Good job to those that put this together and thank you UofA for making it available online and at no cost to participate. Should I ever be asked by those who create/manage learning content for Canadian elementary & highschool children I will advise them that this should be part of the history delivered to our kids. We are making a huge mistake by now getting this information out. Warm regards, Michael Phillips

교육 기관: Amber-Rose W

2020년 10월 5일

This course was incredible and very informative. Throughout my entire life, I have been learning about the history of Canada through a settler-bias lense. This course was eye-opening and enlightening. I believe it's important that we as settlers are given this Indigenous perspective, so that we may be able to stop the colonization practices that still are in effect today. I highly recommend this course to everyone who's ever sat through a Canadian curriculum-based history class, you will learn more in these 12 weeks than you did in the 12 years you were in school.

교육 기관: Sophie C

2020년 10월 26일

I learnt so much from this course, valuable, historical information regarding the Indigenous People's of Canada which really made me question many things. This course was very thought provoking, inspiring, tragic, and yet hopeful all at the same time. The negative effects of Colonialism were astonishing and rippling through decades of injustice, persecution, intolerance and a lack of respect and understanding, particularly to women, made me hold my breathe at times and also made me very angry. I think everyone in Canada would benefit from this course. Thank you.

교육 기관: Kelley T

2020년 9월 20일

I have told everyone I can about this course!! I cannot fully express how moved and grateful I am for everyone who has been a part of bringing this course to life. It is engaging, insightful, grounding, and sobering...all while being communicated from a space of deep and authentic truth in a way that doesn't shame or harm those of us that need to learn, live, and truly witness the reality of our history. Thank you so much for this work you have all done. It has shifted so much within me and in how I see and experience the world. With deep gratitude, Kelley.

교육 기관: Eva Q

2020년 8월 2일

This is a wonderful course. Wish I learned this in school. The history of Canada and how it was colonized is well administered. Good descriptions and examples. Beautiful art work. I was introduced to so many wonderful indigenous artist and activist that I can now follow on twitter, Instagram and Facebook. As beautifully displayed our history is, it is also very difficult and disheartening. This happened a century ago and yet even today, the struggle continues. I have a better vision of Canada and I have a open heart to our indigenous population. Thank you

교육 기관: Richard R

2020년 9월 1일

This is an excellent review of indigenous culture, history, and political and social issues. For someone not well versed in this subject matter in spite of relatively advanced age, it has been the source of considerable sober reflection. My default impressions and conceptions have been challenged throughout the course and I now see the need for more personal study to further revise my previously defective non-indigenous perspective. If there is one message that I take away, it is that it is never too late to learn a new understanding of other people.

교육 기관: Jocelyne L

2020년 10월 6일

This course was a great foundation for continuing study of indigenous history. I thought that I had some background but find that I have an awful lot to learn.

The class material was well organized covering the main areas. Professor Bear delivered the lectures in a most compelling fashion. This content along with the Sunday discussions provide a fantastic taking off point for further study. I do believe that we all have a duty to learn what the arrival of the settlers has meant to the lives and loss of lives of indigenous people.

Loved the art content.

교육 기관: Pam C

2020년 11월 11일

I not only learned a lot, but thoroughly enjoyed this course. The variety of topics, and lectures which included interviews and conversations created a welcoming atmosphere while still addressing difficult topics and unsettling truths. I also enjoyed the post-course conversations each week with Tracy, her team, and Dan. Thanks to everyone for offering this at no cost and I hope more Canadians enroll. With funding at U. of A. having the same struggles as all Universities right now, I also hope these impactful programs are not part of any cutbacks.

교육 기관: Alison W

2020년 11월 2일

To the instructors and those involved with putting on this course I want to extend my kudos to you. I have to admit I was one of many white Canadians who had no idea of the past history of the discrimination and hardships our Indigenous people have endured over time. Parts of the study were heart-wrenching for me. It's truly a wake up call and although this course only opened a small window, it has definitely opened my eyes and broadened my view and understanding on what Indigenous people are fighting for. Thank-you for making this course available.

교육 기관: M F

2020년 9월 7일

This eye-opening course has succeeded, not only in teaching participants about the history (past and present) of Indigenous Canada, but also leaving them with enough questions and motivations to seek more learning. Personally, I will not stop learning and will continue my research "back home." I want to see what an Indigenous USA course would look like (we have a lot to answer for). I am grateful to have participated and to have furthered my understanding. This is learning that I will take with me to my classroom, to impart to my students.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Adele M W

2020년 10월 31일

This course has been a breath of fresh air to me. It has inspired me to inject more history into my own work as a musician of West Indian descent. When I return home to visit Treaty One, I will view it with completely different eyes - the eyes through which we were not taught history as it really happened. Much gratitude to the entire team at the Native Studies Faculty and to everybody involved with the "Indigenous Canada" course. Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau and Dr. Kim Tallbear are my new heroes. Looking forward to the final Q and A sessions.

교육 기관: Michelle

2020년 11월 1일

I appreciate that the course was developed and delivered by persons who identity as Indigenous. It covered various aspects of Indigenous life and highlighted the diversity among Indigenous Nations i.e. It shined some light on aspects of different worldviews. It also incorporates aspects of modern life to address misconceptions about Indigenous matters being only about "ancient history". I am now more aware of several recent issues. The deadlines for completing assignments were flexible. Overall, it provided a great learning experience for me.

교육 기관: Arlen A

2020년 11월 12일

Indigenous Canada proved to be an important, insightful and timely course. Navigating through 2020 in Canada amidst a global pandemic in combination with global social uprisings and issues, this course presented an honest, difficult and indigenous worldview on the history and ongoing importance of this countries true first settlers. The materials and presenters were engaging, intelligent and matter of fact. I encourage each and every Canadian to take this course. Thank you Native Studies Department at the University of Alberta for my awakening!

교육 기관: Louise B

2020년 10월 1일

For me, this course on Indigenous Canada is just a beginning. I have learned so much and I definitely want to know more. In studying my country from a different perspective, I have felt every emotion. I have cried as my eyes were opened, have stood in awe of First Nations’ resiliency and have even laughed as I watched a satirical performance of the 1491’s. Book titles, Internet links and the names of various artists, writers, scholars and activists have given me enough resources to continue to “dig deeper, look closer, think bigger”. Thank you!

교육 기관: Audrey B

2020년 11월 21일

This course is extremely informative. It feels like retaking highschool history classes but told through an Indigenous perspective instead of a European perspective. I started this course out of personal curiosity and in the process it started to feel more like a civic duty. It quickly became clear how little I knew about the history of Indigenous people in Canada. Understanding the contemporary struggles of Indigenous people is almost impossible without understanding what led to them. My perspective definitely shifted while taking the course.

교육 기관: Cathy B

2020년 10월 14일

Thank you so much for this course. I thought I understood somewhat but I really had no idea. I am ashamed to say that at 65 years old, I am just now learning of the real struggles of indigenous peoples brought on, not only by my direct ancestors but modern day people as well. I have thought a lot about the aspect of 'what can I do' but I guess educating myself and others is probably the best course of action. From that can grow educated input where appropriate in contributing to dialogue and reconciliation. I feel very ashamed of our history.

교육 기관: Susan _

2020년 11월 16일

This was an outstanding course. I had very little prior knowledge of the history of the Indigenous people in Canada as it was not taught when I went through school. My first encounter with any sort of Indigenous history in Canada was when I was given the essay topic of residential schools as part of a college geography course I took a decade ago, and that had a huge impact on me and started the change in my perspective of the Canadian history that I had been taught. I truly believe everyone who lives in this country should take this course.

교육 기관: Irina D

2019년 2월 17일

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

교육 기관: Paul H

2017년 12월 24일

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

교육 기관: Kim R

2019년 11월 10일

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and analyzing my self awareness on each of the modules. The course was able to connect the dots in my understanding of my own culture. I learned a great deal of information with regard to treaties and governance and even the Indian Act. I learned the history when a child but I enjoyed it much better from an indigenous perspective. I am grateful also to better know what our ancestors lived through to better understand Intergenerational trauma. I will continue to seek a greater way of being. Miigwech!

교육 기관: Kenneth M

2020년 9월 21일

I truly appreciate the calm and factual presentation of both the beauty of indigenous culture and the painful truth of the ways in which settler behaviour has, and continues to, undermine, abuse, deny, and resist our duty to honour the peoples who hosted settlers and supported them, and upon whose land we travel together as treaty people. This has helped me to recognize that the presumed attributes of indigenous people that we whites find distasteful all find their source in colonization. Thank you for this mind-expanding presentation.

교육 기관: Justine R

2020년 11월 13일

I didn't imagine that this course would be so enriching for me. I am French and Canada is like a second home to me; and even if I am not Canadian, this course has opened my eyes to incredible stories and amazing facts that blew my mind. Indigenous worldviews have definitely changed the way I see history and the world around me. Thank you for this incredible course. I am a teacher and I will make sure to pass on my newly-acquired knowledge as much as I can to my students, so they too can open their eyes and learn from other worldviews.

교육 기관: Monica P

2018년 8월 8일

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

교육 기관: Alexandre C

2017년 6월 6일

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.