Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,303개의 평가
6,526개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

LJ

2022년 5월 5일

I really enjoyed this course. I liked that it was taught by indigenous peoples from their perspective. I feel much more confident in my knowledge regarding indigenous issues and traditions. Thank you!

AS

2020년 9월 6일

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,769개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Katherine M

2020년 8월 5일

Fantastic information, I learned a lot from it and look forward to sharing my knowledge with my students. I'm a Canadian Forces Military Police member and worked in Cold Lake for 7 years. I now teach at the Canadian Forces Military Police Academy, and I think that it is very important for Military Police (and police in general) to know about the complexities of policing the Indigenous communities and to have a better understanding of their mistrust for the police. A lot of things mentioned in the course are things I heard of, but did not know in depth. The readings and videos, as well as interactive interviews really ensured that all students could capture the information and fully understand the importance of what was being taught. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

교육 기관: Dragan S

2021년 9월 17일

Very informative. I came to Canada in 1969 and did not know the language. I was in grade 2 at the time and experienced a lot of discrimination and hardship. When I was in grade 7 my junior high school had an indigenous exhibit and that when I became very interested in indigenous culture. I have read many texts, like the infested blanket and the Beothuks, that disappeared from Newfoundland, wiped out. Currently I am reading a text called the sleeping giant awakens. Its hard for me to observe the genocide that has taken place against our indigenous people, and in a way continues today with denial. I follow Cindy Blackstock and her activities of trying to write wrongs, very courageous. I enjoyed learning. Stay strong and continue the education of the community. Miigwech.

교육 기관: Marie T

2021년 1월 24일

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this course. As a non-Indigenous Canadian who lives in southern Ontario I appreciate 'this primer' to help me ground my learning moving forward. The learning format was enjoyable with the mix of presentations, interviews, quizzes, additional resources and the integration of art to spark my curiosity and reinforce key points. I chose to learn through the modules in a two-week period, doing more module per day when I made time. It was a good pace for me! I have recommended this Indigenous Canada course to some of my colleagues, friends and family members. I feel that I am looking at events and issues locally, nationally and internationally in different ways as I travelled this course's path during two wintry weeks in 2021.

교육 기관: Krysta o

2020년 12월 1일

This course is a must for older and younger Canadians. I am a Canadian of Irish decent. I was always taught to be proud of my culture, but many of my First nation friends were not. I didn't understanding their struggle or the laws in place to suppress them as people. It wasn't till I was older that I realized how white washed my education actually was. My friends would perform cultural dances and make traditional art all through elementary and high school. I got to see only a little bit of a culture that my ancestors tried to oppress, but from what I was able to see it is beautiful. Its a culture of community. Which is what the name Canada means. Community being there for one another. If you want to understand our history told properly I suggest you take this course.

교육 기관: Gina M

2022년 5월 22일

It is a very valuable course - thank you so much! A bit of feedback: I noticed some small technical issues where the answer for a "pop-up-question" during a video would come after the question had been asked. Also, the first time I encountered one of these "pop-up-questions," I didn't realize that I could scroll down through a selection of answers! Oh well! I have some questions about the way that Indigenous men are portrayed in this course - I was surprised to find myself feeling like some aspects of "maleness," to me, kind of portrayed Euro-centered values. I'm not saying this as a criticism, only that I may have misunderstood what was being presented, or was seeing the information through a lens of just not understanding "maleness" full-stop, as I'm a woman.

교육 기관: Barbara N

2021년 8월 28일

I registered for this course to learn about the history of residential schools, among other topics, and to understand the issues we are facing as a result of that history, and how to show respect and move forward. I learned so much more and am left with much to think about and what I can do. The materials are excellent and I will reread them as there is much to absorb and digest. Appreciated having three lecturers, they were excellent. I really enjoyed the artwork and its storytelling at the end of each course. This latter component has inspired me to want to purchase Indigenous art. I am not an expert in this area but I enjoyed it for its storytelling - meaningful, simple but complex. with a beauty in its wisdom. Thank you very much for a great course.

교육 기관: Malcolm J

2021년 9월 24일

I am very honored and proud to have completed the Indigenous Canada course offered by the University of Alberta. It reaffirmed knowledge I gained growing up within Treaty 6 territory and near the Cold Lake, Kehiwin, and Blue Quills First Nation. What surprised me what how much I didn't know but this course brought to light the historical & present context that I did not receive or understand. I challenge all of you to complete this course. My personal experience is that it has absolutely reframed my view of the history of Canada, Indigenous people, and the struggles they are continuously facing. It is online and free but would encourage everyone to take the diploma version to ensure the University has the resources to continue to invest in programs like this.

교육 기관: Lynn G

2020년 10월 26일

Very enjoyable course! I learned some new concepts that I was unaware of and reminded of some that I had misplaced over the years. The only criticism that I have is I would have liked to see the presenters speaking more free-form and sharing their knowledge, rather than just reading from a script (that ended up being our course notes!). But overall, the lessons were well-presented and the material was engaging. I would recommend that the course provide the student with links to outside materials such as websites and Youtube videos on some of the topics, For e.g. I found it most helpful to go and watch some CBC archival footage on the Oka Crisis and to watch the interviews on the Truth and Reconciliation website. This additional material rounded out the course.

교육 기관: Danica J

2021년 6월 27일

I learned so much from this course! It was created with a lot of heart, but also great intelligence. I appreciated how I could both listen and read the transcript of each lesson, I loved the art work, I think the tests were tough but they made me review the material, which covered a lot of history and analysis. I am very grateful to have taken this course. It helped me to understand Oka and Idle No More, but also gave me the tools to understand things not covered like the Tsuut'ina and the ring road in Calgary, Joyce Echaquan in Joliette and Eishia Hudson in Winnipeg. I wish I could understand and change the source of the negative attitudes expressed by many Canadians, and I cherish and celebrate all the things the course allowed me to experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Sherry S

2020년 11월 30일

This course - which is also available free of charge - has provided me with so much information and history and background about an extensive array of subjects that deal with the colonialization of Indigenous peoples of Canada (and elsewhere) and their historic determination to not let go of their culture. Coming from Northern Ontario, and seeing first hand the unfair and inappropriate treatment of and attitudes towards many first nations people, I was very happy to take this course and follow the history from first settlers on. To be honest - although it was very difficult material emotionally at times, I am left with a very positive notion that our indigenous neighbours, friends, artists and activist community will grow stronger with each generation.

교육 기관: Steve R

2022년 4월 9일

The learning content in this course was invaluable. So much of what was taught flips what most non-indigenous Canadians have come to know, believe, what we have been taught by successive governments, teachers, religious people, grandparents is false, told through the purposeful lense of colonialism. The course really makes me think about all that was here before colonialists arrived, the language, culture, governing, artisticness, roles of women, communities, deep deep history, and so much more. With a stroke of a pen, the church long ago gave permission for explorers to declare land after land, and people after people, their histories, cultures, societies nul and void, which was so wrong, and why the history in this course needs to be learned by all.

교육 기관: Scott B

2020년 12월 21일

An eyeopening and mind expanding course of Indigenous People, their culture, their history, and their significance in all lives who live, work, and/or study in Canada. Though a primer course to more advanced and detailed courses on the subject of Indigenous Canada, I feel that this program should be mandatory for all schools in Canada. Despite having some basic concept knowledge of Indigenous Canada through the settler society public school system, I learned more during the weeks devoted to learning from this course than I have during my 44 years here on Earth prior. Thank you Dr. Bear and associates for providing stronger educational foundations than I had previous held to help me further appreciate the Indigenous People and their land that I live in.

교육 기관: Judy J

2017년 4월 23일

I loved that this course offered WRITTEN and VIDEO lessons. I find it difficult to learn by just watching a video. By doing some of the learning by reading and re-reading, I absorbed more.

Quizes are also another modality that works well. Quick to do, easy to score, inexpensive to administer, both teacher and learner can assess student learning very quickly.

I wish all Coursera programs included more than one methodology for learning. Video is fine, but it isn't the best for everyone, and it isn't the only way to teach things. Many Coursera program rely too heavily on video as their only teaching tool. There are something like 12 or 14 modalities for teaching students. Thank you for using more than one way. I especially liked your reading materials.

교육 기관: Ashton G

2020년 9월 22일

The course was fantastic to be a part of. I enjoyed every lecture, I really enjoyed the layout and the options given (you can read the lecture as it is being presented on screen, and there are course reading notes that really helped me). I think the quizzes may need some re-wording on some questions as they can be confusing and appear irrelevant to helping the student understand the content. But other than that, everything was perfect and I am very grateful and honoured to be able to take this course and learn about Indigenous past and present in Canada. This course is now a gateway for me to be able to learn even more because I know a little more about where to look and I have under my toolbelt some proper perspective to the issues at hand today.

교육 기관: Sasha R

2020년 12월 13일

The Indigenous Canada course is beautifully curated, each week revealing a new layer of detailed and fascinating tools to educate and open my mind to a subject that I had previously not had the privilege to learn and understand.

The course is interwoven with a series of wonderful video's, learning resources and art which communicate a diverse and complex history of Indigenous Canada. Over the past 12 weeks I have cultivated an understanding of this fascinating and painful subject, whilst watching the course videos.... Each segment always delivered using respectful, diverse and detailed storytelling.

I am honoured to participate in a course which embodies the beauty and diversity of Indigenous Canada and inspired and hungry to learn more.

Thank you

교육 기관: Keshav D K

2020년 9월 8일

Having recently come to Canada from India, a similarly brutalized and colonized society, and having today’s Canadians have totally incorrect views about India encouraged me to take this course. It was worth every penny.

Apart from understanding the reasons why Aboriginal Canadians were called “Indian”, it removed from my mind, misconceptions and European cultural power imposed prejudice against Aboriginals.

Strange as this may sound, I recommend this course to all Indians, to understand what was done to India over a period of 300 years. A very similar time period to the colonization in Canada.

I thank Dr. Tracy Bear for her hard work to put this course together and would request her to add in more Canadian Aboriginal vocabulary into the course.

교육 기관: Ashley B

2020년 8월 27일

I really enjoyed the course and the learning experiences that it provided. I felt it did a very good job of covering the past and present issues, as well as explain the diverse and unique views\experiences of the different indigenous groups across Canada. If I had one critic of the course - I felt like some of the multiple choice questions were sometimes difficult to answer (some wanted very specific answers that were very detailed; others were very vague or complex in which I felt several answers could be considered; and a lot of questions phrased as negatives "which does not apply" or sometimes different vocabulary (i.e names that may be used Mohawk or Kanesatake ) or the use of acronyms (ie MMIW).

Thank you for providing this course.

교육 기관: Panida S

2021년 8월 9일

This is a very good course with the right amount of lesson for each week - not too long/too short. I love that the course provides the insight on indigenous people in Canada through indigenous perspectives, so the harsh truth is not glossed over or romanticized like your average American school lessons. I've got to learn a lot about the First People, their history, geography, arts, and traditions, as well as their social engagement and livelihood in the modern world in just under 2 months (I did about 2 weeks worth of classes weekly). This is definitely a valuable educational experience that I cannot find in my home country. I hope that there will be classes like indigenous arts, languages, and traditional medicine in the future. Thank you.

교육 기관: Diana K

2021년 3월 29일

Excellent course! It is hard history, insightful learning, taught by wonderful educators, willing to share their important cultures, histories, and sacred stories of the Indigenous peoples living on their stolen, extracted and colonized land. It is important learning that I take very seriously and I hope to honor their dedication to this course material and teaching in my own life by recognizing the harm of colonization and the devastation settlers caused in the hopes of returning, honoring and respecting the stolen land on which I am now currently living. It was a very humbling, thought-provoking, and inspiring course. Thank you to all the contributors, that made this course possible, and thank you for making this course accessible to all.

교육 기관: Julia L

2020년 10월 12일

This course was a great introduction that provided thoughtful insight into Indigenous Canada and the experience of Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

As a person of European descent I felt it was my duty to learn about the experiences of the people who came before me - this course did just that. I am honoured to be living in a place that has roots of hard-work, love and a focus on evolving.

The instructors were clear and made the course very interesting. This being my first experience with The University of Alberta and Coursera, I really enjoyed the video/visual element. This course was definitely designed for the modern learner as it embodied multiple ways of learning (audio/visual/written/academic/personal experience).

5/5 Stars - Thank you!

교육 기관: Barbara H

2021년 3월 8일

I learned a tremendous amount of information - particularly the early history of Canad and how it formed. It gave me a foundation for understanding more about current events and conflicts I enjoyed the Living Traditions and the insight I gained about Indigenous art.

My one suggestion is that Week 2 has way too much information packed into one week. My head was spinning. Sometimes the short quizes ask questions that have not yet been covered by the lecture. Some of the questions in the final quizes have impossible multiple choices - more than one answer could be correct, given what was said in the lecture.

But in total, I recommend this course and feel it is doing a valuable service to the settler communities in Canada. Thank you all!!

교육 기관: Heather W

2021년 8월 10일

Indigenous Studies Canada is such a helpful course. It provides such a deep and thorough insight into the traditional lifestyles of Indigenous peoples of Canada and also gave very thorough lessons into how Indigenous people interact today in this Westernized society while still making sure that their traditions thrive. Now that I have finished this course, not only do I hold more knowledge on Indigenous studies in general, I hold such respect for the Indigenous people in Canada who have experienced and are experiencing severe discrimination and racism yet they persevere and continue to fight for their land and for their rights. Thank you to the instructors for formatting such a brilliant course, I enjoyed it so much. Highly recommend!!

교육 기관: Richie A

2021년 3월 30일

This is an excellent course which would be good for many many people to see and hear - all ages and all people. the historical component is simplified, as it had to have been, yet clear and hits the points which help to start people thinking about the time before and the reasons for the effects of colonization. Not that I know more but, as a researcher at Library and Archives Canada for many years, I have seen copies of so many original documents which hold so much of the recorded goings on by both sides. Great to see more awareness created by the course and to have it presently so accessibly/interactively . Now I will miss all you chatting with us online. All the best, and many thanks From Unceded Algonquin Territory Ottawa

교육 기관: KERY S

2020년 11월 7일

I am not of Indigenous decent, though the history of the Nation we live in has been of great interest to me. I jumped at the opportunity to take this course. Not only to educate myself on the history of Aboriginal peoples, but to better enable myself in educating my child. I am a homeschool parent, and have been for many years. I believe that education has no expiry date. So, as a mother , and woman of over 40 years of age, I felt the need to show my child, that education is always accessible. It is important, and available to all ages, all cultures, and people. I am grateful to The University of Alberta, and The faculty of Native Studies, for making this course so accessible, informative, and interesting. Thank you, Kery Samardzija

교육 기관: Sharon K

2020년 11월 3일

This course has been the most wonderful and important experience for me!

The modules were designed logically, building blocks to the end. The videos, interrupted occasionally with a surprise mini-quiz, kept me on my toes. I learned so much more than later had throughout my life and as well, from the Sunday afternoon Sunday casual study group organized by Dan Levy. Dan’s total honesty was refreshing and encouraging. We must confront our shame and sense of responsibility. Thank you so much Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau, Sara Howdle, Leah Dorion, video presenters and guest professors at the Sunday sessions. You have all gifted us with your personal time. Dan Levy, you are a very special soul. Forever grateful

Sharon Kirkham, Toronto