Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,220개의 평가
6,500개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

DN

2020년 8월 30일

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

JB

2018년 1월 21일

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,747개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Hazel J V

2021년 9월 25일

I truly appreciated learning about Aboriginal history and culture. I have spoken with many Aboriginal people, including Inuit, and have wondered why there is such a difference between folks from different areas. Now I know some of the answer.

I especially appreciate the Aboriginal concept of everything on earth working together for the good of everything. I also appreciate how sexuality was handled--inclusion and pride vs. exclusion and shame, the way I have seen many people handled. What a disgrace to European ideals.

There are a few editing errors which do not take away from the content. I'm glad I finally had the time to finish the course. I can't get some of the points out of my mind!

Thanks so much for letting me take this course.

교육 기관: Kim l

2020년 12월 23일

This was was such an amazing opportunity to close the gap with respect to my pursuit of indigenous literature and art. My understanding of the more subtle concepts presented in the literature are better understood. Reading Thomas King’s, The Inconvenient Indian I was gobsmacked with the reference to Dead Indian and without this course I never would have gotten it. I scour the news daily now with the knowledge of references to Idle No More, AIM, UNDRIP etc., I am so much more capable of expressing empathy, anger and a litany of emotions. Thank you for the opportunity provided to learn, to grow, to feel, and most importantly to share this newfound knowledge with my peer group so they to can help change the channel. Thank you.

교육 기관: Angelique D

2020년 9월 6일

Thank you so much. This course has given me the best history lesson I could have hoped for. I knew some things about Indigenous history before I enrolled but I have to say that my eyes have been opened to so much more. The lectures were interesting, engaging, thought-provoking, moving, and they have inspired me to continue with my learning. Your course has raised my awareness of the deeper roots of issues that underlie what concerns Indigenous peoples today (and of environmental issues that should be of concern to everyone). I wish this was how history was taught when I was still in school. As an educator, I hope it is how history will be taught in schools from now on. Again, thank you for this beautiful, amazing course.

교육 기관: Zuzana S

2020년 8월 18일

Thank you very much for this course. I am an immigrant and have been living in Canada for 15 years. I studied at a local university and nowhere over the span of 15 years I've received a fraction of this important information. I had to study for and pass the Canadian Citizenship test - I would say the study book and the content of the citizenship test would deserve a serious revision to include "all" and not just partial information. To express my gratitude for this course I would like to say thank you for informing me, inspiring me, and motivating me to learn more. Since I've been taking this course I searched and purchased books by indigenous authors. I became a fan of "Unreserved" CBC program and much more. Thank you again.

교육 기관: Kim S

2021년 10월 5일

T​he course complimented the basic understanding I already had of Indigenous history in Canada. I appreciated how it filled in the blanks and answered some of the questions I had. I am thankful for the opportunity to learn more about our Indigenous community members and learn about the injustices they have had to and in many ways still have to endure due to colonialism. I am encouraging others to take this course. Education is so important. This course also inspires me to do more reading and asking of questions to learn more about Indigenous culture and history. I hope to educate others from their learned misconceptions of the Indigenous. Tracy Bear has an excellent voice for speaking on the various module topics. Thank you.

교육 기관: Nicole E

2021년 6월 15일

This course has opened my eyes to so many issues that I was unaware of, and has led to my seeking out further information to help me to continue my learning. This is especially poignant now, given the discovery of children's remains at the residential school in Kamloops. I am able to have discussions with others about some of the history, and I am successfully persuading several to pursue their own learning opportunities in this respect. Amazing that you have offered this course for free. THANK YOU! It is SO IMPORTANT for us to understand our history, and how our country has gotten to this place we find ourselves in now. It's way past time to do better...to be better. This provides real hope for our collective future.

교육 기관: Linda H

2020년 9월 19일

I very much appreciated the teachings in this course. It was informative, as a Canadian, for me to understand the colonization of these lands and the effect it has had on the Indigenous communities. It also frustrates me to know that a lot of this has been and is happening and that the education system (particularly as I grew up) didn't teach any of this - it was, and is, happening "on my watch"!

The resilience of the first peoples here, their culture(s) and activism are inspiring, individually and collectively, and I resonate with the systemic injustice that has been demonstrated in this course. I am more aware.

Thank you for this . It has made me a bit less ignorant of the lands and peoples where I was born and raised.

교육 기관: Angelika F

2021년 10월 21일

I want to thank everyone involved in producing such an informative course to help educate, inform and teach on Indigenous Canadian history and to current times. I think every Canadian should take this course. May it build unity, understanding, love and respect for our Indigenous brothers and sisters and help in reconcilliation, healing and restoring us all into healthy and loving relationships.

It deeply saddens me that so much pain, injustice and suffering has and continues to be enacted upon Indigenous people. I can stand up and be a voice of change through my actions. It starts with unlearning, relearning and learning all over again. This course was successful in facilitating this change that starts in me. Thank you!

교육 기관: Monika V

2020년 7월 2일

I am internationally educated and had a strong desire to learn about Indigenous culture. Finding this course online is really helpful. Moreover, it is flexible and nicely delivered. I just carefully heard the instructors and enjoyed it while learning. Though at times, I felt a very narrow margin in quiz so far the questions are concerned still in case , I couldn't clear the quiz in 2 or 3 times , it was again thrilling to go over and over again.

I humbly thank Tracy Bear and her team for their perseverance and doing their job so beautifully. I really appreciate Leah's paintings and the way she depicted all shades of indigenous lstruggles against colonism with the help of symbols. Her paintings are really telling a tale!

교육 기관: Barbara C

2020년 11월 15일

I loved this course. Besides giving me the possibility to approach a subject I did know little about, it inspired me to go on and search for more information about Indigenous Canada. I liked also the structure of the course, with readings, videos, interviews and the beautiful paintings. Thanks to the teachers and their narratives it was easy to follow. I hope in the future there will be more courses on Indigenous in Canada and North America, that will go deeper into the diversity of the indigenous populations, their culture and uses, their worldviews. Expecially now that we face the consequences of climate change, we should look more and learn from the indigenous perspective on our planet and the universe we live in.

교육 기관: Michelle M

2021년 9월 13일

I really enjoyed this course. I started it when the Early Childhood Centre that I am an Early Childhood Educator level 3 at had to close because we had a staff member who contracted COID 19 and we all had to self isolate. I was going crazy and needed something to. I was on Facebook and my niece had posted something about this course and so I decided that I wanted to learn more about Indigenous people and that this would be a good way to do that. I really enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I couldn't afford to pay for the course at the time and so when I saw that I could take it for free I was very happy and very glad that I was able to complete the course, and passed it which I was very proud of myself for.

교육 기관: Amber E

2020년 11월 2일

It was very interesting and educating. I enjoyed the intro music to each session and having the printed notes. It took pressure off pausing the video and taking notes. I live in the PNW of the US and while this is based for Canada, I have noticed quite a bit of relevance to this course. In reading the signs and notes at various spots in our area. The information was there all along, but I never understood the information and the relevance so it's been awesome to see it in my everyday life. The information and relevance has been there all along, but it was never presented to us this way in our education system so I'm grateful for the information in this course and would be interested in other courses like it.

교육 기관: Sarah L

2020년 10월 26일

I really enjoyed this course and while I realize that this is the tip of the iceberg, it was a great introduction and has given me a few things to investigate further. I did want to point out too (sorry) that in the final lesson, there were a couple of inconsistencies - Enspanola, Sask in the reading material is Espanola, Ontario in the video, Calgary Winter Olympics of 1986 in reading and 1988 on video, and Rebecca's Belmore's "Fringe" in reading materials and "Trace" on video. Thank you so much for providing this course free of charge. It really was a privilidge. My first baby-sitter (also my best friend's mom) is a Residential School Survivor so I found that topic especially interesting. Thanks again.

교육 기관: Heather R

2021년 10월 4일

This was a very long course but all material was needed and excellent. Despite enjoying it, it took me quite awhile to finish it but it was not due to lack of interest. Like Black History, Indigenous History is also missing from our curriculum. Or if it is there it has colonialism views. Personally, I think every Canadian needs to take this course. I have told many people about it and was pleased that some have shown an interest in taking the course or have taken it in the past. I would love to be able to be given permission to use the University of Alberta and the Indigenous Canada logos on my website to advertise this course.

I wonder is there a Community to address Canada to make UNDRIP legally binding?

교육 기관: Sandrine B

2021년 7월 20일

Chère faculté, Je vous remercie de nous offrir ce cours sur l'histoire, la culture, les combats, les tragédies, les injustices et les victoires de la communauté indigène. J'ai beaucoup appris et j'ai beaucoup de respect pour le peuple indigène. Il est vibrant, captivant, vivant et il force l'admiration. Il a puisé dans sa diversité, ses échecs face à la colonisation européenne et il a constamment observé et appris de ses ancêtres. J'espère sincèrement que le processus de réconciliation nationale, de restitution des terres et de reconnaissance des peuples indigènes va avancer. C'est notre histoire et nous devons la reconnaître, l'apprendre et la partager dans toute sa diversité. Avec une profonde gratitude.

교육 기관: Ewan B

2021년 1월 4일

This was a wonderful course and filled some gaping holes in my knowledge. I guess the biggest hole was my belief, as an elementary school student in the 1960's, of believing that the residential school system had ended. To understand that it continued until 1996 devastates me. I first became interested in Indigenous relations in Canada when I watched the episode in "Canada: A People's History" that described the British genocide of the indigenous peoples by the distribution of small pox laced blankets. I believe in equality for all and this course further pushes me to teach this distinction and the needs that we, as European Canadians, must work diligently to accept native cultures, land claims and rights.

교육 기관: Kenneth R

2020년 11월 8일

Was recommended the course as the pandemic and BLM movement surged fourth. I was very little but I remember the Oka Crisis, Ipperwash, and several other events of the past. I know now that the unfair privilege colonization provided allowed for a one-sided narrative. The narrative back then was given a colonial lens that I saw on TV through the news - completely distant from that world and the so very wrongful death of Dudley George. I know better now, and know to whom to listen and who the true teachers are.

I would like to thank Dr. Tracey Bear and the rest of the staff for making this course very accessible, and one I shall recommend as - not the end - but the beginning of learning. Eternally, thank you.

교육 기관: Caro & R A

2020년 12월 12일

My gratitude to all who made this course for enlightening us so generously with your knowledge, hard work, and time. My interest in it stemmed from being indigenous-adjacent (I first came to Canada to teach and live among the Nisga'a and was very happy to see their history featured here, especially with the recent loss of Sim'oogit Hleek).

This is also informing my work as a member of the Canadian Teachers' Federation Advisory Committee on the Status of Women and the British Columbia Teachers' Federation Committee for Action on Social Justice.

Some work still need to be done to edit the transcripts, however. I hope that time is expended to correct them as they can lead to miscommunication.

Much appreciated!

교육 기관: Greg O

2020년 7월 22일

Extremely beneficial for all people living in what we currently call Canada. An introduction into the history, present and future of Indigenous nations here with many interesting and relevant pieces of information that we all should know and should inform our actions. Could have benefited slightly from a deeper exploration of two-spirit and gender diverse histories and modern efforts, particularly for recognition within colonial LGBTQ+ structures and liberation efforts, however I recognize the limitations of such a short course for such a broad and diversified history. Thank you to all contributors to this course, and to the unnamed individuals who have made the availability of this information possible.

교육 기관: Lee-Adele S

2021년 7월 31일

I​ was very impressed with the content, organization and delivery of this course. The entire course was aethetically pleasing. I really enjoyed the commissioned artwork created by Leah Dorion, especially her in depth explanation of her creative process and meaning behind her art. I was further impressed with the collection and the continuity of the drawings utilized to illustrate prominant figures throughout the course. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about Indigenous histories as well as contemporary issues from an Indigeious perspective. I would not hesitate to invest my time into another class created by the same community of instructors from the Faculty of Native Studies at the University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Larry R

2021년 7월 1일

​The content provided was enlightning, informative and well quantified. The facilitators and those interviewed presented their arguments and stories with a calm balance, professionalism and not with anger. I was keenly impressed with the qualifications of the leader ship and those interviewed. Growing up in Canada I realize that I have not been educated on the full holistic story of our history but rather a scrubbed version and this course provided the necessary content for my fuller understanding. My empathy and compassion has only grown over the many tragedies that existed in the world of colonization. Navigating the course was very user-friendly. I would recommend this course to anybody. Thank you

교육 기관: Joseph G

2020년 12월 6일

Being an American newcomer to Canada (British Columbia), my knowledge of Indigenous Canada was severely limited. I found this course to be an indispensable part of becoming a recent immigrant to Canada. Learning about the diverse, historical, cultural, spiritual, linguistic, and artistic identities of Indigenous communities helped me better understand Canada today and where I, as an immigrant, fit in. It also served as a interesting point of comparison with Native American history in the U.S. when I reflect on the experiences, similarities, differences, and injustices that occurred there. I'm indebted to this course for making me want to learn more about these topics. Thanks for an awesome 12 weeks!

교육 기관: Karina A

2020년 8월 7일

Great Course, good content. As an older Canadian who attended school in the 60/70's I am surprised at how my education was lacking in honest content, I am further shocked at how legislation in the past and fairly current continues to discriminate esp relating to gender. I thought I was aware of injustices but clearly did not have the breadth of knowledge of the impacts of business, church, and state. My thanks for the education.

The grammar, spelling and inconsistencies in written content and spoken content are distracting. There is an implication on a lack of attention and value of this program that a couple of hours of an editor could correct. It reflects badly on the University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Somewhere i N A

2020년 11월 6일

I appreciated this course very much. I wanted to gain better insight on the important issues affecting Indigenous people in Canada and this course provided me with a good general knowledge of both historical and modern issues. I acknowledge the difficulty one must have in designing a short 12 week course that aims to capture such a broad range of topics. I enjoyed the lectures and can say with certainty that this course has given me a much better understanding of Indigenous peoples in Canada. I would recommend this course to anyone with an open mind and an interest in learning more about Indigenous culture, history and other related topics. Thank you for making this course available on Coursera!

교육 기관: Erin P

2018년 9월 19일

This course should be mandatory for every person in Canada - as a descendent of a family affected deeply by the 60s Scoop, this has helped me understand my family's history and reason's why it was hidden - to try to keep their children from being taken. Without true understanding of the genocide that is still taking place in our country, and the systemic push to keep FNMI people(s) quiet and to assimilate them, how can anyone begin to have empathy and to disappear many of the commonly heard myths about FNMI people(s)? I believe this course is essential to our history and should be taught in all schools, be a requirement for newcomers, and anyone enrolled in any post-secondary academy. Thank you.