Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
16,189개의 평가
5,916개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

LM
2020년 10월 31일

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

JS
2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,115개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Karina A

2020년 8월 7일

Great Course, good content. As an older Canadian who attended school in the 60/70's I am surprised at how my education was lacking in honest content, I am further shocked at how legislation in the past and fairly current continues to discriminate esp relating to gender. I thought I was aware of injustices but clearly did not have the breadth of knowledge of the impacts of business, church, and state. My thanks for the education.

The grammar, spelling and inconsistencies in written content and spoken content are distracting. There is an implication on a lack of attention and value of this program that a couple of hours of an editor could correct. It reflects badly on the University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Somewhere i N A

2020년 11월 6일

I appreciated this course very much. I wanted to gain better insight on the important issues affecting Indigenous people in Canada and this course provided me with a good general knowledge of both historical and modern issues. I acknowledge the difficulty one must have in designing a short 12 week course that aims to capture such a broad range of topics. I enjoyed the lectures and can say with certainty that this course has given me a much better understanding of Indigenous peoples in Canada. I would recommend this course to anyone with an open mind and an interest in learning more about Indigenous culture, history and other related topics. Thank you for making this course available on Coursera!

교육 기관: Erin P

2018년 9월 19일

This course should be mandatory for every person in Canada - as a descendent of a family affected deeply by the 60s Scoop, this has helped me understand my family's history and reason's why it was hidden - to try to keep their children from being taken. Without true understanding of the genocide that is still taking place in our country, and the systemic push to keep FNMI people(s) quiet and to assimilate them, how can anyone begin to have empathy and to disappear many of the commonly heard myths about FNMI people(s)? I believe this course is essential to our history and should be taught in all schools, be a requirement for newcomers, and anyone enrolled in any post-secondary academy. Thank you.

교육 기관: Doug F

2020년 11월 6일

This was an amazing course and has inspired me, on many levels, to learn more about Canada's darker past. A past that, now unsurprisingly, was rarely mentioned in my schooling from 1964 to 2003.

I could write 10,000 words covering the revelations, the pain, the anger, the sadness, the shock and the joy that taking the course brought forth but instead I'll finish with my most important conclusion. I now understand that I have more in common with my Indigenous sisters and brothers than I do with the federal government of Canada. An ancient and outdated organization that, through the lens of deep time, have proven to be nothing more than the security apparatus of Canada's extractive industries.

교육 기관: Crystal M

2020년 11월 5일

Incredibly informative and life changing for me. I finally learned at 50 years old the ACTUAL history of our country which is not taught in our public school system - that needs to change. I also learned that 150+ years later we have such a long ways to go in our endeavour to understand and truly honour the incredibly knowledgeable First People; the true caretakers of this land. As a country, we could benefit so much by incorporating traditional Indigenous knowledge and world views into our current governance thereby creating a true partnership as we lived together harmoniously.

Thank you SO much for this opportunity. It is a huge honour for me to have been a part of this fantastic course.

교육 기관: Art B

2021년 3월 21일

Thank you for the insight into the situation of the Indigenous peoples of Canada . It is a sad statement when we see what has gone on in the past and continues to transpire. There is a need for all levels of government and the Canadian public to recognize that there has been and still is systemic racism in Canada. As I reflect on the course and also look at Idle no More I do wonder if there is an Indigenous person in Canada that has NOT experienced racism in there life. A very sad thought. Thank you Tracy and your team for helping me to understand the challenges and successes of the indigenous communities across Canada. A real eye opener as to the consequences of colonialism in Canada.

교육 기관: Nikolas D

2021년 9월 6일

This course is a tremendous primer to compensate for the appalling dearth of care for Indigenous history, culture, sensitivity, and context in this country's general education system, especially for those in their 20s and up. Having completed the course, I feel I have a more complete understanding of our world and what we must do better in it, as well as leaving it with a wealth of threads to continue in my education of Indigenous rights and culture. This course could not have come at a better time; I am immensely grateful for the work of the faculty of University of Alberta and their Indigenous Studies department for their work in putting this together and making it so accessible to all.

교육 기관: Susan M S

2020년 11월 15일

I really enjoyed the course. There were some issues I was aware of but I gained a deeper knowledge. There were also a lot of issues I was unaware of and am glad that I have a better understanding of Indigenous life in Canada. The speakers were all easy to understand and conveyed passion about the topics. I have talked about this course and recommended it to other people. Being non-Indigenous, it is horrifying to think that my ancestors received dominion land grants when they moved to Canada from the US. However, it’s really no different than the land I currently live on in the city. There is so much to be done to correct the injustices committed and education is a starting point.

교육 기관: Kathleen K

2021년 7월 18일

In searching for an online course about Indigenous studies, I found this one. I was not necessarily looking for a tuition-free course but because it was tuition-free, I decided it would be a good introduction to the topic. I enjoyed the narrative presentation of the course. If you are looking for powerpoint slides, tables with facts and figures, look elsewhere. I felt privileged to be able to just sit back and listen - and I could refer to the chapter reading/notes as necessary. I could also follow along with the transcript as needed. I learned a lot and am inspired to learn more. Thank you for this wonderful learning opportunity; I am sharing this course with anyone who will listen!!

교육 기관: Sandy M

2020년 11월 20일

Such a combination of reactions to this course: anger, sadness, guilt towards my own ignorance. And yet, I acknowledge with pride, the resilience over hundreds of years by my Indigenous neighbours. Incorporating a comissioned painting for each module is brilliant and very visually telling. I confess still not understanding some of the tragic behaviours today of substance abuse, poverty and the 'appearance' of not being responsible for one's place in overall society, and one's contribution to bettering community. However, the history of oppression is deep. And, I acknowledge this does not occur within Indigenous communties alone. I will be promoting this course, and I thank you.

교육 기관: Susie M

2020년 10월 21일

The course is wonderful. So much information presented, so much surprising to a non-Indigenous person. (And alarming and disheartening as well, to hear the details about Residential Schools. This horrible era should not have happened and I am so sorry.)

The hosts and accompanying text make learning enjoyable and easy, and the wonderful artwork by Leah Dorion adds extra depth to each week.

I now have a new perspective on Indigenous living in Canada. In coincidence, lectures applied to disturbing activities today on the East Coast and elsewhere, where Treaty rights are being trampled. Thank you for opportunity to learn and to open my eyes to new ideas about Indigenous peoples in Canada.

교육 기관: Lisa T

2020년 9월 19일

I took this course on the recommendation of Dan Levy from Schitt's Creek! I thought it would be an excellent way to learn about a past I was never taught. It was that, and so much more! I learned that in order for me to fully understand the present, that I had to understand the past. I learned more than I thought I would and while I am heartbroken by the tragedies that have happened since the Colonizers arrived; I am happy with the resilience and the re-teaching and reclaiming of Indigenous culture. Thank you so much for this wonderful learning opportunity, I will continue to learn and grow in my quest for a greater understanding and appreciation of our rich Indigenous peoples.

교육 기관: debbie h

2021년 9월 24일

I'm 67; I worked with indigenous communities as a physician in northern turtle island and at an urban indigenous-run health centre. I was lucky to have many teaching circles in those days by indigenous Elders.This current perspective has tremendously enhanced my understanding and makes me wish it had been available in my early working life days (and in primary school, among other times) It is wonderful to keep learning and I am now inspired to read some of the resources that are listed. I feel very grateful that you have shared this with me and hope I can continue to engage in some meaningful work with the Indigenous community in the north, As I have been taught to say, meegwetch

교육 기관: Linde H

2020년 11월 26일

I have so appreciated this course and have looked forward eagerly to each succeeding chapter. I finished today and have made a personal commitment to continue my reeducation for the rest of my life. I am a 'settler' living in Montreal, and while in recent years the larger population has become much more sensitized to indigenous issues and activism, it is not easy to have face-to-face contact. Besides reading more specifically on the subject, I intend to contact Montreal's Friendship Centre and other indigenous organizations for their ideas on how I might increase my understanding and exposure to their members and their needs.

Thank you for the opportunity of changing my world.

교육 기관: Dave P

2021년 7월 20일

Thoroughly enjoyed this course and the content. I would highly recommend this as a starting point for someone like myself, a non-indigenous Canadian, to learn about and gain respect for the Indigenous people. Having just endured the shock of the truth about Residential Schools and the genocide that was inflicted on them in the attempt to erase an entire culture, I felt compelled to do something but was at a loss to know what. I eventually decided that the best place to begin was with accurate and honest education. It's 2 or 3 hundred years late but now is the time we all need to begin to reconcile and heal. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction as I begin my journey.

교육 기관: Debra L G

2020년 11월 18일

I really appreciated the format and the modes of presentation: spoken, a text one can read along with the lecturer, images, art, videos, and interviews. Each module synopsis was a helpful review of the material. The quizzes were on point and it was encouraging to be able to retake the quizzes and improve one’s understanding of the material. Very motivating. This was a terrific introductory course to Indigenous history and current concerns. ALL Canadians, in particular settler Canadians, would benefit enormously from enhanced education in Indigenous history, cultures, and present day issues concerning Native People, non-Native people and the preservation of Human Rights for all.

교육 기관: Susan J W

2021년 6월 18일

T​he instructors provided an excellent overview of indigneous issues past and present. As a Canadian who has lived outside of Canada for the past 27 years I very much appreciated the inclusion of contemporary issues about which I have not heard from beyond the border. The course helped me better understand my own experiences in NWT in the early 1970's when I traveled with Northwest Lands and Forest Service into the range of the Beverly caribou herd, to assist with ecological studies of the impact of forest fires. This course makes me reconsider the history of Canada and gives me a far greater awareness of contemporary concerns for both indigenous and non-indigenous people.

교육 기관: Allison H

2020년 9월 17일

This course was extremely informative. The course notes were comprehensive and the video lectures were delivered with excellent tonality and diction making them easy to comprehend, follow and absorb.

The course material was relevant and although extremely emotionally disturbing in parts (Killing the Indian in the Child, Red Power, Sovereign Lands...to name a few of the the more compelling topics), it served to inform and raise my awareness exponentially.

Having descended from the Taino(Arawak - Jamaica W.I.) my history is all but lost, so to be able to share the experience of this country's Indigenous population, gave me some context and the will to research and explore my own.

교육 기관: Anna M G

2019년 10월 25일

I admit to being rather naïve when it comes to Indigenous Canada. This course is a real eye opener. My heart is heavy as I learn how western civilization imposed its values, morals and worldviews on Indigenous peoples.

As a correctional nurse working in a maximum security detention centre, I learned how much our punitive justice system is juxtaposed with the once practiced restorative justice system of First Nations Peoples.

I have also learned how a society that values not just humans but all life as equals, has much to teach us in are present day " throw away society"

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wishes to have a better understanding of Indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Cassidy D

2019년 7월 23일

I found this course to be full of valuable knowledge that I believe the general population should know. With a deeper understanding I am better able to advocate and support the Indigenous population that I work with. I am very thankful that this course was offered for free, as I personally feel that the public school system did a terrible job at educating us on the real historical events that have impacted this beautiful and resilient community. I will be sure to share this course and the information I have learned with others to help spread awareness of how the history of our country has impacted the Indigenous population so severely that its effects are still present today.

교육 기관: Teresa H

2021년 1월 10일

I always knew that the public school curriculum that was meant to teach me about this country’s history was suspiciously missing content. It framed things through a lens which left the truth of Indigenous experience out. This course gave a good overview of times and the topics that had such significant impact, and felt like a much more honest telling of history. I am grateful that the University of Alberta made this material available to me and so many others. Its such a generous and valuable contribution to raising consciousness about the past and present and hopefully helps us all toward a future where mechanisms and belief systems of colonialism are no longer status quo.

교육 기관: Helen S

2020년 12월 6일

Over the past year or so, as I listened to the news and its panel discussions, I wanted to find a course/resource that would help me understand the history and culture/philosophy etc. of the Indigenous Peoples. I definitely do not recall being taught any of this content in school (and it should be in the curriculum). Thank You to the University of Alberta Native Studies and Coursera for offering this course - I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to fill in some educational gaps! I have one suggestion - as an adult learner (now 70) I, and I think others, would appreciate having the correct answer given along with telling us to review the specific section. Thanks again.

교육 기관: David B

2020년 12월 17일

While I have always been sympathetic to the plight of our First Nation people I lacked a full knowledge and understanding of their incredible diversity, fundamental and foundational world views and tremendous resilience in the face of a genocide , which I am glad to say this course has given me. More than merely an attempt to correct the existing narrative prevalent in mainstream Canadian society, it has introduced me to our true founding nation as a strong and vibrant voice fighting still on behalf of the beauty and spirit of this wonderful land. It has given me something to truly to be proud of. Thank you so much for starting me on a wonderful journey of discovery.

교육 기관: Belinda M

2021년 9월 6일

B​efore learning about this course I had read "21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act" and I was appalled and ashamed. I started reading 'Braiding Sweetgrass" while taking this course and it was helpful to have done both simultaneously. We settlers have so much work to do to right the wrongs that continue to perpetuate our existence here on Turtle Island. We settlers have so much to learn from Indigenous culture that could make our every day life more meaningful. I am amazed by how gently the course is delivered given all that has been endured to this day by Aboriginal people. Thank you for this opportunity - it's the most important learning I've experienced.

교육 기관: Alice S F

2020년 12월 20일

I recommend every Canadian to take this course. I have to admit that I was very ignorant of Indigenous Canadian history, and fell into the category of individuals believing in Indigenous stereotypes! Looking back at my early education, I can say that there was no reference in any form to the history mentioned in these modules! So sadly lacking! Every Canadian adolescent should be required to have a basic knowledge acquired through our educational institutions! Thank you for enlightening my mind! I now have a deeper understanding of the wrongs that aboriginal people endure, and how they are today striving to correct it. I now see their world in a very different light.