Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
17,887개의 평가
6,398개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS

2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

AS

2020년 9월 6일

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,637개 리뷰 중 451~475

교육 기관: Ashley A

2021년 4월 6일

Being native myself I've grown up with a caucasian lifestyle not knowing a lot about who my people were or what they have dealt with in-depth (high school doesn't teach even close to this), this course was informative and inspiring for me to go and research more and really get to know who my people are and stand up with them against injustice. I've noticed the effects In my life I've never noticed before that are affected by the earlier settlers and it makes me sad. This course was a real eye-opener and I'm very glad I took it. Great job to the UofA for putting this on and those who helped bring it to life.

교육 기관: Debra R

2020년 12월 19일

I have lived in Canada in small communities my whole life. I have always been closely connected to the aboriginal community. I truly believed and this course has brought me a whole new understanding of aboriginal experience. Thank you. I am lucky to live on the Sunshine Coast BC where our school system is very keen on teaching Aboriginal education to all students. I have often felt a sense of relief that my children are being educated honestly on topics that are so important, and that the public school system is recognizing the importance of Indigenous education. Thank you again for offering this course.

교육 기관: Theresa P

2020년 10월 24일

This course was very instrumental to me in the aspect of assisting me gather increasing knowledge of the ongoing struggles of the Indigenous people. This should've been taught in the school curriculum when I was young, and should be taught today in schools everywhere, so that we all have a better understanding of how colonialism has deeply affected so many generations in such an abusive manner. We have so much to learn and appreciate from the Indigenous people and their ancestors when it comes to the respect of land, water, animals and most importantly each other.

Thank you for such an imformative course!!

교육 기관: Donald J W

2020년 9월 29일

As a person from down south of you in the US, I want you to know I learned a lot that I did not know about the start of Canada and how Indigenous people helped shape your landscape and culture there. Very informative and a special thanks to Tracy Bear for explaining each module there was in user friendly terms. I would recommend this to everyone!! And a VERY big thank you to Mr. Dan Levy from whom we learned about this course from because he was planning to start and invited us fans of him and Schitt's Creek along for the ride to discuss and learn. Wonderful. Whole new look at Canada for me!! Thank you all!

교육 기관: Sadielou M S

2020년 11월 4일

This is a great introduction to Indigenous history in the Canadian context. It improved my awareness of Canada's colonial past and also my awareness of how this continues to affect the sovereignty of indigenous nations across Canada. As a fairly resent settler to Canada, this really wet my appetite for a better understanding of the origins of Canada as a nation and how it has interacted with indigenous nations from a perspective that is most often left out of Canadian history books or told from a colonial white supremacist perspective. Needless to say, I have already disposed of a couple of books I owned.

교육 기관: June C

2020년 10월 6일

Exceptional in presenting a compelling but balanced look at all the history I was never taught in school (and I have a Masters degree). Has really changed my views and helped me to recognize and understand that I have no "opinion" on current issues effecting Indigenous peoples in Canada (and all Canadians( - that what I need to do is genuinely listen, reflect and learn more. Thank you so very very much. Only one suggestion for improvement... many of the references regarding current issues are becoming dated and it would be awesome to update what has happened/not happened since circa 2015. Thanks again.

교육 기관: Trevor P

2020년 6월 14일

Thank you so very much for offering this crucial course for all of us to witness. My wife and I took this course during the Co-Vid isolation and we were both amazed at how much of Canadian history we were never offered from a different more Indigenous perspective. We found ourselves being enlightened and finding so many societal and cultural connections to the truths that were discussed and revealed. Many of these topics are not covered in our textbooks and as a result, our historical perspectives are being skewed to what truths actually exist. We are so grateful that we took this course! Well done!!

교육 기관: Betty D

2020년 11월 1일

This course was simply amazing. I learned so much about the indigenous perspective. I am a retired health care professional, a grandmother and someone compelled to understand a better way to live softly on this earth. I am embarrassed that it has taken all these years to learn some of the history, values, and cultural aspects of indigenous people. Taking this course has lead to several discussions with friends and family members, and especially my three grandchildren. Thank you so much for offering this course. I would like to re-enrol if I may so that i continue to learn the material you have provided.

교육 기관: Rose

2020년 11월 22일

I found this course informative and it offers a wonderful glimpse into the atrocities committed by the Indian Act and both church and state of Canada against the Indigenous, Inuit, and Metis Peoples. I believe this course should be mandatory education for high schools across Canada. It covers a huge component of the curriculum.

My only complaint with the course is the quiz questions within the videos are sometimes placed prior to the information itself so you are left guessing what the answer could be. Beyond that, I am grateful to the organizers at the University of Alberta for offering this course.

교육 기관: Tom C

2022년 1월 20일

An excellent overview of Canada's Inuit, First Nations and Metis peoples, history, language, culture and so much more. The course also provides clear explanations of the impacts of colonialization, (by European settlers) and the injustices and discrimination indigenous people have faced, and continue to face. Highly recommended for all Canadians.

There is only one suggestion I would make to help improve the course. I believe the course would be even more powerful, and impactful, if it included more photos, illustrations, movie clips, etc. to visually support the points being made by the narrators.

교육 기관: Claudia W

2021년 7월 6일

I felt that this course gave an excellent overview of history, culture and struggles related to indigenous peoples and, therefore, all Canadians. I read criticisms concerning this course being too one-sided in its discussion of colonization and the consequences to indigenous peoples as well as being overly focussed on the positive aspects of indigenous culture. I disagree whole-heartedly. It is time that we look at the other side as we have been denied the necessary education to understand indigenous peoples. As a mother and an educator, I look forward to sharing my new knowledge with those around me.

교육 기관: Christine D

2020년 11월 8일

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course for many reasons. The narration, telling of history and stories was really impactful and made me feel connected to the people. The art pieces tying it all in at the end of each session were profound and beautiful. This course was engaging visually and auditorily. The Sunday sessions added different perspectives. There is a part of me that is angry with the learnings I was taught in school and I feel duped. This program is incredibly important to the truth of our history and I am grateful for the curriculum content your team has assembled. Thank you! Merci!

교육 기관: Kathy J

2021년 3월 28일

Very thorough, covering many areas of historical and contemporary Indigenous learning that are not presented in other courses and projects. The material is easy to follow, and has entry points for all levels of participant. There is a very honest, gracious tone throughout that does not look down upon anyone who comes into the course ignorant on any fronts. All of the material is shared in a way that welcomes reaction as well as reflection. I have no doubt that everything I have learned is accurate and I am much better informed than I was before. Thank you for building it and for making it available.

교육 기관: Jillian H

2020년 12월 28일

This was an excellent course! My politics have been in line with Indigenous resurgence & sovereignty, social justice and education, anti-racism, all of that -- but this course laid out the fundamentals in a cohesive, accessible way. I think the production content could've been a bit higher, but only to support the great work of Dr. Tracey Bear & her colleagues. I loved Leah Dorion's work running alongside the course and wrapping the course up with activism and art was very moving & inspiring. Thank you again for sharing this course for FREE-- I've encouraged all my friends and family to take it too!

교육 기관: Chet K

2020년 5월 25일

I absolutely loved this course. I actually started this course because I did not understand the issues our Indigenous people face here in Canada.

When I don't understand something my preference is to take a stance of trying to learn. I started by reading books by indigenous authors and those were very informative. Then after creating some dialogue from reading the books it was recommended that I take this course to learn about Canada's history from an Indigenous perspective.

The presenters do an excellent job, the videos are short and the reading material is provided. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Sylvia L

2021년 9월 17일

I enjoyed taking the course. In my elementary school classes in Alberta, we did cover a lot of the history outlined in this course. I had also followed the news and media with respect to protests, etc.

I was not sure why the satire of 1491 in Week 12 was in the course as I would have thought that the usual stereotype of indigenous peoples would want to be altered rather than emphasized. If a white person had created that, it would have been cited as racism and condemned. Other than that the course was excellent and I found it confirmed what I had already known with respect to indigenous peoples.

교육 기관: Kevin C

2021년 9월 11일

A profoundly compelling and enlightening study, which offered insightful learning and heart-rendering personal reflection. Being older in years, British by birth and colonial in upbringing, this study has introduced a dark awareness that provided deep and rich soul searching. There can be great blessing for one to look back seven generations and yearn to model one’s life for the future seven generations, but in this case you have uncovered, long carried, hidden filters. These must be ‘re-filtered’ and seen for what they are, if following generations are to be blessed. Thank you for a rich kindness.

교육 기관: CINDY G

2021년 11월 29일

I would recommend that this course be taught in every middle/high school in Canada as a base for understanding the long, complicated and tense relationship between the settlers and our founding peoples. I'm ashamed to admit that I was unaware of the extent of damage colonialism has caused our Indigenous peoples; and teaching this, together with additional courses, it would expand the collective knowledge and assist with the process of reconciliation. Thank you to Dan Levy who advocated for this course; but more importantly, I'm grateful to have learned this critical component of Canada's history!

교육 기관: John K

2021년 6월 14일

I care deeply about all people in Canada and beyond. I have always wanted to know more about our brothers and sisters of Indigenous origins. This course taught me so much that I did not know and I am thankful for it all. My respect, love, and hopefully understanding of our truly first Canadians - if I may use that term - has expanded. I am amazed and impressed with the remarkable survival ability of our native peoples. The attitudes that they maintain toward the earth, our island home, and to each other in communities, is something that everyone, everyone everywhere, needs to heed and learn from.

교육 기관: Vanessa G

2020년 9월 1일

Unbelievable History of oppression. With facts and from an Indigenous prospective. I wish we could take back time. I did not know. This course was outstanding. The videos and commentators were professional. Mind blowing The course videos and reading a must to pass the quiz's Art work and explanations were outstanding. If you have a chance go to the lobby discussion area for more information from individuals expressing their own experiences and knowledge. I never realized how complex it was and ashamed of the Canadian Government not doing enough to protect the true people of this country.

교육 기관: Grace N

2021년 8월 9일

T​his course has been very helpful in gaining understanding of the indigenous culture and the issues that they face. There were many insights that I was unaware of. As I go to prepare my unit on indigenous peoples of Canada for my Grade 2/3 students, I know have a better understanding of how to teach it. Focussing on the worldview and values expressed will help guide my teachings. Thank you so much for making this course available! I also enjoyed the art contributions by Leah Dorion. At times some of the questions were ambiguous but overall the course was informative and deeply appreciated!

교육 기관: Maureen M

2021년 7월 5일

It was very important for me to learn Canadian History from an Indigenous perspective. A few years earlier I realized that as a child, and young adult all my learning was from a colonial and white-washed basis, and I needed to learn and understand it from another perspective. This course was easy to follow, and corrected our Canadian history in a manner that was non-confrontational, yet very eye-opening. The manner in which it was presented kept my mind open, and wanting to continue on my learning path when I finished. Thank you for the work of everyone involved in creating this course.

교육 기관: Stephen K

2021년 3월 1일

Very informative and educational. I wish a course like this could have been taught while I was going through highschool because not only did it open my eyes to the history of the country I was born and raised in, it also made me realize how views I developed growing up could be considered racist and harmful. Knowing what I have learned from this introductory course will help me shape a proper world view going forward and help me with the career path I am pursuing. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in bettering their knowledge of Canada and the Indigenous people of Canada.

교육 기관: Carl M

2022년 3월 18일

I​ learned a lot. I was very under informed about the different Indigenous groups in Canada and specific issues to each region and across all. The one thread that kept resurfacing is the taking advantage of Indigenous. Making deals that don't do right by them in many ways. It started from the beginning and persists. I beleive I have to revisit the course again, there was so much to listen to. The artwork is incredible and the mixture of all areas including the arts was very informative. The presenters were well paced and clear in guidance. Thank you for the opportunity to learn so much.

교육 기관: Jane L

2020년 11월 1일

Thank you to the Faculty of Native Studies of the University of Alberta. Thank you to Dr Tracy Bear & Dr Paul Gareau and all who were involved in this MOOC! I have learned so much about First Nations, Inuit & Métis peoples in Canada. This course has been very emotional & eye opening for myself. I truly think this needs to be added to all Canadian school curriculums. Every Canadian should know the truth about our country’s history and the genocide settlers attempted against the people who were here first. I’m hoping to learn so much more on my way to becoming a better ally for Indigenous Canada.