Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
6,953개의 평가
2,774개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS
2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

BE
2020년 11월 17일

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 2,797개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Shajini J

2019년 2월 1일

Very important and comprehensive course!

교육 기관: Brittany R

2019년 2월 20일

Essential knowledge for all Canadians.

교육 기관: Sean G

2019년 1월 16일

GREAT INSIGHT TO THE HISTORY OF CANADA

교육 기관: John C

2020년 5월 4일

I started this course with an expectation that I would acquire some understanding of how First Nations people and "settlers" in Canada arrived at our current state. I think the course did an admiral job of that. The course represented clearly the mistakes made, the misunderstandings, the motivations, and the sad history that played out. What I still don't have is an understanding of where we are going next. We can't dwell on the past to the exclusion of planning for our mutual future. I also feel a bit lost on who the "players" are now, who will lead us forward?

교육 기관: Narinder S S

2019년 1월 30일

A very deep and layered learning with in-depth teachings on the varying degrees of struggles the Indigenous peoples of Canada endured during the settler invasions. I appreciated the geographical layout of how Canada was inhabited by the Indigenous people and how they navigated, traded and established mutual agreements with each other to ensure the land and its' inhabitants all thrived before the settlers arrived. A deep appreciation of how our Indigenous people value 'the whole' and not just how our natural resources benefit the limited few for the short-term. A great course which I wholeheartedly

교육 기관: Jesse G

2018년 12월 5일

This was propaganda with a major political agenda. Production values were good, but the one-sided slant of the material is inexcusable.

교육 기관: Ryan D

2020년 2월 19일

Extremely biased and left a bad taste in my mouth. Blaming everything on white heteropatriarchy.

교육 기관: Hortense B

2020년 10월 7일

Merci! There is so much to learn, and three months pass quickly! I really liked this course, loved the beautiful fusain (?) portraits (the eyes only are so telling...), getting to know the history of Turtle Island before the creation of Canada was very precious, especially around understanding the Treaties (I would believe most Canadians settlers do not know what is it about and even less Canadian settlers immigrants like myself), and the Fur Trade (I probably learned the most Modules 1-4).

I did my master's research paper on Indigenous Women’s Resilience, Resistance and Cultural Resurgence through Activism and Art (Turtle Island), I had loved Christi Belcourt's Walking With Our Sisters' initiative, they are with us and we are with them. This helps me understand what I couldn't two years ago, and I hope that in two years my comprehension will grow twofold or more.

I did find that some of the modules at the end (e.g. Indigenous women and even how certain policies still affect them disproportionately) could have been more through, but considering the course is free and that you are sharing on Indegeneity, the content is amazing! I do want to follow a course on Indigenous art, there is so much so much! From signing, spoken poetry, beading, painting, rap, sculpture, weaving, media such a films, documentaries, etc. and all the things I am forgetting about.

Do I recommend this course to any fellow settler Canadian out there? Yes I do. These things should be mandatory anyway, but can you force people to learn, I don't know. I just think it would be nice if settler people would respecting Indigenous peoples (definition needs clarification) and want to learn from them.

To close, I just want to say thank you to those involved in the creation of the course, it is much appreciated. I needed it.

Merci

교육 기관: Melissa R

2020년 5월 8일

This was an extremely important course, clearly outlining and diving into the Indigenous history of Canada. While challenging to hear even more of what colonization did to the Indigenous people, holding space by learning the deep pain that was caused by the settlers I believe is an integral aspect of moving forward in the best possible way, helping them to heal the wounds. I am intensely humbled by the ability of the Indigenous Nations in Canada to continue their vigilant efforts toward self governance and building even more robust cultures.

교육 기관: Jo-Ann S

2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

교육 기관: Kathryn T

2020년 7월 28일

It was privilege to be able to take this course. I learned a great deal and believe my understanding of Indigenous people is forever changed for the better. Thank you to all who made the course possible.

My two suggestions for an improved experience would be to first, use more visual aids, soundscapes and video clips to enhance and replace the talking head presentations and second, to review your quiz questions to ensure they are clear and there is only one correct answer.

교육 기관: Ansel W

2020년 7월 10일

Some of the quiz questions were quite vague, with sometimes 2 answers that were seemingly correct based on the course material.

교육 기관: Graeme V

2020년 7월 24일

I found some of the questions in the tests to be worded poorly

교육 기관: Anna E M

2020년 7월 25일

Some quiz questions were not so clear

교육 기관: Kathryne C

2020년 8월 4일

The quiz questions are badly worded.

교육 기관: Donna A

2020년 9월 28일

Other than hating myself as a colonial racist and patriarchal settler at the end of the course I learnt some new things.

There was a problem with the course in regards to the tone of the course which felt angry or sarcastic. I enjoyed learning from the prof from U of A when he brought to life the stories of the Indigenous soldiers.

The story is complex and when the course reports that CBC took down their comment section because of the hateful racist comments in regards to natives ,you forgot to include the context and that that decision included refugees and Muslims. I felt you were creating the noble victimized Indigenous story . I took the course because i wanted to be more informed and actually be present and active as far as truth and reconciliation

I will continue to do this . I would like an extensive reading list to accompany the information from the Indigenous Canada course.

thank you for you time

donna abbey-colborne

교육 기관: Dennis S

2020년 10월 28일

There are serious fact errors in this course. The American revolution did not begin in 1783 as stated in the course. There is no evidence for humans in the Americas before 16,000 BCE., the course states Indigenous peoples were in the Americas 40,000 years ago. These are serious errors and questions the credibility of the scholarship of the instructors and course material.

DES

교육 기관: Renato D L

2019년 3월 31일

it was bad.

교육 기관: Marina D E E

2020년 10월 13일

Tt was my first course on Indigenous Peoples ever and I found it enjoyable and informative. I follow a Circle of All Nations ...which is now led by Romola on behalf of Grandfather William Commanda; an Algonquin elder who has taken the long walk and passed over.

I attended on Parliament Hill , the gathering of the Elders for the Apology. Through this course I now have a better understanding of the history of Canada beyond the Colonial History I was taught.

One of my maternal ancestors who lived in Ipswich, Massachussets took part in advocating for local Indigenous land rights following the Maine Massachusetts Quebec Peace treaty (s).

I now understand how important the ancestors are and I want to revisit some of the modules before the course has ended.

Thank you so much for this course, it has truly been educational!

교육 기관: Dianne M

2020년 10월 7일

Excellent , well presented, researched, informative and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed each module and being able to study and review at my own pace was appreciated. Artwork, stunning and well described, kudos to artist Kudos to visuals used throughout as well and the presenters did a good job for the amount of information shared to keep it fluid chi meqwetch. Dianne Marilyn Musgrove (Whyacknook qwe) Ojibway Whitefish River First Nation, Ontario

교육 기관: Kaisa H C

2020년 5월 16일

This was a thought provoking course which presented a lot of knowledge on the social, political, cultural, and spiritual structures previously unknown about the First Nation People in Canada. The only negative of the course is there are no more follow up MOOCs to this one! Well done in a respectful manner. Thank you for the knowledge.

교육 기관: SYED N N

2019년 1월 11일

I have been enjoying the course since it belongs to the Indigenous peoples having a very long history not only in North America but in other European countries. Amazingly designed course increase my knowledge and I would like to continue reading about Aboriginal peoples in future as well.

교육 기관: Erin L

2020년 6월 8일

I am feeling grateful for this crucial learning. I will be an ally and help move our country forward in equality and unity. This world would be so much better off listening and following our FNMI sisters and brothers. My deepest thanks!

교육 기관: kyra f

2019년 6월 25일

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

교육 기관: Tammy A

2019년 2월 17일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!