Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,283개의 평가
6,518개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

ER

2020년 11월 2일

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

JB

2021년 10월 10일

This is a must for anyone, non-indigenous to Indigenous to complete. Should also be a part of the process to become a Canadian citizen. Very well done. I thank you for opening my eyes, mind and heart.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,768개 리뷰 중 526~550

교육 기관: Joanne H

2020년 12월 3일

Excellent course. Very factual, interesting and straight forward course about the rich cultural fabric of values and teachings of Indigenous Peoples of Canada, which does not shy away from the issues historically and currently faced caused by colonialization. It will leave the student with a better understanding of the differences between the various complex relationships and viewpoints of the Indigenous & Settlor groups within Canada and hopefully lay some ground work on how we, the average person of colonial ancestry, can hope to respectfully over come them.

교육 기관: Dr. R P R

2021년 9월 15일

The course share in-depth knowledge on Indigenous history, culture, and emphasis the real need for a true reconciliation efforts. The course is well organized with a great flow of information with talks, interviews, view points, and art forms.

I believe an inclusion of images of real art forms of indigenous collections, images from history, and pictograms of the events will add more effective and interestingly perceivable.

I thank University of Alberta and the team who worked for this course for this wonderful collection of lectures. videos and information drafts.

교육 기관: Krystal Z

2021년 8월 3일

This was a very interesting and enlightening course. It really provided a ton of information that is NOT KNOWN and was NOT taught in school. I think this course should be taught to all children in school. It is a very important part of Canada's history and it saddens me that we treated the Indigenous peoples this way and continue to treat Indigenous peoples in non-respectful ways. There are many parts that are disturbing but I feel this must be told. I am Metis. This was a great course and I am glad I took it. Thank you for providing this information to me.

교육 기관: Sophie C

2020년 10월 26일

I learnt so much from this course, valuable, historical information regarding the Indigenous People's of Canada which really made me question many things. This course was very thought provoking, inspiring, tragic, and yet hopeful all at the same time. The negative effects of Colonialism were astonishing and rippling through decades of injustice, persecution, intolerance and a lack of respect and understanding, particularly to women, made me hold my breathe at times and also made me very angry. I think everyone in Canada would benefit from this course. Thank you.

교육 기관: Andrea S

2022년 1월 16일

Excellent course! I really enjoyed the different ways in which the material was presented. The interviews were engaging and informative. Leah Dorion's artwork is amazing. Through her paintings she encapsulated the course topics in such a creative and meaningful way. During the course, I found myself doing further research on several of the topics. I am ashamed of how little I knew of indigenous history and culture . Thank you for making this course available to everyone. I am looking forward to continuing my education on Indigenous history and culture.

교육 기관: Charlene P

2021년 1월 5일

Excellent. The readings following the videos reinforced the information. I particularly enjoyed Leah Dorion’s artistic interpretation at the end of each module. Excellent presenters. Additional interviews were helpful. The information is very clearly presented.

I really enjoyed this introduction to a very complex subject. My alma mater is U of A, and my hometown is Edmonton. My great-grandmother, and grandmother are Métis from Fort Vermilion area. Atigameg and Joussard played a role in my childhood. Thank you, Dr. Tracy.Bear, et al, for bringing this to me.

교육 기관: Kelley T

2020년 9월 20일

I have told everyone I can about this course!! I cannot fully express how moved and grateful I am for everyone who has been a part of bringing this course to life. It is engaging, insightful, grounding, and sobering...all while being communicated from a space of deep and authentic truth in a way that doesn't shame or harm those of us that need to learn, live, and truly witness the reality of our history. Thank you so much for this work you have all done. It has shifted so much within me and in how I see and experience the world. With deep gratitude, Kelley.

교육 기관: Emily F

2021년 11월 8일

I have 3 degrees in social work and there was still so much I DID NOT know! This course is amazing. Society focuses too much on JUST the tragedy and loss, and fails to educate the public about all the strength, knowledge, and intelligence Indigenous peoples of Canada have. This course covers everything. Pre-colonization, relationships with Europeans before colonization, and everything up until now... a great balance of the history of genocide, as well as capturing all the ways these cultures have survived and thrived in the most challenging circumstances.

교육 기관: Ann B

2021년 7월 22일

I thought this course was well organized and very informative. Although I've taken Indigenous studies courses previously there were many aspects I hadn't learned through them. My heart breaks when I learn about the Indigenous people's connection and respect for the land as the world witnesses the results of so much destruction caused by the colonial belief of commerce over nature. I truly hope we will all come to respect the natural world before its far to late. I will continue my journey to learn about and support indigenouse communities. Thank you.

교육 기관: Eva Q

2020년 8월 2일

This is a wonderful course. Wish I learned this in school. The history of Canada and how it was colonized is well administered. Good descriptions and examples. Beautiful art work. I was introduced to so many wonderful indigenous artist and activist that I can now follow on twitter, Instagram and Facebook. As beautifully displayed our history is, it is also very difficult and disheartening. This happened a century ago and yet even today, the struggle continues. I have a better vision of Canada and I have a open heart to our indigenous population. Thank you

교육 기관: Marina W

2021년 9월 25일

This was an excellent program and I will highly recommend it to others. It's very user friendly, and was designed with a diverse group of students in mind. The videos are excellent and interactive, and the reading material is well organized. The content is very important, and all Indigenous and non-Indigenous Canadians should have this understanding of our history. To the program facilitators and University - I greatly appreciate this course being available to the public and without cost, bless you and thank you for the important work that you're doing.

교육 기관: Richard R

2020년 9월 1일

This is an excellent review of indigenous culture, history, and political and social issues. For someone not well versed in this subject matter in spite of relatively advanced age, it has been the source of considerable sober reflection. My default impressions and conceptions have been challenged throughout the course and I now see the need for more personal study to further revise my previously defective non-indigenous perspective. If there is one message that I take away, it is that it is never too late to learn a new understanding of other people.

교육 기관: Jocelyne L

2020년 10월 6일

This course was a great foundation for continuing study of indigenous history. I thought that I had some background but find that I have an awful lot to learn.

The class material was well organized covering the main areas. Professor Bear delivered the lectures in a most compelling fashion. This content along with the Sunday discussions provide a fantastic taking off point for further study. I do believe that we all have a duty to learn what the arrival of the settlers has meant to the lives and loss of lives of indigenous people.

Loved the art content.

교육 기관: Pam C

2020년 11월 11일

I not only learned a lot, but thoroughly enjoyed this course. The variety of topics, and lectures which included interviews and conversations created a welcoming atmosphere while still addressing difficult topics and unsettling truths. I also enjoyed the post-course conversations each week with Tracy, her team, and Dan. Thanks to everyone for offering this at no cost and I hope more Canadians enroll. With funding at U. of A. having the same struggles as all Universities right now, I also hope these impactful programs are not part of any cutbacks.

교육 기관: Janine L M

2022년 6월 18일

T​his was such an interesting course. It mainly raised awareness but also strong emotions such as anger and frustration of my early learning of Canadian history. I remember the Oka crisis. My father was a good Dad but was without a doubt a racist...he was so negative about Oka and so many aboriginal things. I am finding that this has made a big impact on my learning and desire to learn about aboriginal cultures.

T​hanks for opening so many eyes to the truths presented in this course. The art work and speakers were phenomenal!

J​anine Meister

교육 기관: Alison W

2020년 11월 2일

To the instructors and those involved with putting on this course I want to extend my kudos to you. I have to admit I was one of many white Canadians who had no idea of the past history of the discrimination and hardships our Indigenous people have endured over time. Parts of the study were heart-wrenching for me. It's truly a wake up call and although this course only opened a small window, it has definitely opened my eyes and broadened my view and understanding on what Indigenous people are fighting for. Thank-you for making this course available.

교육 기관: M F

2020년 9월 7일

This eye-opening course has succeeded, not only in teaching participants about the history (past and present) of Indigenous Canada, but also leaving them with enough questions and motivations to seek more learning. Personally, I will not stop learning and will continue my research "back home." I want to see what an Indigenous USA course would look like (we have a lot to answer for). I am grateful to have participated and to have furthered my understanding. This is learning that I will take with me to my classroom, to impart to my students.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Linda S

2021년 11월 29일

This course is great. So informative. Thank you so much for the opportunity to learn about Indigenous history. I heard about this course from a friend and I will be forever grateful to her sharing that information. Learning is a life long process and this course provided information, most of which, I have never heard or read before. With knowledge comes some understanding of the events going on in our world and responsibility to not sit idly by but to be called to action, in friendship and respect, towards truth & reconciliation. Thanks again!

교육 기관: Adele M W

2020년 10월 31일

This course has been a breath of fresh air to me. It has inspired me to inject more history into my own work as a musician of West Indian descent. When I return home to visit Treaty One, I will view it with completely different eyes - the eyes through which we were not taught history as it really happened. Much gratitude to the entire team at the Native Studies Faculty and to everybody involved with the "Indigenous Canada" course. Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau and Dr. Kim Tallbear are my new heroes. Looking forward to the final Q and A sessions.

교육 기관: Alexa N

2022년 3월 13일

For me this was an epiphany, especially in terms of my Canadian education. To think what I was originally taught about Canadian history versus the reality which is not based on selected "storytelling" was disconcerting. Many of my so-called heroes have lost their lustre and rightly so!. I appreciated the links to art and the consistency of storytelling in many genres throughout the modules. Thank you for an amazing journey of learning. As they say"better late than never!"

And a heartfelt thank you for your approach of truth and reconciliation!

교육 기관: Diane G

2021년 8월 15일

Excellent! Thank you so much for your dedicated work and attention to detail. Some of the information was known to me but most was a revelation, and unfortunately, not in a positive way. However, I would rather know the truth, both as a person and a fellow educator. Change for the better can never occur unless we know, acknowledge and accept the past in order to create a better present and future. I will definitely recommend this course to others. Once again, many thanks to everyone who helped to create and deliver this course.

Diane Greer

교육 기관: Michelle

2020년 11월 1일

I appreciate that the course was developed and delivered by persons who identity as Indigenous. It covered various aspects of Indigenous life and highlighted the diversity among Indigenous Nations i.e. It shined some light on aspects of different worldviews. It also incorporates aspects of modern life to address misconceptions about Indigenous matters being only about "ancient history". I am now more aware of several recent issues. The deadlines for completing assignments were flexible. Overall, it provided a great learning experience for me.

교육 기관: Wendy D

2021년 4월 1일

This course is very well presented by the various presenters, especially Dr. Tracy Bear. It is very informative - both regarding historical issues, as well as contemporary ones. Focussing on different aboriginal people across Canada was very informative for me as I knew very little about the various treaties and their impacts, prior to this course. I learned a lot about the Indian Act with the impact on women and children regarding the issue of status. It is a very comprehensive overview. I will certainly consider further courses in the future.

교육 기관: Arlen A

2020년 11월 12일

Indigenous Canada proved to be an important, insightful and timely course. Navigating through 2020 in Canada amidst a global pandemic in combination with global social uprisings and issues, this course presented an honest, difficult and indigenous worldview on the history and ongoing importance of this countries true first settlers. The materials and presenters were engaging, intelligent and matter of fact. I encourage each and every Canadian to take this course. Thank you Native Studies Department at the University of Alberta for my awakening!

교육 기관: Louise B

2020년 10월 1일

For me, this course on Indigenous Canada is just a beginning. I have learned so much and I definitely want to know more. In studying my country from a different perspective, I have felt every emotion. I have cried as my eyes were opened, have stood in awe of First Nations’ resiliency and have even laughed as I watched a satirical performance of the 1491’s. Book titles, Internet links and the names of various artists, writers, scholars and activists have given me enough resources to continue to “dig deeper, look closer, think bigger”. Thank you!