Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,246개의 평가
6,508개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

GC

2021년 10월 13일

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

DN

2020년 8월 30일

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,752개 리뷰 중 551~575

교육 기관: Cathy B

2020년 10월 14일

Thank you so much for this course. I thought I understood somewhat but I really had no idea. I am ashamed to say that at 65 years old, I am just now learning of the real struggles of indigenous peoples brought on, not only by my direct ancestors but modern day people as well. I have thought a lot about the aspect of 'what can I do' but I guess educating myself and others is probably the best course of action. From that can grow educated input where appropriate in contributing to dialogue and reconciliation. I feel very ashamed of our history.

교육 기관: Susan _

2020년 11월 16일

This was an outstanding course. I had very little prior knowledge of the history of the Indigenous people in Canada as it was not taught when I went through school. My first encounter with any sort of Indigenous history in Canada was when I was given the essay topic of residential schools as part of a college geography course I took a decade ago, and that had a huge impact on me and started the change in my perspective of the Canadian history that I had been taught. I truly believe everyone who lives in this country should take this course.

교육 기관: Dan T

2021년 2월 7일

I am a 60 yo male settlor. I live in a western Canadian city that has a large Indigenous population. I hope others like me will take this course. I appreciate especially the great background provided about the Indigenous worldview, which one needs to understand to appreciate our similarities and differences. Other highlights for me include the history of residential schools (and TRC), and getting a better understanding of the Indian Act and its failings. I will build on this course by reading contemporary Indigenous fiction and non-fiction.

교육 기관: Kevin S

2021년 11월 10일

T​hank you for this. Given the past and present conditions in Canada, this course can serve as a roadmap in finding one's own identity and purpose in regards to social and political issues. The time to activate is now. I will be extracting and sharing important content and encouraging others to participate in this course. The content sometimes dances on the edge of what might be considered socially acceptable by those in power and, in my own opinion, may end up on a shortlist to censor by our Canadian government.. In Love, Power and Peace.

교육 기관: Irina D

2019년 2월 17일

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

교육 기관: Paul H

2017년 12월 24일

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

교육 기관: Andrea M

2021년 8월 29일

I really enjoyed all the new learning I was immersed in this summer by taking this course. I have a much better understanding of how Indigenous Canadians were impacted on every level when the settlers arrived in Canada with their colonial views and practices. I am extremely moved by how resilient Indigenous Canadians are in the face of so much change, trauma, and challenges brought about by settler culture. I plan to do my part to speak up for Indigenous rights and views....I have the upmost respect for these wonderful Canadian people.

교육 기관: Claire R

2020년 12월 3일

The course is exceptional and as a Canadian I feel as though all Canadians should be required to take this course. I am appalled at the lack of education I received about Indigenous peoples whilst attending primary and high school, and I am ashamed that I did not know about residential schools until I was in my 30's. This course fills the gap of knowledge that many Canadians missed out on. Thank you University of Alberta for providing this course - I am very grateful and I am now on a quest to further my knowledge on Indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Kim R

2019년 11월 10일

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and analyzing my self awareness on each of the modules. The course was able to connect the dots in my understanding of my own culture. I learned a great deal of information with regard to treaties and governance and even the Indian Act. I learned the history when a child but I enjoyed it much better from an indigenous perspective. I am grateful also to better know what our ancestors lived through to better understand Intergenerational trauma. I will continue to seek a greater way of being. Miigwech!

교육 기관: Kara S A

2021년 7월 3일

This was an informative course, teaching the histories of the Indigenous people of Canada. These histories were not taught in the school curriculum when I was in school, so this was all very new to me. It saddens me that these stories and teachings are not shared. It would give everyone a better understanding of the struggles faced.

Thank you the to the facilitators and those interviewed for making this course feel like a one-on-one course. You all should be very proud of the hard work you have done to bring this course to everyone.

교육 기관: Christine C K

2021년 6월 7일

Thank you very much to everyone who was involved in organizing and presenting this course. It has been the framework of my work learning about Indigenous Peoples of Canada. I will carry on from here and continue to learn from my Indigenous brothers and sisters. I have learned that I need to say thank you for your perseverance for all of our sakes. Despite terrible adversity. So sorry!

Miigwech!

Christine - a settler - from Ottawa on un-ceded Algonquin Anishinabe territory, covered by the Upper Canada Treaties and the Haldimand Treaty

교육 기관: Choco L

2022년 4월 26일

I​ loved how much care and expertise was put into this project. Proud to say that certain icons such as Billy Ray Belcourt were amazing choices for cameos and visibility for queer Indigenous folk. This is a super well-rounded course and I am so so so glad to have been able to participate in this and learn among everyone else on the dark histories of Canada. I hope to find more resources on these issues brought up in the class in regards to broken promises, treaty obligations, social movements and urbanization of Indigenous communities.

교육 기관: Tammy T

2021년 3월 2일

This course is very well done and laid out. Through video, song, stories, artwork, teachings by Indigenous people and other resources, participants experience the rich history of Aboriginal people. I feel like there is more to learn and this course has inspired me to want to go and find out more about Indigenous people. I appreciated the organization of the course, the lay out as indicated by each week, the quizzes and course notes. Thank you for making this course free for everyone to learn more about Indigenous people and history.

교육 기관: Ken M

2020년 9월 21일

I truly appreciate the calm and factual presentation of both the beauty of indigenous culture and the painful truth of the ways in which settler behaviour has, and continues to, undermine, abuse, deny, and resist our duty to honour the peoples who hosted settlers and supported them, and upon whose land we travel together as treaty people. This has helped me to recognize that the presumed attributes of indigenous people that we whites find distasteful all find their source in colonization. Thank you for this mind-expanding presentation.

교육 기관: Emily S

2021년 7월 31일

I​ wish this were taught in school when I was attending school and I think it should be made part of every curiculum in place of the "history" we were exposed to as being true. I was exposed at a young age to indigenous stories and culture in a number of places my family lived and found that what I was being taught in school in later years did not make sense with what I had learned in talking with my friends grandparents and listening to the history of their peoples, Thank you for a most enlightening course. I wish it were longer!

교육 기관: Alexandre C

2021년 1월 13일

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

교육 기관: Justine R

2020년 11월 13일

I didn't imagine that this course would be so enriching for me. I am French and Canada is like a second home to me; and even if I am not Canadian, this course has opened my eyes to incredible stories and amazing facts that blew my mind. Indigenous worldviews have definitely changed the way I see history and the world around me. Thank you for this incredible course. I am a teacher and I will make sure to pass on my newly-acquired knowledge as much as I can to my students, so they too can open their eyes and learn from other worldviews.

교육 기관: Monica P

2018년 8월 8일

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

교육 기관: Ann L

2022년 3월 8일

This course opened my eyes to subjects on which I realize I had only a shallow knowledge. There is a lot to learn here, and I am thankful that there was continuing access to both the lecturess and notes allowing better understanding through review. I am glad you allow participants to reset deadlines as life sometimes gets in the way of uninterrupted time to learn. This has been an extraordinary experience. Thank you all for providing such a well-thought-out plan and a wonderfully accessible presentation. The art works were a delight!

교육 기관: Susan M

2020년 11월 17일

The content of the class was very encompassing. The tests were, for me, difficult in the phrasing (there were many instances where I couldn't follow the logic of what was wanted or missed a "not".) I'm now too old to really worry about the credits but only the information, so this was only a minor nuisance. I grew up in Minnesota and have lived for many years in Alaska so appreciate that, other than the Canadian legal structure, much of the class was pan-North American and connected with things that I'd learned before. Thank you.

교육 기관: Stacey W

2020년 11월 6일

A very well thought out and strategically layered course to provide an introduction into Indigenous worldviews and to address topics that are still woven into today's social, political and environmental challenges. Grateful for all that I learned to reshape my past learning, to further new learning and for the spark of continued ongoing learning. Thank you immensely to Professor Bear and Professor Gareau, the special guests for our Sunday discussions and the faculty of Native Studies for the incredible work you put into this course.

교육 기관: Everett M

2021년 11월 11일

This was my first on-line course because I felt the necessity of learning more deeply the history of indigenous peoples in Canada. This course was well presented and well organized in all of the 12 modules. The quizzes at the end of each module proved to be an incentive for me to review and reinforce materials. I encourage all Canadians, and persons from other countries as well to take the time to enjoy these 20 hours or so learning something really important which can shape views and knowledge of life in North America before 1492.

교육 기관: Erin-Marie M

2020년 6월 14일

Huge thanks to everyone involved in creating this course and putting it out into the world. The modules are so well put together - they are deeply researched, and clearly structured and narrated. I greatly appreciate the inclusion of course notes, and all your references, so that I can continue to further my education. As someone born and raised on Treaty 7 land, everything I learned in this course is long overdue. I do hope this course can be used as a model for/inspires the revision of curriculum at all levels across the country.

교육 기관: Lisa M

2021년 5월 30일

This course was paced very well, easy to digest and understand and challenged me where I needed to be challenged in the ways I uphold colonial systems that are still causing harm to Indigenous Communities today. It provided more in-depth information than I ever learned at school (through elementary, secondary, undergrad and graduate school) in Canada and provided me with enough resources to dive deeper into areas I am interested in learning more. It was a privilege to be a student in this course. Thank you so much for offering it.

교육 기관: olivia r

2021년 4월 13일

From a settler's perspective, this is an excellent introductory course that well integrates past and present to help students, without lived First Nation, Inuit or Metis experience, to better understand the long standing dynamics of colonialism. Hopefully this course will educate and inspire students to work to overcome this damaging colonial legacy. This course will hopefully be inspiring and encouraging for Indigenous students as the course speaks of the strength, innovation and strength of First Nation, Inuit and Metis persons.