Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,755개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

MD

2021년 7월 2일

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

EG

2021년 5월 27일

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,918개 리뷰 중 576~600

교육 기관: Christine C K

2021년 6월 7일

Thank you very much to everyone who was involved in organizing and presenting this course. It has been the framework of my work learning about Indigenous Peoples of Canada. I will carry on from here and continue to learn from my Indigenous brothers and sisters. I have learned that I need to say thank you for your perseverance for all of our sakes. Despite terrible adversity. So sorry!

Miigwech!

Christine - a settler - from Ottawa on un-ceded Algonquin Anishinabe territory, covered by the Upper Canada Treaties and the Haldimand Treaty

교육 기관: Choco L

2022년 4월 26일

I​ loved how much care and expertise was put into this project. Proud to say that certain icons such as Billy Ray Belcourt were amazing choices for cameos and visibility for queer Indigenous folk. This is a super well-rounded course and I am so so so glad to have been able to participate in this and learn among everyone else on the dark histories of Canada. I hope to find more resources on these issues brought up in the class in regards to broken promises, treaty obligations, social movements and urbanization of Indigenous communities.

교육 기관: Tammy T

2021년 3월 2일

This course is very well done and laid out. Through video, song, stories, artwork, teachings by Indigenous people and other resources, participants experience the rich history of Aboriginal people. I feel like there is more to learn and this course has inspired me to want to go and find out more about Indigenous people. I appreciated the organization of the course, the lay out as indicated by each week, the quizzes and course notes. Thank you for making this course free for everyone to learn more about Indigenous people and history.

교육 기관: Ken M

2020년 9월 21일

I truly appreciate the calm and factual presentation of both the beauty of indigenous culture and the painful truth of the ways in which settler behaviour has, and continues to, undermine, abuse, deny, and resist our duty to honour the peoples who hosted settlers and supported them, and upon whose land we travel together as treaty people. This has helped me to recognize that the presumed attributes of indigenous people that we whites find distasteful all find their source in colonization. Thank you for this mind-expanding presentation.

교육 기관: Emily S

2021년 7월 31일

I​ wish this were taught in school when I was attending school and I think it should be made part of every curiculum in place of the "history" we were exposed to as being true. I was exposed at a young age to indigenous stories and culture in a number of places my family lived and found that what I was being taught in school in later years did not make sense with what I had learned in talking with my friends grandparents and listening to the history of their peoples, Thank you for a most enlightening course. I wish it were longer!

교육 기관: Alexandre C

2021년 1월 13일

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

교육 기관: Justine R

2020년 11월 13일

I didn't imagine that this course would be so enriching for me. I am French and Canada is like a second home to me; and even if I am not Canadian, this course has opened my eyes to incredible stories and amazing facts that blew my mind. Indigenous worldviews have definitely changed the way I see history and the world around me. Thank you for this incredible course. I am a teacher and I will make sure to pass on my newly-acquired knowledge as much as I can to my students, so they too can open their eyes and learn from other worldviews.

교육 기관: Monica P

2018년 8월 8일

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

교육 기관: Ann L

2022년 3월 8일

This course opened my eyes to subjects on which I realize I had only a shallow knowledge. There is a lot to learn here, and I am thankful that there was continuing access to both the lecturess and notes allowing better understanding through review. I am glad you allow participants to reset deadlines as life sometimes gets in the way of uninterrupted time to learn. This has been an extraordinary experience. Thank you all for providing such a well-thought-out plan and a wonderfully accessible presentation. The art works were a delight!

교육 기관: Susan M

2020년 11월 17일

The content of the class was very encompassing. The tests were, for me, difficult in the phrasing (there were many instances where I couldn't follow the logic of what was wanted or missed a "not".) I'm now too old to really worry about the credits but only the information, so this was only a minor nuisance. I grew up in Minnesota and have lived for many years in Alaska so appreciate that, other than the Canadian legal structure, much of the class was pan-North American and connected with things that I'd learned before. Thank you.

교육 기관: Stacey W

2020년 11월 6일

A very well thought out and strategically layered course to provide an introduction into Indigenous worldviews and to address topics that are still woven into today's social, political and environmental challenges. Grateful for all that I learned to reshape my past learning, to further new learning and for the spark of continued ongoing learning. Thank you immensely to Professor Bear and Professor Gareau, the special guests for our Sunday discussions and the faculty of Native Studies for the incredible work you put into this course.

교육 기관: Everett M

2021년 11월 11일

This was my first on-line course because I felt the necessity of learning more deeply the history of indigenous peoples in Canada. This course was well presented and well organized in all of the 12 modules. The quizzes at the end of each module proved to be an incentive for me to review and reinforce materials. I encourage all Canadians, and persons from other countries as well to take the time to enjoy these 20 hours or so learning something really important which can shape views and knowledge of life in North America before 1492.

교육 기관: Erin-Marie M

2020년 6월 14일

Huge thanks to everyone involved in creating this course and putting it out into the world. The modules are so well put together - they are deeply researched, and clearly structured and narrated. I greatly appreciate the inclusion of course notes, and all your references, so that I can continue to further my education. As someone born and raised on Treaty 7 land, everything I learned in this course is long overdue. I do hope this course can be used as a model for/inspires the revision of curriculum at all levels across the country.

교육 기관: Lisa M

2021년 5월 30일

This course was paced very well, easy to digest and understand and challenged me where I needed to be challenged in the ways I uphold colonial systems that are still causing harm to Indigenous Communities today. It provided more in-depth information than I ever learned at school (through elementary, secondary, undergrad and graduate school) in Canada and provided me with enough resources to dive deeper into areas I am interested in learning more. It was a privilege to be a student in this course. Thank you so much for offering it.

교육 기관: olivia r

2021년 4월 13일

From a settler's perspective, this is an excellent introductory course that well integrates past and present to help students, without lived First Nation, Inuit or Metis experience, to better understand the long standing dynamics of colonialism. Hopefully this course will educate and inspire students to work to overcome this damaging colonial legacy. This course will hopefully be inspiring and encouraging for Indigenous students as the course speaks of the strength, innovation and strength of First Nation, Inuit and Metis persons.

교육 기관: Heather W

2020년 7월 30일

I appreciated the progression of the material which helped to build an understanding of the roots and ongoing colonization of Indigenous people. Also the quizzes were hard enough to show whether I understood the material.

I feel like I have a deeper understanding of the complexity and richness of the world views of the Indigenous peoples that were represented in this course.

The art work was also an embodiment of the values of interconnectedness and storytelling.

Very worthwhile course and I am very grateful to have taken it.

교육 기관: Jacqueline O

2022년 3월 13일

I thouroughly enjoyed this course. The content was thoughtfully presented and the knowledge I have gained about the Indigenous experience in Canada is invaluable. I feel enlightened, enriched and better informed about the role of Indigenous people and their significance in Candian History.

Many thanks ,, I feel as though i have stepped into the light and appreciate the injustices endured by Indigenous people in the past and hope courses like this expose the gross treatment at the hands of the federal government. Time for change..

교육 기관: charlene C

2020년 11월 22일

This course was an amazingly informative, educational, interesting, powerful and emotional journey. It was presented in a very unique and beautiful way. I have learned so much that I now have a better understanding of the stories about First Nations People that are in the news and have taken to educating family and friends. I have also spent many hours googling different legal cases and many artists that were presented briefly in the modules. Thank you to the makers of this online course, I am sad that it has come to an end.

교육 기관: Miahuatl K

2020년 11월 18일

I knew very little about Indigenous Peoples history, culture, and present experience in Canada. This course was truly illuminating and an absolute basic course everyone should take. I often went to an individual who is close to me that is from an Indigenous group in Canada and tell him knew things I learned and he was presently surprised by how I was learning what I was. I think this is a beautiful course with a wonderful combination of videos, readings, art, and images. I absolutely loved this course! It was enjoyable each week.

교육 기관: Katherine S

2020년 10월 4일

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I feel much more informed about indigenous history. I liked the way that some of the more recent recent issues were brought in such as "idle no more" etc. I am a bit of a reading buff so I appreciated the nods to Vine Deloria and Howard Adams but maybe you could put a bit more in the lesson 12 about current Canadian Indigenous authors. I really liked the paintings of Leah Dorian and her explanations. The quizzes are thought were fair and related to the course material well. Thanks and Best Wishes.

교육 기관: Liyan D

2019년 6월 7일

Growing up in central and northern Alberta, I thought I had a pretty good idea of Indigenous history. I was wrong. This course has changed everything. For example, I now REALLY understand that I was born on Treaty 6 lands, and spent quite a few school years on Treaty 8 land. That reality matters and should be foremost in our minds. I also learned that there is another word for "Cree" and I had no idea that was the case. I now know that nehiyawak (lower case only) is a correct and respectful term. Everyone should take this course!

교육 기관: Holly D

2021년 10월 1일

While I did know a little bit about treaty making in Canada, it was amazing to learn how much I didn't know. I loved this course and in fact took several weeks to complete the last unit because I knew it would be over and I want to know more. I read the Final Report of the TRC while doing this course and now I have to figure out how to deal with 'white people' guilt. I recommend every minute of this course to everyone in Canada and hope that most of this information is now or soon will be included in every class room in Canada!

교육 기관: Ryan C

2020년 11월 14일

Opens up a whole new viewpoint on many issues. You can never judge someone until you walk a mile in their shoes, and part of learning and understanding is to attempt to do so. This course allows for that experience. Example: After completing this course, I can now see and understand much better why the Indigenous peoples of Canada have had many conflicts with the government in the past, and can now better sympathize with their demands of the government and why they actually deserve many of the compensations that they ask for.

교육 기관: Deanna H

2022년 3월 11일

An incredibly comprehensive coverage of topics, delivered in a clear, articulate way. Appeals to variety of learning styles and enables reinforcement of concepts through both video and readings. The incorporation of the ideas through art helps to see the teachings in a tangible, visual form that engraves it on the mind. The interviews offer reinforcement of the teachings through the perspectives of multiple people. Thank you so much for putting this course together. It will be shared and highly recommended to my community!

교육 기관: Alison P

2020년 10월 15일

A great, comprehensive overview that should be required learning for all Canadians, particularly Settler Canadians. In learning in public schools in the 70s and 80s, the Indian Act, in particular, was 'romanticized' and presented as a positive development, when it was anything but. This was one of the major learnings I will take forward, in addition to understanding Indigenous 'ways of knowing', culture, art, governance and social structures. Thank you so much to the presenters and the University of Alberta for sponsoring this.