Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,736개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

MJ

2020년 12월 8일

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

MD

2021년 7월 2일

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,904개 리뷰 중 601~625

교육 기관: Scott H

2021년 2월 20일

I really enjoyed this class. I have a degree in Canadian and American History from U of T. I studied in the early 90s. What was eye-opening was how much work and research had been completed since that time. I strongly encourage all colonizers or descendants of colonizers to take this course. We have fundamental issues we need to solve, and we need to solve them in the spirit of the 1st treaties signed on Turtle Island. This is not a short-term project, but we need to start now - with actions, not just more empty words.

교육 기관: Janice W

2021년 1월 9일

This was an excellent course which gave me a much needed, thorough understanding of Indigenous people in Canada. As someone who was educated in Canada, I had learned some aspects of Indigenous history, but certainly not enough given the breadth of what I have now come to know through this course. The subjects presented were comprehensive and thoroughly interesting. I would certainly recommend this course not just to my fellow Canadians but to anyone who wants to learn more about this important area of history and culture.

교육 기관: Danielle J

2020년 10월 4일

Every single person in Canada should have to take this course! It has been so informative, I loved the artwork depicting and referencing the different themes of the course and all the archival footage. Thank you so much for offering this course and I will continue learning about and exploring many of the themes, politics, cultures and stories covered in the course. An excellent course for anyone wanting to deepen their understanding of issues and the 'narrative' around First Nations in Canada. Seriously, I really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Kayleigh K

2020년 8월 22일

Thank you so much for offering this course for free. The course was thorough while still being introductory, and the modules are easily organized and accessible, allowing all levels of learners to complete at their own pace and preference. The instructors and guest interviews were very informative and engaging. This course offers an enjoyable and meaningful online learning experience that every Canadian should participate in, as this is information that should be taught to all from a young age but is not. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Galina W

2021년 2월 7일

This course is eyeopening and fills the knowledge gap about the struggles the First Nations, Inuit and Metis have to face even today. The original artwork is not just an illustration but also speaks for itself. I would recommend it not just to every Canadian but to people around the globe who are interested in indigenous perspectives. It is a good starting point to deepening understanding of native thought, different and better suited to protect the land we live on, which we are just borrowing from the future generations.

교육 기관: Michelle H

2020년 12월 13일

Thank-you for creating a rich overview on key themes in "Indigenous Canada". I really enjoyed the inclusion of 'experts' in the indigenous community. Hearing more from indigenous youth would have been an asset; I have a bias because I teach High School. Including more images/photos in the videos alongside the moderators would also be an asset. I learn by seeing; when maps etc were provided, I felt my learning was deeper.

A couple of times, I do feel the answers may have been 'wrong' in the quiz. I may also be incorrect.

교육 기관: Judy C

2020년 11월 25일

This was a great course, I enjoyed every minute of it and learned so much. I have bragged about your course and regret not getting the paying to get the certificate to add to my many great accomplishments. I would suggest that you could at the end to have the option to buy the certificate of your accomplishment. Keep up the great work, hope I can continue my learning with the Indigenous learning, it is a great way to understand and move forward with reconciliation. Thank you again for putting this great course together.

교육 기관: Denise J W

2020년 11월 8일

I have always been proud to be ,native, aboriginal, indigenous, cree all the names we have been. My mom was the strongest woman I ever knew and I follow her strength. I loved this course I learned so much. I cried with Tracy Bear on the you tube discussions and I laughed with all of them. Kim Tallbear and Chris Andersen just blew me away with their strength and wisdom! I was mesmerized. If I was ever around them I would be smitten with their presence. Thank you Faculty of Native Studies, Tracy, Paul and Dan you guys rock!

교육 기관: HB

2021년 7월 27일

I really enjoyed the course and learned alot about Indigenous culture that I never knew. It wasn't until my own children learned about residential schools when they were in high school a few years ago that I found out about it. I grew up in the 70's and 80's and am appalled that it was happening right before my own eyes, in my own country and I never knew about it. As an educator now, I will certainly use what I have learned in this course in creating more diverse learning environments for my own students. Thank you!

교육 기관: Christine

2021년 11월 21일

​I enjoyed this course very much, I can admit I was not very well knowledgible in many areas . I was surprised how much they (Indigenous people) went through , in cause of new settlers , how much was learnt created and passed on through the years, the many time having to stand up for themselves , protect what was rightfully theirs , the new friendships that were created the old one remain some gone, the ongoing of rights and humanrights, and the protection of a beautiful culture , that shared, as a family and community.

교육 기관: Cynthia K S

2020년 7월 1일

Informative and Eye Opening

I took this course years after I completed a minor of Native American anthropology from the U of A (2002). Years have passed so it was nice to actually have the course taught by Indigenous people, instead of white anthropologists. I also had a stroke between the two times and the course was designed in such a way that I could re-learn the information and still manage to take the quizzes. It was good, up to date, hopeful, and makes me want to learn even more about Indigenous cultures. Thank you!

교육 기관: Ann E S

2020년 8월 20일

So good! Every settler Canadian should have to take this course. As a new Canadian this was far more informative on the history of this land, pre- and post-contact, than any university course in Canadian history or government guide for the citizenship exam I've taken or read! Thank you so much for giving us such an excellent overview and I can't wait to take the opportunity to delve deeper into the intricacies touched on in the course and into the history and culture of the Mi'kmaq in the area of Canada I've settled in!

교육 기관: Althea M L

2021년 7월 5일

With this course, I got the chance to know the history of indigenous people. I learned all the important facts and details as well as the events that happened in the past which shaped the society today. Knowing the history of indigenous people made me well informed and really helped me become aware of the past happenings. I enjoyed watching the videos and reading the articles because it fed my curiosity. The paintings on each end of every module served as a refresher to me and helped me understand the learnings better.

교육 기관: Hannah E

2021년 5월 10일

I think that this course is a starting place to begin learning about Indigenous peoples in Canada, in the past, present and future. There are many great resources provided to continue your learning when the course is done, and it helps to contextualize the relationship between Canada's first peoples and the colonizers who swooped in thinking that they new best. I loved learning about contemporary Indigenous people and how people are connecting with their histories in myriad ways, through art, language, food, and more.

교육 기관: Georgina L

2021년 1월 11일

A very informative course. I am very happy that I chose to take it, and believe that it should be a standard course for all Canadians. There is a lot of ignorance out there, and it is important to approach this course with an open mind. This course is simply a starting point, and will point me in a direction to learn even more about the Indigenous culture within Canada. I think it is shameful how little we learn about the Indigenous culture in general, especially within our school system. This has helped with my overa

교육 기관: Dawn D

2020년 11월 8일

Every Canadian should take this course, young and old! I hope this becomes part of mandatory courses for school age children also. We all missed out on so much by not being taught true history and not having the chance to celebrate Indigenous culture with our classmates and community and learn about the riches of this culture. In turn so much more bias, systemic racism and prejudice continued from our settler ignorance and caused so much harm. I only hope we can all strive to help heal together and learn together.

교육 기관: Sam K

2022년 4월 3일

I truly enjoyed this program. I found both the factual and the spritual review of our Indigenous Peoples' journey prior to and post contact to be of great value for but all but more so for a none born Canadian.

I thank you for sharing your history with new canadians who were not exposed to this information growing in other parts of the world.

I am in a much better position now to converse and reply to ill informed views and hope to be able to make a difference to support indeginous rights for Truth and Reconceliation..

교육 기관: Rebecca C

2020년 11월 16일

Thank you to everyone involved in making this course possible and available to me. This course was very enlightening, and I learned so much. This course has encouraged me to be supportive and an advocate for the indigenous people. I hope there will be other courses like this one that I can take to learn more about the Indigenous people. I truly appreciated the instructors time and effort in making this a great learning experience for me. I’m saddened that it’s over and will miss learning about these wonderful people.

교육 기관: Alison G

2021년 10월 5일

Eye-opening, engaging, and at times deeply moving, lessons and stories from Indigenous people from various parts of Canada are presented to correct the untruths we were taught in school. The course begins with a description of pre-contact Indigenous societies, then describes in detail how colonisers took over despite the efforts of the Indigenous peoples to fight back. Spiritual beliefs, politics, and art are explained in order to provide context to the struggles and ways of being of contemporary Indigenous peoples.

교육 기관: Lisa U

2021년 9월 20일

Very well done. I found each section interesting, and I learned a lot. I certainly have an expanded view and appreciation of our Indigenous peoples. The format of the course was engaging and I particularly enjoyed the commissioned art pieces; it was like a little treat at the end of a session and after the quiz. Thank you to all those who contributed to developing this course. I would love to see a second, advanced course to dive deeper into Canadian Indigenous culture, governance, art, history, reconciliation, etc.

교육 기관: Christopher M C

2018년 8월 12일

It was refreshing to take a course whose aim was to present the breadth of a major topic. It succeeded. Along the way, it probed the depth of several major subtopics and provided great resources for further exploration. I started taking notes in week 1, but soon put my pencil down, as few words were wasted in the lectures and it became clear that everything being said was important. I'm American and was searching for a course on Native Americans in the U.S. I found this one first and I'm glad I did - it was a treat!

교육 기관: Kent P

2020년 11월 30일

Just a very eye opening but also confirming course based on my Wonderful experiences with First Nations Groups I worked with in Northern Saskatchewan. One funny lesson I learned working out at Brabant Lake. Don't host an ice fishing derby on the same Saturday as the Montreal Lake $100,000 first prize ice fishing derby. You'll only get half the community coming to the Brabant Lake Derby...

This was just an excellent course and will be a huge help in FN consultations efforts on resource projects I'm involved with.

Kent

교육 기관: Emma B

2020년 8월 19일

This was an informative, engaging, and well-organised course, which I am very glad that I was able to participate in. The blend of lectures and reading was effective: I appreciated being able to listen, take virtual notes, and access the text for each unit. The visual art component for each unit was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this course to people, whether fellow educators, Canadian residents, or those with interest simply in learning and understanding more about Canada. Thank you for this opportunity.

교육 기관: Cynthia M

2020년 11월 14일

Really glad I took this course - it provided a good foundation of knowledge for me to begin understanding the Indigenous perspective. It has inspired me to read more First Nations stories and challenge my colonialist perspective on all Indigenous issues. Suddenly everything makes better sense and I can respect my First Nations neighbours. Why wasn't I taught this in school when I was growing up?? Education is the key to helping overcome our past. So grateful for this course - I'd recommend this to everyone I know.

교육 기관: Mary-Anne O

2020년 10월 9일

I thoroughly enjoyed this eye opening learning experience. We are so smug being Canadian, born in such an amazing country. However, learning the price that indigenous peoples paid so that Canada could become the “Best” country in the world is very humbling. I thank you from the bottom of my heart ♥️ for opening my eyes and my heart. I will recommend this course to everyone I know.

I absolutely love the live QnAs on Sunday’s and will continue watching them. I commend you all for your dedication and enthusiasm.