Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,278개의 평가
1,602개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 1,623개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Stephanie V

Aug 30, 2020

As an individual working with at risk Indigenous youth, I found this course extremely insightful. There are many aspects of my job that pull from generational trauma, and troubles that Indigenous youth may face. I found that with this course it allowed me to have a better understanding of some of the aspects that my youth may have experienced prior to coming into protective care, and allowed me to help preserve the culture in a home based setting. I hope that I am able to use this information in the future to better assist my youth, and help them transition into the community. Thank you for putting on such a great and informative course! With the Covid 19 crisis, I found that being able to have access to online learning has been a godsend, and allowed a sense of "normalcy". I am forever grateful for online learning!

교육 기관: Karen L

Aug 15, 2020

I am so grateful for all of the efforts put in to creating this course. I appreciate that this is a high level overview, and not an easy endeavor to take on with so many indigenous nations in Canada and such a long history as well. I learned so much, and appreciated having the perspective of Indigenous people rather than the same old dusty rhetoric. This has changed much of what I thought I knew, and reinforced much of what I already knew was not right in this country. I really appreciate how multiple facets of Indigenous oppression, and creative activism were front and center. Thank you to the course professors (Tracy and Paul), the instructors, the guest speakers, and the artists (Leah, your work is thoughtful and beautiful) who contributed.

Taking this course has opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart too.

교육 기관: Gudrun v S

Sep 14, 2020

I find this a great course for a deeper, meaningful understanding of indigenous history, the effects of colonialism, injustices, violence, residential schools, systemic racism, the Indian Act and many more themes. Developed and delivered entirely by Canadian indigenous people, it explains and discusses ways in which these issues and the intergenerational trauma caused by them, have been-, and are being- dealt with by the government and by the peoples. It highlights, through many examples, stories, interviews, diverse artwork, historical photos and quotes, the resilience and creativity, as well as past and current political and social activism initiated by indigenous people. I learned a lot and I feel I have a better understanding of many of the issues.

Thank you for making it available and accessible.

교육 기관: DAWN M

Oct 16, 2020

This course was such an exciting educational opportunity for me. I have always wanted to learn more about our Indigenous peoples. I learned so much about Indigenous culture and really began to understand how colonization affected their lives throughout the generations. This is NOT anything that I learned in school! Thinking back to the history lessons that I remember Indigenous people were portrayed in such an unjust light. The history lessons were so skewed. This course has inspired me to learn more, and to educate wherever and whenever I can. Thank you University of Alberta for offering this vital educational opportunity. And thank you to the Educators who shared their knowledge with such passion and pride. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians! Thank you again! Sincerely, Dawn Masters

교육 기관: Andrea E

Sep 07, 2020

What a fabulous way to educate Canadians in a collaborative, empathetic and compassion way. Thank you to all of the contributors, academics and visionaries who saw this course through to its completion. As a non-Indigenous elementary school educator, this course gave me that very important ´next step' that I have been looking for the past 3 years. I work alongside the Gord Downie and Chanie Wenjack Fund and with several community groups in The Dish With One Spoon, so becoming better educated in our shared (and tumultuous!) history is of utmost importance back in the classroom and at home with my own young children. I highly recommend the resources available in this course to all Canadians, and hope to rely on this experience moving forward in my own journey to Reconciliation. Miigwech. Andrea Eby

교육 기관: Jamies J L N

May 01, 2019

Thank you professors for your time and effort to create this wonderful course. I also graduated from the University of Alberta, and is proud to have these talented teachers who provide the amazing Indigenous Canada course which expands my knowledge in Indigenous history, art and culture. I have learned the traumas and unfair treatment that Indigenous People have faced in Canada, and feel empathetic about their experiences. Some ethnic minorities such as the Chinese has experienced racism before too, such as the Head Tax and Chinese Exclusion Act. I would like to work with Indigenous People in the future to hopefully change their lives to the better. May you continue to create another inspiring course in a different angle or topics, so we can explore more of the unknown of our First Nations People.

교육 기관: Bharti M

Jul 18, 2020

Wish there was more interaction and ways to connect with the faculty and artists. Since I was a child I had been fascinated by your people, this is the first time I explored the surface of your culture and heritage. The course really made me think about the colonized and the colonizer as well. I come from a colonized country too, India, and as a child I would be asked do you mean Indian from India or Indian as in Red Indian. I have not heard the word Red Indian being used for decades but I never had any problem being mistaken for the same but I did always have a problem with being asked the question. Thank you to the faculty and artists who collaborated on the journey to make this available to the world. All the best for the continuation and future ventures as well. Regards, Bharti Mohan

교육 기관: KAMALA R

Feb 04, 2018

I think this course should be part of our mandatory mainstream education. Although I had some superficial familiarity with the course content through Social Studies education in 1980s Alberta, a lot of this content was delivered expertly to someone with fresh eyes, perspective, and enthusiasm for learning the truth about indigenous peoples, history, and culture. As a resident living in unceded territory of Tsleil-Waututh First Nation, I believe it is my duty to learn as much as I can in honour of the indigenous people's contributions to this land, and for the debt of gratitude we owe to them. I hope for more classes on native studies through coursera or on my own. I am also a U of A alumni and wish I could go back a couple decades in a time machine so I could have taken courses then.

교육 기관: James J

Oct 17, 2020

As a big-city descendant of "settlers" I have had a woefully weak knowledge of the injustices suffered by Indigenous Canadians. This marvellous course has opened my mind and heart. None of my ancestors, to my knowledge, had direct responsibility for Indigenous=settler relations or government decisions. I wish I could talk with them now, to see if they would be as ashamed as I feel.

I found out about this course thru a link from HIP (Honouring Indigenous People) which I support as they appear to offer constructive projects in partnership with Indigenous communities. This U of A course has taught me a lot. But in the spirit of "Idle No More" I feel called to participate more actively in these projects - financial support may help with the shame I feel, but that's not enough.

교육 기관: Katherine M

Aug 05, 2020

Fantastic information, I learned a lot from it and look forward to sharing my knowledge with my students. I'm a Canadian Forces Military Police member and worked in Cold Lake for 7 years. I now teach at the Canadian Forces Military Police Academy, and I think that it is very important for Military Police (and police in general) to know about the complexities of policing the Indigenous communities and to have a better understanding of their mistrust for the police. A lot of things mentioned in the course are things I heard of, but did not know in depth. The readings and videos, as well as interactive interviews really ensured that all students could capture the information and fully understand the importance of what was being taught. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

교육 기관: Judy J

Apr 24, 2017

I loved that this course offered WRITTEN and VIDEO lessons. I find it difficult to learn by just watching a video. By doing some of the learning by reading and re-reading, I absorbed more.

Quizes are also another modality that works well. Quick to do, easy to score, inexpensive to administer, both teacher and learner can assess student learning very quickly.

I wish all Coursera programs included more than one methodology for learning. Video is fine, but it isn't the best for everyone, and it isn't the only way to teach things. Many Coursera program rely too heavily on video as their only teaching tool. There are something like 12 or 14 modalities for teaching students. Thank you for using more than one way. I especially liked your reading materials.

교육 기관: Ashton G

Sep 22, 2020

The course was fantastic to be a part of. I enjoyed every lecture, I really enjoyed the layout and the options given (you can read the lecture as it is being presented on screen, and there are course reading notes that really helped me). I think the quizzes may need some re-wording on some questions as they can be confusing and appear irrelevant to helping the student understand the content. But other than that, everything was perfect and I am very grateful and honoured to be able to take this course and learn about Indigenous past and present in Canada. This course is now a gateway for me to be able to learn even more because I know a little more about where to look and I have under my toolbelt some proper perspective to the issues at hand today.

교육 기관: Keshav D K

Sep 08, 2020

Having recently come to Canada from India, a similarly brutalized and colonized society, and having today’s Canadians have totally incorrect views about India encouraged me to take this course. It was worth every penny.

Apart from understanding the reasons why Aboriginal Canadians were called “Indian”, it removed from my mind, misconceptions and European cultural power imposed prejudice against Aboriginals.

Strange as this may sound, I recommend this course to all Indians, to understand what was done to India over a period of 300 years. A very similar time period to the colonization in Canada.

I thank Dr. Tracy Bear for her hard work to put this course together and would request her to add in more Canadian Aboriginal vocabulary into the course.

교육 기관: Ashley B

Aug 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and the learning experiences that it provided. I felt it did a very good job of covering the past and present issues, as well as explain the diverse and unique views\experiences of the different indigenous groups across Canada. If I had one critic of the course - I felt like some of the multiple choice questions were sometimes difficult to answer (some wanted very specific answers that were very detailed; others were very vague or complex in which I felt several answers could be considered; and a lot of questions phrased as negatives "which does not apply" or sometimes different vocabulary (i.e names that may be used Mohawk or Kanesatake ) or the use of acronyms (ie MMIW).

Thank you for providing this course.

교육 기관: Julia L

Oct 12, 2020

This course was a great introduction that provided thoughtful insight into Indigenous Canada and the experience of Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

As a person of European descent I felt it was my duty to learn about the experiences of the people who came before me - this course did just that. I am honoured to be living in a place that has roots of hard-work, love and a focus on evolving.

The instructors were clear and made the course very interesting. This being my first experience with The University of Alberta and Coursera, I really enjoyed the video/visual element. This course was definitely designed for the modern learner as it embodied multiple ways of learning (audio/visual/written/academic/personal experience).

5/5 Stars - Thank you!

교육 기관: Angelique D

Sep 06, 2020

Thank you so much. This course has given me the best history lesson I could have hoped for. I knew some things about Indigenous history before I enrolled but I have to say that my eyes have been opened to so much more. The lectures were interesting, engaging, thought-provoking, moving, and they have inspired me to continue with my learning. Your course has raised my awareness of the deeper roots of issues that underlie what concerns Indigenous peoples today (and of environmental issues that should be of concern to everyone). I wish this was how history was taught when I was still in school. As an educator, I hope it is how history will be taught in schools from now on. Again, thank you for this beautiful, amazing course.

교육 기관: Zuzana S

Aug 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this course. I am an immigrant and have been living in Canada for 15 years. I studied at a local university and nowhere over the span of 15 years I've received a fraction of this important information. I had to study for and pass the Canadian Citizenship test - I would say the study book and the content of the citizenship test would deserve a serious revision to include "all" and not just partial information. To express my gratitude for this course I would like to say thank you for informing me, inspiring me, and motivating me to learn more. Since I've been taking this course I searched and purchased books by indigenous authors. I became a fan of "Unreserved" CBC program and much more. Thank you again.

교육 기관: Linda H

Sep 19, 2020

I very much appreciated the teachings in this course. It was informative, as a Canadian, for me to understand the colonization of these lands and the effect it has had on the Indigenous communities. It also frustrates me to know that a lot of this has been and is happening and that the education system (particularly as I grew up) didn't teach any of this - it was, and is, happening "on my watch"!

The resilience of the first peoples here, their culture(s) and activism are inspiring, individually and collectively, and I resonate with the systemic injustice that has been demonstrated in this course. I am more aware.

Thank you for this . It has made me a bit less ignorant of the lands and peoples where I was born and raised.

교육 기관: Monika V

Jul 03, 2020

I am internationally educated and had a strong desire to learn about Indigenous culture. Finding this course online is really helpful. Moreover, it is flexible and nicely delivered. I just carefully heard the instructors and enjoyed it while learning. Though at times, I felt a very narrow margin in quiz so far the questions are concerned still in case , I couldn't clear the quiz in 2 or 3 times , it was again thrilling to go over and over again.

I humbly thank Tracy Bear and her team for their perseverance and doing their job so beautifully. I really appreciate Leah's paintings and the way she depicted all shades of indigenous lstruggles against colonism with the help of symbols. Her paintings are really telling a tale!

교육 기관: Greg O

Jul 22, 2020

Extremely beneficial for all people living in what we currently call Canada. An introduction into the history, present and future of Indigenous nations here with many interesting and relevant pieces of information that we all should know and should inform our actions. Could have benefited slightly from a deeper exploration of two-spirit and gender diverse histories and modern efforts, particularly for recognition within colonial LGBTQ+ structures and liberation efforts, however I recognize the limitations of such a short course for such a broad and diversified history. Thank you to all contributors to this course, and to the unnamed individuals who have made the availability of this information possible.

교육 기관: Karina A

Aug 07, 2020

Great Course, good content. As an older Canadian who attended school in the 60/70's I am surprised at how my education was lacking in honest content, I am further shocked at how legislation in the past and fairly current continues to discriminate esp relating to gender. I thought I was aware of injustices but clearly did not have the breadth of knowledge of the impacts of business, church, and state. My thanks for the education.

The grammar, spelling and inconsistencies in written content and spoken content are distracting. There is an implication on a lack of attention and value of this program that a couple of hours of an editor could correct. It reflects badly on the University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Erin P

Sep 19, 2018

This course should be mandatory for every person in Canada - as a descendent of a family affected deeply by the 60s Scoop, this has helped me understand my family's history and reason's why it was hidden - to try to keep their children from being taken. Without true understanding of the genocide that is still taking place in our country, and the systemic push to keep FNMI people(s) quiet and to assimilate them, how can anyone begin to have empathy and to disappear many of the commonly heard myths about FNMI people(s)? I believe this course is essential to our history and should be taught in all schools, be a requirement for newcomers, and anyone enrolled in any post-secondary academy. Thank you.

교육 기관: Lisa T

Sep 19, 2020

I took this course on the recommendation of Dan Levy from Schitt's Creek! I thought it would be an excellent way to learn about a past I was never taught. It was that, and so much more! I learned that in order for me to fully understand the present, that I had to understand the past. I learned more than I thought I would and while I am heartbroken by the tragedies that have happened since the Colonizers arrived; I am happy with the resilience and the re-teaching and reclaiming of Indigenous culture. Thank you so much for this wonderful learning opportunity, I will continue to learn and grow in my quest for a greater understanding and appreciation of our rich Indigenous peoples.

교육 기관: debbie h

Sep 19, 2020

I'm 67; I worked with indigenous communities as a physician in northern turtle island and at an urban indigenous-run health centre. I was lucky to have many teaching circles in those days by indigenous Elders.This current perspective has tremendously enhanced my understanding and makes me wish it had been available in my early working life days (and in primary school, among other times) It is wonderful to keep learning and I am now inspired to read some of the resources that are listed. I feel very grateful that you have shared this with me and hope I can continue to engage in some meaningful work with the Indigenous community in the north, As I have been taught to say, meegwetch

교육 기관: Allison H

Sep 17, 2020

This course was extremely informative. The course notes were comprehensive and the video lectures were delivered with excellent tonality and diction making them easy to comprehend, follow and absorb.

The course material was relevant and although extremely emotionally disturbing in parts (Killing the Indian in the Child, Red Power, Sovereign Lands...to name a few of the the more compelling topics), it served to inform and raise my awareness exponentially.

Having descended from the Taino(Arawak - Jamaica W.I.) my history is all but lost, so to be able to share the experience of this country's Indigenous population, gave me some context and the will to research and explore my own.