Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,176개의 평가
743개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 755개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Dawn M

May 18, 2020

I learned so much an appreciate the span of topics, knowledge, worldviews from across North America. I wish you were offering more courses about pre-contact time and about the changes during initial contact.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Jackie S

Sep 03, 2019

The detail of the course gives a very good insight into the impact of colonization on indigenous people which has helped me have a greater understanding and awareness of the complex issues facing our indigenous people.

교육 기관: Priscilla D

Jun 29, 2019

Very informative course if you need an introduction to Indigenous history in Canada. The deadlines that were suggested were reasonable and the length of the quizzes were reasonable. Would recommend taking this course.

교육 기관: susan b

Oct 18, 2018

I enjoyed learning more of the facts and actually understanding how the stereotyping and racism is still very much alive and well.

I also, feel that I wish our society could learn to embrace the Indigenous world view.

교육 기관: Trent D

Jul 08, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. Would recommend to anyone wishing to amplify and support the works of our First Peoples of Turtle Island on decolonizing spaces and acknowledging our history. A must-take course for all.

교육 기관: Ken S

Nov 20, 2019

A very good survey or introduction to Indigenous Peoples and Indigenous History in Canada. I wish it had been more in depth, but that was outside of the scope of the course. It's encouraged me to keep learning more.

교육 기관: Sandy S

Jul 31, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. I learned so much more about Indigenous peoples of Canada and have a much better understanding and appreciation of our Indigenous peoples continued struggles in their our country today.

교육 기관: Jayleen C

Jan 21, 2020

Tansi! Indigenous Canada was the best online course i have ever took, it was close to home but i loved it! it kept me on the edge of my seat each week, I will be recommending it to others along the way. Hai hai 💕

교육 기관: Sheri G

Jan 14, 2020

Very much enjoyed the course as it was basic history we should have all learned in our early years. I went and reviewed references that were mentioned and it was great to learn more than the Cree where i grew up.

교육 기관: Amy B

Aug 22, 2017

I learned so much in this course! It was so very valuable. I knew I had room to improve on my knowledge of Indigenous Canadians but I hadn't realized how much I was missing. Thank you for this wonderful course!

교육 기관: Colleen H

May 28, 2020

Learned an incredible amount and extremely thankful for this course.

Thank you Dr. Tracy Bear & Dr. Paul Gareau and the many people's stories and efforts.

Would like to know what is next for all people involved.

교육 기관: Logan S

Nov 29, 2018

This course was very informative about the history of indigenous peoples of Canada. I now have a greater perspective about the issues that Canadians must deal with regarding indigenous issues in modern society.

교육 기관: Raffaele P

Dec 03, 2017

Very interesting course. The wide perspectives of the studies presented here make it involving, giving a different way of viewing a so important historical/anthropological question, so actual in north america.

교육 기관: Sylvie V

Jun 22, 2020

The course was awesome and detailed. The presenters Voices were authentic and clear and the course material followed them well - especially in an audio course. Excellent job by the U of A Native Studies !!!!!

교육 기관: Lina J

Jan 29, 2020

Well structure course, very insightful, I took away a lot from this course and think it is a great way to express Indigenous culture and history to those that may not have known much before taking this course

교육 기관: Jonathan F B

Dec 03, 2017

excellent course, i wanted an understanding on indigenous history and culture and this course really helped me learn it in a perspective ive never heard it in. really informal. im proud i took this course.

교육 기관: Annie P

Nov 19, 2018

Wonderful introduction to indigenous culture, issues, and issues told from an indigenous perspective. Highly educational and eye opening. It should be a mandatory course for all Canadians. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Bonnie D

Jul 22, 2020

This course filled in my narrow understanding and knowledge of indigenous history and, especially, urban issues and how the effects of residential schools have impacted so many generations into the future.

교육 기관: Patricia S

May 16, 2020

Well written, interesting course. All Canadians should take this course. It should be in the school systems, and used by all organizations as an aid in understanding our differences and our similarities.

교육 기관: Claire B

Dec 10, 2019

I came to Canada recently with a desire to learn about Indigenous history and practices here. This course has fulfilled this desire and has given me a great foundation to continue my learnings. Thank you.

교육 기관: Elena F

Sep 02, 2019

I am so glad I found this course! I immigrated to Canada and didn't know anything about the Native people of Canada. This course has really a lot of history and modern days of Indigenous people. Thank you!

교육 기관: Aurora T

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent - learned so much. It was presented in such an interesting and engaging way with lots of food for thought. I understand issues in a completely new way and still have more to learn - Thank you!

교육 기관: Shafick K M O

Oct 29, 2018

Excellent à tous les niveaux ! Juste quelques problems pour des questions insérées dans certaines vidéos ces dernières semaines, on arrive pas à lire correctement les questions et surtout d'y répondre !

교육 기관: Sharon G

Jul 30, 2020

The course was extremely well done and I learned so much. I have already recommended the course to several other people. Thank you for creating this course and making it available to everyone!