Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,164개의 평가
380개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 381개 리뷰 중 351~375

교육 기관: David B

Jun 15, 2018

Greatly informative. People speaking are reading a script and it comes off as a bit boring. I'd prefer audio without images of narrator and more visuals of what is being discussed. Even if narration is scripted and read, it can be executed in a more dynamic way. Kudos for the rich content. I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Barb S

Apr 04, 2018

Very informative!

교육 기관: Vinzenz R

Aug 03, 2017

This is a great course. It provides a good overview of the history of indigenous people before and after contact, as well as contemporary issues.

교육 기관: Theresa G

Jun 19, 2017

When I see indigenous people comment online, they trash-talk both government and first nations community leaders alike. They distrust both the government who never came through on promises and the leaders who have underfunded their communities for their own enjoyment.

I didn't see many solutions suggested or a means to an end to some of these issues in this course so in spite of my new found knowledge it would seem this will remain a vicious circle of poverty, distrust, and fear and this saddens me that that there is still little hope for a resolution.

However, this course did bring to light many aspects of my heritage that I was not aware of. My birth father is Métis however my birth mother is not. I was given up for adoption to a Caucasian family when I was 8 months old, so was unaware of being Métis for almost all of my life, let alone did I ever feel remotely a part of it once I found out. So this course also suggested that when you are no longer a part of the Indigenous culture and do not look Indigenous in any way, and because you will never experience the hardships or really know anyone who has, you will never be part of that culture. It's like you get to sit in the front row but will never be in the show.

The rest of the course was okay, the history I knew, the issues I knew, although the elaboration of them was nice. The introduction of key individuals in forming some semblance of a united indigenous culture were good to know. But this course also reminded me that indigeneity in Canada is also about a fractured and injured culture of people, who are separated by language, distance and who will never have the funding that other communities enjoy, and it will never be a whole. After all had there been more formal territories when NA was colonized, maybe it wouldn't be indigenous Canada, it would be Enoch Territory or Papaschase Territory or State and many others where Alberta currently sits and it would now be the United Territories of North America, but alas that will never be.

교육 기관: Joshua A

Jul 01, 2018

Ce cour m'a permis de mieux comprendre la réalité actuelle des autochtones causé par l'arrivée des européens. Les conséquences des pensionnats autochtones et des tentatives d'assimilation du gouvernement Canadien envers les Premières Nation du Canada.

교육 기관: Tiarra K

May 03, 2018

I think the content of the course was fantastic, easy to understand and yet added depth to my understanding of Canadian history. I wish every Canadian would take this course! The only thing I would change is having more visual examples of the art described in the last segment such as "Walking with our sisters" and "Trace" because it would have added some context to the unit on Art but now I can continue my own personal research. Thank you for making this course so easily accessible for everyone!

교육 기관: Cole N

May 08, 2018

Really good overview of Indigenous history and culture in Canada. I thought there was a little bit too much focus in the questions on remembering names rather than important concepts, but I learned a lot and it challenged my worldview.

교육 기관: Katie M

May 11, 2018

The course was very good. It was delivered in a way that is easy to understand and follow along. The only thing i suggest is for the test questions to be in order in which they appear in the videos. I found that I was contently flipping back and forth between the first and middle part of the course notes.

Overall a excellent program

교육 기관: Marianne H

May 21, 2018

I've never really known much about Canada at all, not being Canadian myself, and its first inhabitants who were there before the European arrivals were a closed book to me, but this course has been truly enlightening as well as interesting. I particularly liked the works of art with their accompanying explanatory videos at the end of each unit.

교육 기관: Sean R

Apr 03, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot about indigenous culture. I would like to see more on-line course that expand on the modules in this course. One thing I would have like to have seen in the course was

교육 기관: Wasan Z

Apr 29, 2019

a lot of great material, learned tons... the layout how this was presented is easy to follow on the computer, phone an

교육 기관: david b

Jun 25, 2019

A fantastic and insightful look at indigeneity in Canada. Thank you!

교육 기관: Andrew J

Jul 09, 2019

Very effective learning methods including great videos! Helped me greatly to improve my understanding and awareness of Indigenous issues in Canada, the history etc. Thanks!

교육 기관: Marcia K

Jul 30, 2019

This course is definitely an introductory course that occasionally over-simplifies. However, it does offer an excellent alternate perspective to events taught to me in public school from Kindergarten to University. The events, characters and times are easily recognizable, it is the different perspective that makes this course fascinating. The lessons on Gender and Art were particularly interesting to me. I would take a course on Lesson 12 alone. Perhaps that could be the next University of Alberta Coursera offering?! All the visual materials also made this course engaging. Thank you for taking the time to prepare this course.

교육 기관: Wendy M

May 21, 2019

As a complete beginner to a subject I shamefully should know more about, I thought it was a very comprehensive and informative introduction. If its purpose was to inspire me to want to know more, it worked! Thank you!

교육 기관: Katherine B

May 23, 2019

I really enjoyed to learn of all the little things that made Canada the way it was and the changes that our Indigenous people are making .

교육 기관: Reagan D

Aug 21, 2019

I loved it. I'm from Alabama and work with Indigenous peoples all over Canada. This is an amazing course that we will use as we bring people in to our ministry as a first thing to complete. Thanks so much for doing this!

교육 기관: Stefanie T

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the learning and the content, but the format became repetitive. it would have been nice to have other activities and types of presentations rather than just videos of people talking and a reading overview in each module.

교육 기관: Margaux P

Oct 03, 2019

Very interesting with good orators. Maybe a bit too long from time to time but it feels so good to have such a large view on the history and culture of Indigenous Canadians. Thanks!

교육 기관: Deborah M

Oct 06, 2019

I learned quite a bit in the course. I found out that even as a metis person, I had many misconceptions about current issues and history.

교육 기관: Paula B

Feb 15, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and I feel that I learned a lot from it, but I found that the quality of the lectures and the course reading materials, as well as the quizzes, went down toward the end of the course, in particular in the last three modules, and that some of the information presented was superficial and perhaps one-sided.

교육 기관: Jillian P

Oct 25, 2018

There was a great amount of insightful information; however, I found the quizzes to be rather difficult. Many of the questions were worded in a way that made it nearly impossible to be 100% sure about your answers.

교육 기관: Caelyn M

Aug 18, 2017

Some really interesting material. It changed my views on things like the economy of Canada in its earliest days and the relationship between resource extraction and colonialism. I really appreciated the inclusion of first nations feminists and of queer indigenous people. It felt a bit shallow though, and I would have appreciate greater depth. I hope there will more MOOCs on indigenous issues.

교육 기관: Karen L C

Jun 17, 2018

Good info on the early years of contact and the fur trade. Nice imagery. I was not in agreement with some of the material, finding a fraction of it inaccurate. For example, the statement made that there was less logging since certain indigenous / provincial / federal agreements were made on the northwest coast is not accurate.

교육 기관: Jonas J

Dec 20, 2017

I'm Metis and I'm really disappointed in this course. Indian history is amazing, from the slave trading Haida navy to the cannibalistic tendencies of the Iroquois and Kwakiutl, Indians were dynamic and efficient stone age warriors, hunters, and killers. But you would never know it from this course. The politically correct presenters portray the Indians as peace loving beatniks who had their love-in trampled by land robbing immigrants.