Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,447개의 평가
475개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 476개 리뷰 중 376~400

교육 기관: Thomas W

Mar 31, 2019

Very informative.

교육 기관: Linda B

Nov 11, 2018

Very informative!

교육 기관: jordan l

Oct 09, 2018

amazing course!!!

교육 기관: Tyra S

Nov 05, 2017

Very informative

교육 기관: Priscilla C

Sep 08, 2017

Very Informative

교육 기관: Natalie C

Sep 06, 2018

Very inspiring

교육 기관: April J S

Sep 05, 2017

superb course!

교육 기관: Tracy C

May 24, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Devi D

Oct 21, 2019

Outstanding!

교육 기관: Naveen R K

Aug 03, 2018

MindFullness

교육 기관: Brian G

Mar 27, 2019

well done!

교육 기관: Gládiston d S C

Oct 04, 2018

Excellent!

교육 기관: Paccelli J M Z

Apr 23, 2018

Excellent!

교육 기관: Kimberly F

Feb 06, 2020

Loved it!

교육 기관: Nicholas K

Dec 27, 2017

Well done

교육 기관: Adriana

Apr 15, 2019

Great!

교육 기관: Brynne W

Mar 25, 2018

Great!

교육 기관: Tanner L

Apr 24, 2018

Every

교육 기관: MD. R A

Apr 06, 2019

5*

교육 기관: Harrison C

Aug 28, 2018

G

교육 기관: Colette P

Jan 03, 2018

E

교육 기관: Theresa G

Jun 19, 2017

When I see indigenous people comment online, they trash-talk both government and first nations community leaders alike. They distrust both the government who never came through on promises and the leaders who have underfunded their communities for their own enjoyment.

I didn't see many solutions suggested or a means to an end to some of these issues in this course so in spite of my new found knowledge it would seem this will remain a vicious circle of poverty, distrust, and fear and this saddens me that that there is still little hope for a resolution.

However, this course did bring to light many aspects of my heritage that I was not aware of. My birth father is Métis however my birth mother is not. I was given up for adoption to a Caucasian family when I was 8 months old, so was unaware of being Métis for almost all of my life, let alone did I ever feel remotely a part of it once I found out. So this course also suggested that when you are no longer a part of the Indigenous culture and do not look Indigenous in any way, and because you will never experience the hardships or really know anyone who has, you will never be part of that culture. It's like you get to sit in the front row but will never be in the show.

The rest of the course was okay, the history I knew, the issues I knew, although the elaboration of them was nice. The introduction of key individuals in forming some semblance of a united indigenous culture were good to know. But this course also reminded me that indigeneity in Canada is also about a fractured and injured culture of people, who are separated by language, distance and who will never have the funding that other communities enjoy, and it will never be a whole. After all had there been more formal territories when NA was colonized, maybe it wouldn't be indigenous Canada, it would be Enoch Territory or Papaschase Territory or State and many others where Alberta currently sits and it would now be the United Territories of North America, but alas that will never be.

교육 기관: Alexa W

Jun 02, 2017

The videos were very well done: not overboard with animations, but helpful with maps and pictures, etc. The course was logically organized, and created a good momentum to Indigenous contexts in Canada today. As many people have already mentioned on the discussion forums, some finessing of the quiz questions would help students truly demonstrate their understanding of the material as opposed to only being able to figure out tricks to the quiz. A self-pacing online course is one reason why many people will take this course: that flexibility is great. However, I will say that as the weeks went on (and I was following the 12-week schedule until only the second last week), I found the discussion boards a bit lonely. I would read and sometimes respond to a post, but it had been posted weeks before and that person was likely never going to return to that particular discussion. The TA Sara, though, was awesome had providing helpful and encouraging comments. As someone who has done a lot of work in this topic area already, I was hoping for perhaps an opportunity to write and get direct feedback. I realize that a MOOC isn't really designed for that. But perhaps just as there was a fee for those who wanted to take the quizzes and get credit, perhaps there could be another level for those who want to do assignments and get individual feedback. I'm glad I took this course: it filled in some gaps in my knowledge, especially in the older history. I hope that this course proves successful and that tons of people take it. Thanks!

교육 기관: Martha U

Dec 08, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. Having the transcripts along with the videos is great to help with review. The course notes are what I used extensively to write blogs about each module (I'm up to Week 6 on that - I will continue with writing a blog for each module every few days until I write a blog for each of the 12) .

I feel that someone does need some knowledge about the Indigenous issues in Canada to properly grasp what is presented in this course. There is a lot of information and (obviously) the course cannot go too deep. Some of the information was completely unknown to me (ie: the layering of rules around what the Indigenous peoples can do with the resources when they became too successful). And the module on treaties was difficult to understand because of the legalize.

I really enjoyed the information about the "modernization" of Indigenous peoples (ie: art, activism, success within urban settings). I think people are too stuck in viewing Indigenous peoples in their traditional roles and don't acknowledge how Indigenous peoples are just as adaptable as anyone else in changing times. Just like any other culture, values don't change, but day-to-day life does. I can't wait to see what an incredible country we can have when we are all arm-in-arm, linked together, walking towards the future together.

Thanks for the final recommendation to pursue some of the artists mentioned. I intend to do just that!

교육 기관: Marcia K

Jul 30, 2019

This course is definitely an introductory course that occasionally over-simplifies. However, it does offer an excellent alternate perspective to events taught to me in public school from Kindergarten to University. The events, characters and times are easily recognizable, it is the different perspective that makes this course fascinating. The lessons on Gender and Art were particularly interesting to me. I would take a course on Lesson 12 alone. Perhaps that could be the next University of Alberta Coursera offering?! All the visual materials also made this course engaging. Thank you for taking the time to prepare this course.