Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,429개의 평가
469개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 470개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Claudine T

Jul 18, 2017

Extremely well-presented and thought-provoking course that I found brought light to a lot of colonization processes that had many experiences in common with Māori in New Zealand. Every Canadian should engage with this course! As a scientist and science teacher, I found the commentary on gender-driven science particularly interesting. I will incorporate some of the indigenous views on gender and genderful people into a study topic for Year 10 students genetics (14 year-olds).

교육 기관: Susan F

Jun 07, 2017

This was a great course that covered a wide variety of issues facing Indigenous people in Canada. They drew in many different presenters with varied backgrounds and incorporated interactive art pieces that were explained by the artist. An improvement might be to include hyperlinks in the notes to related resources, especially in the final lesson on art. This course has fundamentally changed how I view Canada and Indigenous people. Thank you.

교육 기관: Robert S

Apr 01, 2020

This course was an excellent introduction to someone seeking a better understanding of Indigenous North Americans. I learnt a great deal more than I expected, and would highly recommend it to anyone. I might recommend editing of some of the quiz questions/answers, as they are occasionally poorly worded, which often obfuscates the correct answer. Thanks very much for putting the course together!

교육 기관: Amanda R

Jan 24, 2019

This course had excellent content. I am baffled and outraged at how Indigenous people have been treated in the past and continue to be treated, and that the majority of Canadians (myself included) are not educated on this history. My only complaint is that the course notes do not always match the spoken dialogue in the videos (ex: Rebecca Belmore's "Trace" was called "Fringe" in the notes).

교육 기관: Linda C

Nov 29, 2017

I thought the information presented was great, but could have used more visuals, especially in the art section. It's hard to imagine the work of Alex Janvier if you've never seen it before (like in the Alberta Biennale!). And there was no music either. As a visual artist, I thought this section could have used many more examples, even if they were shorter ones.

교육 기관: Marianne H

May 21, 2018

I've never really known much about Canada at all, not being Canadian myself, and its first inhabitants who were there before the European arrivals were a closed book to me, but this course has been truly enlightening as well as interesting. I particularly liked the works of art with their accompanying explanatory videos at the end of each unit.

교육 기관: Todd N

Dec 11, 2019

Lots of work went into this. There are many videos, but for those of us who access and retain information better by reading have a very well-put-together set of resources. The modules take a lot of time, but if you can space it out it's not bad at all. The speakers are charismatic and obviously experts, invested in sharing their knowledge.

교육 기관: Katie M

May 11, 2018

The course was very good. It was delivered in a way that is easy to understand and follow along. The only thing i suggest is for the test questions to be in order in which they appear in the videos. I found that I was contently flipping back and forth between the first and middle part of the course notes.

Overall a excellent program

교육 기관: Kristin C

Dec 30, 2017

Great course! There were a few quiz questions that appeared to have multiple arguably reasonable responses, but otherwise, I greatly enjoyed the material and learned a lot. Taking this course was the only thing I did to commemorate "Canada 150," and as a settler Canadian, I feel that was the right decision.

교육 기관: David B

Jun 15, 2018

Greatly informative. People speaking are reading a script and it comes off as a bit boring. I'd prefer audio without images of narrator and more visuals of what is being discussed. Even if narration is scripted and read, it can be executed in a more dynamic way. Kudos for the rich content. I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Amanda B

Jun 02, 2017

Some of the quizzes felt as if they were trying to trick you with the options. I felt the tests could have asked better questions that were designed to teach rather than push memorization. It also would have been helpful to see where you went wrong rather than just being told to re-watch a module.

교육 기관: Susan A D

Aug 20, 2017

This series has brought me a much clearer understanding of the generational harms that we impose on each other from a root of preconceived decisions about who we think we are, who you think we are, who I think I am, who I am and the who I want to be. I am grateful to have taken this course.

교육 기관: David P

Jan 14, 2020

Thank you for the work, the opinions and the history lesson. I learned a great deal and have much to think about after completing the course. I appreciate all the time that went into producing this course and hope to see other courses in the future. Well done!

교육 기관: Neil C

Aug 16, 2018

Great learning experience, but some of the quizzes could be improved upon. Occasionally the quizzes seem programmed incorrectly and a couple questions in a couple modules didn't seem related to the material that was presented. Otherwise, great course.

교육 기관: Joshua A

Jul 01, 2018

Ce cour m'a permis de mieux comprendre la réalité actuelle des autochtones causé par l'arrivée des européens. Les conséquences des pensionnats autochtones et des tentatives d'assimilation du gouvernement Canadien envers les Premières Nation du Canada.

교육 기관: Garry A

Nov 05, 2017

During ones education career their are a few courses that inspire, are beneficial to real world application, and are taught in a manner that makes want to gone on to the next lesson like this course. Well Done to Tracy Bear and the other presenters.

교육 기관: Adriana M

Jun 16, 2017

I found it educational, informative. It did move a part of me to shift my views and broaden my perspective of our First Nations, but I also felt the information provided the motivation to discover and ask questions about my own native ancestry.

교육 기관: Cole N

May 08, 2018

Really good overview of Indigenous history and culture in Canada. I thought there was a little bit too much focus in the questions on remembering names rather than important concepts, but I learned a lot and it challenged my worldview.

교육 기관: Timothy L

Oct 20, 2019

Excellent course with broad applicability for all Canadians, especially non-Indigenous Canadians looking to learn about Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples. Could have used more groups discussion or interactive portions.

교육 기관: Stefanie T

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the learning and the content, but the format became repetitive. it would have been nice to have other activities and types of presentations rather than just videos of people talking and a reading overview in each module.

교육 기관: Jacqueline S

Sep 04, 2017

It was very interesting but some videos were really long and difficult to understand. Plus the questions sometimes were trick questions which I personally don't think are really helpful with the learning and understanding process.

교육 기관: Harmen H H

Mar 17, 2019

Although the course was quite biased as it only showed one viewpoint, it was valuable in seeing the indigenous viewpoint of history. Hopefully we can all learn to get along with each other and to accept each others differences.

교육 기관: Reagan D

Aug 21, 2019

I loved it. I'm from Alabama and work with Indigenous peoples all over Canada. This is an amazing course that we will use as we bring people in to our ministry as a first thing to complete. Thanks so much for doing this!

교육 기관: Ingrid H

Nov 08, 2019

Great course, enjoyed it much! The faculty presentations could use more examples. For instance, when watching the last week on art, I would have loved to have seen pictures instead of only the descriptions of the art work!

교육 기관: Christie B

Sep 05, 2017

I really enjoyed this lesson. We took it as a group at work. At times it was a refresher for me, but I learned lots of thing I didn't know previously. I loved this course, so much I signed up for another one.

Thank you.