Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
10,857개의 평가
4,258개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

VK
2021년 2월 23일

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

ER
2020년 11월 2일

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 4,268개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: LOL C

2020년 11월 7일

The course started out very interesting, but by Half way I became completely bored. Very boring representation. The last chapter on Art was very dissapointing. Being an artist myself I could not believe you talked about the artists for great length, but never showed any of their artwork. This made the chapter completely uninteresting.

교육 기관: Renato D L

2019년 3월 31일

it was bad.

교육 기관: Marina D E E

2020년 10월 13일

Tt was my first course on Indigenous Peoples ever and I found it enjoyable and informative. I follow a Circle of All Nations ...which is now led by Romola on behalf of Grandfather William Commanda; an Algonquin elder who has taken the long walk and passed over.

I attended on Parliament Hill , the gathering of the Elders for the Apology. Through this course I now have a better understanding of the history of Canada beyond the Colonial History I was taught.

One of my maternal ancestors who lived in Ipswich, Massachussets took part in advocating for local Indigenous land rights following the Maine Massachusetts Quebec Peace treaty (s).

I now understand how important the ancestors are and I want to revisit some of the modules before the course has ended.

Thank you so much for this course, it has truly been educational!

교육 기관: Margaret W

2021년 2월 4일

Although it has taken me quite awhile to complete this course, I have learned a lot. In some ways my perspective has changed. I am a life-long learner at 76, reside in Winnipeg! This city has the largest migration from the North (I think).

I grew up in SW Manitoba, in a rural town where my father was one of few professionals. I have vivid memories of the reservation 6 miles down the road, and of the days 'the Indians came to town'. I have story-memories of some of those days.

I have participated in Courageous Conversation programs, the Blanket ceremony several times, and other discussions. This is an Indigenous course, however I found myself thinking (unit 11) of the many other communities of Canadians, for whom communities are equally important.

교육 기관: Dianne M

2020년 10월 7일

Excellent , well presented, researched, informative and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed each module and being able to study and review at my own pace was appreciated. Artwork, stunning and well described, kudos to artist Kudos to visuals used throughout as well and the presenters did a good job for the amount of information shared to keep it fluid chi meqwetch. Dianne Marilyn Musgrove (Whyacknook qwe) Ojibway Whitefish River First Nation, Ontario

교육 기관: Kaisa H C

2020년 5월 16일

This was a thought provoking course which presented a lot of knowledge on the social, political, cultural, and spiritual structures previously unknown about the First Nation People in Canada. The only negative of the course is there are no more follow up MOOCs to this one! Well done in a respectful manner. Thank you for the knowledge.

교육 기관: SYED N N

2019년 1월 11일

I have been enjoying the course since it belongs to the Indigenous peoples having a very long history not only in North America but in other European countries. Amazingly designed course increase my knowledge and I would like to continue reading about Aboriginal peoples in future as well.

교육 기관: Erin L

2020년 6월 8일

I am feeling grateful for this crucial learning. I will be an ally and help move our country forward in equality and unity. This world would be so much better off listening and following our FNMI sisters and brothers. My deepest thanks!

교육 기관: kyra f

2019년 6월 25일

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

교육 기관: Tammy A

2019년 2월 17일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

교육 기관: Chantal L M

2018년 4월 26일

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

교육 기관: Zachary B

2020년 8월 17일

Extremely eye opening as a non- indigenous person. The course notes as well as the videos helped me gather the knowledge I need to pursue a profession helping the indigenous youth. Thank you for all your hard work put into this course.

교육 기관: Katalin K

2019년 8월 5일

I learned so much from this course and truly appreciate the comprehensiveness and care detail taken to cover so many fundamental concepts. Leah Dorion's artwork was beautiful to experience in the interactive modules. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Elizabeth D

2020년 8월 16일

I didn't grow up in Canada and had a limited understanding of the history and present of Indigenous people. I enjoyed and learned much from the course and will work towards being an ally. Feels like a good accomplishment at age 69!

교육 기관: Cecelia M

2020년 5월 3일

Every Canadian should take this course! I have no doubt that our conversations and lives would be so richer if we all understood a little better the experiences of Indigenous Canadians. Thank you for creating and sharing this course!

교육 기관: Daphne Q

2020년 1월 12일

I learnt so much in the course and couldn't wait to get to the next lesson to learn more. Thank you for all of your efforts in putting this together. It has certainly been thought provoking and has increased my desire to learn more.

교육 기관: Julie K

2018년 1월 24일

This course was thought-provoking, eye-opening and a truly excellent way to learn more about Indigenous cultures and issues in Canada. I've recommended it to many of my friends and will encourage them to take it as soon as possible.

교육 기관: Angela B

2020년 7월 3일

I appreciate all that I learned from the materials offered in this course. It has helped me to further my knowledge and gain greater understanding. Thank you for the work that you did to bring this course to an accessible platform.

교육 기관: Kea A

2020년 6월 1일

Thought provoking and well presented. I am very glad that I participated in this class, and learned more about Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Thank you for providing this excellent and informative interactive educational experience.

교육 기관: rachelle m

2019년 11월 19일

This is really powerful information. Unfortunately, as a forty year old, I had to learn this on my own not through curriculum or media or powerful discussions. Knowledge is power and hopefully this get out to the greater population

교육 기관: Jennifer B

2020년 8월 19일

As someone new to learning the history of indigenous peoples, I really appreciated this course. I especially enjoyed the look into multiple cultures' world views, and how the instructors didn't shy away from speaking harsh truths.

교육 기관: Oliver K

2020년 4월 21일

This course was excellent. It was very well spread and had a mixture of both instructions, narration, social and material 9artwork) interaction. I have recommended it to all my staff - sorry - they are all supposed to take it.

교육 기관: Navraj S

2019년 9월 30일

Hi, this is not a review.

I actually logged in with my facebook but I changed my email and de-linked my facebook. Can you please send me my completion certificate at my updated email. Which is snavraj4@gmail.com, thank you so much

교육 기관: Deborah-Anne M

2020년 5월 29일

This course was very informative and the video's were both clear and concise. It is refreshing to find correct information on the Indigenous Peoples and I am very excited to convey the real truth to people that I associate with.

교육 기관: Aaron F

2018년 11월 20일

Im in my third week and so far this course has taught me so much. Especially from the perspectives of Indigenous people; which is a purview the elementary and secondary education system do not teach a lot of. Great job for this.