Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,164개의 평가
380개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 383개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Ifeyinwa E

Oct 01, 2018

It is really a rich course that gives you intoductory insights into the history and present day circumstances of the Indigenous people of Canada. I loved it!

교육 기관: Donna J

Sep 07, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed learning the his

교육 기관: Erin P

Sep 19, 2018

This course should be mandatory for every person in Canada - as a descendent of a family affected deeply by the 60s Scoop, this has helped me understand my family's history and reason's why it was hidden - to try to keep their children from being taken. Without true understanding of the genocide that is still taking place in our country, and the systemic push to keep FNMI people(s) quiet and to assimilate them, how can anyone begin to have empathy and to disappear many of the commonly heard myths about FNMI people(s)? I believe this course is essential to our history and should be taught in all schools, be a requirement for newcomers, and anyone enrolled in any post-secondary academy. Thank you.

교육 기관: Natalie C

Sep 06, 2018

Very inspiring

교육 기관: Monica P

Aug 08, 2018

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

교육 기관: Jessica T L

Jul 24, 2018

Although I am a Mohawk woman, I haven't been taught the right history to its full extent. This course has helped me in many ways, to guide my mind and to help me help my community in the best ways that I can. Having this knowledge has brought on many discussions and conversations about the colonization and what it means to be a modern day Onkwehonwe. We are still here, there are some of us that do practice our traditions, and many of us who still have the knowledge and language of our ancestors. As Onkwehonwe, we must act accordingly to our original ways and teach those who do not know, and fulfill the responsibilities that the Creator has given us.

교육 기관: Virgil H

Nov 23, 2017

incredible course. Amazingly designed and so broad covering, yet following a continuous linear discourse. Loved it!

교육 기관: Maisie Y

Dec 08, 2017

This course was excellent! The spectrum it covered and the material presented was very well done and relevant. Particularly in the relatively short time span of the course which although I stated short, was perfect and easily digestible. Well Done!

교육 기관: Susan E B

Oct 22, 2017

This was a well presented, interesting and very informative course. I learned much that i did not know before and will be sharing information about this course and the programme offered at the University of Alberta with friends and colleagues. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: April J S

Sep 05, 2017

superb course!

교육 기관: Amanda R S

Feb 24, 2018

I learned so much about the Indigenous history, experience and contemporary issues in Canada.

교육 기관: Brian A C

May 26, 2018

Very insightful knowledge of Canada's True history!!

교육 기관: Kimberly M G

Jun 07, 2018

A wonderful starting place to get a broad sense of Canada's history, pre- and post-settler community, and understand some Indigenous worldviews. This is the most informative, detail-rich course I've taken in regards of cultural immersion and perspective. Thank you to all who contributed in making this course and delivering it!

교육 기관: Edward S

Apr 02, 2018

Great introductory course to understand the history and the future for reconciliation.

교육 기관: Lindsay R

Apr 21, 2018

Excellent course! Very informative and covers many crucial topics pertaining to Indigenous people in Canada.

교육 기관: Gregg H

Sep 04, 2017

Very interesting, being from USA this material is completely new to me, I appreciate the use of different teaching methods, lectures, interviews, art.

교육 기관: Yvonne H

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

교육 기관: Julia M

Oct 31, 2017

Very well done. I had no technical issues. The pace and presentation of the course is great. The content was very informative and factual. I really appreciated this course and it contributed significantly to my understanding of colonialism, First Nations, and some of the issues that need to be addressed as Canadians.

교육 기관: Alexandre C

Jun 06, 2017

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

교육 기관: Altaira H

Dec 27, 2017

A lifechanging insight into the history and cultures we live among.

교육 기관: Caitlin C D

Apr 30, 2017

This course is absolutely phenomenal. I learned a great deal about a wide range of topics, such as the diversity of indigenous groups in Canada, the history of colonisation and its ongoing negative impacts on indigenous communities, and the struggles currently faced by indigenous communities and individuals.

I would recommend this course to anyone. I want to thank the course creators for sharing their knowledge and insight concerning these important topics.

교육 기관: Lara R

Jul 05, 2017

This is a brilliant, and highly important, course for all who live in Canada to take. This also suits those abroad who should understand the deep and powerful cultural resistance and expressions of Aboriginal peoples in North America - and beyond. Everyone needs to have done this course, truly.

교육 기관: Stephanie C

Jul 13, 2017

This course was an opportunity for me to re-learn the history of Canada. It gave me insight and understanding into past and present concerns, as well as an elevated appreciation of the Indigenous culture and resilience.

교육 기관: Cynthia L

Aug 15, 2017

This course is great for anyone who does not have previous knowledge of Indigenous Culture.

교육 기관: Val H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! I can not say enough good things about it. I especially appreciated going through history in chronological order from and Indigenous perspective. The lectures were extremely well done, the information was concise and easy to understand. I highly recommend this course for all Alberta teachers in preparation for the new Teacher Quality Standards. The information provided will give you a solid foundation to hang all future learnings from.