Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,206개의 평가
757개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 766개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Eva Q

Aug 02, 2020

This is a wonderful course. Wish I learned this in school. The history of Canada and how it was colonized is well administered. Good descriptions and examples. Beautiful art work. I was introduced to so many wonderful indigenous artist and activist that I can now follow on twitter, Instagram and Facebook. As beautifully displayed our history is, it is also very difficult and disheartening. This happened a century ago and yet even today, the struggle continues. I have a better vision of Canada and I have a open heart to our indigenous population. Thank you

교육 기관: Irina D

Feb 17, 2019

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

교육 기관: Paul H

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

교육 기관: Kim R

Nov 10, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and analyzing my self awareness on each of the modules. The course was able to connect the dots in my understanding of my own culture. I learned a great deal of information with regard to treaties and governance and even the Indian Act. I learned the history when a child but I enjoyed it much better from an indigenous perspective. I am grateful also to better know what our ancestors lived through to better understand Intergenerational trauma. I will continue to seek a greater way of being. Miigwech!

교육 기관: Monica P

Aug 08, 2018

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

교육 기관: Alexandre C

Jun 06, 2017

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

교육 기관: Erin-Marie M

Jun 14, 2020

Huge thanks to everyone involved in creating this course and putting it out into the world. The modules are so well put together - they are deeply researched, and clearly structured and narrated. I greatly appreciate the inclusion of course notes, and all your references, so that I can continue to further my education. As someone born and raised on Treaty 7 land, everything I learned in this course is long overdue. I do hope this course can be used as a model for/inspires the revision of curriculum at all levels across the country.

교육 기관: Heather W

Jul 30, 2020

I appreciated the progression of the material which helped to build an understanding of the roots and ongoing colonization of Indigenous people. Also the quizzes were hard enough to show whether I understood the material.

I feel like I have a deeper understanding of the complexity and richness of the world views of the Indigenous peoples that were represented in this course.

The art work was also an embodiment of the values of interconnectedness and storytelling.

Very worthwhile course and I am very grateful to have taken it.

교육 기관: Liyan D

Jun 07, 2019

Growing up in central and northern Alberta, I thought I had a pretty good idea of Indigenous history. I was wrong. This course has changed everything. For example, I now REALLY understand that I was born on Treaty 6 lands, and spent quite a few school years on Treaty 8 land. That reality matters and should be foremost in our minds. I also learned that there is another word for "Cree" and I had no idea that was the case. I now know that nehiyawak (lower case only) is a correct and respectful term. Everyone should take this course!

교육 기관: Cynthia K S

Jul 01, 2020

Informative and Eye Opening

I took this course years after I completed a minor of Native American anthropology from the U of A (2002). Years have passed so it was nice to actually have the course taught by Indigenous people, instead of white anthropologists. I also had a stroke between the two times and the course was designed in such a way that I could re-learn the information and still manage to take the quizzes. It was good, up to date, hopeful, and makes me want to learn even more about Indigenous cultures. Thank you!

교육 기관: Christopher M C

Aug 12, 2018

It was refreshing to take a course whose aim was to present the breadth of a major topic. It succeeded. Along the way, it probed the depth of several major subtopics and provided great resources for further exploration. I started taking notes in week 1, but soon put my pencil down, as few words were wasted in the lectures and it became clear that everything being said was important. I'm American and was searching for a course on Native Americans in the U.S. I found this one first and I'm glad I did - it was a treat!

교육 기관: Sharifa D R

Jun 18, 2018

This course was an amazing introductory course to Indigenous Worldview, Community, and History. The only way humanity can do better, is to educate themselves of failures and wrongdoings in the past. #preventhistoryfromrepeatingitself I hope this course acts as a staring point for people who want to know more about the Indigenous land we are inhabiting. As mentioned in the course there is much more knowledge to be learned, and I am sad the course was not longer. I Highly recommend this course to every Canadian!

교육 기관: Gwendolyn F

Jun 05, 2017

Indigenous Canada Course has opened my understanding of the powers that be and the destruction this power had/has over so much.

How Indigenous people held on to their culture in various ways to continue into the present, traditionally with modern inclusion.

How the Aborigine in Australia have used the North America Indigenous/Aboriginal culture to parallel with theirs.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity of learning more of the cultures where I came from and gaining an appreciation for original "Canadians".

교육 기관: Stefanie K

Jul 26, 2020

Not only were the instructors delivering the content in a spectacular way, but the voice-overs of chiefs, as well as the interviews with members of the community really put the entire course together. The history being told was such an eye-opener and helped to structure my support further for the Indigenous community. The interactive paintings at the end were so beautiful and well done, and it really shows the depth of history. I will begin to educate those around me with this authentic knowledge. Thank you!

교육 기관: Kim R

Jun 03, 2017

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

교육 기관: Jazmyn-Rae D

Aug 05, 2020

I was raised on community and attended school in a small town just outside. I went to a French Immersion school until grade 10, until my parents let me make the decision on whether or not I will complete highschool with French under my belt. After this course, it helped me better understand my culture and what my ancestors have done to ensure I gave the tools I need to continue our battles for our rights. This course was taught at a great paste and offered great learning tools, I highly suggest enrolling.

교육 기관: Sahara Z F

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very interesting course. Learning about history has always been something that has interested me and this course was a very good resource in learning more about Indigenous people from Canada. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in history regardless of where you are from. Knowing and recognizing colonization and its impacts not only helps us better understand the modern civilizations in America but it also helps us make sure we won't let anything like this happen again.

교육 기관: Hugh W

Jul 21, 2020

This was my first online course offered via coursera. I found the course on Indigenous Canada very enlightening, comprehensive, and honest. It was a nice mixture of facts, expert interviews, and relevant artwork. The course notes were very helpful to follow along as I watched the videos from the instructors. The module quizzes were a fairly stress free way to test your understanding. Thanks to the instructors for taking the time to put together such an important course for all Canadians!

교육 기관: Jana C

Apr 10, 2019

Indigenous Canada is an OUTSTANDING course. The lectures were presented in an engaging and professional manner and I appreciated the thought-provoking interviews throughout, as well as the art depiction/description at the end of each module.

This course left me with many emotions, which in turn, has placed within me the desire to delve deeper into the histories and stories of Indigenous people.

Thank you, I am grateful for the opportunity to have taken this course.

교육 기관: Catherine J

Jul 29, 2020

Miigwech! Thank you for this course. As someone of white settler ancestry, who was educated in rural Ontario several decades ago, I was painfully aware that I was missing a great deal of Indigenous history. It was refreshing to hear some of the same histories I was taught from an Indigenous perspective. As an educator, I appreciate the depth and detail offered in this introductory course, and will recommend it to others. -- Dr. Catherine Jenkins , Ryerson University

교육 기관: Francois C

May 18, 2020

Excellent series of lectures given in the Indigenous oral tradition. Very eye opening for a Canadian whose knowledge of Indigenous people had primarily come from a few pages of a high school history book. The course only touched on many important and current issues which I am now in a better position to appreciate, and will follow with great interest. I offer my sincerest thanks to the lecturers, and to the University of Alberta for making this course available.

교육 기관: Sean M

Jul 16, 2019

I would recommend Indigenous Canada to anyone with an interest in acquiring knowledge about Aboriginal/non-Aboriginal relationships and how our collective history shapes our relationships today.

The course is a worthwhile investment of time for those who are interested in seeing matters from an indigenous perspective. It was certainly helpful for me and brought me to a new level of understanding of the complex history of indigenous people and the nation of Canada.

교육 기관: Heidi M

Oct 27, 2017

It was fantastic in every way. I highly recommend this course. The format and the quality of the videos and course notes were very high. The actual content was delivered in a concise but thoughtful way. I have taken previous courses on Indigenous history and learned more in this course then I have in all the others combined (including the history classes/courses from high school and university). This is really something every settler in Canada should have to take.

교육 기관: Nicole M B

May 06, 2020

There is so much covered in this course. It is very thorough in a lot of different subjects affecting indigenous populations, from the past up through the present. There is a lot of content regarding the various treaties, laws, and interactions with the Canadian government, and they are particularly thorough with this material. If you are looking for a class that will give an broad introductory base in indigenous law, culture and thought, this course is for you.

교육 기관: Caitlin C D

Apr 30, 2017

This course is absolutely phenomenal. I learned a great deal about a wide range of topics, such as the diversity of indigenous groups in Canada, the history of colonisation and its ongoing negative impacts on indigenous communities, and the struggles currently faced by indigenous communities and individuals.

I would recommend this course to anyone. I want to thank the course creators for sharing their knowledge and insight concerning these important topics.