Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,164개의 평가
380개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 381개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Kimberly M G

Jun 07, 2018

A wonderful starting place to get a broad sense of Canada's history, pre- and post-settler community, and understand some Indigenous worldviews. This is the most informative, detail-rich course I've taken in regards of cultural immersion and perspective. Thank you to all who contributed in making this course and delivering it!

교육 기관: Karen L D

Nov 09, 2017

This course is the best Canadian history course I have taken, This course should be a requirement for Canadian history courses, Very well done!

교육 기관: Jennifer L

Aug 31, 2017

This course was extremely meaningful to me. I am a Metis woman living in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan. I currently work as an Educational Assistant in our public school. Many of my co-workers are also Indigenous. We have all been directly affected by the St. Micheals residential school that once stood here. Leah Dorion is highly regarded in our school and has on occasion, worked with our students on art projects at the local museum. This is the first University class I have taken in 30 years and I'm glad I started with this one! Thanks for making this so relevant and worthwhile to me!

교육 기관: jelywa@gmail.com

Nov 28, 2017

This was such an incredible course, highly recommended for everyone!

교육 기관: Marleah G

Nov 19, 2017

Great course! I would recommend this course to all Canadians.

교육 기관: Sushmitha K

Jun 05, 2018

Such a great, informative and insightful course on indigenous peoples in Canada - a must learn for any Canadian.

교육 기관: Kim M

Jun 17, 2018

The breadth of information was incredible. It was well organized and presented clearly. I learned a lot and will continue to seek out more. Thank you for this gift.

교육 기관: Sally L

Jan 22, 2018

Essential learning for all settlers in Canada. This is what we should have learned in school, but never did. Thank you to all the teachers, TAs, and learners who commented in the forums. I learned to much and am now on a life-long path to continue learning about indigenous issues and culture here, and around the world.

교육 기관: Nagwa A

Mar 15, 2018

An eye opener for what has been going on in the land that we call it now Canada. I wish to learn more about the history and as a professor at Sheridan College, I would like to come with ideas to support Indigenous students in their learning journey. Thanks so much for the professors and teacher assistant, they did a great job :)

교육 기관: Jonathan D

Nov 10, 2017

Should be taken by anyone living in Canada.

교육 기관: Gregg H

Sep 04, 2017

Very interesting, being from USA this material is completely new to me, I appreciate the use of different teaching methods, lectures, interviews, art.

교육 기관: Julia M

Oct 31, 2017

Very well done. I had no technical issues. The pace and presentation of the course is great. The content was very informative and factual. I really appreciated this course and it contributed significantly to my understanding of colonialism, First Nations, and some of the issues that need to be addressed as Canadians.

교육 기관: Alexandre C

Jun 06, 2017

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

교육 기관: Caitlin C D

Apr 30, 2017

This course is absolutely phenomenal. I learned a great deal about a wide range of topics, such as the diversity of indigenous groups in Canada, the history of colonisation and its ongoing negative impacts on indigenous communities, and the struggles currently faced by indigenous communities and individuals.

I would recommend this course to anyone. I want to thank the course creators for sharing their knowledge and insight concerning these important topics.

교육 기관: Lara R

Jul 05, 2017

This is a brilliant, and highly important, course for all who live in Canada to take. This also suits those abroad who should understand the deep and powerful cultural resistance and expressions of Aboriginal peoples in North America - and beyond. Everyone needs to have done this course, truly.

교육 기관: Val H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! I can not say enough good things about it. I especially appreciated going through history in chronological order from and Indigenous perspective. The lectures were extremely well done, the information was concise and easy to understand. I highly recommend this course for all Alberta teachers in preparation for the new Teacher Quality Standards. The information provided will give you a solid foundation to hang all future learnings from.

교육 기관: Joyce N

Sep 03, 2017

Such an informative course! I recommend that every Canadian take this course. It is truly shameful that so little is taught in our school's curriculum about this country's history. We as a nation have a long way to go before the wrongs of the past will ever be righted.

교육 기관: Kate-Lynn P

Sep 06, 2017

its a great course, very flexible.. whenever i am on break at work, i always watch the videos and read the readings provided

교육 기관: Eric G

Jul 04, 2017

A great introduction to the indigenous Canada and key issues. Great course.

교육 기관: David H

Nov 30, 2017

I found this course very informative and presented ia ab easy to understand format. The impact of the Europeans is astonishing that what they did was try to conquer and divide the diverse and different Indigenous Peoples of Canada. This course really made me aware of all the issues they have and rightly so. I've always been interested in knowing more about our first peoples in this vast land we call Canada and this course helped immensely. I'll strive to learn more and pay more attention to what's happening in current relations between the Colonists and the Indigenous Peoples. We collectively could learn a lot more from them.

교육 기관: Chana M

Sep 02, 2017

What a wonderful perspective on First nations culture and identity. This was very helpful for me in my teaching and personal growth. Thank you to the Faculty of Native Studies from University of Alberta for putting this together for the teachers of Alberta.

교육 기관: Lindsay R

Apr 21, 2018

Excellent course! Very informative and covers many crucial topics pertaining to Indigenous people in Canada.

교육 기관: Yvonne H

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

교육 기관: Altaira H

Dec 27, 2017

A lifechanging insight into the history and cultures we live among.

교육 기관: Stephanie C

Jul 13, 2017

This course was an opportunity for me to re-learn the history of Canada. It gave me insight and understanding into past and present concerns, as well as an elevated appreciation of the Indigenous culture and resilience.