Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,355개의 평가
441개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 441개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Derek R S

Oct 10, 2019

Very eye-opening for me. I grew up in Southern Alberta, which is very much Indigenous territory, so I grew up around Aboriginal people and know more about their culture than other people around the world do on average. But, even with that background, I learned lots, and as a result, I loved the course.

교육 기관: Eyren U

Oct 10, 2019

I thought it was engaging, enlightening and full of positive takeaways that are applicable in a multitude of ways. Learning more about Indigenous matters through their voice and eyes and teachings was very important and insightful. I think this course is essential and am so happy that I took it!

교육 기관: Christine B

Jan 28, 2018

In depth general yet well-informed, documented, and presented materials, and mandatory knowledge on Indigenous Canada. Thank you for speaking slowly! And brava to Leah Dorion for her painted stories! This was a wonderful course, Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau, and every invited presenter guests!

교육 기관: Lara R

Jul 05, 2017

This is a brilliant, and highly important, course for all who live in Canada to take. This also suits those abroad who should understand the deep and powerful cultural resistance and expressions of Aboriginal peoples in North America - and beyond. Everyone needs to have done this course, truly.

교육 기관: stephanie l

Mar 31, 2019

This course provided me with a information regarding Indigenous Health that will help guide me as a Mental Health Nurse working in Toronto. I wish Indigenous Health and History was mandatory and taught extensively growing up. Thank you for putting this together to help educate future leaders.

교육 기관: Tammy G

Apr 11, 2018

This is one of the best courses I have ever attended. It was so well researched, designed and constructed that I have recommended it to everyone I know. should be a mandatory course for all Canadians - settlers, new immigrants and indigenous - everyone can learn from this course.

교육 기관: Carolyn S

Feb 02, 2018

Great course! Very interesting and informative. I wish there were more. The only thing I missed about it was some kind of pronunciation sheet or listing for the various Indigenous names and words. It would make the readings a bit easier. I highly recommend this course to everyone!

교육 기관: Talia T

Sep 05, 2019

This is a fantastic course to get you more familiarized with Indigenous Canada! Whether you have some background knowledge or are a novice, this laid back approach to learning is innovative and fun. Thank you for inspiring me to take more courses relating to Indigenous history!

교육 기관: Diane C K

May 29, 2017

This course is one of the best courses I have ever taken on or off line. congratulations to the University of Alberta and to Tracey bear et al. Thank you so much for this outstanding course. And thank you for including Metis. It is hard sometimes to find ourselves. Thank you.

교육 기관: Melanie D

Aug 09, 2017

The course was really the perfect balance of introductory material and more in-depth examples. I really appreciated the Indigenous-led content, the respect for context, and the different formats for learning. I will definitely be keeping the course notes to look back over!

교육 기관: Michelle B

Dec 11, 2018

Took this training along with several of my colleagues at the Justice Institute of BC. The material is presented in a very neutral way and invites the learner to draw their own conclusions about the information. Overall, this was a tremendous learning experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Joyce N

Sep 03, 2017

Such an informative course! I recommend that every Canadian take this course. It is truly shameful that so little is taught in our school's curriculum about this country's history. We as a nation have a long way to go before the wrongs of the past will ever be righted.

교육 기관: Judy G

May 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Very much the opinion of the narrators - much is true but being a non-indigenous person made me feel as if I was the direct cause of all the indigenous problems, which I am quite sure is not the case. I liked learning more about the history.

교육 기관: Andrea P

Oct 17, 2019

Excellent, thorough content. I have taken other indigenous studies courses but I found this content both engaging and accessible, and highly relevant. I think this course is a must for all settlers and is a good CE requirement for those in the public services.

교육 기관: Susan E B

Oct 22, 2017

This was a well presented, interesting and very informative course. I learned much that i did not know before and will be sharing information about this course and the programme offered at the University of Alberta with friends and colleagues. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Scott C

Dec 08, 2019

Thank you for this course. I learned so much and will continue to educate myself as a result. I'm also goign to recommend others take this course. The instructors ended with a few hopes that they had for the course. You were entirely successful. Thanks again

교육 기관: Chana M

Sep 02, 2017

What a wonderful perspective on First nations culture and identity. This was very helpful for me in my teaching and personal growth. Thank you to the Faculty of Native Studies from University of Alberta for putting this together for the teachers of Alberta.

교육 기관: Margaret R

Jun 18, 2018

This was a very informative and inclusive course. I look forward to taking more courses from U of A Faculty of Native Studies. I shared this course with many of my FN friends when I first enrolled and I will definitely continue to recommend it . Thank you.

교육 기관: Lindsay D

Nov 25, 2018

Every Canadian should take this course and classes based on it should be mandatory in every high school across the country. I'm hoping a second instalment will come where we can learn in more depth about the suffering of this country's Indigenous Peoples.

교육 기관: Vaughn M

Dec 05, 2019

I believe that everyone should take this course. If for nothing more than to gain a greater understanding of our Indigenous Peoples. The course was very well presented. The only problem I found was that the readings were strictly a rehash of the lectures

교육 기관: Maisie Y

Dec 08, 2017

This course was excellent! The spectrum it covered and the material presented was very well done and relevant. Particularly in the relatively short time span of the course which although I stated short, was perfect and easily digestible. Well Done!

교육 기관: Vanessa D

Feb 13, 2020

Thank you for creating this course. I am excited to continue expanding my Indigenous knowledge and reflecting on the ways I interact with my environment. I have learned so much from this course and wish all my friends to take time to learn this.

교육 기관: Roxann A

Aug 03, 2018

Excellent course. Videos and written information are well done. The facts are presented clearly, and the interviews and stories add context. I highly recommend this course to have more understanding of the history of Indigenous people in Canada.

교육 기관: Brigitta H

Dec 03, 2019

Amazing course, would highly recommend to anyone. This should be a course that every Canadian takes. I have a much better understanding of Indigenous history and culture - thank you so much to the University of Alberta for this amazing course!!

교육 기관: Elise N

Mar 19, 2019

Well written, very informative this course provides historical knowledge and a better understanding of the past events and how it affected generations of indigenous communities. I'm recommending this course on a personal and professional basis