Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,263개의 평가
781개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 790개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Candace C

Jul 13, 2020

Really fell in love with Indigenous studies while taking this course! This has helped me educate myself on not only our true history but also on our modern political climate. I suggest this course to anyone and everyone that might be passionate about humanities with the focus on Canadian Indigenous history.

교육 기관: Louise A

Sep 07, 2019

I have learned so much over these last 12 weeks that I am continuing my learning and am reading much from my local library and am speaking to Elders at my workplace to futher my depth of knowledge. Thank you so much for the insights and for opening my eyes to the history of the Indigenous peoples of Canada.

교육 기관: Derek R S

Oct 10, 2019

Very eye-opening for me. I grew up in Southern Alberta, which is very much Indigenous territory, so I grew up around Aboriginal people and know more about their culture than other people around the world do on average. But, even with that background, I learned lots, and as a result, I loved the course.

교육 기관: Eyren U

Oct 10, 2019

I thought it was engaging, enlightening and full of positive takeaways that are applicable in a multitude of ways. Learning more about Indigenous matters through their voice and eyes and teachings was very important and insightful. I think this course is essential and am so happy that I took it!

교육 기관: Christine B

Jan 28, 2018

In depth general yet well-informed, documented, and presented materials, and mandatory knowledge on Indigenous Canada. Thank you for speaking slowly! And brava to Leah Dorion for her painted stories! This was a wonderful course, Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau, and every invited presenter guests!

교육 기관: Lara R

Jul 05, 2017

This is a brilliant, and highly important, course for all who live in Canada to take. This also suits those abroad who should understand the deep and powerful cultural resistance and expressions of Aboriginal peoples in North America - and beyond. Everyone needs to have done this course, truly.

교육 기관: Debora L M

Jul 28, 2020

I thought the course was excellent. In the last Module 12 Living Traditions: Expressions in Pop Culture and Art I would of liked to see the artwork of the artist's that were spoken about. This would have enhanced this module. Overall I really enjoyed the lessons as a Haudenosaunee and Kanienke

교육 기관: Juan D G M

Apr 12, 2020

It was interesting to learn from artistic, symbolic and storytelling points of view the alternative historical development of indigenous peoples and colonialism in Canada. I recommend this course for those who want to learn about First Nations, Métis, Inuit and Aboriginal culture and history.

교육 기관: Shane P

Apr 10, 2020

The content throughout the course was very informative. The content and language was also very accessible throughout the course. The design and topics covered in the course provided insight on how the historical and past events influence contemporary and present issues Indigenous peoples face.

교육 기관: stephanie l

Mar 31, 2019

This course provided me with a information regarding Indigenous Health that will help guide me as a Mental Health Nurse working in Toronto. I wish Indigenous Health and History was mandatory and taught extensively growing up. Thank you for putting this together to help educate future leaders.

교육 기관: Suzanne B

Jul 22, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely! It was so informative and opened my eyes to many of the injustices I wasn’t fully aware of. I feel much more confident in moving forward to learning and understanding more of the issues the indigenous communities face.

Thank you for sharing this.

Sue Bradbury

교육 기관: Sarah H

Jul 09, 2020

Amazing course. As a Non-Indigenous person with only a vague understanding of Indigenous Peoples history this really open my eyes to both the past and present of Indigenous Peoples. I truly believe this course should be made a mandatory component of the high school curriculum across Canada.

교육 기관: Madeline B

Jul 09, 2020

This course was eye opening and really incredible. I was blown away by how much I learned and will be taking with me as a Canadian. I am inspired to learn more and to volunteer at my local Friendship Center. Thank you to the U of A for facilitating this important and wonderful course.

교육 기관: Jennifer M

May 21, 2020

I found this course so informative and interesting! While I realize that one overview course can never completely touch on all the issues, I found that the basic knowledge outlined here will help me as I interact as a fellow Canadian with my Indigenous neighbors. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: stefan c

May 30, 2020

Loved the course. The course has given me a very different perspective on who the indigenous people of Canada are and how they where ignored when settlers came to their lands. Very eye opening. Loved the art work by Leah Dorion, it beautifully complimented the lessons. Well done!!

교육 기관: Tammy G

Apr 11, 2018

This is one of the best courses I have ever attended. It was so well researched, designed and constructed that I have recommended it to everyone I know. should be a mandatory course for all Canadians - settlers, new immigrants and indigenous - everyone can learn from this course.

교육 기관: Tania J

Apr 14, 2020

I am thrilled to see such an immense amount of truthful information in this module, as a First Nations student, it is great to see this course available to those who wish to educate themselves further on the history of Indigenous peoples and understanding intergenerational trauma.

교육 기관: Carolyn S

Feb 02, 2018

Great course! Very interesting and informative. I wish there were more. The only thing I missed about it was some kind of pronunciation sheet or listing for the various Indigenous names and words. It would make the readings a bit easier. I highly recommend this course to everyone!

교육 기관: Karthiha R

Feb 29, 2020

This course is a must take if you call yourself a resident of Canada. I loved being enriched with this country's history and at the same time saddened by the indigenous peoples' struggle. There's a lot more to learn still but this is a start. Thank you for offering this course.

교육 기관: Louise I

Jul 12, 2020

A very interesting insight into Canadian history and indigeneity - I would recommend it to everyone. The course touches on certain key topics but makes you aware that there is a wealth of more knowledge and understanding we should avail ourselves of. I can't wait to learn more!

교육 기관: Talia T

Sep 05, 2019

This is a fantastic course to get you more familiarized with Indigenous Canada! Whether you have some background knowledge or are a novice, this laid back approach to learning is innovative and fun. Thank you for inspiring me to take more courses relating to Indigenous history!

교육 기관: Collin B

Jul 21, 2020

The course is absolutely fantastic. It will change your perspective and is very informative in the histories, art, and culture of First Nations. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to further their knowledge on Indigenous Canada and wanting to gain personal growth.

교육 기관: Diane C K

May 29, 2017

This course is one of the best courses I have ever taken on or off line. congratulations to the University of Alberta and to Tracey bear et al. Thank you so much for this outstanding course. And thank you for including Metis. It is hard sometimes to find ourselves. Thank you.

교육 기관: Omar S

Mar 15, 2020

The best course I've ever taken in a MOOC format. It open my eyes to think differently and dig deeper. It even inspired me to write about it back home, because the biggest shock for me, as a new immigrant was.... How do we not hear about any of this in the rest of the world?

교육 기관: Melanie D

Aug 09, 2017

The course was really the perfect balance of introductory material and more in-depth examples. I really appreciated the Indigenous-led content, the respect for context, and the different formats for learning. I will definitely be keeping the course notes to look back over!