Chevron Left
Inferential Statistics(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Inferential Statistics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,331개의 평가
248개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course covers commonly used statistical inference methods for numerical and categorical data. You will learn how to set up and perform hypothesis tests, interpret p-values, and report the results of your analysis in a way that is interpretable for clients or the public. Using numerous data examples, you will learn to report estimates of quantities in a way that expresses the uncertainty of the quantity of interest. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The course introduces practical tools for performing data analysis and explores the fundamental concepts necessary to interpret and report results for both categorical and numerical data...

최상위 리뷰

MN

Mar 01, 2017

Great course. If you put in a little effort, you will come out with a lot of new knowledge. I recommend using the book after you have seen the movies. It gives a deeper picture of how it works. Great!

ZC

Aug 24, 2017

This course by Professor Çetinkaya-Rundel is awesome because it is taught in a very clear and vivid way. Lab section and forum are so dope that I love them so much! Definitely strong recommendation!!!

필터링 기준:

Inferential Statistics의 254개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Daniel H

Jun 29, 2019

An overview of inference, light on the math, light on the theory, and with an unfortunate failure to reinforce what may be the most important part of practice: what should be done when conditions for a particular method are not met. When you teach students how to evaluate the conditions required for certain methods, but then walk through those methods even when the conditions aren't met, you reinforce poor practice. If you want to use an example where the conditions aren't met, STOP once you find out the conditions aren't met. STOP and REINFORCE the fact that you cannot use a method without meeting conditions. It is not a valuable exercise to walk through the plug and chug calculations anyway. STOP, discuss why you can't proceed, and then move on to another example if you want to give your students an opportunity to practice taking the method through to its conclusion.

교육 기관: Diego R G

May 25, 2019

A very good introduction to the fundamentals of inference and NHST. It's very important that you do all excercises and readings or you will not learn as much. Also, the course won't provide a lot of information on how to use R, but if you spend a good amount of time on your project and make sure that it's good you will learn enough. I had to review a lot of R projects that were not very good, which suggests that some students aren't learning what they should.

If you want to learn statistics or have limited knowledge on the topic, and also want to learn a bit about how to use R, take the course. If you already know statistics and you only want to learn R, then this might not be the course for you, as the emphasis is on statistics per se.

교육 기관: Henri M

Feb 14, 2019

G

r

e

a

t

C

o

u

r

s

e

.

I

l

e

a

r

n

e

d

a

l

o

t

.

교육 기관: Chanuwas A

Nov 21, 2018

The course is very useful and helps me understand the formal testing process of data analysis. I just hope it would cover more of non-parametric testing techniques and dive into a bit more into effect size testing. Anyway, It also provides a lot of insights into important statistical measures of information, which could potentially be extended to the field of predictive modeling and machine learning.

교육 기관: Jeremy L

Sep 20, 2018

Solid 3 stars. Lots of material is covered quickly and I learned a lot. The lectures are informative and supplement the book (I definitely recommend reading the (free) book). On the negative side, I noticed that the online discussion forum for the course isn't monitored by the instructors and the mentors seem to respond to only some questions. I noticed that almost all of the questions posted by students in the past year that went unanswered. I mean no one even bothered to respond to them at all. That's shameful, esp. if those students who submitted questions are paying for a certificate.

교육 기관: Jamison T

Jul 05, 2018

I should not be charged if I have completed the project and simply waiting for other users to review it. This is dependent on how many users are taking the course at any given time. A bad system that results in users paying more for uncontrollable uncertain factors...

교육 기관: Try K

Mar 23, 2018

While I understand and appreciate that the scope of the class is more focused on the application / ideas of the statistical methods without delving too much into the mathematics, I would appreciate if some of it was used to explain why some equations work the way that they do. For example, in talking about F test statistics, it was difficult to understand the reasoning behind F = variance between groups / variance within groups until I had to look up other explanations elsewhere. While I believe that the instructor teaches well in most parts, I often find it difficult to follow along because she goes through a lot of assumptions and I'm unclear as how / why she is allowed to go on her assumptions.

교육 기관: Ian R

Feb 07, 2018

The course did teach statistics but there were some problems with R commands, assignment expectations and grading outcomes. For one, this course really needs to do a better job of emphasizing that the student is expected to use R commands provided by Course 1 (I think it's called "Exploring Data") as well as this one. It would be helpful if students had easy access to all of the labs in that course as well as this one. Secondly, the list of expectations given out for the final project omitted several requirements (apparently we are expected to use R commands learned) though this is a small problem.

The biggest problem is the peer-grading. Reviewing other peers was actually very helpful in that it does teach you about your mistakes. For example, I realized after grading others that I had made two major errors and was ready to redo my project if needed or, if I passed, never make those types of errors again. This feeling that you are learning and that this is a quality course is taken away when your grade doesn't match your work. In my case, I got a perfect score which is nonsense. Like I said I made two big mistakes one of which was not including a confidence interval when I should have. What if I made others that I didn't see?

Feedback is important. It is a big part of learning. So is the ability to actually use the skills being taught (the R commands were taught much less clearly than say in Datacamp which this course suggests we use even though it is NOT free and I signed up for the Duke course specifically because it taught statistics using R). It's a good course overall and you will learn statistics; but when you're charging people a fairly high monthly fee, you should deliver on your promises to give feedback and to effectively teach one of the major course goals.

교육 기관: Aydar A

Nov 03, 2017

It was good. But I feel like I've spent half of the time untangling sly phrasing of questions.

교육 기관: Duane S

Mar 08, 2017

This course is an excellent overview of inferential statistic tests / hypothesis tests and confidence intervals. The organization and material is quite good, with exercises and applications using R.

교육 기관: gerardo r g

Jul 23, 2019

awesome

교육 기관: Mit P

Jul 08, 2019

Great learning experience. Very well crafted course. Thank you Dr. Rundel and the entire team of instructors!

교육 기관: Harkeerat S T

Jun 26, 2019

Very rigorous coursework. Loved the material.

교육 기관: David B J

Jun 21, 2019

Very nice job of explaining the material. I love the diverse set of examples used in the lectures and labs.

교육 기관: Robin M

Jun 17, 2019

Great course, more difficult than the first module. The code was super useful to learn.

교육 기관: Nandkishore

Jun 12, 2019

seeking statistics inference through example in very convenient and easier way

교육 기관: Heungbak C

Jun 06, 2019

Very useful and meaningful lectures!

I learned many things from this course.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Evren O

Jun 02, 2019

At times it feels lazy how it is put together. The examples are confusing (rather than clarifying) and there is close to no teaching of R, but the assignments are meant to be done on it. In fact in the forums it is endorsed by mentors to learn R somewhere else. Likewise, I saw one comment where the student mentioned how they got confused by a core concept (p-value) and could finally wrap their head around it by watching a Khan Academy video. And sadly, this was also endorsed by a mentor. Overall, I found the effort put into this course insufficient for people who are new to Statistics or R. Therefore, the name of the entire specialization becomes misleading as it suggests that we were going to be taught how to use R in statistics. I had high hopes for this course but sadly I will abandon it and spend my money on an alternative course/specialization.

교육 기관: schlies

May 31, 2019

good course

교육 기관: Ruben D S P

May 28, 2019

great class, I improved many Statistics skills and learned R at the same time

교육 기관: Amruta G

May 23, 2019

It's a great course! Helped me identify and clarify lots of concepts which I had understood just halfway in class.

교육 기관: Natalie R

May 21, 2019

Well-taught, but they need to provide more resources to help people learn R. R is not a user-friendly app and I needed to google how to do a lot of the things they're asking us to do. Needless to say, I can google how to work in R on my own without paying Coursera a fee.

교육 기관: Ondina F P

May 17, 2019

Very good explained course, with lot of useful exercise, so you can be sure to understand the theory. Th practical examples in R are well designed and explained. This is definitely a must for someone interested in statistics, with beginning concepts that you need to keep in mind for further coursers. The teaches is also excellent, explanation and examples are very good. Recommended!

교육 기관: Rui Z

May 14, 2019

Professor Mine is terrific. I'm sure she has a great depth of knowledge and grateful that she's able to deliver her knowledge out to listeners. She uses meaningful examples all along the course, no dry pure mathematical cases at all. That helps a ton to digest concepts. And she constantly repeat some core concepts and how to interpret a statistic right. I didn't realize how important this was until I was challenged with questions, then I came back and hear again her interpretation, and the whole thing became clearer. She's one of the best professors I've ever listened to, and I've been through grad school, met so many professors.

The current mentor Rolf was great at supporting. He answers a lot of questions in the forum. He's very responsible and supportive. So if you're considering on taking this course, take it now as mentor will change!

I haven't finished the course yet, but the enrollment rate seems to be quite decent, so I wouldn't expect it to take too long to get final project reviewed and get certificate. I assume this is an important issue for any course takers.

The only downside is that there could be more R code teaching, especially on complicated simulations. That way it may be more friendly to R beginners. I know it's important to do research ourselves for codes, but beginners could lack of proper terminology or vision by nature to do the research on Google. Especially when I'm physically in the Main Land of China, where it takes some efforts to even get on Google, so doing code research took a lot of my time and was a little frustrating towards the end.

But again, the overall course and support are great! If this is not a 5 start course, I can hardly give out my highest mark to any other courses. It helped me to understand inferencial statistics, practice R, and think more like a statistician.

교육 기관: Jacob T

May 07, 2019

The best online course I have taken so far. It teaches you all the statistical methods you need to do for inference. The lessons are well taught and organized in a way where each lesson builds off the previous. The final project is also a great way to put everything you learned throughout together.