Chevron Left
Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
298개의 평가
89개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

최상위 리뷰

OS
2020년 5월 2일

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

JJ
2017년 11월 13일

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

필터링 기준:

Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides의 90개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Alexander T

2017년 4월 17일

Awesome course in Public Speaking from Dr. Matt McGarrity and same awesomeness level! This is the second course in this specialization out of four and I am going to finish them all.

I recommend this course to everyone regardless you activity, job and lifestyle!

교육 기관: Susan K

2017년 8월 2일

This course taught me so much and helped me and my students, who are professors in Indonesia, get rid of some common bad habits. I've used this course as a component of a 3 week presentation workshop. The presentations this year are so much better than last due to these videos. I tossed aside the other materials because this course's videos outshone them.

교육 기관: vikas d a

2020년 4월 27일

Perfectly designed course for taking you to the next level in public speaking. Immensely added to the knowledge on designing a speech for the audience.

교육 기관: María L B M

2020년 3월 3일

I have learnt a lot from the teacher. Since he is a philosopher, he has got a lot af clarity in his explanations. Also, the summary at the end of each week is useful to retain some concepts. When it comes to the content, although I had some notions of communication and explanation, I learned a lot of techniques to make an argument easy to follow.

교육 기관: Elizan S

2020년 4월 23일

Really enjoyed this course. Very practical. Dr McGarrity is professional and has a passion for public speaking which he shares with his students. I especially learnt a lot about slides and visuals to accompany your speech. Will be able to use this information in the future.

교육 기관: Hammad N

2018년 11월 23일

This course was very informative. Lectures were recorded excellently. Respected Mr. Matt McGarrity Expressed his Good will and full knowledge about the course. I would recommend this course for anyone who wants to up their speaking Game.

교육 기관: Omraj S

2020년 5월 3일

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

교육 기관: Joseph B J

2017년 11월 14일

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

교육 기관: Prashant T

2020년 9월 30일

great course , nice materials provided. it is surely going to help me and all others who needs to explain and present things to others on daily basis as a part of their profession

교육 기관: Arinze U

2017년 6월 24일

Very informative course.

Matt McGarity is a very insightful and well-spoken teacher.

교육 기관: RICARDO C B

2020년 7월 16일

Muy bueno, no me gusta hacer presentaciones en Ingles.. Pero ni modo gracias...

교육 기관: Julie W C

2020년 5월 24일

Audited course, but learned a lot. Great information, suggestions and examples.

교육 기관: Dina M

2020년 6월 27일

Excellent¡ I learned and practice several advice provided in this course.

교육 기관: Tamara C Q

2020년 8월 14일

Great course. Thanks a lot for all the important information.

교육 기관: Narzillo Z

2020년 9월 4일

I have learned how to make good spech . Thanks to coursera!

교육 기관: Bernard D V

2020년 12월 17일

I have done quite a few courses about presentation skills, storytelling, public speaking and such on Coursera. This is the best one I found online. It is more theoritecal than the others but the course is complete and the teacher is great. The guy conveys his passion in a brilliant way. By following this specialisation, you will need everything you need to know to be good at public speaking.

교육 기관: OKEKE G

2020년 8월 18일

The course is very helpful. I can now speak in a simple, logical and understandable manner and learners/listener can now enjoy to listen to me and get value as well. Thank you Dr. Matt McGarrity. You are good at what you do. I will really have to finish thus course specialization.

교육 기관: MAROTTA M

2021년 3월 19일

It was useful to continue learning and practicing, after the first "Introduction to Public Speaking" course.

I'm not convinced of why is left the choice between final speech or manuscript assignment.

It is a speaking specialization, not writing. However, I enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Caroline N W

2021년 4월 22일

The Course is quiet informative and helps a lot in moulding confidence, sharpening public speaking skills: speech and written, and professionalism in the content we share with audiences. I have gained a lot to my expectation.

교육 기관: María D C C B

2020년 9월 14일

I loved this course, I learned a lot and it helped me with my final thesis presentation, besides that I plan to put what I learned into practice in my work. Thank You!!

교육 기관: Muthukumar S

2020년 12월 12일

This is my second course in public speaking with Matt. I love the way he teaches. I enjoy attending his courses. I strongly recommend his courses on Public speaking.

교육 기관: Stéphane O

2020년 11월 2일

Excellent online training. The teacher is great. Very comfortable and reveals the key points of a good presentation. Thanks to the University of Washington

교육 기관: Eliška K

2021년 4월 12일

I really do enjoy public speaking. The lecturer is so entertaining yet helpful. Thank you very much for all those tips and tricks, I will 100 % come back.

교육 기관: Soner L

2021년 2월 4일

I would totally recommend this course to everyone be it a beginner or an advanced speaker. Great Professor , great organizing of the modules and lectures.

교육 기관: Yogesh K K

2020년 11월 20일

One of my best learning experiences. Matt has worked extremely hard to create comprehensive content. Huge thanks to him for that. Happy learning!!