Chevron Left
Intellectual Change in Early China: Warring States and Han(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩 중문 대학교의 Intellectual Change in Early China: Warring States and Han 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
36개의 평가
12개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This sequence of four courses will propose a multi-disciplinary approach to the study of Chinese cultural history conceived of as a succession of modes of rationality (philosophical, bureaucratic, and economic). The focus will be on the moments of paradigm shift from one mode of rationality to another. For each of these moments, cultural facts and artifacts—thought, literature, ritual—will be examined in relationship to changing social, political, and economic systems. The first two courses will cover the periods of the Warring States (481-256 BCE) and the Period of Division (220-589 CE), with a brief excursion into the Han (206 BCE-220 CE). The Warring States laid the social and cultural foundations for the emergence of the imperial mode of rationality; the Period of Division saw the Buddhist “conquest” of China and the emergence of a rationality defined by the opposition of the Three Teachings to shamanism, that is, of a clear contrast between elite and popular culture. The third and fourth courses will focus on the emergence of modern China in the Song-Yuan (960-1368) and of today’s China 1850 to the present. We will see how the modern attack on religion, redefined as "superstition", led not only to religious reform movements but also to a society in which science and the nation became the primary value systems promoted by the state. The courses are listed below: A Critical Cultural History of China - Early China I: Intellectual Change in the Warring States and Han (481 BCE-220 CE) A Critical Cultural History of China - Early China II: Religious Transformation in the Period of Division (220-589 CE) A Critical Cultural History of China - Modern China I: Religion and Thought in the Song, Jin, and Yuan (960-1368) A Critical Cultural History of China - Modern China II: Structuring Values (1850-2015)...

최상위 리뷰

TS

Dec 01, 2018

Fascinating course on an era of intellectual change .Those Ancient elite literati knew a thing or two about how to use propaganda and ritual.

FI

Jul 06, 2018

A challenging but rewarding class. Good instructor. I'd like the instructor to show a outline at the beginning of each module.

필터링 기준:

Intellectual Change in Early China: Warring States and Han의 12개 리뷰 중 1~12

교육 기관: Troy W S

Dec 01, 2018

Fascinating course on an era of intellectual change .Those Ancient elite literati knew a thing or two about how to use propaganda and ritual.

교육 기관: Per N

Mar 10, 2019

Very thorough and with a very inspiring and knowledgeable lecturer. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Aleksandra

Aug 20, 2018

Brilliant course. Strongly recommended to anyone who teaches and studies ancient China.

교육 기관: Ilanka

Oct 28, 2018

Great course, wonderful professor! Thank you for this excellent journey into amazing Chinese culture! Looking forward to the upcoming parts!

교육 기관: Fred I

Jul 06, 2018

A challenging but rewarding class. Good instructor. I'd like the instructor to show a outline at the beginning of each module.

교육 기관: Kelvin K

May 18, 2018

worth the while to do this studies

교육 기관: Gabriel M R L

Apr 22, 2019

I really have fond of this course !

교육 기관: Rehina A

Aug 27, 2019

This is an extremely interesting, informative and inspiring course

교육 기관: Rochelle S

Jan 12, 2019

More challenging and advanced than I anticipated. I recommend this course for those who are already familiar with Chinese culture and history and want to deepen their knowledge. Not as an introduction for beginners. But if you give it the commitment it requires, you will learn a lot about early Chinese religion. Take notes, memorize the terms, and watch the videos multiple times. Then take the quizzes. If you get a low score, go over the material again. I give it 4 out of 5 stars because I think the presentation could be better. Also, if you are interested in Taoism, Buddhism and/or Qigong, be aware that he approaches it as an academic, not a practitioner. I guess that's expected for a course like this. Thanks, Coursera, for making this series on early Chinese religion free.

교육 기관: Joy S

Sep 05, 2018

Instructor is expert in everything Chinese and quite interesting.

교육 기관: Lee K L

Apr 26, 2019

Not much on the intellectual part but mostly on religion.

교육 기관: Michał D

May 07, 2019

I've come to learn about the only openly atheistic country of note and right off the bat in an introduction an american is trying to redifine religion in order to persuade me that non-religious people don't exist because religion really just means "structural values", and that right after pointing out correctly that indeed religion is just one element of broader culture. Perhaps that broader culture might be where "structural values" come from instead? Not exactly what I would call trustworthy or worthwhile source of information, but then again, being an atheist I apparently don't even exist, and neither does this review.