Chevron Left
Intellectual Humility: Theory(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Intellectual Humility: Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
329개의 평가
88개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

최상위 리뷰

GL
2020년 6월 3일

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT
2020년 6월 30일

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

필터링 기준:

Intellectual Humility: Theory의 88개 리뷰 중 76~88

교육 기관: Henrique d M

2017년 6월 25일

It is a great course. Looking forward to the next two modules.

교육 기관: Amy J V A

2017년 8월 6일

first on-line course - enjoyed myself

교육 기관: D S

2018년 1월 31일

Hmmm ... the concept was great, and it really is an important aspect of intellectual pursuits in an age of fake news and internet facts (both comments are sarcastic), there must be honest deliberation on such issues. But as a course, it seems lacking in the mature "punch" needed to convey the right concpets to the learner, gets lost sometimes in the mundane aspects. But overall, worth while, just not a spectacular course experience.

교육 기관: David F

2016년 12월 22일

Some interesting ideas but not entirely convinced by the concept of 'humility' in this context. Is it really any more than simple openness to new ideas and the possibility of being wrong. That is not really 'humble'/ Smacks at times of academic pretension. You need to follow carefully what is being said - not a course to do while doing something else!

교육 기관: Jason A

2020년 6월 30일

I enjoyed exploring the content behind the course, but the material was a little dense for someone without any type of philosophy background. I was familiar with some of the content due to my psychology education.

교육 기관: Terry C

2017년 6월 6일

Interesting topic. Reasonable lectures, but poor study aides. Interesting fora and discussion groups.

교육 기관: Katherine J

2017년 3월 12일

Great Course, but much too fast paced

교육 기관: Joy S

2017년 2월 19일

rather hard to understand

교육 기관: Chris S

2021년 8월 12일

Very dense material

교육 기관: Steven G

2016년 12월 15일

Not so inspiring

교육 기관: Allyson S

2021년 1월 12일

Unfortunately, I found this course to have long and wordy videos and the lectures unclear due to over-intellectualization of the concepts.

교육 기관: Philip M

2016년 12월 22일

I do not feel that this course is ready for publication and is overlong for the material presented.

교육 기관: Shonal R

2020년 4월 8일

Teachers are not good