Chevron Left
An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,882개의 평가
847개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

최상위 리뷰

VL
2017년 5월 28일

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

CD
2017년 7월 12일

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

필터링 기준:

An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)의 830개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Kacyn R

2018년 9월 26일

Was actually a very interesting class! I feel most computer programming classes should be structured like this. Learn a hell of a lot more actually programming rather than taking tests and quizzes.

교육 기관: Hung N

2019년 4월 27일

Each sections has many examples that can help student easy to understand then practice immediately. I'm happy to know a new language and improved my coding knowledge after completing this course

교육 기관: Jiang z

2020년 1월 29일

the only problem is this course uses Python 2 rather than Python 3

교육 기관: Linnea W

2020년 6월 7일

The video instructions were good, and structured to cover fundamentals of Python. Minus stars for a) dated material, years old - technology changes fast enough that materials and language versions used should be updated at least once a year b) no availability of instructors to ask questions, "mentors" lack of responsiveness c) new topics presented as quiz questions instead of lectures d) the convenience of using the web based tool CodeSkulptor and the assignment / instruction focus on non-standard libraries such as simplegui DOES NOT outweigh the value of learning to use more standard libraries such as tkinter which is included in the Python distribution e) CodeSkulptor on my Windows 10 laptop through Chrome would not start the debugging mode from my browser coding window, nor would it save locally from there. f) mention of how to convert Python code written with CodeSkulptor libraries exists, but should be more prominently available g) I would have appreciated knowing that proprietary CodeSkulptor libraries would be a big part of the course BEFORE taking the class, as in a disclaimer about what is (CodeSkulptor specific libraries) and is not (standard libraries) covered in the course

교육 기관: Divik M

2018년 5월 28일

Good Course(not awesome)

Cons:

Peer graded assignments so your assignment may not be evaluated for long

simplegui library is used which is specific for this course so it would not help you in real applications. Would have appreciated if pygame or any other standard library would have been used

Python Hahahaha this course teaches minimal python not very good if you are interested in learning python.

교육 기관: George T

2016년 9월 28일

The course was interesting but I think Coursera is not quite what it used to be. The courses are more expensive (This one was $100). You can't do it free in a practical way, which on principle excludes people. They are simply replays of old videos and people are not inspired to participate in the forums.

교육 기관: Israel L d V C

2017년 5월 9일

Good course for someone who already knows how to program on another languages and has some experience. Needs a way to work assignments offline or on a mobile platform.

교육 기관: Yidnekachew B

2017년 4월 7일

an online editor is not good

교육 기관: Aaron H

2018년 10월 9일

Practical.

교육 기관: Gary Z

2016년 8월 9일

Too easy.

교육 기관: Mengyun Z

2017년 8월 24일

peer review cause a lot of trouble for me, everytime submit on time, turns out overdue. And none of the mentor or coursera staff want to solve this issue, just ask me to post more and begging for review.

The course itself is fun, but since all the module are already optimize by Rice U Professors, more suitable for people who doesn't know python and want to get start, not very useful for industry purpose.

교육 기관: Mai F M E

2020년 6월 11일

the course is not suitable for beginners and it may make them frustrated at the beginning of their journeyto learn programming

교육 기관: robert t

2016년 3월 24일

huge waste of time, they will give you very little information and what is expected for you to be able to do with that information is astronomical, you will never learn any of the details of how computing works, how functions work, the mechanism behind these computations, or anything. To give you an example, you will first watch a horribly made video on boolean logic, alter going to youtube to get a better explanation of 'And', 'or' , and 'not', you'll see an example done with If, else, and elif, then be asked to do homework problems using and, or, not. This huge gap between the information given, and the information you are expected to know to solve the problems they give you is too large, I found differential equations easier than this

교육 기관: Andrej D

2016년 8월 29일

I am very disapointed about this course. This course is more about how programming, then teaching about programming in python. The lecture is too long and information value is very low. In my opinion, this course is for somebody who never programming, it is not depend in which language. If you wont to know how if, for, functions works, what is variable etc, then this is the right place where to learn this basics.

교육 기관: Stevimir E

2017년 10월 20일

The course is incorrectly structured. It progresses too quickly into hard projects instead of teaching the fundamentals of Python programming. No wonder why people are cheating and/or looking for quick solutions online, even at the very beginning of the course.

교육 기관: Chris C

2016년 5월 8일

Only able to audit the class, no longer able to take quizzes and tests. I recommend the Python classes from Michigan over these if you are looking to avoid paying for old material.

교육 기관: Vaibhav G

2016년 6월 26일

not upto the mark.

Not meant for intelligent students

교육 기관: Harry H

2016년 11월 9일

joe warren ur better than this

교육 기관: ARYAN M

2020년 11월 6일

You would be hard-pressed to find an Introduction to the python programming as lucid and as fun as this course. Personally , I took this course to practice python programming as I had a bit of programming experience in my first sem of college. But , I must say I wish I had taken this course earlier ie. as a complete beginner. The approach followed by the professors is "Just in Time" and not flooding the lectures with as much info as they can.

The highlight of the course are ofcourse the Games that you get to make using SimpleGui. ( My personal favourite is the Black Jack - taught me a great deal of things about OOPS). After completing both IIPP-1 and IIPP-2 I now feel a lot more comfortable while reading other people's code. So, all in all even though you will be making games here, the skills you learn will be applicable everywhere.

One thing I was worried about before taking this class was that it is in Python 2. I can assure you this won't be a problem as-

The only difference you will notice in Python 3 is that print is a function now and / is used a little differently that's all.

For advanced and semi-advanced people this course may be a bit dull just like any Introduction Course. But for beginners and those who are not yet comfortable in writing long lines of code this course is simply one of the best.

At last, I would like to Thank all the 4 professors to create this gem.

교육 기관: Audra

2018년 1월 11일

I love how the instructors have the students create games for the programming assignments. Even though these programs are very simple, the excitement of making something interactive helps carry me through the frustrating parts. I also like that there are many videos, example programs, templates, and "tip" pages to help if you are not getting it--other Coursera courses I have taken had very little in the way of assistance, so if you were really struggling, you probably wouldn't finish. This course isn't like that. The rubrics for grading assignments are also very specific, so you get clear feedback on what did and did not work in your program. If you are interested in learning programming, I would highly recommend this course!

교육 기관: Ron W

2016년 10월 3일

I've taken several different online Python courses, completing some and not others. This one works for me. The interactive aspect allows you to see the results of your coding graphically. Other courses tend to start with theory and basic concepts detached from practical application or illustrated in isolation. This course has you applying the basics that make simple actions happen (programs) in their interactive interpreter.

If you're like me and have tried the other courses by MIT (edX), Udacity, those offered on StackSkills, CodeSchool, Pluralsight, codecademy, et. al., this one rises to the top because of the balance of academic instruction and graphical interactivity (and despite the lame jokes! -just kidding, guys).

교육 기관: Joao A

2016년 3월 12일

Best computer programming series I've taken in Coursera so far (I've done principles 1 and algorithm thinking 1 already and in paralell). You can start in this very basic course and end in Algorithm Thinking which is a great course full of insights even for an experienced programmer as I'm (same is valid for the principles of programming, especially regarding the testing assignments) with no previous experience. My nephew is 15 years old and in high school and he is loving this course (having hard time though). To me, this specific course was very basic but as I didn't know anything of Python and as I love games I enjoyed a lot even though I already knew all of the material except for the Python part.

교육 기관: Renjith

2019년 7월 29일

An Introduction to Interactive programming in Python is an excellent and master piece course which I have ever learned. The trainers showed new way of developing codes and feel the easiest way of writing program. As a beginner I simply felt the teaching is so easy to learn and courses are well articulated. The python programming using the software codeskulptor is so exciting. It gives multiple features like visualizing the code and understand how the object and classes are defined and how the state changes. How the transitions take place. I thank coursera and the professors of Rice university for their tireless effort for making such a wonderful learning experience. Thank you all for helping me.

교육 기관: Judy S

2019년 5월 6일

as a starter and never write programming before, it is quite tough. I wrote in to ask question, but reply is quite general to ask me to re-go thru video or document. Definitely i did not get it or understand it, thus ask the question but the reply is ask me to read the book again.. something like that. Is this a good answer?

I hope the respond can be more specific. Other then the reply, i quiite enjoy it and like the way it structure the programming. At time, i am very struggle and forum reply can be quite technical to me. But so far, i manage to get thru. I spent more than 10 hours to do the mini project.... hahaha..

I thought this program is no min skill requirement, right?

교육 기관: Dalibor S

2016년 3월 26일

Best python (or programming) course for beginners I have seen (and I tried a lot of them).

1) Codesculptor helps a lot (no need for endless saving, running IDLE etc) - you go immediatelly

2) Interesting examples + exercises with templates (where you just fill in some part of code) maintain motivation and interest high. No basic boring stuff like "print fibonacci sequence". Also - more focused on actual programming than on mathematical/logical solving of exercises (as I viewed in some courses)

3) Small enough increments to not being overwhelmed, yet still motivated by new stuff.

To sum it up, I am looking forward to subsequent courses in this series.