Chevron Left
International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice (으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,159개의 평가
246개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

최상위 리뷰

AK
2018년 12월 14일

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
2019년 5월 30일

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

필터링 기준:

International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 의 245개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Olena N

2019년 12월 28일

I Liked this course. I do recommend International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice for all who interested in International Humanitarian Law. Many thanks.

교육 기관: Avinash S

2019년 6월 6일

excellent course for the understanding of the international humanitarian law both for academicians and practitioners to begin a further study on the subject.

교육 기관: Malu C

2019년 7월 27일

This course has helped me for a better understanding of the International Humanitarian Law, its implementation and enforcement. It will help me in my career

교육 기관: Andreea I

2019년 1월 29일

This course is very well structured and the video lessons are thoroughly explained, in a language for anyone to understand. I am really enjoying it so far!!

교육 기관: Charlotte E

2019년 10월 4일

Really interesting, through and enjoyable course. So much to learn but really gives you the insight into the complexities and obstacles to consider in IHL.

교육 기관: Funke

2021년 2월 21일

Very interesting and handy for career officers in this field, It is could also be used as training modules for instructors in military field operations.

교육 기관: Soumaya

2020년 6월 7일

I am absolutly delighted with this course! I have gained a great understanding of IHL and it did broaden my perspective of law in war times.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Maroof R

2019년 8월 19일

Though it was my first MOOC, but the kind of which made me interested for more electronic self-education! Indeed a perfect website to excel and thrive!

교육 기관: Tofail A

2019년 9월 27일

As a humanitarian, it's a highly demanded course to me. Will put in my practice and so on the "International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice"

교육 기관: Ewa R

2019년 7월 31일

Very comprehensive course, which helped me to systematize my knowledge. I definitely recommend it, and am thankful for the possibility to take it!

교육 기관: Chris S

2020년 2월 17일

i do like this course and you do can learn something if you study this course hard, it also expands and renovates my knowledge to IHL!! i like it

교육 기관: Wayne A T

2020년 5월 31일

This course is great. Thank You to all those who made this online course possible and for sparing your time to us who participated. Mabuhay!!!

교육 기관: Amanda F O

2019년 5월 11일

Enlightening and complete, this course is a great option for anyone who wants to learn important concepts of IHL. I strongly recommend it.

교육 기관: SAUMYA S 2

2021년 9월 21일

I personally enjoyed the course thoroughly. It made me realize how many different tangents can be there even to a particular set of laws

교육 기관: Kariella P

2022년 1월 1일

This course was very informative and fun. I like how it is online self -paced and you can try the assignments / quizzes multiple times.

교육 기관: Aimé B

2019년 11월 17일

Very clear, straight to the point. With basic knowledge I acquired, I aim to learn more through the additional recommended readings.

교육 기관: Jana C R

2019년 2월 24일

An excellent primer on international humanitarian law with useful reading material and interesting interviews with practitioners.

교육 기관: Diego R V A

2020년 6월 28일

Excelente curso y las temáticas verificadas enb un dinámico material de estudio. Muy actualizados los profesores. Muchas gracias

교육 기관: Nagatharan L K P

2021년 11월 5일

An excellent course for those who desire to make a change for the better in this world that is so engulfed with violence

교육 기관: Nico P

2019년 10월 18일

Great course to get an introduction to IHL. I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a basic knowledge of the field.

교육 기관: Aanchal K

2019년 5월 2일

Wonderful Course! Helped me a lot in understanding International Humanitarian Law. Podcasts were my favourite part :)

교육 기관: Naser D

2021년 3월 29일

It was great

For the first time I was able to finish a course here

And for the next periods, it gave me a lot of hope.

교육 기관: Stella R

2020년 2월 7일

This Course equipped me with knowledge and materials I needed to further deepen my knowledge of IHL. I am grateful.

교육 기관: Kelvin I

2019년 5월 17일

Wonderful. Simply wonderful!! Although I recommend more topics in the future, like the "responsibility to protect".

교육 기관: Michaela E

2020년 4월 26일

Course was very engaging and I feel I have gained a lot of usefule knowledge in terms of IHL and its application.