Chevron Left
Understanding International Relations Theory(으)로 돌아가기

HSE 대학의 Understanding International Relations Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
509개의 평가
161개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The course aims to introduce the key assumptions of the international relations theory as a part of social science and as an analytic tool, focusing on the problems of war and peace, foreign policy decision-making, etc. The course combines historic approach and analysis of the modern political problems. The historic part shows the evolution of the international relations theory from being a part of political philosophy to its emergence as a special branch of political science, which is essential to understand the key ideas of the IR science. The lectures also include broad outline of the modern concepts and debates in the context of the contemporary political problems, such as rise of China and other emerging powers, threat of terrorism, US-Russia confrontation, etc. The lectures of the two outstanding Russian scholars and political analysts – Timofey Bordachev and Dmitry Suslov - cover such fields as the problems of international security and conflict resolution, international economic relations, foreign policy decision-making, global governance, the role of power in the IR. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

최상위 리뷰

AK
2021년 8월 12일

Easily this is one of the most productive courses I have taken. If one is seriously aiming to gain in-depth knowledge of the International relations holistically, this is the best course to go to.

N
2020년 10월 8일

The course provides understanding about basic concepts of IR Theory, with quizzes and assignments and useful readings. The professors are enthusiastic and able to explain the concepts in details.

필터링 기준:

Understanding International Relations Theory의 163개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jonathan S

2018년 11월 20일

An amazing course. Very well presented, thought through and great overview of the topic. I will most definitely recommend this to anyone interested in the area.

교육 기관: Thomas T

2019년 2월 25일

Excellent course!! Professor Dmitry Suslov explains perfectly well. He became my inspiration to following career in the International Relations.

교육 기관: Miriam E

2020년 8월 3일

I am giving this course 2 stars because I found it to be quite Euro-US-centric and actually quite racist and sexist. I know this is not wholly the university's fault: IR as a field has been quite Eurocentric and male dominated in general. However, that is changing, and Coursera should be invested in ensuring the courses on its platform are growing with the fields they represent. Meaning, let's think a little harder about how race and gender play into IR and how IR theory has been portrayed and shaped from a more critical lens that acknowledges the field's racist past and present--instead of rambling off the same old Eurocentric story just because that's what we've always done.

All of the influential IR thinkers cited were American men, and some were European men. This course is your typical Westphalia and onwards vision of IR, dominated by male thinkers. African countries were only mentioned once or twice when the professors needed examples of poor countries. That is racist. This is really unacceptable. Also, how can IR theory really be INTERNATIONAL if it is only based on and shaped by events and (male) thinkers in the US and Europe? Intellectual racism and sexism are fitting descriptors.

The lecture on feminism was particularly terrible. The professor mischaracterized what feminism is by saying it is based on the assumption that men and women behave differently (that's not what feminism is). And then he proceeded to use a quote by a MAN to disprove feminism, saying that feminists have too many "unverified assumptions" and that Hilary Clinton and Condoleeza Rice are both women and are in politics, so therefore feminists are not needed in IR theory. It just made zero sense and is a huge injustice to portray feminism in this way. If you don't know what feminism is and you don't care about it, at least get someone who DOES to give the lecture on it.

This course has 2 professors. One is much more engaging than the other, who basically reads long sentences off of the powerpoint slides.

All said, I took this course because I care about IR theory and know that I need to learn about IR as it has been taught in the past to understand today's conversations in the field. However, if Coursera cares about racism and white supremacy, it should invest in courses that are not actively continuing white supremacy's legacies and ways of viewing and defining the world in the courses it offers. IR will continue to be racist as long as platforms like Coursera continue to invest in courses like this one.

교육 기관: ferdinand a

2021년 3월 14일

This course has helped me understood the fundamentals of IR Theory. The lecturers are very adept with what they teach. Awesome to complete such a long week of course 😊

교육 기관: jayashankar w

2019년 3월 25일

A brilliant analysis of the evolution of International Relations. Would highly recommend the course for anyone interested in getting a strong base in the subject.

교육 기관: Malcolm R

2020년 5월 4일

I thought that this was an excellent course, well taught and on a fascinating subject. I would be happy to do further course from this provider again, in the future.

교육 기관: jose e

2019년 7월 16일

Hi, it has been really useful, first week and it already has create some personal interest in develop an international relations bachelor degree

교육 기관: Carlos A W P

2018년 6월 29일

Amazingly clear, fun and nice course.The course instructor does a super job in transmitting the main ideas of International Relations Theory.I highly recommend this course to everyone interested in the IR ideas to understand our current World.

교육 기관: Muhammed S

2021년 3월 21일

It was really excellent taking this course. The course content was well delivered and the presenters were amazingly amazing in explaining the different concepts and views.

교육 기관: David G B

2019년 3월 5일

The course need some revision on the tests - some of them have the right answers marked before the start - and on the subtitles. Other than that, it's great.

교육 기관: Jaime R C C

2020년 1월 16일

It was very insightful, comprehensive, useful and gives all the clues to understand the external politics of every country in its outlines and scopes

교육 기관: Md P A K

2019년 5월 31일

I have learnt a lot of things in this course related to the subject. The teacher and the class were very helpful.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

2018년 3월 16일

although this course was very interesting and did mention current events, it failed to mention how most world leaders or the politics in general is run by the corporate world or the rich. You very rarely see anyone starting from humble beginnings or working-class to lead a country. Politics is plutocratic by far.

교육 기관: Sahrish R

2019년 10월 25일

I cannot continue with the course because I could not understand the Professor's accent. Lecture appearing in English text is incorrect grammatically in most places.

교육 기관: Bhanu S

2018년 4월 17일

A very to the point course. The concepts are explained along the chronology of events from World History, this is very helpful to be able to understand the "Why" of ideas. On the second day, already half way to the 5th week. Thank you very much Professors for making this course.

교육 기관: Miceal O

2020년 7월 5일

Exceptionally good course, comprehensive, video presentations were outstanding and informative. Exams were challenging but rewarding. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Philippe A

2019년 11월 9일

I learnt a lot from this course, with a lot of theories and examples. I am positively surprised and very satisfied.

교육 기관: Kainat K

2019년 11월 16일

Informative and precise...... helped me understand the basics of International Relations really well.

교육 기관: Oscar G M

2018년 11월 5일

It is a great course about international relations! I like how themes are seen!

교육 기관: Zia u i

2019년 5월 7일

i is my first experience to do online course but i find it really amazing.

교육 기관: Hadassah N

2018년 10월 29일

Very informative and helpful in creating an understanding of this subject

교육 기관: Mohammad M

2019년 10월 21일

A great course to stimulate further study on International Relations

교육 기관: Ivan Z

2019년 11월 12일

Great course for understanding the basics of the IR Theory.

교육 기관: Henry M

2019년 4월 4일

Very interesting, organized and straight to the point.

교육 기관: Diing D

2019년 11월 11일

it is really helpful and easy to understand