Chevron Left
Internet History, Technology, and Security(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Internet History, Technology, and Security 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,876개의 평가
503개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

최상위 리뷰

SB

Jan 07, 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

JJ

Oct 24, 2015

A excellent overview of Internet History, the underlying technology and a quick tour of SSL/TLS. The interviews with some key folks of internet folklore was an added advantage. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

Internet History, Technology, and Security의 493개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: rowelyn t

Sep 23, 2019

thank you so much :)

교육 기관: Cheng W

Apr 30, 2019

Wonderful!

교육 기관: Sara A G

Apr 09, 2019

satart

교육 기관: Kristina G

Sep 13, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. One of the things that I realized while taking it is that the internet is a huge, major, society-altering phenomenon that happened *in my lifetime* (I remember getting AOL at home for the first time when I was about 12) and it's an incredible privilege and an amazing opportunity to be able to study the history of the internet's development while many of the people who brought it into existence are still alive and able to be interviewed! This course is a great way to get an overview in the major milestones in how the internet came into being, as well as understand the foundations of how it works now. Dr. Chuck is a warm and encouraging personality who wants nothing more than to expose students to a subject he himself is very enthusiastic about -- the best kind of professor. I really recommend this course to everyone, no matter what their familiarity with computers, as a first step to understanding a technology that underpins everything in modern life.

교육 기관: Denise M W

Nov 06, 2015

I am an English language professor. I took this course for "fun"--my BA minor was in history and I am a curious person.

I love this course and Dr. Chuck! The way he explains things is "IN ENGLISH!!" I mean that the way he explains things makes sense to a non-literate IT person. In addition, the content is both interesting and informative. The structure of the course is easy to follow. I have taken a few courses where I was not sure what I was supposed to do next, but not in this course.

Frankly, I prefer a course where I take quizzes. Projects can be educational and interesting and sometimes necessary to the course content, but I am working 40 to 60 hours a week and don't always have time for courses with projects--and those are the courses I have not completed. I liked just taking quizzes about the content.

So far, this has been the best course I have taken in Coursera. And I have already signed up for a second course with Dr. Chuck and the University of Michigan.

교육 기관: Naushad S

Oct 16, 2015

The course was absolutely what we need and understand the Cyber Security from a course. Special thank you to Professor Dr Chuck he made Easy to understand the subject and all useful information. Always to the point. The online presentation was excellent and dealt with all the relevant information needed to understand why IT Security is so important to the individual and also employers. The course explained the InfoSec mechanics, I would also like to say that the course was presented in such a way that most if not all people would understand every single section covered. So, a highly recommended course which anybody would enjoy and gain great knowledge.

교육 기관: Vaughn P

Apr 29, 2016

Dr. Charles Severance is by far the best Computer Science professor out there!!! I've done a significant amount of online Computer Science courses -as well as classroom courses back in college - and not one professor has been as fun and easy to understand as Chuck. He puts presents every topic in such a way that you're never scared off thinking "i'll never understand this stuff." He make computers and everything technical make sense. I've basically binge-watched almost every lecture/course he's headed up. He makes learning fun and seems like he's be a really fun guy to get to hang with. Thanks Dr. Chuck for your love of teaching, you're the best!

교육 기관: mega c a

Nov 27, 2015

it's really great to joined this course. it was an intro from all kind of internet history, technology and security, but it's open my eyes that what we consume almost everyday right now was comes from bunch of brilliant person ever lived in this world. And i'm very motivated to know more and more about this stuff. "sharing is caring". Thank you coursera and michigan university, for bringing up this course.

And.., Dr. Chuck..!. You are awesome and amaziiing lecturer. i hope someday you going to go to jakarta- Indonesia for another coursera business hours.. :). and let me know if that's happen..

Thanks COURSERA.... :* :*

교육 기관: Judith E F G

Aug 27, 2015

One of the strongest cases for enrolling in this course is that it will really help to round out the student's understanding and background of how and why computers work the way they do.

The history portion is presented in a really accessible and palatable way, and it looks like it is a thorough job. Charles Severance knows his computers! I started reading Where Wizards Stay Up Late by Katie Hafner because of his interview with her that he includes in the course materials, and it complements the course completely.

The quizzes also do a good job of making sure you've retained the important points and are following along.

교육 기관: Damon R

Aug 29, 2015

Internet History, Technology, and Security is a GREAT course! I learned a ton. The professor's presentation style was perfect for me. He is obviously very passionate about how awesomely innovative the Internet was in the early years of the Internet. This class has inspired in me a HUGE appreciation for all the geniuses who contributed to the Internet and WWW. I recommend this course to anyone, no matter their level of prior education. I will definitely try to take more courses from this professor, and I will probably take this course again in the future to refresh my understanding.

교육 기관: Aura B

Feb 25, 2016

This course is engaging, highly informative, fun, and just the right amount of challenge. Each section (History, Technology, and Security) is taught one at a time. There is a lot of ground covered without it becoming overwhelming.

The extra videos available to watch give you more of a background of the history of the internet.

Given the important role that the Internet and computers play in our everyday lives, having this background knowledge and basic understanding of how things work is vital.

Dr. Chuck is clearly enthusiastic about the subject matter, and it shows.

교육 기관: Pancho D

Aug 31, 2015

I would say one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had in my online learning so far. Even though, I hold a MSc in Computer and Information Network I was very pleased to actually hear some really interesting and insightful stories from the Internet era! I would recommend this course to anybody who has a basic understanding of Internet technologies or even more advanced and experienced individual who simply seeks for a new challenge to refresh his knowledge! Jump in! You will be surprised how often we assume we know things that we have not really heard of!

교육 기관: Jennifer C

Dec 13, 2016

Dr. Chuck's lessons are well thought out, easy to understand and wonderfully created. The way he connects the history of the internet to our daily lives is eloquently articulated and fun to follow. I think it is astounding that he was able to get personal interviews with key players in the development of the modern day internet and integrate them with his lessons. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to learn a little more about this magical thing we all take for granted every day, the internet. Thanks Dr.Chuck! :)

교육 기관: Doris S

Oct 08, 2015

I've been working on the Internet since before there was a WWW, so I didn't necessarily expect to learn much, but in fact this was highly informative. The history part was mostly familiar, but it was helpful to have everything laid out clearly on a timeline. The technology and security portions did a great deal to clarify my previously vague understandings of how things work.

And, I especially liked the "graduation ceremony" at the end. This is the first MOOC I've taken that included a graduation, and it was a nice touch.

교육 기관: Connor D

Aug 23, 2016

I am only on Week 3 of this course and so far I am thoroughly enjoying it. The videos are informative and well put together. Very interesting to learn about the history of the internet and how it has evolved. I currently work for an smaller ISP in Northern Alberta and after stumbling into this job, I ended up loving networking and computers. This really helps with an introduction to some fundamental concepts of the internet. Thank you for providing this course.

교육 기관: Archana P

Aug 03, 2016

The IHTS course was so much fun with learning. It has given me insight into the huge amount of work that has gone in by so many innovators and other people to use the internet.

Dr. Chuck is really cool and makes tough topics so interesting and easy to understand. Hats off to the whole Coursera team for all the work that has been put in to make this course available. Many Thanks for this interesting learning experience.

교육 기관: Felipe A d S

Aug 14, 2015

This is a great opportunity to learn more about the history of the internet and how it was developed throughout the years. You will also be delighted to watch the videos about the Internet featuring so many bright people.

"Internet History, Technology, and Security" is not a course that will teach you only the theorical content, it will give you a whole new view about how things came to be and motivate you even more.

교육 기관: Andrey T

Nov 26, 2015

Recommended(!!!!) to everyone who wants to understand where the greatest invention ever came from...

I am more than 10 15 years in the Telecommunication and work with a Tier1 SP/ISP in the market found a LOT of new and interesting things. This is amazing follow up of the people and the events in the Internet history.

Thank you Dr. Charles Severance for hard work to make this course such interesting to watch.

교육 기관: Chris C

Nov 28, 2016

I lived through the later part of the internet history, starting Engineering school in 1990. I remember using Gopher, and thinking it was terrible. I remember usenet groups, and emailing, and then eventually learning about the www. This course put that in an historical context, and explained the details of many of the internet technical aspects that I'd assumed and/or taken for granted. Very enjoyable!

교육 기관: Djana R

Jan 09, 2018

Awesome! As usual Charles Severence and University of Michigan are the Best!

And this is not for the fact that he is my first teacher of Python (Programing for Everybody), but he is really a talented, smart man with many passion on explaining. I attended many courses and I feel that his lecture a better even as University of Toronto courses in Pyton.

Very strong Recomended all the Severence`s courses!

교육 기관: Sey C

Oct 24, 2016

The title says it all. Great overview of the history, technology, and security of internet. From the title and the nature of these lecture type courses I was worried it would be boring, but not with Dr. Chuck :) He brings all of the concepts down to earth and help us understand them thoroughly at the same time. Highly recommended for everyone, especially non CS majors jumping into programming!

교육 기관: Geoffrey P

Nov 15, 2015

This was my first course that I completed with Coursera. The highlight was the lecturer Chuck Severance whose relaxed style and sense of humour made it that much more worthwhile. My only regret was that he had the Office Hours in London on the day of The World Cup Rugby final-now imagine that in the States!!- for American Football. All in all an excellent course- more of Prof Severance please!

교육 기관: Max

Apr 25, 2018

Outstanding course with an incredible professor. You can clearly see that he's passionate about what he's talking about and really conveys the vibe that was around to build the internet. Makes you want to know more, dive deeper and build stuff. Exactly what education and learning should be like. An the information is presented excellent as well. Cant imagine a way to make it better.

교육 기관: Vamsee

Oct 24, 2015

This course is a must for anyone who wants to understand the fundamentals of how the internet works. The content, videos, and the teachings of Dr. Charles severance are just great, very precise and to the point with real life examples and interviews. It has been much more than what I had imagined and expected. Thanks very much Dr. Charles Severance and Coursera for a great course.

교육 기관: Pete

Jan 26, 2016

I found this to be more a 'have fun' improve your general knowledge course than something a bit more focused like learning to program in a particular language.

Having said that this is probably the single course on Coursera in which I have had the most genuine fun. The topic if just fantastic and the videos from so many of the key players is just incredibly interesting.