Chevron Left
Internet History, Technology, and Security(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Internet History, Technology, and Security 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,717개의 평가
475개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

최상위 리뷰

SB

Jan 07, 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

JJ

Oct 24, 2015

A excellent overview of Internet History, the underlying technology and a quick tour of SSL/TLS. The interviews with some key folks of internet folklore was an added advantage. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

Internet History, Technology, and Security의 464개 리뷰 중 451~464

교육 기관: Antonio C d O I

Nov 07, 2015

Excellent!

교육 기관: Pratyush S

Oct 02, 2015

Dear Dr Chuck (If you're reading this)

Firstly thank you so much. I am currently in my 3rd year of B.E in Information Technology and wish that networking was taught to me like this from the start. Not just how we use protocols, standards and Layers but the reason and history of their existence. It was a lovely experience even though I didn't maximize any of your tests. Just a few things that I thought you could have covered in the course. From the first internet to the web servers and world wide web, you covered all aspects of the currently visible web. However we know that the internet is not only limited to that. If you would've given an insight on how the the deep/dark web came into being, that in my mind would cover every portion of the net today.

Regardless of that, it was a lovely course and I really admire your way of teaching !

However I still have no clue how I could have answered the number of hops from Michigan to Harvard !

교육 기관: Dale G

Oct 12, 2016

I learned a lot about the under pinning of the internet and how various things worked together on it.

교육 기관: Aniruddha C

Mar 31, 2019

It was a great learning session. Special thanks to Dr. Chuck for describing all the topics clearly.

교육 기관: aadi r

May 24, 2019

Great content, but the subtitles have many errors and can speed up in front of the video.

교육 기관: Sonu K

Jun 05, 2019

Best historical information about internet technology . I surprised when reads and watch new videos.

교육 기관: Ali B

Aug 17, 2015

very funny,enjoyable and helpful

교육 기관: Zoltán Z

Aug 28, 2015

It was more historical than I expected. Gave me some new and interesting knowledge especially in security topic.

교육 기관: Daphne F

May 26, 2017

It was ok, sometimes the videos were dry. I found myself using code.org and techquickie videos to better understand the material in a more interesting way.

교육 기관: rameshkumar g

Feb 09, 2019

Was not useful.

Will not recommend. you can see some youtube videos informally to gain some background information.

교육 기관: Ajay V

Aug 21, 2018

If you are seeking to learn the basics of the Internet - what is a server? What is an ethernet cable? Etc, this is not the course for you. The course basically contains a lot of interviews with people who invented the Internet and you need technical knowledge to understand them. But it is an awesome course for anyone who is taken aback by the brilliance of the minds that created the Internet and is looking to hear from the inventors themselves. I recommend you take a course on the basics of computer networking and then do this course. BTW Dr. Charles Severance is a super guy.

교육 기관: Harold A

Nov 13, 2017

Its says i got some wrong when i know i got it right.

교육 기관: Laura V

Oct 19, 2015

Videos are poorly edited (too much blank space, the bullet points are not clearly visible, there is no narrative or discursive structure, the diagrams are not clear, and the interviews are raw and unedited). Sessions are too long and include too much irrelevant information. The little useful information there is, is not structured clearly and thus it's harder to learn. The material for the first 3 weeks resemble more to someone talking about "the good ol' days" rather than a properly thought-out history class. I had to leave the course as I found it to be a waste of my time, and I am glad I decided not to pay for a certificate for it. My expectations were a lot higher for a University course.

교육 기관: David P

Oct 03, 2015

Perhaps it's just that I'm not a part of the target audience of this course, but I am deeply dissatisfied with it. Aside from a couple of rare interviews and old video records [which admittedly were very interesting, though too few], I found nothing of value that cannot be learned by reading Wikipedia or other easily accessible sources. The course is pretty light on technical details and there could [and perhaps should] have been much more beyond-the-scenes content, as well as references to specific documents and events in order to justify this course's existence.

In other words, if you are a techie and are indeed interested in this topic, chances are that you already know most of the material taught.