Chevron Left
Internet History, Technology, and Security(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Internet History, Technology, and Security 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
stars
1,838개의 평가
499개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

최상위 리뷰

SB

Jan 07, 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

SI

Apr 26, 2019

Great Instructor! I have learnt alot from this course as well as the instructor. I am thankful to coursera for providing me this opportunity to learn from an instructor like Dr. Charles Severance.

필터링 기준:

Internet History, Technology, and Security의 488개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Rob P

May 11, 2017

Very good, organised, well thought out and presented history of the internet. Excellent interviews with people that shaped network computing technology to gain in first hand perspective. The material is easy to understand and would be an excellent MOOC for the first time user as I was. I am looking forward to more MOOC learning as a hobbiest of education.

교육 기관: Tewboo

Apr 24, 2017

Dr.Chuck is really a good teacher and a good mentor, the first lesson I learned from him was Python, and this(IHTS) is the second one, really want to say thank you face to face with Dr.Chuck and really want to join the office hours, but whatever I want to say thanks again to Dr.Chuck and Coursera, for all knowledges you gave me, thanks!

교육 기관: Erik I

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent course on the history of computers, computer networks, world wide web and a brief introduction into PKI. The interviews with the different "founding fathers" of previous topic is marvelous. To hear how the "Old School Heroes" brought us the technology and products of the technology is actually quite mesmerizing. Super Course!

교육 기관: Shahzaib A Q

Aug 16, 2015

This course about the creation of the 1/0 communication world. I learn internet Basic, History, Evolution and University of Michigan Involvement. I experienced experts view about internet development and its development issues.Specially I select University of Michigan Courses because My honorable respected Teacher Sir Charles Severs.

교육 기관: Kody K

Dec 08, 2015

Excellent overview on the history of the Internet, the technology that it consists of and how security measures started and are currently being utilized. The professor, Dr. Chuck Severance, is excellent in his ability to teach and show passion for the subject. Overall, a great course to take for beginners and professionals alike.

교육 기관: Luka Č

Aug 25, 2017

A great introduction to how the Internet came to be. The course shows how and why the internet was created, it shows the architecture of the internet (which we take for granted a lot more than we should), and lastly, it shows how cryptography makes everything we do online safe and secure against unwanted eavesdroppers.

교육 기관: Alexandrine W

Jun 25, 2017

Really great course! Dr Chuck's explanations are clear and makes the material very approachable. Another great thing about the course is that there are several interviews with the inventors and innovators in the Internet world. I highly recommend taking this course, even if it just for the sake of curiosity!

교육 기관: kateryna k

Aug 20, 2015

It's an excellent introduction to this Internet stuff.

Decryption tasks are by far my favourite. Using Excel made it easier.

Interviews with all these people are incredible.

And of course Dr. Chuck's lectures, explanations and analogies are really helpful even for non-native English speakers like me.

Thank you

교육 기관: Jean-Sebastien A

Aug 31, 2015

I loved this course that was my very first to follow in 2013 (and one of the first best courses available). Charles Severance brings us into the deep, fascinating and complex history of a tool that we so commonly use nowadays.

Really a must-study to understand better our world and how all that thing works.

교육 기관: Shashidhara G

Sep 28, 2015

This course gave me great insights into the evolution of the internet, computer networks. Interview videos of people behind all the magic is an excellent collection and it is really informative to comprehend the big picture. I am very happy that I enrolled into this course and I am enjoying it.

교육 기관: Jose L F F C B

Mar 05, 2019

Very good course. Great instructor. Highly recommended.

It is truly beginner level, so as one that have already studied Internet protocols (in the early 90's) I feel that I didn't learn many new things, but it was fantastic as a recap.

The interviews with Internet pioneers were very insightful.

교육 기관: Bart U

Sep 21, 2015

Excellent course! This with content brought by the tech Giants themselves. All of which is clearly explained and elaborated upon by Dr. Chuck. Ever wondered who invented JavaScript? How and why? You'll find out here and many more.

This all brought in the right flexible and mobile format for me

교육 기관: Oana R

Sep 21, 2015

This course was great! It was also my first MOOC! It cleared up a lot of the things that were blurry before. I especially enjoyed the Security part, which I deal with tangentially at work and I could never quite grasp the concepts, but now I do.

Thank you very much, Dr. Chuck and the team!

교육 기관: Deepa G

Sep 10, 2015

Wonderful course, delivered in a very fun way by Dr. Chuck. Enjoyed it, although it got slightly dry in places. Really loved how this course incorporated interviews with famous minds of the technology world so we can understand how they thought and what problems they were trying to solve.

교육 기관: Juan D G

Aug 24, 2015

Aunque es el primer MOOC que termino, no es el primer MOOC en el que me he inscrito. Si he terminado este, es por que su contenido, así como el profesor (Dr. Charles Severance) es bastante bueno. Muy recomendado para todo aquel interesado en entender un poco más lo que es Internet.

교육 기관: Ralph C

Aug 20, 2017

An informative and entertaining course. It was fascinating to see the interviews with luminaries from the history of computing and the internet. I highly recommend this course even to those who already have a strong background in the technical aspects of the subject matter.

교육 기관: Map S

Sep 03, 2017

This is a wonderful course that gives you an introduction to TCP/IP and TLS/SSL. Strongly recommended if you are interested in either of the two, although you would find its account of the internet history is slightly not perfectly structured without a timeline in your head.

교육 기관: mohit p

Aug 27, 2015

it is really good, what turing has been done for the british government and all history of internet...................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well done..keep it up......all coursera team......!!thank you for all your time and sharing valuable information with us....!Thank you....!!

교육 기관: Lorraine B

Aug 21, 2015

Really interesting material on the inner workings of the internet and how it came about. Would recommend it to anyone with an interest in computers and networking. Content is very engaging and pitched at a level that even a non computer scientist like myself finds it e

교육 기관: Lódri P

Feb 12, 2016

Was very, very usefull and totally worth the time, energy to watch the videos, do the quizes. Dr. Chuck is a really great person, easy to understand. Recommend this class for everybody whose a little interested in the making of the biggest innovation in the 20th century.

교육 기관: Jayro G F

Feb 24, 2016

I've learned so many good things i did not know about internet, it's just so amazing to look back in the history and find out how much effort people put into practice to build what we call today internet , Absolutely a great course!, Absolutely a great course!

교육 기관: Nicholas H

Aug 16, 2017

I totally recommend the course. It is well paced and great for both people who use internet technologies in practice or those who just ant to learn the foundation of those practices and their origins. Take the course finish it up the lectures are fun and engaging.

교육 기관: JM L

Nov 05, 2015

Additionally to the very interesting and useful content proposed in this course, I have found it very much enjoyable and pleasant thanks to the talent of Dr. Chuck. Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck you are really a wonderful person and I hope to meet you in person one day.

교육 기관: Raymond L B

Aug 22, 2015

I loved this course! The professor did a great job explaining the history of the internet and more importantly the reasons behind a lot of the actions. I highly recommend this class for anyone that wants to know more about how a lot of today's technology works.

교육 기관: Erez A

Nov 04, 2015

This is an amazing course. I love it! The topic is already interesting but the instructor makes it a top class. He makes us re-live the history of computing and the internet so we can feel what it was like

Thank you so much for offering the class on coursera.