Chevron Left
Internet of Things: How did we get here?(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Internet of Things: How did we get here? 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

3.9
별점
1,071개의 평가
334개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

최상위 리뷰

DR

2016년 3월 7일

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP

2016년 1월 4일

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Internet of Things: How did we get here?의 321개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Brandon L

2020년 7월 2일

The video got no relation to the quiz

교육 기관: CHETAN D B

2020년 6월 28일

the contents are messed up and absent

교육 기관: Siroros R

2021년 5월 22일

A bit boring on theory

교육 기관: IOANNIS R P

2021년 1월 27일

Very hard

교육 기관: Abdallah K

2017년 6월 1일

ok

교육 기관: Lisa I

2020년 9월 9일

The course provided some useful background information but the quizzes for Modules 2, 3, and 4 had little to no connection to the content presented in the videos and many questions were poorly worded, to the point of incoherence. Other quiz questions focused on arbitrary knowledge checks rather than relevant content (there was overemphasis on WHO invented something, rather than on the more important WHAT it was and HOW that impacted the development of the IoT). It felt like there was mandatory external reading, but no links provided, and sometimes the professor said "don't worry about the technical details," but then the technical details (or others not covered in the videos) were the subject of the quiz questions. Those 3 modules needed some massive Quality Control overhaul, as does the transcription of that professor's comments ("tall" "call," "wise" vs "voice"). The Module 3 Assignment (build your own app) should have been linked to Module 5, it was completely out of context in Module 3. Module 6 should have probably been Module 1 as it provided much more background for the overall course and larger series.

교육 기관: Sin J H

2020년 7월 18일

Thought it would be a course introducing IoT, given its prevalence now but it turned out to be a history and crash course on the science and workings behind the Internet. Besides the first and last two modules, the rest of the modules had content that was highly technical, yet not explained in-depth. The quizzes at of the modules asked questions that did not seem to be from the course content itself, and I had to spend more time Googling for answers instead. The course was definitely way too technical for what appears to be an introductory module to IoT and as someone without the relevant background, I struggled very much with the content.

Pro-tip: For those stuck at particular questions or quizzes, take a look at the discussion forums for help and answers by other students!

교육 기관: Deena J

2016년 2월 10일

Not enough conversation on IoT (Just in the last module). Way too much time spent on history that really doesn't matter and on stuff I can find on the net. One Module to run through all of these - Circuit switching and packet switching, computer telephony (SS7) and then wireless would have been enough. The remaining modules should have gone into the concepts of IoT in greater detail and some high level technical info that someone who is just hearing about it can speak intelligently on it without having to develop my own dragon board (next course)

교육 기관: Ashley K S Y

2020년 5월 25일

I would say that this course is not up to date in terms of its contents. From what I understand, the contents taught were based on 2015 and it's already the year of 2020. I strongly suggest that the contents should be updated as the internet of technology tends to imporve every day.

Also, I woud like to point out that for certain modules, the quizzes were not asked based on the content that was taught. On top of that, no additional readings was suggested prior to the quiz.

교육 기관: Kristian L E P

2020년 5월 29일

What started off as a slightly interesting course soon devolved into just non-stop searching on Google and discussion forums after viewing multiple unrelated videos about the history of phones. The questions in the quizzes ask things that were never even mentioned at all in the lectures, or ask for obscure pieces of information that I cannot fathom the use for. It was a disappointing and tedious effort completing this course, which has seemed to be abandoned by UCSD.

교육 기관: Emilio P F L

2019년 2월 3일

Hay mucha información que requiere una cantidad enorme de tiempo para poder responder una pregunta demasiado extendida para que la respuesta sean menos de 4 letras.

La última parte del curso fue mucho mas interesante, debido a que la historia de la telefonía o el internet es algo que ya había visto.

교육 기관: Gonzalo B M

2020년 9월 10일

There is no relationship between what is taught in the lectures and what is asked in the exams, which force the students to ask for the answers in the forums or search on the internet. All of this represents waste of time and to be honest demotivates you to finish the course. Would not recommend.

교육 기관: Gary F

2019년 1월 18일

Excellent title. Pretty much summarizes the entire course. Through out the entire course you will definately wonder why you are here. Your answer must be for IoT every time. If that's the case, then stay tune. If you manage to reach the end, you will also know how you got here.

교육 기관: Praharsh R D

2020년 4월 10일

This is a great course for people looking to know the history of IoT and as the name suggests how did we get here. the only thing wrong with this course is the assignment part as it is hilt disjoint and there are a lot of problems with the grading system.

교육 기관: Siddhant S

2020년 6월 6일

The quiz questions were out of the topic. The course material and the quiz questions did not match. As a result it was very difficult to finish the course. Prior knowledge is very much required.

교육 기관: Kumaran A B

2020년 6월 21일

The present course does not talk about Amazon Cloud services or dragon boards.. Just the mention of it wont help. I am not sure if it is trimmed down version or anything.. but not happy..

교육 기관: Ying X

2018년 10월 18일

Mainly disappointment in the quiz. Too many not mentioned in the lecture and takes too long to find the answer and in the end not finding the research rewarding

교육 기관: Ramy R K

2017년 7월 11일

Most of the course is about history with fair technical information. there are topics which are discussed in less than 1 min , how can i be an expert in 1 min ?

교육 기관: Hiroshi T

2020년 8월 15일

The lecture and content does not match up with many of the quiz/assignment question. Might have to look through and provide more information in the videos

교육 기관: Dartagnan S M

2020년 7월 16일

The tests didn't match the content. Some of them even have wrong answers. Good content. But needs a Dragonboard to continue further the next courses

교육 기관: Lalit M

2020년 7월 6일

course is good ,,But the quizzes and assignment is not according to the course so please fix them

교육 기관: Andrés D L O

2020년 8월 18일

The content of the week 2 videos, has nothing to be with the questions of the tests.

교육 기관: Michael P

2020년 9월 18일

Lectures and other course materials are not consistent with content of quizzes.

교육 기관: Ian A H

2020년 7월 6일

Quizes and Assignments contain material not covered by course.

교육 기관: Ho H M N

2020년 7월 9일

I don't think the lectures are related to the quizzes at all