Chevron Left
Internet of Things: How did we get here?(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Internet of Things: How did we get here? 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.1
701개의 평가
202개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

최상위 리뷰

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP

Jan 05, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Internet of Things: How did we get here?의 191개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Abhishek P

Dec 04, 2016

The teaching has been concise and to the point which is good but not so good for a few difficult topics. Also I've been experiencing video lag and audio stuttering while streaming the videos so there's that.

교육 기관: Karen K

Sep 09, 2016

Gooed clear presenters. Give a good idea of how connectivity works. Last module was a bit obvious (IoT applications)

교육 기관: Nisha R

Mar 09, 2018

Questions posted at the end of the module are way out of what's being taught in the course. The starting lecture are like going back in time and reading/learning about people who made difference in the world of networking. I am still not sure, how that helps you gain the strong foundation for IoT. I lost interest in the course the moment the questions went way out of sync with the lectures.

교육 기관: Jan S

Jan 14, 2016

Too much focusing on history of telephony and only little focus on IoT.

교육 기관: Donat G

May 23, 2016

Not really technical, but a good overview over the past years and even centuries...

교육 기관: utkarsh v

Dec 19, 2017

they will not teach you how to build your own iot board

교육 기관: Dimitrios M

May 20, 2016

Great instructors.

Lots of historical references and terminology. I would prefer more details about how stuff actually work - in simple layman's terms.

Looking forward to the second course.

교육 기관: Abdallah K

Jun 01, 2017

ok

교육 기관: Krishna C

Feb 09, 2016

i feel this course start is somewhat bored because of teaching is not practical based and better follow udacity website tech for teaching interactively

교육 기관: aman k

Apr 02, 2018

You must provide some materials because it some time get very irritating to answer your quizzes.I just wanted to know that why you guys wanted us to know about the history of AT&T and Bell labs.

교육 기관: Alex M

Mar 22, 2017

Focused a little too much on telephone history, though some was interesting. Perhaps spread out to other modules as short background material.

Would have preferred history/overview from Internet age with focus on various protocols/technologies that were introduced (IP, TCP, UDP, MQTT, Thread, Bluetooth, Zigbee

Module 6 made up for its more dynamic and more germane presentation. May be make it the 1st module, with other modules going back for a brief historical overview

교육 기관: Lokesh G

Sep 10, 2016

While the last module of this course is very interesting and kept with the specialization, the first 5 modules are a waste of time for the most part. Why would I want to learn about AT&T for two weeks? The amount of useful concepts introduced in the first 5 modules won't take more than 15 minutes if unnecessary things were removed.

교육 기관: Abhinuv N P

Aug 20, 2016

It's a very basic course with little technical overview. The history and story of emergence of internet is described.

교육 기관: Zhao T

Aug 10, 2016

pace is slow. so many video in pieces, and lecturers keep saying like" we will look into more details later" or introduction again and again. I am studying module 2 now, all small lectures like 1 min or 2 mins, which is very shattered, repetitive and annoying.

교육 기관: Varun A

Jun 13, 2017

This course is more of a history type of course which bores the learners. Course should be more of technological knowledge rather than the history of the technology.

교육 기관: Omar V

Jan 27, 2017

The course is fine, but I would give the certificate out for free and charge for the ones that follow in the specialization as an incentive to enroll.

교육 기관: Geert H

Nov 11, 2015

Reasonable, but slow to come to the essence.

교육 기관: Michael T

Feb 24, 2016

The topic was interesting , but most of the questions need to be rewritten.

교육 기관: Muhammad I A

Jun 15, 2016

It is informative, but there are many basics that were not covered well & there was a lot of information that was not that interesting (like too much history)

교육 기관: Christos K

Feb 08, 2016

Introductory, not completely relevant to my goals, could be ommitted. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the delivery of the instructor.

교육 기관: David P

Jan 22, 2016

This could probably be better broken into two one week courses "History of Phone Technology" and "Intro to IoT". Many reviewers say they bail out in first few lectures because content seems too far removed from IoT. I enjoyed the last few lectures with examples of IoT, but could have skipped the rest.

교육 기관: sateesh P K

Jan 29, 2017

This course helped me in getting introduced to the IOT space, it is very basic/preliminary in nature but helps in setting up stage/ context for acquiring more knowledge and hands on next sessions of the certification.

교육 기관: Sanjeev S

Nov 30, 2015

This course is a refresher and provides a High Level overview of IoT and its history

as advertised

교육 기관: Sam B

Nov 01, 2015

A lot of background information, most of which I was unfamiliar with. Kind of dragged on, but I think it'll ultimately be helpful in the specialization.

교육 기관: Rishabh K

Jan 15, 2016

Too much theory and history in the course, no practical applications.