Chevron Left
Internet of Things: How did we get here?(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Internet of Things: How did we get here? 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.1
stars
706개의 평가
204개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

최상위 리뷰

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

FH

Mar 29, 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

필터링 기준:

Internet of Things: How did we get here?의 194개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: VIGNESHKUMAR R

Aug 22, 2019

Good course but many quiz .May be to reduce quiz to get more star from students.

교육 기관: Michael T

Feb 24, 2016

The topic was interesting , but most of the questions need to be rewritten.

교육 기관: Jan S

Jan 14, 2016

Too much focusing on history of telephony and only little focus on IoT.

교육 기관: Rishabh K

Jan 15, 2016

Too much theory and history in the course, no practical applications.

교육 기관: utkarsh v

Dec 19, 2017

they will not teach you how to build your own iot board

교육 기관: Geert H

Nov 11, 2015

Reasonable, but slow to come to the essence.

교육 기관: Abdallah K

Jun 01, 2017

ok

교육 기관: Deena J

Feb 11, 2016

Not enough conversation on IoT (Just in the last module). Way too much time spent on history that really doesn't matter and on stuff I can find on the net. One Module to run through all of these - Circuit switching and packet switching, computer telephony (SS7) and then wireless would have been enough. The remaining modules should have gone into the concepts of IoT in greater detail and some high level technical info that someone who is just hearing about it can speak intelligently on it without having to develop my own dragon board (next course)

교육 기관: Jacques P

Jan 10, 2020

The course provides little to no material for study. Not all quiz questions are covered in the material provided. I had to use google to search for some o the quiz. Even with the help of google, the answers submitted aren't always accepted. The course could be improved by rechecking the quiz. One has the good choice being true instead of false.

교육 기관: Emilio P F L

Feb 03, 2019

Hay mucha información que requiere una cantidad enorme de tiempo para poder responder una pregunta demasiado extendida para que la respuesta sean menos de 4 letras.

La última parte del curso fue mucho mas interesante, debido a que la historia de la telefonía o el internet es algo que ya había visto.

교육 기관: Gary F

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent title. Pretty much summarizes the entire course. Through out the entire course you will definately wonder why you are here. Your answer must be for IoT every time. If that's the case, then stay tune. If you manage to reach the end, you will also know how you got here.

교육 기관: Ying X

Oct 18, 2018

Mainly disappointment in the quiz. Too many not mentioned in the lecture and takes too long to find the answer and in the end not finding the research rewarding

교육 기관: Ramy R K

Jul 11, 2017

Most of the course is about history with fair technical information. there are topics which are discussed in less than 1 min , how can i be an expert in 1 min ?

교육 기관: KAWSHIKARAJ P

Sep 08, 2019

They need to improve the teaching video length and have to cover a lot for understanding

교육 기관: Deleted A

Feb 09, 2016

It is good but for an introduction its too long.

교육 기관: Oussama B S

Mar 11, 2018

the exams have no relation with the course

교육 기관: David B

Mar 28, 2016

Good content

교육 기관: MD M U R

Apr 22, 2016

Too short.

교육 기관: Jeff R

Apr 27, 2018

This course seemed under prepared. Most quiz and test content was not included in the course material. From being involved with the student forums, this was a universal problem. I have taken over one dozen Coursera software MOOCs. This one is by far the lowest quality. Courses should be based on an outline of learning objectives and the course material should be prepared to cover these key points. Quizzes and tests should reinforce the content and follow the same objectives. What benefit can there be to build testing material that does not follow the content or relevant to the subject matter.

Another problem is the video quality. it is sometimes difficult to understand. This would not normally be a problem. However, no one QA'd the text transcript. It most be from a direct audio text translation and there are whole sections that make no sense.

If you take this course, can expect to spend a lot more time searching the internet to find answers to required tests. Alas, some answers you will never find...

교육 기관: Gautam V

May 06, 2018

This course had lots of interesting facts about various organisations and their history which I liked so much, but mostly everything were non technical which is fine but testing our knowledge in those areas didn't seem like a good idea. The questions from quizzes was totally random, that is, it was not even said about in the video lectures. At-least, a study material or an information about where to study about those things would have sufficed. The fill in the blanks type questions were too random, where we were supposed to enter the exact answer (even the spaces mattered). That didn't seem like testing our knowledge. Even though we knew most of the correct answers, we weren't able to score marks because of that. Some of the multiple correct questions had answers wrong.

교육 기관: Alexander T

Jun 27, 2016

You should rename it to 90s style history of comunication from Bell to nowdays with useless facts about it.

I watched almost all first block but then I understood that I learnt nothing than I tried the IoT block, but it still wordy and superficial. Use more media to show your main ideas, take a class of public speaking and stop shaking a remote all the time you dont even use it.

교육 기관: Jon D

Oct 10, 2016

I was incredibly excited to start this course. The outline looks amazing. For learning mediums like this, you have to start strong. Keep up the great work, you all look like you know what you're doing. You should certainly put some polish on all these videos. It's near impossible to follow along. I'd be curious in seeing the data on how many of your students finish this course.

교육 기관: Mridul M

Dec 04, 2019

worst course ever. All they are teaching you is history which is fine but the worst part is that there is no link between the lectures and quizzes. I have spent hours and hours to find the answers. To make it even worse is that the all questions in the quizzes are history based.

Frustrated.

교육 기관: Nishant K

Aug 02, 2019

This course deserves 1 star because of the quizzes that are totally irrelevant from the topic taught in the lessons. Apart from that, there is no course invigilator to help you around. Some of the links provided in the reading sections are dead Anyway, the course is full of knowledge.

교육 기관: Brian N

Jul 29, 2016

Boring, most of them are history. Don't worth it ! 1 week into the course, very boring. Not technical enough. The test basically asked people to remember things that are not useful !