학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
329개의 평가
53개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Accounting has always been about analytical thinking. From the earliest days of the profession, Luca Pacioli emphasized the importance of math and order for analyzing business transactions. The skillset that accountants have needed to perform math and to keep order has evolved from pencil and paper, to typewriters and calculators, then to spreadsheets and accounting software. A new skillset that is becoming more important for nearly every aspect of business is that of big data analytics: analyzing large amounts of data to find actionable insights. This course is designed to help accounting students develop an analytical mindset and prepare them to use data analytic programming languages like Python and R. We’ve divided the course into three main sections. In the first section, we bridge accountancy to analytics. We identify how tasks in the five major subdomains of accounting (i.e., financial, managerial, audit, tax, and systems) have historically required an analytical mindset, and we then explore how those tasks can be completed more effectively and efficiently by using big data analytics. We then present a FACT framework for guiding big data analytics: Frame a question, Assemble data, Calculate the data, and Tell others about the results. In the second section of the course, we emphasize the importance of assembling data. Using financial statement data, we explain desirable characteristics of both data and datasets that will lead to effective calculations and visualizations. In the third, and largest section of the course, we demonstrate and explore how Excel and Tableau can be used to analyze big data. We describe visual perception principles and then apply those principles to create effective visualizations. We then examine fundamental data analytic tools, such as regression, linear programming (using Excel Solver), and clustering in the context of point of sale data and loan data. We conclude by demonstrating the power of data analytic programming languages to assemble, visualize, and analyze data. We introduce Visual Basic for Applications as an example of a programming language, and the Visual Basic Editor as an example of an integrated development environment (IDE)....

최상위 리뷰

YH
2020년 5월 30일

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

CA
2019년 8월 27일

Excellent content! Instructor was amazing...interesting and comprehensive. Assignments were excellent as well, though peer-review was impossible because no one kept up with me in the course.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization의 52개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Michael P

2020년 2월 21일

Excellent course, well structured, taught by a subject matter expert, suitable for individuals with executive background as well as middle-level and junior learners. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Mak J W

2020년 6월 16일

I absolutely love the way Professor Guymon carries out his online module. Most of the videos have given me interesting insights into accounting analytics which I am confident of utilizing it in the future. I would also like to comment on how the video has captured my attention through the sceneries, interesting features of the school as well as interviewing people in the accounting data analytics field. Thank you for this fantastic online experience.

교육 기관: Mok W Q R

2020년 7월 4일

This course had exceeded my expectations! It really knows what the focus of the course should be. There are many things to learn in data analytics and the professor of the course did a touch and go on those advanced concepts and kept focusing on how to present the data which was done so with superb clarity was so apt. I will definitely rewatch the videos and apply what i have learnts!

교육 기관: Zong H T

2020년 5월 31일

I think that the course is interesting and the pace is comfortable to learners. I just wish that that can be more practice and pdf/word docs of lecture notes to make the content more organised. Kepp up the good work!

교육 기관: Alison Z

2019년 11월 8일

one of most insightful data analytics courses from the finance perspective, very good intro coursera for both business professional and IT professionals

교육 기관: Lim J H G

2020년 6월 4일

Useful for those interesting in learning more about data analytics using Excel! Might be a little content heavy towards week 6 but it was interesting nonetheless with plenty of hands-on assignments.

교육 기관: Amelia S

2020년 6월 29일

The lectures are very well structured and the flow of each lectures flows great

reference support and reading material is very satisfying

Presentation support such as drawings, slides, cartoons is very interesting

the way the lecturer teaches is very passionate and very interesting

the speed of the lecturer is suitable to my ability to listen and comprehend

the voice and pronunciation are clear and easy to understand

the material taught is very useful, interesting and up to date

교육 기관: Anna K

2020년 11월 4일

This is a great intro course for accounting data analytics and visualization, like the title states. It involves a combination of technical, analysis, and practical skills. Great for those with an accounting background looking to learn more about the application of analytics and visualization in the field. Professor Guymon's passion for the subject material is palpable and he presents the material in a clear and digestible manner. Looking forward to completing the specialization!

교육 기관: Maria M S

2020년 9월 4일

Really love the courses! I've been in accounting field since college to work, but never been informed (well) with data. This course provides sufficient materials to understand about data analytic and visualization with accounting/finance data. Some of the materials are pretty difficult to understand, especially that I have bad skill in statistic, but the instructor is very great at explaining details. Thank you!

교육 기관: Damien C L S

2020년 7월 2일

Thank you, Professor Ronald Guymon! Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization is an immersive experience. The combination of discrete data and excel can result in visually appealing presentations such as Scatter Plots, Box and Whisker Diagram, and Pivot Tables. The implementation of the Regression Line (best-fit line) helps to derive values of R Square, Significance F and P. Kudos to you!

교육 기관: Gypsy G G

2020년 8월 5일

I’ve been working in audit since I finished my degree (about 4+ years now) and this course expanded my view on what potential path I can take that will allow me to learn and hone new interests without having to leave behind acquired technical skills from my job. This is a great program and I highly recommend this!

교육 기관: Kan L

2020년 7월 9일

I really like how there were demonstrations on using Excel & Tableau, where the data sets are included in each module for us to practise the skills ourselves. The lessons are also extremely engaging & useful. I enjoyed this course thoroughly & am now better skilled in using Excel!

교육 기관: Md. S I

2021년 2월 7일

Accounting is not just crunching numbers using traditional journals. Automation is the new norm now. I must say this course offered what it promised to deliver. If you are an aspiring accountant of the future, this course is a must for you. Great job Illinois!

교육 기관: TAN W K

2020년 7월 7일

Very informative course. Skills learnt in this course are definitely applicable to the future.

Course content is not very heavy and relatively interesting. Learn more about data analytics and how to use Excel better, which is the key takeaway for this course.

교육 기관: Badal S

2020년 10월 13일

I have been an Accounting student for 5 years and never had an idea of how closely accounting and Analytics are related. Huge thanks to Prof. Ronald Guymon for such a terrific course on accounting analytics. Loved this course!

교육 기관: Lim J N G

2020년 8월 11일

Prof was very clear and everything is explained in fairly simple terms, in an easy to understand way. Piqued my interest in the topic and would love to explore in my free time in the future. Thank you Prof Guymon!

교육 기관: Yeo Z H

2020년 5월 31일

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

교육 기관: Christopher A

2019년 8월 28일

Excellent content! Instructor was amazing...interesting and comprehensive. Assignments were excellent as well, though peer-review was impossible because no one kept up with me in the course.

교육 기관: Sheah D Z

2020년 6월 12일

Very insightful session on how to get the best picture out of huge data. I certainly like the homework as it gave me time to practice on certain items. I highly recommend to those who take

교육 기관: Lee Y

2020년 6월 3일

The lecturer is very concise and goes through concepts in depth by showing examples that build on top of previous knowledge and used dataset that was previously introduced.

교육 기관: Michael J

2020년 12월 18일

Instruction was clear and I found all of the information presented to be useful in my current work with Excel spreadsheets. Now I'm keen to learn Python!

교육 기관: Toh P Q

2020년 9월 27일

For a beginner at excel, this course really teaches you a lot about data visualisation and organising data in excel and other similar applications.

교육 기관: Raji R

2020년 8월 24일

Excellent course. I loved it from the beginning to the end. Enjoyed throughly the two assignments. Professor teaching skill is increadible

교육 기관: Annabelle S S Z

2020년 9월 20일

Love the enthusiasm of the professor Ronald Guymon and the module helps me with learning more about the use of Excel and its VBA functions

교육 기관: GOH K Y

2020년 7월 9일

Being the first online module I've ever taken to date, the content and videos far surpassed my expectations. Looking forward to more!