Chevron Left
Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
557개의 평가
124개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

최상위 리뷰

RD

Oct 25, 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

SU

Sep 18, 2018

Very challenging course with tough assignments and quizes to pass with deadlines but i enjoyed this.\n\nI got practical experience in designing, compiling and analyzing FPGA circuits.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems의 123개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: diemilio

Nov 26, 2019

Instructor is good, most of the material is appropriate for an introductory course, but there were a few things that I think could be improved/changed:

1. A much better description of the examples used in weeks 2 and 4 could have been provided. The instructor jumps into the multiplier/ALU and processor right away without any explanation of what they do and how they are architectured. A written document describing what they are would help.

2. The Quartus Prime tutorials given during week 2 are good, but the use of TimeQuest is overly complicated and little description is given on what each tool item covered is for.

3. The material covered in week 3 is very repetitive and could easily be learned by the students just by looking at datasheets. Explaining that there are a wide variety of FPGAs, and what the potential differences are is important, but in my opinion way too much time was used to cover this. I would use the time to cover Quartus Prime in more detail.

4. Some material is missing. For example, during the lecture on how to program the FPGA, there is reference to an LED programing code, which is missing from the course files.

5. At the beginning of the course, it is recommended to purchase DE10-Lite board if the students are interested in taking the "specialization", but the remaining 2 courses are still not up yet into coursera, and there is no info if they will ever be.

교육 기관: Curtis N

Aug 15, 2018

This is largely a survey of the Altera/Intel tools and of vendors' CPLD and FPGA offerings. The "build a design" part of the course is rote learning, not foundation knowledge. You do not write Verilog or VHDL in this course. It's unclear what the "for embedded systems" part of the course title means.

교육 기관: Gary F

Jun 29, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor is by far the best I have encountered on any on-line (or classroom) course. I'm now waiting for the rest of the specialisation.

교육 기관: Aniss B

Mar 02, 2020

Overall a good introductory course for absolute beginners to FPGAs.

* What you will learn:

- a basic understanding of programmable logic devices

- an overview of the main design steps

- a list of criteria for hardware selection

- how to perform the most common tasks with Intel/Altera Quartus Prime Lite software

* What you will NOT learn:

- HDL (Verilog or VHDL): most design entries are done with gates or schematics

- to design anything more than a "Hello World"/"LED Blink" application

* What is good:

- accessible with minimal to no software/hardware/prior knowledge requirements

- pace and assignments difficulty are appropriate

* What could be improved:

- community moderation and animation: a LOT of cheating appears in the peer reviews and forum discussions are non existent

- switch the repetitive hardware review (week 3) to real life applications and how to select the appropriate hardware for them

- more time explaining WHY some actions/settings are done in Quartus Prime Lite

교육 기관: Jose P E

Mar 14, 2018

I'm just auditing the course.

Even though I really like it, as a beginner I see a lot of material that is just covered lightly. I guess that's OK since there are still more courses in the specialization to cover more subjects.

Anyway, the reason I'm giving it only 2 stars is because I find it expensive. $100 per course is more than what I'd want to pay. If it was less expensive, I'd take the specialization.

교육 기관: arash n

Jan 08, 2019

The course is very very introductory and can only make you a little familiarize to FPGA/CPLD types and basics of programming FPGA... you will not be even upgraded to beginner, by taking this course.

Coursea charges $99 for a course that you could get the knowledge just by reading materials you could find by a simple search on google.

highly NOT recommended.

교육 기관: Ammon D

Oct 09, 2019

I was very excited to take this course. Unfortunately, the materials that are said to be available are nowhere to be found. Many students having this problem. (Week 2 - Video 4).

교육 기관: MOHAMMED Z H

Apr 29, 2018

Must take course to master the FPGA EDA Tools skills. Excellent examples,with great elaboration. Thank you so much coursera for such a nice course.

교육 기관: Indu G

Feb 21, 2019

People who are very really interested in design perspective of embedded systems and digital logic designs can take this course which is worthful

교육 기관: Ralph W

Oct 16, 2017

I thought that this course was an absolutely wonderful introduction to the world of FPGA design. I liked learning about the different features of some of of the more popular FPGA families. I really enjoyed the task of building a soft processor using the Altera Qsys software. I found that the homework was reasonable in scope and relevant to the topics presented in the lectures. I would like to learn more and I would like to suggest a series of classes like this one that also include HDL languages and verification concepts.

교육 기관: Guift

Jun 07, 2018

Good to get to know the quartus prime software and get started into fpga design.

After completing this course, Quartus prime feel way less aliens, I think I have a solid grasp as to what I need to look for to continue my fpga journey and VHDL seem way easier.

(You don't learn to make VHDL or Verilog code in this course)

Critic :

the voice isn't always synced with the video

there a a few error in the quiz question

Some part could be introduced in a better way (time analysis definition could use some animation)

Was intended to be a 4 course series, I'm not sure if they will continues

교육 기관: Bijan K

Nov 12, 2017

The subject for each session is selected carefully and the gradual heaviness of the discussions is very well organized, so that student feels comfortable to move on.

Flawless presentation (thank you Tim!) and step by step manner of the discussions are the reasons I could keep up with the course eagerly.

I look forward to take the rest of the courses of this specialization.

Thanks Coursera!

교육 기관: Patrick D

Feb 05, 2018

Great course! Enthusiastic instructor who gives you what you need to get started step-by-step. You can learn so much on your own once you have a board, a tool and a detailed walkthrough.

The section comparing the different families of FPGAs was a good summary of what's out there and their basic differences.

I can't wait for the HDL follow up class.

교육 기관: Victor G

Mar 05, 2019

Pretty challenging course, but very helpful if you are parallel starting with real design or have to work with some ready design. I also very appreciate an overview of different FPGA and CPLD platforms, selection criteria of them.

So I am waiting for anounced next course, about Verilog and VHDL. It is exactly what i need right now.

교육 기관: Divyang T

Jul 25, 2019

The course offers a great deal of in depth knowledge about FPGA. It also makes you familiar with the use of Quartus Prime Software. A big thank you to the professor because the course content is really specific and insightful. All in all a good course for a fresher to understand the depth of Programmable Logic Devices.

교육 기관: Alan T

Dec 25, 2017

Good course, understanding of logic gates, adders, and Microcontroller architecture needed. This is the only online FPGA MOOC, so well done to Boulder for branching out. It would be nice to see the full specialisation available.

교육 기관: sadasivuni d

Apr 24, 2019

Simply awsesome, i was unaware of what actually is fpga designing or what days an fpga designer do, now I know the basics of it and am happy to learn, Thanks coursera

교육 기관: Qiaoqiao G

Apr 18, 2018

A large amount of information is packed into this short course. If you need someone to guide you through the basics of FPGA design, I highly recommend it to you.

교육 기관: Sanjay A M

May 05, 2020

The course was exceptional with very structured and organized way of delivering content to the students. A must do course for all FPGA beginner's.

교육 기관: Sebastian R S

Oct 23, 2018

Excellent course. Very complete and detailed. After the course many of the Altera Quartus Prime feature will be really familiar and easy to use.

교육 기관: Adil e m m

Jan 13, 2020

HI Iam very happy with this course make me understand what an FPGA ,Ithink it is very good and not forget to thank timothy thank aolt

교육 기관: Joel M M

Feb 17, 2019

One of the best class I've attended. Explanations and examples are crystal clear, and the instructor is really good at teaching.

교육 기관: Bhushan C P

Dec 12, 2017

Ultimate course for FPGA learners those who want to understand complete process of FPGA design for Industry, education & research. Prof. Timothy Scherr and his team had put lot of efforts to make this course perfect. This course is helpful for newbie as well as professionals, As some points explained in this course covers lot of depth in field of FPGA for embedded system with simple explanation.

Thank very much Prof. Timothy Scherr and his teamand also coursera team for bringing such High quality education to all over the world.

교육 기관: Zahid S

May 15, 2020

Fpga design is a vast jungle, tons of tools, design methodologies, terminologies, design patterns etc. This is just an introductory course that looks at the world of Fpga's through a birds eye view. But the information presented in this course is good enough to start from an intel perspective and apply this knowledge to other platforms like Xilinx or Microsemi. Btw, I also agree with other learners that a lot o cheating is happening in the peer reviewed assignments and something needs to be done about this matter!

교육 기관: Ming M

Dec 23, 2019

A great introduction course for beginners who interested in FPGA design. Basically it covers almost all the use cases for Quartus software, to make students understand the tool, get familiar with the features provided by the tool. Also give students a brief understanding of the FPGA design flow. Overall a great course for beginners.