Chevron Left
Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
2,117개의 평가
739개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Have you ever wished you knew how to program, but had no idea where to start from? This course will teach you how to program in Scratch, an easy to use visual programming language. More importantly, it will introduce you to the fundamental principles of computing and it will help you think like a software engineer....

최상위 리뷰

ED
2016년 4월 4일

the course is what the name says it is, an introduction to programming, great course for any code beginner. Lecturer is doing amazing job and keeping the lectures interesting, easy and understandable.

MT
2020년 6월 3일

for a total beginner in coding, this course was the perfect start! It was easy to understand, and easy to program (coding wit already?)\n\nThank you so much for offering such a wonderful way to learn!

필터링 기준:

Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming의 733개 리뷰 중 626~650

교육 기관: Tharuka W

2020년 8월 19일

y

교육 기관: Jolibeth S H A

2020년 7월 7일

i

교육 기관: Deleted A

2016년 1월 11일

E

교육 기관: Foong Y L

2015년 12월 14일

f

교육 기관: jarrod j

2015년 9월 18일

i

교육 기관: mariko

2016년 2월 13일

You will have to make a Scratch account (free) for this course.

Areti is a very clear instructor that explained concepts very well for complete beginners into programming, like myself and I found the course insightful.

1) Presentation - I couldn't help but wonder whether they had a lower target age (teenagers or younger) in mind, which was entertaining at some points but also distracting at other times. // Also, I only realized halfway through the course that it is in fact possible to see what Areti is doing on the Scratch program once the quality of the video is adjusted.

2) Projects/Time Commitment - Going through the lectures and quizzes are not time consuming at all, but the projects (especially the final project) takes a lot of time. It took longer than expected because I felt like much of the practical instructions on how to use Scratch for specific purposes were not provided during the course, leaving me to work by myself.

3) Discussion Forum - When I took the course, the discussion forum was close to being dead (especially compared to some of the other courses that I was taking simultaneously on Coursera). Gerry (mentor) did an amazing job responding to my inquiry, but I noticed that although there were a lot of students talking at the beginning, introducing themselves, there weren't that many discussions concerning the final assignment, making me feel like I was working alone. It would be great if there was more time to work on the final project, and perhaps a way in which students can collaborate and help out others when faced with a bug (ie preliminary project submission and feedback session).

I recommend taking this course, but realistically, you won't be program proficient after 5 weeks. You will, however, learn some basic programming theory, understand how programming works, and learn how to make a fun interactive game on Scratch!

교육 기관: Ariadne T

2015년 8월 26일

The course was highly informative, entertainingly presented and does not require an unreasonable amount of time to complete. It serves well as an introduction to programming, especially the two course projects, where the peer review system works well. The instructors and mentors show a commitment to helping students and improving the already well-run course. An unusual and welcome feature of this Coursera course is the immediate verification of one's typing. My only criticism is the lack of downloadable written/pdf material related to the course, although students who go on to learn programming languages will likely relearn much of the knowledge they gained here.

교육 기관: Fiona N

2020년 7월 15일

If you're like I was (prior to this course), which is someone who can barely function a computer, let alone program anything, then this is a great course for you. Scratch (the programming tool used throughout the course) is definitely geared toward kids learning to program, but I still found this course useful in learning the basic terminology of coding and the thought processes required to successfully program something. After completing this, I'm eager to take a course in the basic principles of HTML, CSS, and Java, and to learn how to work WordPress (and I actually feel confident that such a course will make sense to me!)

교육 기관: Teresa R

2020년 7월 17일

I loved this course. Thank you very much!!! My teacher was Areti and her enthusiasm is contagious. I will take another programming course, because I got very motivated.

I like feedback from my peers to gain peers' perspectives.

At the same time, peers grading is uncertain. Some of them are not factual. In my projects they don't rate with the truth. It would be good for a mentor to supervise that.

It didn't affect me, because I still got an A, but it doesn't feel good to work so hard to comply with all program requirements, features, and functionalities, for then the grade be like a lottery, to some extent.

교육 기관: Cynthia D

2020년 6월 7일

This is a really good course for someone who wants to start coding. When you are learning a coding language, every course I have taken assumes you have knowledge about things you do not. They are not truly beginning courses. This course really gives you the fundamentals to understand how to code and what to think about when trying to code. I didn't give this course five stars because I don't think the moderators were involved enough. There were quite a few problems with Scratch and for a beginning course, students need a little more input from moderators. So glad I took this course.

교육 기관: Kate S

2020년 5월 15일

The videos and presentation of material were a bit lackluster but the content was very interesting and I feel like I have a solid foundation in programming in Scratch. I would have liked more discussion on how to apply what we learned in Scratch to other types of programming, like near the end when the instructors compared Scratch to Python. I think it would have been more useful to learn about other applications for programming throughout the course instead of just near the end.

All in all, though, I had a great time!

교육 기관: Gregory B

2016년 3월 12일

Great course on introductory computer programming! The video lectures are clear, concise, and well-produced. Quizzes and assignments integrate and reinforce learning objectives well, while still adding new challenges. The fact that Instructor Areti Manataki is gorgeous, very articulate and knowledgeable, and enthusiastic is an added bonus!!

교육 기관: Yajayra S C

2015년 9월 14일

This is an excellent introduction to programming. The exercises are very dynamic and the tutors did a great job by explaining the program, both in English and Spanish. The bonus interview might seem like extra time but it's totally worth it. The only recommendation for the class is not to rush the exercises after the 3 week. Thank you!

교육 기관: Muhammad A B H M K

2020년 5월 11일

I really like this course. I can really follow the syllabus that they designed. I have no background on programming. Learn scratch as an intro definitely gives me alot exposure and i intend to pursue further in programming. Really enjoy it. Absolutely recommended it for those who would like to get basic intro into programming.

교육 기관: Magne H B

2015년 10월 20일

This course is pretty fun. Also, despite the perhaps childlike impression one gets of the programming language Scratch, it still resembles other languages in logic and in prinsiple. Towards the end of the course, we saw the same few lines of code in Scratch and Python, and it showed their similarity.

교육 기관: Jonathan A

2018년 5월 27일

I have to admit it has been the easiest introduction into coding I have come across so far. i am happy i made this choice. i would have given a five star but i just started and do not know what is ahead. i am sure by the end i would give 10 star rating if possible. And big thanks to Coursera.

교육 기관: Luis P C

2020년 10월 3일

You will learn the foundational concepts of programming in a very fun and engaging way. Scratch is very intuitive and it is a wonderful idea to present the pieces of code as building blocks. Finally, there are several interviews with professionals of a wide variety of fields.

교육 기관: Victoria F

2020년 12월 29일

I've learnt what is pseudocode and how to write it. It taught me how to work with a method. You don't learn a language but the logic of computing and basic concepts. You learn how to write code using your pencil and paper, searching and learning from others. Basic skills.

교육 기관: Jadon R

2017년 4월 26일

I enjoyed this course it was fast and easy to do my only complaint is that when you submit your final project it is a little complicated to send but other than that this course is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to learn this skill as well.

교육 기관: Aman u R

2020년 10월 6일

I would like to thank the instructor for introducing us to programming in an interactive manner. The programming language is basically for a younger audience. But anyone who wants to make their mark in coding can enrol in this course to see how programming works.

교육 기관: Diwyanshu K

2020년 5월 23일

A very attractive way to teach... the teachers as well as the concepts are way to awosemmmm.....just incredible...

from this course i learn literally from starting about the SCRATCH

ALL THE CONCEPTS ARE CLEAR .....

THANK YOU...COURSE ERA.....

교육 기관: Jeroen B

2018년 3월 28일

Good basic training for non-programmers. Clear instructions, good examples and fun assignments. Pace is somewhat slow, but that's just my personal opinion (as a complete novice in programming); for others it might have been good.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Susan E N

2017년 9월 12일

I loved it. I learned a lot and the course was easy to follow. The course load was manageable and even though I've never studied anything about coding before, I could do the assignments easily. This is a very good course for beginners.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2016년 2월 6일

This was a fun course. Helped understands the basics of software development. The lectures were small and that I guess was the best part. A lot of projects helped in really putting all that knowledge into real projects.

교육 기관: Shozab M

2020년 5월 13일

It will be much better if you people will improve peer-graded assignments as peers don't take it serious and give others bad grades and not according to expectations... Thank You