Chevron Left
Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,199개의 평가
342개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

최상위 리뷰

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

MC

Feb 17, 2020

This is a great course about Ancient Egypt. I went right into the next course "Wonders of Egypt". I also love the Penn Museum in Philadelphia which inspired me to take this course!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization의 338개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Erdi E

May 28, 2017

I want to thank Dr. Silverman and his colleagues to bring that amazing course to us. And I wish there would be more courses on Ancient Egyptian topic as well. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

Erdi Ekinci

교육 기관: Mark M

Feb 12, 2020

Endlessly fascinating for an Egypt junkie like me! There's not much coverage of Egyptian language and writing overall, but that material is available elsewhere. The glimpses of Penn's collection are a treat.

교육 기관: Eline

Apr 06, 2019

I've loved this entire course but have noticed that on the English subtitles not every name matches what's been said by Silverman. Other than that it's been a fun ride and I'd definitely recommend this course.

교육 기관: Marissa H

Dec 12, 2016

This course was enlightening, to say the least. Dr. Silverman is very knowledgeable in his field and every time he mentioned some artifact in the Penn Museum, it made me more and more interested in visiting.

교육 기관: Roman P

Aug 12, 2017

Very good introductive course, covering all the Egyptian topics which tend to appear in popular culture in a systematic and intriguing way. Plus the good overview of Egyptian history in the ancient times

교육 기관: Mark C

Feb 17, 2020

This is a great course about Ancient Egypt. I went right into the next course "Wonders of Egypt". I also love the Penn Museum in Philadelphia which inspired me to take this course!

교육 기관: Jiayang T

Jan 22, 2018

The course is just like a documentary because it presents students with artifacts stored in museums. Students can definitely learn better when they see this eye-catching artifacts.

교육 기관: Merin G

Jan 01, 2020

This course offered by University of Pennsylvania had very much helped me in knowing the Egyptian civilization. The course plan and the method of teaching was immensely helpful.

교육 기관: Glenn P

Mar 21, 2018

Learned more then I could have wished for, this is the best course I have had on Ancient Egypt. Thank you Professor David P. Silverman, you made this class very interesting.

교육 기관: Vasiliki-Diamanto F

Nov 11, 2017

Mr. Silverman is very comprehensible and speaks slowely during the videos, which is very helpful for processing the information given. The course is very well structured.

교육 기관: Annabelle M S

Jan 29, 2018

The most amazing course I have ever taken. SO full of information and actual lab accessibility to learn and understand what we have discovered of the Ancient Egyptians.

교육 기관: Peter B

Nov 26, 2016

Dr. Silverman the the content in this course is wonderful. Thanks for the great videos and thought-provoking questions. Please give us more courses on Ancient Egypt.

교육 기관: Mrs E B D

Apr 09, 2018

This was a very interesting course , well presented with excellent reading materials. I have enjoyed learning about ancient Egypt very much. Thanks to all the team.

교육 기관: Emiliano R V

Sep 03, 2017

Great introduction! Very dynamic and interesting overview of this fascinating culture. It would be great to have an advance course on these topics (or many of them)

교육 기관: Santiago V R

Nov 27, 2016

This course is recommendable for anyone who wants to begin to study the Ancient Egypt word. It contains very interesting videos and readings! I have enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Steo

Jan 06, 2018

This is the best overview course about Ancient Egypt civilisation I could dream of. Mr Silverman brings reliable information and can transmit his passion well.

교육 기관: Matteo S

Feb 08, 2019

The course provides a good overview, a lot information, spurs to acquire also a good iconographic knowledge of the subject and reason about the main concepts.

교육 기관: PhantomDuck1980

Nov 07, 2017

An excellent class! I strongly recommend it to everyone. It helped me a lot to understand fundamental aspects of Ancient Egypt Civilation. Very helpful!!!

교육 기관: Ying X

Mar 12, 2017

learned a lot about Egypt which is total vacancy in my knowledge before taking the course and helped in greater understanding of Penn Museum's collection

교육 기관: Tintu M

Feb 09, 2017

Excellent. A load of new things to know. Helps a lot to understand the diversity and the way of life of people who are ancient and also most intelligent.

교육 기관: Fan C

Sep 20, 2019

This course is really a good introduction to Ancient Egypt. I learn a lot of general information about Ancient Egypt and additional interesting topics.

교육 기관: Shuaib I

Apr 23, 2017

Touching on chronology , kingship , mythology , mummies and pyramids while informing and amazing this has been one of the most enjoyable courses ever .

교육 기관: Caitlin O

Mar 24, 2019

Fantastic course! Absolutely loved it and it was very easy to follow. I learnt a lot and it has increased my desire to learn more about Ancient Egypt.

교육 기관: Erin L

Feb 25, 2017

A quick but thorough introduction to Ancient Egypt, with the added bonus of serving as an introduction to the Penn Museum's Ancient Egypt collection

교육 기관: Christina P

Dec 12, 2016

I am inspired to travel to visit Penn Museum. I hope to soon. Thank you for the course, I would take more in this field in the future if offered.