Chevron Left
Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,201개의 평가
343개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

최상위 리뷰

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

MC

Feb 17, 2020

This is a great course about Ancient Egypt. I went right into the next course "Wonders of Egypt". I also love the Penn Museum in Philadelphia which inspired me to take this course!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization의 340개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Erin L

Feb 25, 2017

A quick but thorough introduction to Ancient Egypt, with the added bonus of serving as an introduction to the Penn Museum's Ancient Egypt collection

교육 기관: Christina P

Dec 12, 2016

I am inspired to travel to visit Penn Museum. I hope to soon. Thank you for the course, I would take more in this field in the future if offered.

교육 기관: Brittany S

Jun 21, 2017

I enjoyed this class, the last videos about the mummification process were particularly interesting and really humanized this ancient culture.

교육 기관: Janet B

Nov 21, 2019

Was an easy to follow format. Learned a lot and reviewed some material. Would love to go to the Univ, of Penn to see their Egyptian exhibit.

교육 기관: katrina h à c

Jan 17, 2017

i really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot. having the lectures inside the museum was great. i also really enjoyed the session in the lab.

교육 기관: Mathieu R

Dec 11, 2016

This course was very interesting. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to understand more some of the old Egypt mysteries. Thank you !

교육 기관: Maria

Dec 11, 2016

Thank you for that course, I was really waiting for it to appear in Coursera. A lot of new information, looking forward to the next course!

교육 기관: Anne E

Oct 09, 2017

Excellent diversion from contemporary ordeals and a joy to consider how much our society shares in common with ancient Egypt.

Thanks much!

교육 기관: Cristina M

Apr 30, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and I will miss Dr SIlverman's voice. This course made me eaer to kearn more about Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

교육 기관: Mounisha M

Aug 01, 2019

It's a great course I have completed. I have the answers of many of my questions about the Egyptian civilization. Thanks a lot coursera.

교육 기관: Adam P

Aug 24, 2018

This course was incredibly informative and the thorough integration of real artifacts was a pleasure. Thank you, Professor Silverman!

교육 기관: Sophia A

Mar 29, 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

교육 기관: Amber C M

Dec 18, 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!

교육 기관: Vojtěch K

May 15, 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

교육 기관: Rodrigo A F R

Dec 20, 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

교육 기관: Saloni L

Mar 24, 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.

교육 기관: Gonca D

Oct 15, 2017

This course presents an excellent introduction for ancient Egypt. For the beginners like me, it can't be better. Thanks!

교육 기관: Alyssa J L L

Aug 05, 2017

I would like to thank this course for giving me opportunity to learn and discover more about the Egyptian Civilization .

교육 기관: Audrey T

Dec 14, 2016

Fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt. Thought provoking and well researched. Has increased my interest in Egyptology.

교육 기관: Megan J P

Jul 09, 2017

I feel that I have learned a lot from this course. I am a historian and plan on using this knowledge in the future.

교육 기관: Robert L

Mar 05, 2017

It was very interesting and the Professor was very knowledgable. I enjoyed the course work and readings.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Cyrus W P Y

Nov 19, 2016

This is an extremly intrested couse it talkes about pharohs, gods, and the best of all mumification and after life!

교육 기관: Shriya M

May 18, 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

교육 기관: raashid a a

Feb 28, 2019

I really liked this course and how it gave me a week by week teaching of ancient egypt. It was really interesting!