Chevron Left
Introduction to Classical Music(으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 Introduction to Classical Music 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
1,763개의 평가
455개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Mar 07, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

ER

Mar 08, 2016

This course has a lot of information. It is well organized, and so many music illustrations. I am really enjoying this course, and will freely recommend it to anyone interested in classical music.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Classical Music의 441개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Nix-Nox

May 24, 2019

Professor Craig Wright did an exceptional job of explaining Classical music. He's clearly passionate about the subject and shares that along with a litany of useful information. His demeanor reminds me of Mr Rodgers, the way he masks education in friendly and easy to understand conversation. I would love to study more under his tutelage. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Ляндрес А А

May 17, 2019

Wonderful course with a lot of interesting, well-structured, enjoyful materials. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Carol L

May 07, 2019

I feel that I learned the most important basics of listening to music. I feel more qualified to differentiate between musical genres and have a conversation about musical terms. I appreciated seeing the relationship of music to the others arts during similar eras. This course was well worth my time.

교육 기관: Shaun B

Apr 28, 2019

What an incredible course and what an incredible journey I have been taken on through this history of music. I am now closer to my own music then I have ever been before and I now have a much deeper insight into music This is a course for understanding the journey of mankind as lived through music. As a musician I feel this is a 'must do' course for anyone who plays an instrument.

교육 기관: Jung K P

Mar 31, 2019

The excellent course I've ever taken. Thank you so much Prof. Craig. I had started with almost zero knowledge in music, but ended up with a box of music jewelries in my hand to enjoy. When the lecture reached to Mozart, I could not stop my passion to learn playing Piano, so I now do a self learning via online materials. I was unable to read the music notes even, now I am reading and challenging to know more day by day. I am a retired (from full time job) person, but starting to play piano like a kindergarten kid! Thank you again for the wonderful classes.

교육 기관: Robert B

Jun 20, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken so far. The instructor is simply the best and the material is awesome. I learnt so much and could not stop until I finished. Great job Prof. You are the best.

교육 기관: Michael N

Nov 23, 2018

This is an interesting and ear- and mind-opening course. In parts it is very good, but with some attention to a number of points it could be excellent.

I will list a number of the issues that I would like to see addressed:

The professor has a wide and profound knowledge, but speaks somewhat indistinctly. This is far from being helped by the English subtitles - I do not mean the transcription - but the English video subtitles (I am a native British English speaker) which appear to have been done by a deaf, non-musical, computer and hopefully not by a human. If they WERE done by a human, he or she was drunk or had no knowledge or interest in the content of the material. I have tried to contact the people in charge of the subtitles, but with no success. I understand that they are not the same people as those who perform translations. English subtitles for an English spoken course are apparently not handled by the translator volunteers but are so I was told, farmed out to an outside contactor. There are some absurd transcriptions in the subtitles, and it simply isn't possible to send in reports about each of them - Chello, Hayden, Richard (for we should) are just three that come to mind. The course deserves far better, even if Professor Wright's diction and delivery are sometimes problematic. I needed the subtitles, because Professor Wright's delivery is not always comprehensible. Unfortunately I found the English subtitles to be careless, wrong and inconsistent, and occasionally - groaningly funny.

I would be happy to consider reviewing the subtitles - but for this would need them as a separate and continuous file, against which the spoken text could be compared. If someone would like me to do this, please contact me at mneugarten@gmail.com

2. (for some reason this window does not allow the first point to labelled 1.) - the presenter plays (not always too well, on an appalling synthesizer. Why couldn't a piano be used? The music deserves better than the sound of a mock piano.

3. There appears to be no accompanying reading material. Yes, Professor Wright's book is referenced, but this does not seem to be available outside the US. Surely some additional references could and should have been found by now.

The above points detract in my opinion from what otherwise be a truly wonderful course.

I would be happy to hear your feedback.

Best regards

Dr Michael Neugarten

mneugarten@gmail.com

교육 기관: BJ H

Jun 17, 2019

Awesome class. Great details and breakdown of Classical music.

교육 기관: LSD

Jun 16, 2019

This course is great! Professor Wright and his team put great effort to make this course interesting and be easily understood.

Though actually, I can't fully grasp all the information. I still recommend it to you guys who are interested in classical music. Some materials and questions are a little difficult for me because I'm not a native speaker, so I had to look up the dictionary for the musical terms. (I hope one day there will be well-translated Chinese subtitles.) But trust me, it's completely fine to learn these new words and concepts. I can think more about the melody and rhythm when I'm listening to the works of J.S.Bach and Debussy now. And I hope I can have access to these materials after finishing it.

Anyway, If you stick to it, there will be gains! Thank you for the amazing course!

교육 기관: hilary

Apr 26, 2016

I enjoyed the course very much, and especially the tutor's interesting and informative way of teaching.

thank you very much. I feel that ai have really benefitted from it.

Hilary Tirnover

교육 기관: Emilia R

Mar 08, 2016

This course has a lot of information. It is well organized, and so many music illustrations. I am really enjoying this course, and will freely recommend it to anyone interested in classical music.

교육 기관: Shen L

Mar 07, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

교육 기관: Hermione F

Aug 15, 2016

I feel Professor Craig Wright offers a comprehensive, varied, accessible and fun overview of a very large subject, starting right at the beginning of musical history and bringing you up to the present day. He uses a wide variety of visual and audio resources including relevant works of art, architecture, artefacts, sketches, quotes from historical documents, surviving musical scores, music recordings, videos of live orchestral performance, music animations, costume, period instruments and interviews with musical colleagues of his who are able to share their expertise. In addition to all this he offers us his own photographs from his pilgrimages to cities such as Vienna, which adds further to the course's personal touch.

What comes across throughout Wright's course videos is his immense love of, and desire to share that love of classical music, which for me is a major factor in what makes the course so appealing. I also enjoy his sense of humour and efforts to appeal to a younger generation (Wright is in his 70s). At more than one point in the course he adopts fancy dress to reflect the period he is exploring. A highlight I feel is when the course features a clip from one of his lectures at Yale University where he enrolls some colleagues to enact a scene from Don Giovanni in which Wright plays an angry father, slain by Don Giovanni in a duel. It is a touching (and amusing) example of his good humour and ability to have fun with his students.

My only criticism would be his own piano playing which is often rushed and inaccurate, but I feel this is largely due to the time constraints of filming the videos. By his own admission, he realised early on in life that he was not up to the challenge of being a concert pianist - he is primarily a musicologist, not a pianist. Every piece of music touched on in the course is available via the course Spotify playlist (extremely helpful) so there is no difficulty in listening to professional recordings of all the pieces discussed.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone seeking a background knowledge of the evolution of musical history.

교육 기관: fding

Dec 22, 2018

Good, good, good, good.

Good, good, good, good.

Plz sing these words as Ludwig van Beethoven.

교육 기관: Leandro F

Dec 27, 2018

Muy bueno. Completo, de facil comprension. Ademas permite ahondar sobre la aperciacion musical sin inmiscuirse demasiado en la teoria. Lo cual lo hace muy entretenido, llevadero.

교육 기관: Vi G

Jan 04, 2019

I grew up in an "if you can't do it, stay away from it" environment and as a kid with a ear stomped on by an elephant that is completely unmusical it didn't make much sense indulging in a pleasure and a subject I could never possibly pursue and practice. Following the course showed me you don't need to be a born creator to enjoy classical music.

교육 기관: Sushil M

Jan 30, 2019

This is a great Course and a must for every Musician. Professor Wright Explains very Well

교육 기관: Max C

Jan 31, 2019

This was a very well put together course. Many areas of significant western classical music periods were discussed and shown here. The best part of this course was hearing about music that one may not of been as aware about but excellent as well.

교육 기관: Juraj F

Nov 08, 2018

Thank you professor, great introduction to classical music

교육 기관: Beatriz d C R

Nov 09, 2018

The course is really good! I have leaned a lot so far. It is marvelous to have a course that quality delivered to your door, like that. Awesome! Thanks

교육 기관: Rui P

Nov 25, 2018

Amazing!

교육 기관: Beth B

Nov 10, 2018

I am new to the study of classical music. I am really enjoying this challenging material.

교육 기관: Melissa C

Jan 16, 2019

Excelente curso. Bien planeado y explicado. Es entretenido y logra establecer empatía con el estudiante.

교육 기관: Derfoufi

Jan 09, 2019

Bonjour, j'ai beaucoup appris à travers ce cours. En plus des objectifs cités dans la présentation, j'ai découvert les points marquants de chaque période de la musique classique, l'architecture qui va avec, l'interaction des musiciens avec les autres artistes et leur recherche ardue du savoir là où il est pour la plupart d'entre eux.

Je vous remercie vivement et je vous félicite professeur Wright pour le grand effort pédagogique que vous avez déployé. Je remercie aussi l'université Yale qui a mis à notre disposition ce magnifique cours.

Salutations

교육 기관: Diana C P M

Jan 10, 2019

This is the best course ever !!! The teacher is great, I really enjoy the classes and it was helpfull for my research. Thanks! :)