Chevron Left
Introduction to Classical Music(으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 Introduction to Classical Music 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
1,784개의 평가
461개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Mar 07, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

ER

Mar 08, 2016

This course has a lot of information. It is well organized, and so many music illustrations. I am really enjoying this course, and will freely recommend it to anyone interested in classical music.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Classical Music의 448개 리뷰 중 426~448

교육 기관: Leen R

Apr 06, 2016

Great course! I learned a lot, discovered new music and the way mr. Wright presents the content is very good.

교육 기관: Jean R

Aug 24, 2016

Excellent panorama of classical music.

I specially like the lesson about Mozart and the "Dark side of Mozart", and what was said about the social evolution of the musicians.

교육 기관: Georgios K

May 23, 2017

I think it is a nice course, which helps you appreciate classical music more. Somehow, I feel the explanation of classical music up to Beethoven is stronger or at least less boring than the explanation after Beethoven period. nevertheless a fantastic work and I really enjoyed it. Thank you Professor Wright.

교육 기관: Simon Y

Nov 14, 2016

I have taken this course before. If I remember rightly it was a longer course (11 weeks?) and the pacing felt good. It seems it has been compressed into a 9-week course, with some weeks having quite a heavy workload demand and the whole course feeling slightly crammed and rushed.

I realise that perhaps the longer the course, the higher the dropout rate, but I think people who made it to 7-8 weeks of the old course would continue it to completion, while for this course I found myself scrambling for time almost weekly -- I wonder if in fact the dropout rate wouldn't be higher at this kind of pace.

Content-wise the course was excellent -- stimulating, clear, engagingly presented.

교육 기관: 柴洪源

Mar 01, 2016

有趣的讲解古典音乐的课。

교육 기관: Dang M D

May 15, 2016

cool

교육 기관: Bruce F

Mar 08, 2018

A well designed, informative, course with an excellent teacher. One comment: when playing musical examples, it would have been helpful if the instructor's comments had been put in text on the screen rather than having the instructor talk over the music.

교육 기관: Yaakov H

May 11, 2017

simply wonderful, but hated his gregorian chant bit. as well assumes you know a bit about music theory.

교육 기관: Abhishek D

Aug 15, 2016

Amazing teaching

교육 기관: Estelle S

May 05, 2019

beginner friendly

교육 기관: Stephen H

Aug 20, 2019

An excellent course that taught me (Swiss retiree with moderate keyboard experience and knowledge of classical music) a great deal of very interesting background information. It has given me a thorough overview of the periods and composers in the history of music and insights into the lives of the composers and the artists and general public of the various times. Additionally it has provided very useful inputs on the form and shape of music composition which will prove useful as I write my own simple works using MuseScore for music notation and playback. I plan next to follow the NUS course on "Composing Like Mozart." Hearty thanks to Professor Craig and the whole Yale Broadcast Center team - fantastic experience!

교육 기관: Trudy W

Nov 17, 2019

Fantasic!

교육 기관: Kenneth O

Nov 08, 2019

Overall I loved the course and found Dr. Wright to be very engaging. I learned a lot and truly enjoyed the experience. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that I found the course too technical at times. As a "non-music" participant I found the deeper dives into the technical aspects of the music to be confusing and a bit beyond my understanding. I do not read music, nor do I play an instrument so it was easy to get lost in the jargon. I actively listen to and enjoy a wide variety of music across the classical spectrum, including opera. This course will definitely enhance my listening experiences because it gave me context that I did not previously bring to them.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Feb 26, 2017

The content is interesting but the videos are quite long. Also, in the audit version all quizzes are blocked.

교육 기관: Alex C

Jun 04, 2017

Good lecturer, nice focus on the subject... it awakes your sensibility for Music.

교육 기관: Akash K

Feb 07, 2016

He is awesome in reaching every aspect of Classical music.

교육 기관: Nikolay B

Jan 12, 2018

Great lectures, but absolutely no supplementary materials, no assignment, no lecture notes, nothing. Just video. Worst organised course I ever seen on Coursera

교육 기관: Emil

May 13, 2019

Not exactly, what I've expected, but one could learn a few new things. It is informative.

교육 기관: Павел В

Jun 03, 2016

The course looks a lot like advertisement of a textbook. I don't have anything against ads, but ads are not very suitable for teaching.

교육 기관: afnan A

Jan 18, 2017

What I've watched wasn't as what I expected.

I would give it 2 out of 5 as addressing my needs.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

Interesting course but it had way too many quizzes and was extremely tedious. I would not recommend this course to anyone!

교육 기관: Miguel A

Sep 07, 2019

I was disappointed in the low level of this course, which I did not expect from Yale University. It is full of unnuanced generalizations, clichés and oversimplifications. Paired with dr. Wright's slow manner of speech and his blatant repetition of key words, I felt like I was in elementary school again!

The details are also not always accurate. For example, in the part about Handel, dr Wright says that his operas are about classical history and myth. In fact, more than a third have settings in the middle ages. I could accept this as a generalization, albeit a large and unnecessary one. But he also says that the title character from the opera Rinaldo is some figure of classical mythology, which is factually wrong. In the context of the video it was not important at all. Yet if it's deliberate, it is in my opinion highly inappropiate to 'change' facts to fit your generalization. And if it's accidental, it's sloppy. In either case, it seems below the standard of Yale.

And that was not the only inaccuracy, but I won't make this review any longer.

In short, my problems with this course are probably due to my wrong expectations. It is probably a great course for the larger public, but the level is below academic.

교육 기관: Tymothy S

May 16, 2016

Class was boring and the professor wasn't inspired nor inspiring.