Chevron Left
Introduction to Classical Music(으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 Introduction to Classical Music 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
2,773개의 평가
810개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Mar 07, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

ER

Mar 08, 2016

This course has a lot of information. It is well organized, and so many music illustrations. I am really enjoying this course, and will freely recommend it to anyone interested in classical music.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Classical Music의 794개 리뷰 중 726~750

교육 기관: Silvia A

Mar 27, 2020

Loved it

교육 기관: Rui P

Nov 25, 2018

Amazing!

교육 기관: Angus L

Jun 02, 2017

fabulous

교육 기관: 博聞 曾

Oct 12, 2016

教授讲课很有风度

교육 기관: Deleted A

Mar 24, 2016

Great!!!

교육 기관: Vincent Z

Dec 21, 2015

绝对的好课!!!

교육 기관: Iris

Mar 18, 2019

非常生动,有趣

교육 기관: Aaron

Feb 24, 2019

Amazing

교육 기관: David

Jul 28, 2016

¡Super!

교육 기관: Lorelei J

Jul 26, 2017

Great!

교육 기관: Ramon T

Jun 21, 2017

great!

교육 기관: oscar r

Mar 15, 2016

Great!

교육 기관: Gordon R

Mar 09, 2016

Bravo!

교육 기관: Allanliule

Jun 15, 2016

great

교육 기관: Noah T

Jun 10, 2016

bueno

교육 기관: Bigfoot

Jun 18, 2016

cool

교육 기관: Hai y

Jun 08, 2018

TQ

교육 기관: 谭华

Oct 26, 2017

很好

교육 기관: Elizabeth R D

Jan 03, 2020

V

교육 기관: Sahar S F

Feb 11, 2018

t

교육 기관: Kathryn C K

Aug 23, 2017

L

교육 기관: Edward B

Aug 20, 2020

Good overall intro to Classical Music. First three weeks gives an overview of music theory, the rest of the course reviews in broad strokes the various periods of the history of music highlighting the advances and changes seen in each. There are attempts made throughout to tie the music history to historical signposts of visual and other art (less so to historical events, to its detriment). I have no special music background and never seriously played an instrument yet found the course fairly easy to follow. My tenuous grasp of music theory (acquired from those first three weeks) did not really limit me although had it been stronger I would have gotten more out of the course. But it was not essential. I think the teaching was a bit uneven - I appreciated the focus and pace (ie not too fast) but I thought some of the videos were plodding and the visuals static and unexciting. I read one of the reviews noting that Professor Wright's style was as if Mr. Rogers was teaching music history. Unfortunately I found this true in his pacing and delivery of information. The course itself fails to "sing", it tends to plod. It seems fairly basic and not particularly sophisticated; I would say that it fulfills its role as an introduction to music history for freshmen in college but failed to bring particularly intriguing insight to music that might excite an older student (like me - freshman year was 49 years ago for me). I am sure that Prof Wright can bring far more to the topic than this course would suggest. I was amused to hear him break into very credible Philip Glass (well, I can't play at all so he does far better than I ever could with all the music he plays). And talk about his friendship to John Adams. To sum up however: I enjoyed the course and it will be the basis of further learning - the point to an introduction!

교육 기관: Elizabeth T

Mar 22, 2020

Professor Wright is knowledgeable and passionate about his field. His lectures cover a lot of ground and provide a fascinating introduction to classical music. I enjoyed the course and learned a great deal. I especially enjoyed the lectures on the evolution of the piano.

A couple of things are less than ideal.

-Foreign-language pronunciation is often approximate at best

-Mistakes on transcripts are left un-corrected. (Just one example: the lecture on the national anthems - Germany and Austria do not share the same melody for their anthems.)

-Some of the quizzes are fine. Some questions, however, test small details which have very little if nothing to do with the main points of the lecture. (I'm not talking about the listening quizzes which some participants complained about in the forums. Those are actually appropriate in my opinion.)

교육 기관: Simon B

Apr 18, 2020

A very good course that allowed me to occupy myself during this COVID situation, but also to enrich my musical background and knowledge as I never knew of many technical terms before nor of the various differences with the music currents. Allowed me to discover many artists and know their specific contributions to the musical culture of our world.

My two criticisms would be the overabundance of quizzes in the course and their small ponderation points. Would have preferred one quiz at the end of each week offering either 10% or 15% of ponderation. Furthermore, the triad (diminished, augmented, major, minor) identification test was very frustrating and annoying. Would have preferred if such questions had been put inside another quiz that questioned other topics.

Apart from that, a very good course I encourage you all to participate.