Chevron Left
Introduction to Psychology(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Introduction to Psychology 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,296개의 평가
1,106개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will highlight the most interesting experiments within the field of psychology, discussing the implications of those studies for our understanding of the human mind and human behavior. We will explore the brain and some of the cognitive abilities it supports like memory, learning, attention, perception and consciousness. We will examine human development - both in terms of growing up and growing old - and will discuss the manner in which the behavior of others affect our own thoughts and behavior. Finally we will discuss various forms of mental illness and the treatments that are used to help those who suffer from them. The fact of the matter is that humans routinely do amazing things without appreciating how interesting they are. However, we are also routinely influenced by people and events without always being aware of those influences. By the end of this course you will have gained a much better understanding and appreciation of who you are and how you work. And I can guarantee you that you'll learn things that you'll be telling your friends and family about, things that will fundamentally change the way you think of yourself and others. How can you resist that?!...

최상위 리뷰

HW

Feb 17, 2017

I loved every minute of this course! Professor Joordens was very engaging and it was set at just the right pace. I'm looking forward to my next course already! The discussion forums are very helpful.

EC

Dec 16, 2016

good course. suitable for starters. I learnt some basics and something interesting. I now can analyse some social events from the psychology point of view. I understand humanity a little bit better.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Psychology의 1,084개 리뷰 중 1001~1025

교육 기관: Katharine A

Jul 09, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Professor Joordens is super knowledgeable and his interest in the subject is evident. The extra videos and resources were an added bonus. Some of the links were no longer working (copyright reasons, etc.), and I may be incorrect about this, but a couple questions on the final seemed to be about material that hadn't been covered (about parenting, I think?). Overall, great course, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to explore the subject.

교육 기관: James T

Mar 15, 2017

I enjoyed everything about this course. The lectures were snappy, engaging and informative. The topics moved quickly, but not so much that it skimmed.

The resources don't always work (because the links are external) and the exams are misaligned, with questions on the Week 6 exam based on lectures from Week 7. This is a problem, and will reduce people's grades for sure, but this doesn't sway me from recommending this course.

교육 기관: kevinm

Dec 20, 2017

It gave me a good overall foundation for future psychology courses and the content was interesting and properly-leveled.

The only downsides were some outdated supplementary materials, a wonky interface for the final paper submission, and a plethora of unprofessional typos/misspellings (e.g. "agression" or "predjudice" or even the final exam had a misspelling in one of the answers "confindence" or something like that).

교육 기관: Justin L

Jul 03, 2020

This course is an excellent choice for anyone seeking to gain an introduction to Psychology, The course is delivered with an emphasis on understanding and allows you to take in each topic ranging from Neurology to Mental Illness. I will highly recommend this course in the future. Professor Joordens is excellent and does what it takes in his online video lectures so as you will take information and learn from it.

교육 기관: diane m

Dec 09, 2018

Never thought I could enjoy so much 12 weeks on psychology! Thanks to Steeve Joordens it was really easy to understand the various topics. I've learned so much and it gave me the hint to know more and to use this knowledge in my professional field. I have now enrolled for positive psychology course, and this introduction gave me a good base to keep on going further.... Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Chandra L G

Mar 13, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the teaching style of this instructor. Would have preferred to continue future educating with the same instructor. The courses do account for time out of the education system. Ppl can also sign on at their convenience and the deadline reminders were a life saver. I have already signed up to continue moving forward, keeping an active brain and learning. Thrilled!

교육 기관: Gilbert R

Jan 01, 2020

Last YearI received this course with Steve.I took the course for free and was very happy to do it again this year.

I was a few points averaged under 70 but started right off the start on the Quiz with 45%.I stuck to the course for close to the year and wasn't too worried about my certificates! I’m looking forward for this years . Happy New Year’s course.gilbert

교육 기관: Hakim B

Feb 06, 2018

Fascinating topic and most of the classes were relevant, covering a large array of questions from the structure of the brain, to the explanation of childhood trauma. But having a very synthetic turn of mind, I would have liked to get shorter lessons, straight to the point (even if the teacher's style was really enjoyable and relaxing). Thank you teacher!

교육 기관: sarah l

Dec 16, 2017

The lectures were engaging and relevant. I also appreciating the introduction to a multitude of theories and experiments. My only frustration was the lack of effort put in by classmates where the peer reviewed assignment was concerned. Many wrote nonsensical phrases such as "abcdef" and I felt that the peer review grading was lacking critical thought.

교육 기관: Josh

Jul 19, 2017

I really enjoyed this course - the professor was really animated and you could tell he really enjoyed teaching his subject. However, I wish there was more exploration of each topic. The prof. does give a whole host of resources at the end of each lecture with which one can explore however i feel as if the lecture was slightly time constrained.

교육 기관: Kjell D M

Oct 25, 2017

Great course to get a rough delineation of the main concepts of psychology. The tutor is a good teacher, he's funny, knows his content well, and most importantly can bring it over in a simple but deep enough way (with clean powerpoint slides and meaningful extra material). Kudos to you Steve! Thank you very much to whoever worked on this. :)

교육 기관: Huthayfah A

Oct 22, 2017

The material is very easy to grasp for beginners. Moreover, the instructor presents in a way that always makes you curious and interested to learn more and, best of all, makes the presentation itself fun.

The only problem is with the exams, which occasionally ask you questions on material not yet covered.

교육 기관: Ram P

Mar 15, 2017

Very friendly approach & easy way of teaching made me more positive. Some PPTs were dark so that i couldn't focus well on letters but all other aspects were nice. Especially my Prof. Steve Joordans was very friendly. i miss his lecture a lot. Overall it was a wonderful experience. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Abdelrahman E

Jan 11, 2020

A great starting point for whom need to learn about Psychology. but i think it will be better if video lectures contain more illustration and written items and short videos showing the experiments discussed in the lecture.

Thank you for giving me such a great opportunity to learn more.

Love you.

교육 기관: Wilma M - P

Jun 13, 2018

I find the course GREAT! A Game -changer, Relevant and Research-based, Engaging and Enriching, Awesome Professor and Thought-provoking lectures and discussionsGREAT! Thank you very much Professor Steeve Joordens, to Coursera and to our peers for this learning opportunity.

교육 기관: Chanuwas A

Dec 30, 2016

I found the course pretty engaging. I enjoy studying it and also feel encouraged to do some further study. However, the topics that are taught are not very holistic to me compared to some other basic psychology courses. Anyway, it's still a nice course to take :)

교육 기관: Temitope A O

Jun 13, 2020

While registering for this course, I made a payment from the VISA Card with my wife's visa card. The name on it is Ibironke M Oguntuase. Surprisingly , I cant find my certificate at the end of the course.

Kindly check and do the needful urgently.

교육 기관: Taylor C

Jan 30, 2018

Course itself was perfect, materials were taught in a great way, both enriching and understandable.

My only concerns are the practices and exams. It would be better if more practice questions were provided and exam answers were given to students.

교육 기관: Madi M

Dec 26, 2018

I really enjoyed it, I learned a lot and it helped put into word the concepts I could only think about in my head and not translate. Really opened my eyes more to understand the world around me. I just wish the course had even more topics!

교육 기관: Ramez T

Jan 15, 2019

Just enough information to be enough - doesn't go too much in depth, but not completely on the surface either. Gives good examples. Always has additional resources for more information. Professor has good sense of humor. Canadian!

교육 기관: Gilbert R

Jan 31, 2018

Realy enjoyed the course dynamics.I did audit this course but i did get a good feel of it. I do understand there is another course with the professer on feb.5.I would to do this course again and see if I can get a good feel of it.

교육 기관: Mohamed E B

Nov 03, 2016

its good but i need something more advanced , more questions and answers , more articles , more videos.

and also it needs Arabic subtitles .

but i am so grateful to the work you have done to spread something valuable like this

교육 기관: Mohammad A S

Oct 22, 2018

This course is actually quite helpful even if you've no prior knowledge about psychology. If you know a bit of it like me, then it's really good to brush up your basics and fill yourself up with trivia and fun facts!

교육 기관: Moses N

Aug 25, 2017

I enjoyed the lessons with Steve Joordens, I could relate to his sense of humour. I could tell he wanted to share more but there was a time limitation. Some of the links were broken though. Please update these