Chevron Left
Introduction to Calculus(으)로 돌아가기

시드니 대학교의 Introduction to Calculus 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,957개의 평가

강좌 소개

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

최상위 리뷰

OM

2020년 9월 26일

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

CN

2021년 11월 13일

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement

my will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Calculus의 923개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Phil

2020년 4월 11일

This is a very well-crafted course that builds in a very systematic way. The algebra also builds in complexity. The quiz's are challenging and prepare you well for the module assessments. The notes are well written and will serve as good references for me in the future. The delivery of the content is done with enthusiasm, clear mastery of the subject and clear diagrams and explanations of the key concepts. Thank you very much for a beautifully crafted course, I wish I had understood Calculus this well when I was in high school. Highly recommend the course. However, for me, I found I needed to spend much longer that what is estimated in order to fully grasp some of the more difficult quiz questions. The notes and the forums do fill in the gaps when you get stuck. I feel an enormous sense of achievement and confidence in the subject. Thanks Prof!

교육 기관: Mohammad B S

2021년 7월 12일

This is an excellent course. I highly recommend it. Nevertheless, I have one piece of advice for you: don't try to finish it in five weeks!

Mathematics is a subject that can not be digested in large chunks. You will do well if you would study for just one lesson a day. Watch the lecture, read the notes, and solve the quiz after each subject. Don't study for more than one lesson per day as you will be too exhausted to concentrate. If you study one subject per day, it will take you three to four months to finish the course. This is the normal time for a university-level course. Also, you would need a thick notebook and a pencil to solve the problems and exams given in the course.

Calculus is the foundation of many scientific and all engineering disciplines. I hope that you will also pass this course.

교육 기관: Brian A

2020년 2월 2일

This course was a ton of work and took me a lot longer than 5 weeks to complete, but I absolutely loved it! The material is presented by a fantastic, well-spoken professor with a contagious enthusiasm for the subject. The well-built user interface includes video instruction with accompanying notes and practice quizzes. The user forum is also super helpful where the professor offered help to students' questions along the way. I found the default deadlines helpful to maintain momentum, but appreciated being able to reset them in order to accomodate demands on my personal time. Altogether, this course is world class and well worth the effort. Thank you, Coursera and Professor Easdown!

교육 기관: Michael C

2019년 8월 8일

This course was exceptional as a refresher for someone (me) who hasn't engaged in calculus in over 13 years. Professor Easdown communicated concepts in a straight-forward, easy to understand manner. It shocked me how he introduced so much material, so quickly, so concisely, and so thoroughly. The readings followed and expanded on the videos exceptionally well and will serve me well as reference sheets for the future.

This summer, I attempted 3 other processes to learn Calculus, each leaving me more lost and frustrated than the prior method. I only wish I had found this course earlier! If any seek a good introduction/refresher to Calculus, I recommend this before anything else!

교육 기관: An H

2020년 3월 8일

I wanted to review pre-calculus and that's exactly what i found in this course.

David Easdown is a great lecturer and conveys the best attitude towards mathematics possible. It was so much fun to listen to him explain everything. Also he's very active in the forums for this course, answering pretty much any question arising which is great if one has trouble with the exercises for which he has also provided general hints in the forums.

This course was perfect for regaining all the knowledge i learned in school 15 years back. And this over a the course of 10 weeks spending just over 100 hours. (I was going a bit slower on my own terms)

교육 기관: Adam R

2020년 2월 10일

I used this course as a refresher (I took calculus ~6 years ago in high school) and it was very effective as such. I prefer written notes to video lectures, so I cannot speak to the quality of the videos, but I found the notes to be concise, effective, and easy to follow. They provided several interesting and informative proofs and derivations that I don't recall learning about originally. I would highly recommend this course to anyone mathematically minded, whether or not they have taken a calculus course before. Many compliments to Prof. Easdown, who was very helpful in the forums.

교육 기관: Rukshan J S

2020년 9월 13일

I enrolled in this course a long time ago and at first, I did not go through because I saw a lot of exercises. Little did I know that those exercises were very carefully created to cater to the best learning experience for the student. Prof. Easdown is the best Calculus teacher ever! If anything kept me going throughout this journey, it was his enthusiasm when teaching. Thank you soo much sir! "Please read the notes, and when you are ready, please attempt the exercises", the enthusiasm is priceless. Again, thank you, sir, and thank you Coursera!

교육 기관: Chris A M

2020년 1월 18일

The lessons were delivered clearly and explained the content thoroughly, delivering both mathematical methodology and history, allowing students to grow and develop an appreciation of the mathematical concepts. The tutor was superb with his teaching methods, and often replies to questions on the forums when a question seems to difficult to overcome.

Would definitely recommend to future students who are new to the concepts behind calculus, as the high quality of the content provided gives clear insights into what-seems-to-be difficult concepts.

교육 기관: David N

2020년 5월 17일

I can not rate this course highly enough. The instructor has this contagious enthusiasm and genuine love for his subject. The accompanying lecture notes are really helpful and the quizzes push you hard. I would love to see a course on more advanced calculus from him. Although being an introductory course, it does not shy away from slightly more complex topics and leaves the student with a broad understanding of calculus. These were four very enjoyable weeks and I am now eager to dig deeper into advanced mathematics. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Nick C

2020년 2월 17일

This was a fantastic introductory course to the basic concepts of calculus. Dr. Easdown is an amazing teacher able to distill the most complex of topics into simple and easy-to-understand language. His passion for mathematics is palpable and infectious. I would highly recommend taking this specific course to those looking to get an introduction into calculus or even to those looking for a refresher in topics before more advanced study. It was well worth the effort over the five weeks. Thank you so much, Dr. Easdown!!

교육 기관: Arthur S

2020년 6월 1일

I would like to thank Prof. David Easdown for the very good presentation and lectures that he had given. I took this class to refresh me with fundamental concepts of Calculus as I have taken the Calculus courses more than 40 years ago. The presentation is very clear and the reading materials enhance the concepts that are discussed in the presentations and provide clear examples that I used as guides in reviewing and taking the chapter quizzes.

I look forward taking other courses from Prof. David Easdown in the future.

교육 기관: Robbert W

2020년 10월 9일

Great introduction course to calculus. I was looking for a course to freshen up my math knowledge from my high school time (20 years ago). This covered a lot of the key topics and went deeper into the reasons and proofs behind certain laws and rules. The pace is good and the setup allows you to skip ahead to quizes if you already have a good command of one of the topics. Only downside is that, due to nature of a digital platform, all quizes and assessments are multiple choice.

교육 기관: Vikram C J

2020년 4월 23일

Really thankful for this wonderful course. Prior to this course I never had the confidence over the concepts of calculus. During my school days all I was taught was "How to solve the differential equations, etc." with not even slightest of emphasis put on teaching us what we were actually doing and why we were doing it. This course gave me the understanding that I liked. Guess I'll be one of those now spreading "Math is fun". Thank you Coursera and especially Professor Easdown.

교육 기관: Imam

2020년 5월 18일

This is the best calculus introduction course i've ever seen. The way David Easdown teach was very very good and easy to understand. He mixes history with concept of math so you don't just learn to use calculus techniques, but also understand the history and the concept behind it. Very very recommended for those who seeks an introduction to calculus. Though, a bit understanding of algebra will be helpful. Kudos to University of Sydney and David for making this course free!

교육 기관: Nirosh S

2020년 6월 9일

Great execution ! I deeply think that the math presented here are affordable for everyone and therefore is a great way to get initiated to the calculus. The teacher is great and the videos, the sheets and quizzes provided are really good to improve the understanding of each themes covered.

I'm starting new studies in mechanical engineering and it was really refreshing and educating to follow this course. Thanks a lot to provide such great content ! Definitely recommended.

교육 기관: Anantharaman K

2020년 5월 14일

The course is excellent on content and its Delivery. Mr. David's, the instructor, enthusiasm and energy is infectious (poor analogy given the time but still an absolute FACT). Covered pretty much the basics and introduction to calculus in a fun way. Content Delivery is awesome and extensive with range of examples. The course is designed like a continuous story, coherent with previous week's modules and his presentation is extraordinary. Please Keep up the good work.

교육 기관: Светлана К

2019년 9월 12일

It was my gretest pleasure to listen to the lectures of Mr. Easdown. I liked Math at school, our teacher was very knowledgable and passionate about the subject. I've met just a couple of such great teachers like him. Mr. Easdown now is one of them. Even though I started this course just to refresh logarithms, I could not resist to finish it and always looked forward to the next lecture. Moreover, I would love to attend another course made by Mr. Easdown!

교육 기관: Jeffrey M I

2020년 5월 4일

David Easdown is one of the best educators I have ever had the privilege to study with. His knowledge of the material is clear, but what is more remarkable is his ability to explain the advanced concepts in a clear and concise manner. Even more impressive and notable is his enthusiam for the subject - he has clear joy in studying the field, and he shares this almost mystical enthusiasm and wonder with his students. Thank you for the experience.

교육 기관: Mohamed R A P

2020년 6월 14일

One of the best course I have ever learnt from Coursera. David is an excellent instructor and explains the concepts thoroughly. The best part is that he himself answers all your doubts directly. If you want to have your basics strong in Calculus this course is for you. A very good course and I am pretty much sure that you won't be disappointed taking this course. Thanks a lot to Prof David and Coursera team.

Thanks & Regards,

Mohamed

교육 기관: Gregory S

2019년 6월 1일

Excellently presented course with a great instructor. David Easdown's enthusiasm for the subject helped keep me motiviated. It does require a lot of work per week to keep up with the suggested schedule of the course, but just keep in mind they are not hard deadlines and your progress is not lost if you do not meet them. If you want a great introduction into one of the most interesting and useful areas in maths, give it a go!

교육 기관: Gilberto B

2022년 4월 20일

The Calculus is a fundamental tool for engineers and is incredible the ways this teacher approaches this introductory course, it is highly recommended for begginers, as for engineers who wants to review the fundamental concepts of this important topic. It is remarkable the way he teaches the basic concepts of algebra to reach the calculus, is outstanding!! Thanks to Coursera and to Professor David for this opportunity.

교육 기관: David G

2022년 5월 16일

David Easdown was a very good instructor and provided excelllent support when needed. The course was set out very well and worked on a steady gradient of difficulty which made achieving goals and milestones worthwhile. I would recommend this highly to someone wanting to get a thorough grounding in Introductory Calculus. This has been a rewarding experience. Thanks to Coursera!

교육 기관: Tomer P

2020년 8월 30일

Marvelous and fascinating course. David is teaching this course with such passion and enthusiasm. Every small detail is explained with care and provided with examples which help students fully understand and experience why the theory behind works. The fully detailed reading notes and quizzes accompanied to each lesson are the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Anna

2021년 1월 25일

This course is just one of the most legit courses on calc I've taken on the Internet. The lector is a professional with such a contagious passion for math, lessons are very well explained and structured. If you wanna see the beauty of math, I think this course is for you. THANK YOU SO SO MUCH!

교육 기관: Muhammad E

2020년 6월 14일

One of the Best Math Courses Ever!

I Really do hope that the university of Sydney make sequels for it

and Mr. David Easdown thank you very much for the effort and the entertaining way you offered this course in!

really appreciate your effort and loved your enthusiasm for math