Chevron Left
An Intuitive Introduction to Probability(으)로 돌아가기

취리히 대학교의 An Intuitive Introduction to Probability 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,370개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

최상위 리뷰

NS

2017년 9월 16일

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

VI

2022년 4월 26일

Wow. What an amazing journey. Engaging, exciting, and as far from broring as it is possible while providing actual knowledge. Perfect balance. The only downside of this course is that is it too short.

필터링 기준:

An Intuitive Introduction to Probability의 545개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Lokesh K

2019년 2월 2일

The most essential course on the fundamentals of probability theory with an amazing professor whose enthusiasm for teaching the concepts is irresistible and captivating. I literally loved this course so much so that my high-school dream of some-day fully grasping the real intuitive concepts of probability come true. Thank you very much Sir for teaching me this course. I have become a fan of you. Request you to offer some courses on the financial side aspects of the uncertainty and how best it should be managed.

교육 기관: Gonzalo F V

2020년 7월 11일

Karl is amazing, and all the lectures are in a very intuitive order and very good explained. The course heavily relies on Excel, and even though I'm not an Excel fan, but instead I rather use Python for analysis, it was useful since the exercises are very good for better understanding the concepts with real world examples. I just skipped the specific parts of the videos talking about Excel formulas. Overall I would highly recommend this course for anyone needing a refresh of the basic concepts in probability.

교육 기관: Ahmed T

2022년 7월 22일

The course is excellent for beginners to build an intuion as the course promises. You cannot expect it to contain some advanced topics. It is a good stepping stone for me to continue studying probability and statics with a better understanding of the topic.

The only drawback of the course is the lack of exercises as after each video the exercise contains only two problems/questions.

Other than that, it is great. I also liked the problems and applications that were introduced.

교육 기관: Donna K

2020년 3월 19일

Wonderful course! I've never been as fascinated with the subject of Probability as I am now. This has been a great starting point. I was quite sad to find out that Karl Schmedders has no other MOOC on Coursera. I would have taken them all. I'm now off to start other (slightly more advanced) Probability courses. Thank you, Karl and Jose! You are fantastic teachers. Learning from you was so much fun. There was never a dull moment. I cannot recommend this course highly enough.

교육 기관: Hassan M

2022년 5월 16일

Look no further! This course is a must-take --> It is compact and practical, with extremely useful concepts that you'll be grateful to learn. I became aware of very useful concepts that I've taken and used at work to help detect fraud! Moreover, Professor Karl Schmedders is one of the best teachers, if not the best, that I have personally encountered across the many courses I took online, and the 4 universities I've actually attended throughout my studies. Beyond 5-star!

교육 기관: RP

2022년 2월 5일

One of the best probability course I have take!

This is a gentle introductory course only so don't expect to come out of it as a probabiliity or stats whiz. But it is an excellent starting point! The instructor is enthusiastic about the subject and teaching it to the students. He claims to make you like probability (or atleast be more open to it) and in that goal he succeeded! The language and examples make probability feel intuitive rather than a text-book concept.

교육 기관: Gaurav K S

2017년 4월 17일

Excellent approach to explaining the theory. The emphasis on getting the fundamentals right was a welcome change from other similar courses which get into problem solving mode too soon without clarifying the basics. That being said the usage of multiple real world problems like Monty Hall, Prosecutor's Dilemma and the brilliant explanation for solutions helped me derive great clarity on key concepts. The best Coursera course I have encountered in a while.

교육 기관: Olivio A C J

2020년 7월 3일

The course delivers what it promises, and quite well. It is not, as its name infers, a mathematical course. Professor Schmedders' explanations are very good and makes the classes very interesting to watch. It is an introductory course and is a good first step to go deeper in the theme in other courses. It was worth doing. Thanks a lot, professor Schmedders. I hope you can prepare other courses for us in the future. I loved your first course.

교육 기관: Jae N

2022년 4월 29일

Probability is a very dense and dry subject. However, the instructor, Karl Schmedders, made the subject interesting. In addition, he explained topics such as conditional probability and "Monty Hall" paradox very clearly so that I now understand those topics very well.

It seems that some of the material that was planned to be shared with on-line students were not shared, such as some Excel spreadsheets. However, this is a minor quibble.

교육 기관: Carlos L

2020년 6월 11일

The couse is well constructed, Karl and his TA explains in a very simple way and make use of how probability matters in famous real cases, from finance to law.

As its name indicates it's an introduction course, so do not expect advanced math concepts or probability. To gain a basic of overview of the subject is more than enough. Depending on your level it could be very basics or maybe you want to dig deeper in still basics math concepts.

교육 기관: Lim J H

2020년 6월 30일

Thank you, Prof Schmedders and his team for preparing this course. Although the material is elementary, it is easy to get things very wrong in probability if we do not have good intuitive for it. This course has managed to conveyed the crucial fundamental required to grasp the concept of probability. Highly recommended to anyone who has difficulty understanding probability or just want to have some fun refreshing your knowledge of it!

교육 기관: Manikandan R

2018년 10월 30일

I am Mathematics Professor in an Engineering College in India. Karl and Jose are excellent. Karl show me a new way of teaching, and it is fun to learn. Since its a basic course I know the concepts, but still it is interest to learn. This course give me some refreshment in probability concepts. The title of the course and the content is superbly matching. Hats off to Karl, Jose. Salutes to Coursera for give me an opportunity like this.

교육 기관: Terry M

2020년 2월 6일

The professor was spectacular. I am a 69 year old retired lawyer/law professor who always loved math and the logic associated with math. The professor was skilled at teaching the building blocks slowly, clearly and with humor. I note that the printed 'titles' for the last one or two lectures contained several errors (it seems the transcriber may have been on 'automatic' and not thought about the content.)

Bravo. Great fun.

교육 기관: SARA G C

2022년 4월 5일

El código de comunicación facilita la comprensión de las conceptos abstractos empleados en probabilidad, su explicación es clara, asertiva, facil de entender, muy bien ejemplificada, lo que me permitio mejorar el entendimiento sobre el tema y ver en aplicaciones inmediatas en la toma de decisiones, felicito al Dr. Karl Schmedders por su didáctica y al Dr. José Parra por su instrucción, definitivamente recomiendo este curso.

교육 기관: Mariam K

2022년 1월 11일

T​his course was great! It covered some basics and not in an overwhelming way, it was very interesting.

I​ have learnt the probability and statistics in school and then uni but was never interested and neven understood everything, i was just using pieces of knowledge, but this course helped me very much! Now I can move on to other courses without worrying that I will not understand the subject thoroughly!

교육 기관: MADHAV S

2020년 5월 24일

Honestly I was having a hard time this semester Because of some advanced statistic courses that I had and my basics weren't clear. But this course really helped me nail it. This was really intuitive fun and the examples were really Good. A huge thanks to the Instructor. I had so much fun in doing this course. I was afraid of math but this really got me excited I'm looking forward to more statistics .

교육 기관: Daniela M

2022년 8월 5일

This course is incredible! The modules are very interesting and throughout the five weeks you get to deepen your highschool knowledge on this topic, so I would definitely recommend taking this course if you want to prepare a bit more before entering university. Everything is well explained and the professor is always excited whenever he introduces a new concept, so overall it's totally worth it.

교육 기관: Peter H

2021년 1월 14일

+ Clear explanations

+ The written text of the lectures is helpful

+ Very good examples in Module 3

+ Good explanation of the binomial distribution

+ Airline Overbooking is an excellent example

_ The formal definition of the Student's t-distribution is confusing

_ The Q-Q plots are only superficially treated in the course script

_ Is the solution shown for the exercise of Module 5 really a Q-Q plot?

교육 기관: Заров Е А

2019년 1월 31일

That was the great course! I really enjoyed by it.

Thanks a lot for the teacher. All examples were clear, all concepts were understandable.

I was completely intended to continue each next lesson.

And the words in the title "Intuitive" and "Introduction" are absolutely proofed! It was quite introductory

- not so easy but not so hard. And I have got a good intuition inside a topic!

Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Alexander S

2022년 4월 22일

Absolutely fantastic videos from a very enthusiastic professor who really knows how to explain and clear and engaging way. The attached reading PDF is somewhat messy and include a lot of information which is hard to digest unless you actually studied probability. Overall, I highly recommend this course for those who would like to understand and be able to use central probability concepts.

교육 기관: Hatsumi N

2020년 10월 8일

Fantastic perspective of some basics of probability. To design a course around "intuition" is brilliant, and students will move beyond manipulation of numbers and formulas to truly building a strong foundation of understanding the utility and meaning of probability in the real world. The passion of the instructors shine through and inspires the student to continue on in the subject.

교육 기관: Karl S C

2020년 6월 26일

The most fun way to learn statistics. Cool professor. Examples were relevant and the materials are top-notch. He makes probability bearable for people who want to learn it but are somewhat "turned off" by the Maths. Side note, the teaching assistant looks like The Flash and Charles Leclerc.

Overall, a great course to take if you want to learn probability easily. I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Ahmed A

2021년 3월 9일

I enjoyed this course! everything is just done right. The only exception, is sometime the only way to answer a question, was to re-watch a video to pick up a number; because the question required a side-context explained in the video or in an excel sheet; which seemed unrelated to the value of the content. Otherwise, the course is awesome. Intuitive indeed! thanks Karl and Jose!

교육 기관: Mubarak A

2020년 4월 27일

Excellent course. The instructor explained the conceptual ideas and combined them with cool applications.

Including Excell in the examples was a beneficial thing and a nice touch. Also, the quizzes were reasonable and essential to integrating the course.

I toked the course while taking a class about Probability in the University, and overall it is worthwhile to spend the time.

교육 기관: Umeshraddi K

2018년 4월 16일

Before this course, I hated probability exactly like Karl mentioned in the beginning of the course. But now it's really fun and interesting to look things from probability perspective. Thanks Karl for the course. Thanks Jose for interesting problems and way to solve them.

I look forward to further courses from Karl, please inform me whenever you are conducting a new course.