Chevron Left
An Intuitive Introduction to Probability(으)로 돌아가기

취리히 대학교의 An Intuitive Introduction to Probability 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,370개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

최상위 리뷰

NS

2017년 9월 16일

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

VI

2022년 4월 26일

Wow. What an amazing journey. Engaging, exciting, and as far from broring as it is possible while providing actual knowledge. Perfect balance. The only downside of this course is that is it too short.

필터링 기준:

An Intuitive Introduction to Probability의 545개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Floyd D

2017년 7월 31일

I've been trying for years to get to a point where probability doesn't scare me more than clowns. This class has done it for me. He's done an excellent job demystifying the subject and extracting the points one actually needs to understand from all the nice-to know's. Highly recommend the class to anyone in fields like statistics, Bayesian Networks, or data science.

교육 기관: Y. Z

2021년 10월 9일

Taking the course is just like reading stories. The instructor presented really interesting and simple examples in a humorous way, which enables me to recall important concepts and connect the knowledge with daily life. This is an easy-to-take course and it doesn't take long to finish. But I really enjoyed it with these impressive stories. Thanks to the instructors!

교육 기관: Marton G

2020년 4월 8일

Very well tought course, with clear explanations. I especially liked that the focus of the lectures is entirely on building intuition and understanding. The quizzes and exercises do not contribute much to the learning, but the lectures alone are well worth taking the course. Too bad there is currently no follow-up course available with more advanced topics.

교육 기관: Mohummud D

2017년 1월 25일

I have been looking for a stats course to unlock further learning. This was it! I found the pace, content style worked for me to allow me to proceed on other courses. Yes, I 'hated' stats when younger and feared it. But I am more comfortable and eager to learn more now and put into practice the extensions I am now able to move on to. Thank you.

교육 기관: Matthew A

2017년 10월 16일

A great overview of basic probability, with interesting applications and motivating examples.

Short quizzes after each video gives invaluable quick feedback on comprehension.

Prof Schmedders is an engaging and insightful instructor.

My only criticism is that it is just 5 weeks of material, it's all over too soon. A followup course would be wonderful.

교육 기관: Lenis G

2022년 5월 12일

Exceptional course. I completed an undergraduate probability course from my bachelor's program, but didn't get the core of probability. Now, thanks to this course I finally got that core, and wanna keep studying probability, even redo this course, in order to correctly apply probability. THANKS TO PROF. KARL, and Jose Parra, for this course.

교육 기관: Saman S

2022년 8월 10일

I really, really enjoyed this course. one of the best, and most useful educational content I've spent my time over. worthed every second, and more importantly, I will surely use what I've learned here in my finance career. I never hated probability, but now I Love it! Thanks to the brilliant instruction by Prof. Karl.

Cheers Saman Saybani

교육 기관: Vinayak J

2017년 12월 29일

A great way to revise the basic concepts of probability before you dive into advance topics. This course provides an intuition behind each of the important concepts that makes it easy to understand why certain things are done the way they are done. Perfect length for an introductory course. Assignments could have been a little more complex.

교육 기관: Kamalkishor P

2021년 7월 23일

I was apprehensive at the beginning, should I enroll, should I learn, should I start this course, what if some other course has a better content...etc...etc. I am very happy that I did enroll and complete this course. The professor is one of the best one can find out there! The course is amazing, Go ahead for anyone who wants to learn!

교육 기관: Alperen Ç K

2020년 9월 18일

Very good course on Probability. As the title says it is an intuitive introduction. No formulas or plenty of problem solving. If you would like to understand the ideas before going deep into the Probability then this is the course. Clear explanation and a lot of real world examples. The professor is absolutetly amazing! Thank you!

교육 기관: Giovanni V

2017년 12월 3일

It finally got me convinced of bayes' theorem rationality (I used it a lot before).

There are a lot other courses about probability and statistics that goes way deeper, but this one imho is definitely the best to start, since it explains thoroughly the basic concepts, letting the student overcome their initial counter-intuitivity.

교육 기관: Anastasia T

2017년 6월 29일

The instructor is so great. Cheerful and to the point, he wants you to learn without much sweating. The information is simple, and through examples it becomes very well acquired. However, it helps much, if you have some background in working with probabilities. I really enjoy having him as a teacher, even from far away. Great job!

교육 기관: Thomas G

2021년 1월 5일

The course is very clear and enlightening thanks to the many motivating examples. Despite this, or perhaps because of it, it achieves the learning objective of introducing the basics of probability theory.

Many thanks to Professor Karl Schmedders for his witty, personal and highly engaged way of presenting the material.

교육 기관: Leo

2022년 7월 22일

R​eally very inspiring lesson. As can be seen from the title 'intuitive introduction', this lesson compensates for the lack of application introduction of the probability lesson that I learnt at school. Give me a more comprehensive and straightforward understanding of the probability system. Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: Dmitriy K

2017년 8월 28일

Excellent course for students seeking for understanding of underlying concepts of probability. The course structure and problems are very helpful. Application based problems help to see concepts discussed in the course in action. Would like to see a higher-level course on probability from Professor Schmedder.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2022년 4월 9일

Great introduction to probability. The professor explains the concepts very clearly with intuitive examples. I wish there was another course where this professor goes deep into statistics and probability. Overall, enjoyed the course and would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about probability basics.

교육 기관: Krishna C C

2018년 2월 12일

Very good introductory course with relevant real world examples to understand the concepts better without just showing some formulas. Really thankful to Prof. Schmedders and TA Jose for exercises. Note that some quiz questions in Wk-3 (3.2) are not opening in Chrome. Very good and quick intro course!

교육 기관: Mateus F

2020년 10월 18일

I thought that was a really good introductory course and with a lot of real-world examples that help us not just understand but visualize where these concepts are applied. Karl is a great teacher and a fun teacher. I have taken this class in my graduation but didn't learn as much as in this course.

교육 기관: Alan L

2020년 5월 12일

This was a great, relaxed introduction to probability. I learned a lot about the basics, and am looking forward to taking more advanced courses in graduate school. The real world applications really helped in solidifying the concepts, showing just how important probability is in our everyday lives.

교육 기관: M N

2020년 7월 26일

Excellent course for beginners to understand the basics of Probability and it's importance. The examples are well laid out and interesting. This course is also great as a refresher for people who have previously studied Probability and want to brush up before continuing with more advanced courses.

교육 기관: Muzoon A

2019년 12월 13일

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn with a great Professor such as Prof. Karl. It was a knowledgeable, thoughtful and fun experience. I would and did recommend this course to my network. I really appreciate the effort you all have put to provide us with the best quality. Best wishes.

교육 기관: John T

2019년 1월 26일

The course lived up to my expectations, providing good intuition for the fundamentals of probability. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a brief overview of the subject. The exercises were a bit too easy for my taste, but that didn't detract from the overall quality of the course.

교육 기관: RJ S

2021년 5월 5일

One of the best online courses I've taken in a while. The concepts were clearly explained, common pitfalls in understanding were addressed, and Karl's occasional humor kept it fun. Jose's examples were also interesting. I did in fact change from disliking probability concepts to enjoying them.

교육 기관: Jerry R

2017년 6월 14일

An excellent course! a very gentle introduction to Probability. Subjects are taught in simple and yet effective explanations with a good sense of humor. I really like the real-world examples and exercises; they greatly help me to understand the concepts and enhance my learning experience.