Chevron Left
Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
638개의 평가
136개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

최상위 리뷰

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

필터링 기준:

Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation의 130개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Sachin

Jun 06, 2020

Best course

교육 기관: Noah M

Nov 21, 2018

Well done!

교육 기관: Ehui E S A

Jul 06, 2018

Excellent.

교육 기관: JOSÉ E G B

Feb 26, 2018

Terrific.

교육 기관: Marcelo C K

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Gustavo J Q R

Feb 22, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Gundega T

Oct 17, 2019

Thanks!

교육 기관: soumya s

Jun 25, 2018

BEST

교육 기관: Amy K

Dec 18, 2019

Huge amount of content for a coursera course. For the early modules, a stats class pre-req would be very helpful. Several discussions on certain topics before the foundational definitions and explanations were provided. The order of the explanations made the content confusing to me. Once I learned information in later videos, I could understand the earlier videos. But that's just me. The Professor is amazing nonetheless.

교육 기관: David H

Dec 11, 2019

I enjoyed the class, but the lecture content was a bit long-winded compared to most classes. This might be more of a necessity because of the type of content that is covered. Just be prepared to watch a lot of videos. On the bright side, the professor does a good job on the production of the videos and adding comedic relief.

교육 기관: Frank V

Jul 28, 2017

Normal course work was very good. The Honors content was a bit disappointing in that I finished it before the weeks deadline but never received a grade.

교육 기관: Joseph A

Dec 12, 2016

This is a great course, highly recommend it, but make sure you have the bandwidth to climb a steep learning curve if you aren't in the investment world.

교육 기관: Claudia S

Feb 05, 2019

I would have preferred to be slightly shorter and to the point. For me was a little difficult to comprehend all the words at the beginning.

교육 기관: Dawnae S

Jul 12, 2019

I enjoyed the teaching and breaking down of answers to understand some investments

교육 기관: Muhammad S K

Nov 07, 2017

Too long to grasp understanding of material presented. Prof is top notch though

교육 기관: Giulio P

Feb 16, 2020

Really usefull and really clear!

교육 기관: Francis D

Oct 07, 2018

Very good class. Thank you

교육 기관: Mahmoud E A

Nov 16, 2018

too long.

교육 기관: COLLIN M

Apr 22, 2017

Not what I was expecting as part of the program at all. Being more a visual learner I had a very hard time with how the math was covered in this in the course, I need a slide that is specifically V is XXXX, R is XXXX so I have a reference point and I found with most examples given I was having to go back and forth between multiple items and transcripts to gt what I needed. The other thing that I think would have helped me would have been less presenting and maybe a couple of quizzes for knowledge checks vs the pause and think items that were included. I did like Scott's humor, or at least humor attempts overall and I think a live class with him would be better than video. Additionally I felt that the course was a bit out date already, it was recorded in 2015 and I think I would have liked it more if had only been a year behind vs. a year and a half.

교육 기관: Michail V

Nov 11, 2016

Ok up to Module 3. Module 4 very convoluted.

교육 기관: Nistha C

Jul 18, 2017

very long

교육 기관: Shahid N

Nov 17, 2019

The professor needs to use more examples with illustrations. I thought I could get more from the videos. There were so many places where I felt he just read the slide without explaining the formula or concept with numbers of figures etc.

교육 기관: Vinícius S C

May 07, 2018

The professor could be more straight to the po

교육 기관: Emi K

Aug 04, 2019

Course lectures are too long between quizzes

교육 기관: Remco B

Feb 12, 2018

Good content, overly talkative instructor.